Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 185 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Recommended for a Woman Staying Alone I was disappointed in this hotel. The floor plan was disjointed and the rooms were not easily accessible from the lobby. Parking was not convenient to the rooms at all. Access to the building on one side was secluded and scary at night. I would not recommend this hotel for a woman staying alone for this reason. It was also located in a "shady" area of town. The carpet in the room I stayed in had a worn path and was dirty in the area where people walked all the time. The price was okay and the breakfast was nice. My room had a pass through door to the next room which made noise through the walls quite noticeable. I had to complain because my neighbors had a child whom they could not control and it was loud. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, great service Checking in and out was easy and quick. Well kept, clean and orderly made the stay pleasant. Ability to acquire good coffee in the morning as well as a good selection of food to start the day - fruit - cereal - bagel - pancake - eggs and more were part of the selection. Courteous and friendly workers around the place. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Modern Room, Excellent service This was out first stay at a Holiday Inn Express and we were very impressed with this particular hotel. The room was not a large as some competitors but very nice, clean, and up-to-date. The breakfast bar was awesome. Service by the staff was friendly and efficient. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast and location Breakfast is great! Location is convenient to downtown area. Room is adequate. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safe, clean and comfortable My daughter and I had a great stay. We felt safe and comfortable and my daughter enjoyed an evening swim to cool off. Enjoyed a great breakfast to start our busy day. Staff was very nice to us. Definitely would stay again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value- Great Hotel This is an awesome hotel in close proximity to UGA. Clean, spacious rooms with a mini fridge June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A respectable stop The room was well appointed, the bed comfortable and everything was clean. The breakfast was good and the coffee strong. It met my expectations and needs for the business trip. The location was very convenient to my destination the next day. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a fine stay... I've been staying at this hotel whenever I'm in Athens, well over ten years now… wouldn't stay anywhere else... June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay stay The overall stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Athens, GA was okay. The parking was very limited and the pool area was very sketchy and a little dark. Not sure why there was a water cooler in the stairwell before going into the pool area. Then the towel area looked like an afterthought; stuck in a dark recessed area with pipes in it. The pool itself was okay, but felt kind of creepy at night. The breakfast was good and the variety was nice. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but the a/c unit did not work well which made it smell a little damp. There was no comforter on one bed and a very thin one on another, but the beds and pillows were comfortable. Overall, if you are staying overnight, the value is good. I had pre-paid my room on-line but was charged a $10 fee on my debit card that I appeared a day later. Be careful of that. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location The location is central to the University. The rooms were clean but the carpets and furniture need to be updated. The internet was fast and easy to connect. The staff was very friendly and the morning breakfast room ladies were gems. They were very busy but had a smile and kind word for everyone. May 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Security issue The breakfast was excellent, ability to rent a room for rehearsal dinner and the food made for it was wonderful. The problem is that the hotel staff in not trained correctly or not adhering to the basic rules and security of a hotel. On multiple occasions this security was breached and left me feeling unsafe the 4 nights (2 stays) I was in the hotel. #1 I was locked out of my room because my key was not working. I walked to front desk where I was not asked to verify whom I was and got a new key. Then I went back to room and the key was still not working. I saw a member of the house keeping staff next to me and asked if they would let me into my room because my key was not working. Their was a phone right next to my door to call front desk and the women had a walkie talkie, but neither were used. Instead, she just let me in......how did she know that was really my room? She didnt #2 After the wedding we were in town for, I allowed a girl to stay with me for the night. I did not inform the front desk of this. I gave her a key and she slept there. In the morning we went our separate ways and I had the keys recoded since I was there for another night. I went to lunch and when I came back she was in my room. I asked how she got in and she said she went to the front desk to let them know her key was not working and they sent maintenance to let her in. Again, her name was not on my room. She should not have gotten in without a call to me verifying this allowance into my room. Although I didnt mind she was in my room, the idea that it could have been anyone in my room waiting for me when I shut the door and was locked in with them is horrifying. As a single lady staying in a hotel, we depend on the security and staff of the hotel to keep us safe and keep strangers out of our rooms. THIS IS YOUR #1 JOB!! I felt completely unsafe the entire stay. Everytime I walked into my room I checked to make sure no one was in there already and all my belongings were still there. I would like a call to know that this huge problem will be addressed and the staff will be trained or retrained on these HUGE safety issues. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First Time in Athens, GA We are familiar with Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is in a good location for an easy walk into town. Unfortunately the weather was not good during our trip. At check in we asked for water and the young lady had to verify with the gentlemen at the desk whether we could have some. We are IHG members. Non smoking hotel but there doesn't appear to be a designated smoking area so there are cigarette butts at the front and side of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent but the same thing every day. Staff at the breakfast area were very nice and did a good job. The room was a bit old but clean. Why is the sofa on the same wall as the TV - would have been nice to sit on sofa to watch TV but not possible. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price for the location, walking distance to downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I especialy like the crew that set out breakfast. They would get you anything you asked for with a smile on their face. The maintance crew was also always trying to keep the place clean. The staff was always saying hello to the guests they saw in the hall. The rooms were slightly woren but comfortable. However in defense of the hotels it's really hard to keep a place prestine when you service a college town like Athens. You have rowdy sport fans and parents trying to keep up with their college age kids 75% of the time in your hotel. Like I said staff couldn't have been any friendlier (Great Southern Hospitality.) The location was convenient to downtown area. May 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location The hotel was very nice and clean, breakfast was okay, rooms and bedding were just right, A/C worked as it should. The cleaning staff were excellent. On the other hand the front desk attendant was very rude. She greeted us as if we were inconveniencing her. I was not greeted with nothing but are you checking in, and " I need your card". I travel all over the U.S.A. to include overseas. She was by far one that will stick in my mind. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service Our room was very comfortable...the bed nice and firm...great service to our room and great service and friendliness from the breakfast staff and front desk...a great stay and hope to come back.. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome My family has been staying at the Holiday Inn Express for the past 5 years especially during UGA football seasons. Each time we arrive we are greated like family, the front desk staff is so friendly and personable. Every morning the sweet ladies at breakfast greet us with smiles and send us off with kindness. The atmosphere really is like you are coming to a relatives house!! WE LOVE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS!! April 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too Noisy All night long guest slammed doors and the walls are so thin you can hear the adjacent guests using the bathroom. We won't be back. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One nights stay Left before breakfast was served, hallway noise was a little loud, some guys excited about going to The Masters and were talking load in the hall at 4:00am. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Neighbor, no recognition, but great breakfast area! At 4:20 in the morning I was awaken by the neighbor's TV blasting away. I called the front desk and the young lady was very nice and said she would contact security. In about 20 minutes the TV noise was gone. I was too upset to go back to sleep but they took care of it. I was a little disappointed on check-in. I normally get recognized as an IHG Rewards Club Member but Miller just handed me a blue slip and said to put this on your dash and to initial here, here, and sign. That was it. The breakfast area was very well maintained and the staff kept it well stocked. I would stay here again. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. This hotel is in a great location for investigating the downtown area. I find the hotel to be clean and relaxing. The front desk staff and the other staff members I came in contact with were all so pleasant and helpful. The hotel is close to some good eating establishments and shops. My room was clean and comfortable. The bed was perfect. April 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud and restless We checked in amid hundreds of Jr High and High school kids who were there for some type of competition or meeting. Fully expected it to be a bit loud with that many kids running around. (would have been nice to know this was going on when making reservations). We get back to the hotel around 9 PM and it is loud onour floor as we were the only non-kid filled room on the floor. the kids left for an event but returned around 11 PM and started all over again. I gave them til midnight to quiet down and then stuck my head out in the hall and asked them to please quiet down a bit. That worked for a half hour or so and then they cranked up again. around 1 AM I called the front desk to complain and ask for some assistance with the noise and was told, "someone will be right up". that never happened. the kids finally calmed down around 2 AM. I complained again upon checkout that morning and was told "we had security monitoring the hotel." well,maybe so but security never made it to the 5th floor. I understand the kids were a bit raucous and understand that but very disappointed in the hotel staff response or, in this case, lack thereof. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific! Neat, thoughtful, friendly! We asked a roll-away bed via online reservation and it was put into the room when we checked in. Thanks a lot! March 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Not impressed I stay at a lot of Holiday Inn Express all over the USA but this one was the worst one I ever stayed at. I had to switch rooms due to the air unit wouldn't stay on. The bed was harder than usual, the fan wouldn't work correctly ,very noisy on 4th floor, the internet was not staying on due to bad connectivity, very weird layout of the hotel. I should have known it was not a good hotel when I had to call 4x before they would answer the phone, I was transferred to reservations 3x and no one would pick up the phone. Ive never posted a review on hotel before but this hotel made me want to post a review. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, quiet, and convenient location The staff was professional, friendly, the hotel was quiet even though it appeared full (from the breakfast crowds). We would stay here again, if in town. No real big deal at all but I was not recognized as a priority club member and was not given a water. I asked if they still gave out water for members, they said yes and gave me two. Again, they were very nice, maybe just new to the hotel. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied My Needs Problem free stay at the HIEX. While it is a couple of blocks walk from downtown, I found the walk to be very manageable. Staff was friendly and recognized my status. Nothing much to view out of the windows, but the room was furnished nicely. Did not encounter any noise issues. Slept fine. Breakfast was standard but had a very nice lady taking care of everything. March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant and roomy The room was great for work after hours with plenty of room and desk space. The bed comfort was so-so mainly because of the standard issue "hard or soft" pillow combination. Neither worked for me but hey, I am particular in that area. Would definitely stay here again. The breakfast is plentiful with great pancakes and sausage/bacon. The eggs are the standard instant variety that are not so great and only gravy was served as a side. No grits this deep in the south??? All in all, not bad. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine hotel for the price This is a fine hotel for the price. Yes, it gets a lot of wear due to its excellent location about three blocks from UGA main campus, the “other” larger Holiday Inn, and the downtown campus area but my room was extremely clean and well maintained to the point of being spotless. The room I was in was tight in dimensions but it appears part of the reason is the use of very large, oversized and comfortable beds which takes up some extra room. Plus, whenever you are in a high traffic hotel in a popular setting like UGA , I think the rooms are typically a bit smaller (i.e. Disney World). The room was very well equipped with a clean and serviceable refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker (stainless steel pot, not glass). Sound insulation was excellent as we never heard any of the hugely loud male frat house blaring annoying music from across the street till about 9pm. Free hot breakfast was among the best I have seen and I travel a lot. Only odd thing about the hotel is its unusual layout which appears to be due to an irregular and hilly lot. Negotiating the inside is a bit like journeying below deck on an aircraft carrier, but no real problem and very handicap accessible. The nearby larger Holiday Inn I also stayed in does have bigger rooms, I recall, but is also unusual in layout, more expensive I think, no free breakfast and just as “worn”, if not more. February 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pros & Cons The Good: 1. Property is located within convenient walking distance to downtown and old campus. 2. Cleaning staff is superb. Beds made perfectly and room very clean. 3. Larger than most lobby/breakfast area. 4. Breakfast: Good sausage gravy, excellent cinnamon rolls, and a conveyor belt pancake-making machine provides geeky entertainment. 5. Desk staff is friendly & polite. The Bad: 1. Poor soundproofing. You can hear all your neighbors from your room. You can hear everything they do, even in the restroom. You can even hear a vacuum cleaner on the floor below you when standing in the hallway. 2. Parking is ample but difficult (but in all fairness this is mostly from the hilly terrain of the area.) 3. HVAC unit under window is very noisy (but still won't mask item 1.) 4. Breakfast: Day-to-day choices don't change. 5. Wifi is ample but Holiday Inn log-in screen is a nuisance. I suspect that this is an older property that IHG acquired and renovated. The room sound problem is probably from the older construction. Overall, I would have scored this hotel 4 stars if the room sound isolation was better. I would have given it 5 stars if the room sound and HVAC was better.. Bottom line, not a bad place at all for the price, but I've come to expect better at this price point. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convienent Friendly and extremely accommodating staff! Great lobby area including computers and printers available. In walking distance to UGA. Just wish they had a fan in bathroom February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine facility Great location, and the rates are fair. Clean, efficient rooms. Nice staff. Will stay again February 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>