Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 161 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied My Needs Problem free stay at the HIEX. While it is a couple of blocks walk from downtown, I found the walk to be very manageable. Staff was friendly and recognized my status. Nothing much to view out of the windows, but the room was furnished nicely. Did not encounter any noise issues. Slept fine. Breakfast was standard but had a very nice lady taking care of everything. March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant and roomy The room was great for work after hours with plenty of room and desk space. The bed comfort was so-so mainly because of the standard issue "hard or soft" pillow combination. Neither worked for me but hey, I am particular in that area. Would definitely stay here again. The breakfast is plentiful with great pancakes and sausage/bacon. The eggs are the standard instant variety that are not so great and only gravy was served as a side. No grits this deep in the south??? All in all, not bad. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine hotel for the price This is a fine hotel for the price. Yes, it gets a lot of wear due to its excellent location about three blocks from UGA main campus, the “other” larger Holiday Inn, and the downtown campus area but my room was extremely clean and well maintained to the point of being spotless. The room I was in was tight in dimensions but it appears part of the reason is the use of very large, oversized and comfortable beds which takes up some extra room. Plus, whenever you are in a high traffic hotel in a popular setting like UGA , I think the rooms are typically a bit smaller (i.e. Disney World). The room was very well equipped with a clean and serviceable refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker (stainless steel pot, not glass). Sound insulation was excellent as we never heard any of the hugely loud male frat house blaring annoying music from across the street till about 9pm. Free hot breakfast was among the best I have seen and I travel a lot. Only odd thing about the hotel is its unusual layout which appears to be due to an irregular and hilly lot. Negotiating the inside is a bit like journeying below deck on an aircraft carrier, but no real problem and very handicap accessible. The nearby larger Holiday Inn I also stayed in does have bigger rooms, I recall, but is also unusual in layout, more expensive I think, no free breakfast and just as “worn”, if not more. February 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pros & Cons The Good: 1. Property is located within convenient walking distance to downtown and old campus. 2. Cleaning staff is superb. Beds made perfectly and room very clean. 3. Larger than most lobby/breakfast area. 4. Breakfast: Good sausage gravy, excellent cinnamon rolls, and a conveyor belt pancake-making machine provides geeky entertainment. 5. Desk staff is friendly & polite. The Bad: 1. Poor soundproofing. You can hear all your neighbors from your room. You can hear everything they do, even in the restroom. You can even hear a vacuum cleaner on the floor below you when standing in the hallway. 2. Parking is ample but difficult (but in all fairness this is mostly from the hilly terrain of the area.) 3. HVAC unit under window is very noisy (but still won't mask item 1.) 4. Breakfast: Day-to-day choices don't change. 5. Wifi is ample but Holiday Inn log-in screen is a nuisance. I suspect that this is an older property that IHG acquired and renovated. The room sound problem is probably from the older construction. Overall, I would have scored this hotel 4 stars if the room sound isolation was better. I would have given it 5 stars if the room sound and HVAC was better.. Bottom line, not a bad place at all for the price, but I've come to expect better at this price point. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convienent Friendly and extremely accommodating staff! Great lobby area including computers and printers available. In walking distance to UGA. Just wish they had a fan in bathroom February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine facility Great location, and the rates are fair. Clean, efficient rooms. Nice staff. Will stay again February 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Holiday Inn Express As a seasoned traveler I have stayed at numerous Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one is just average to me. I like the large lobby and it's layout, but after that to me it has some issues I'm not accustomed too at other HIE hotels. I am a platinum IHG rewards member and nearly always receive a bottle of water or a snack of some sort, but didn't receive anything at this hotel nor an offer for Bonus points as they are suppose to do now (choosing one or the other#. They knew I was a rewards member because the lady stated such as I was checking in. After that I left the lobby to find a parking spot and don't like the parking layout of the hotel, but understand you have to deal with what you have, but in some areas it is dark and to me a potential safety concern and additional lighting in those far corner areas would be better to give guests a little more feeling of security at night. Getting into the hotel through the keyed doors to get to access the elevator is a pain if you have any more than one suitcase. Automatic doors or something more friendly would be better than the current access areas. The elevator was smaller than most and it was pretty packed with just myself and three others in it which was not comfortable. Luckily I was the only one with a suitcase because if there would have been more we all wouldn't have fit. Holiday Inn Express Hotels have a complementary breakfast which is fine and they offer a decent amount of options, but not a fan of the cinnamon rolls anymore as I saw how they are stored and premade at another HIE property in the past and have pasted on them since. They also dry out too easily once they are put on the buffet bar in the morning if they are not kept covered up with the cover they come premade with. I like the neat pancake making machine as it is unique to Holiday Inn Express hotels as far as I know #I haven't seen them elsewhere# and just wish every hotel would spend a little more and get good quality syrup because a pancake isn't good without a decent syrup. Hotel room was fine overall. it has older fixtures, but has been remodeled. The room I stayed in was smaller than I'm use to for Holiday Inn Express hotels too, but that isn't an issue unless you have kids with you and need a little extra room to breath so to speak. You can easily hear any noise out in the hallway, so if you are close to the elevator you are going to hear more than if you are further away from it. The hotel is close to a lot of things in Athens and about 6 miles from the mall, and other major retailers. There are restaurants and clubs everywhere as the hotel is only a few blocks from UGA as well. I have stayed at multiple hotels in Athens and to me the Holiday Inn #not Express) is the better of the two, but this hotel is better than other hotels in the area and if you don't mind all the things I mentioned then you'll be fine and this hotel will satisfy your needs. Thanks! February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and clean We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We would return again. January 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location We've stayed here several times before. It's a great location as you can walk 2 or 3 blocks and be in the middle of the action or on campus. The second night we had a room full of drunk college kids next to us, but after calling the front desk, they seemed to quieten down. With drunk college kids roaming nearby and the projects across the street, I would not leave valuables in the car. There are many signs telling you this, and when we came to check out, all the vehicles on the west side of the building had vulgar drawings in the cars' dust. No big deal, but just showed that that side of the building is not watched very well. Staff is good, the breakfast is above average for continental style. January 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs a facelift quick... It is obvious that the property is very old and needs updating asap. The staff wasn't friendly at all. The rooms were so tiny that I felt claustrophobic. I went for a work conference and I will never stay at that property again. I've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before in Chicago and it was to die for. I am accustomed to high 4-5 star properties and this was a disgrace. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, great bed & organized staff Oh yes, 5 star all the way. Great room for the value. Lobby well organized and morning breakfast right on time. Held me till lunch. Safety A-1. The parking lot is very well lit. I suggest a stay. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and enjoyable breakfast. Wonderful place to spend New Years Eve if you are in the Athens area. This is our second year to stay at this particular Holiday Inn Express on December 31. Would recommend it highly even to senior citizens. Staff was great. The lady who checked us in told us if we have any problems concerning noise or whatever, notify them immediately and it will be taken care of. This comment was due to all the celebrations being conducted with the New Year Eve's festivities. We look forward to our stay again this year. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay. I have twice stayed at this hotel while visiting my son. I am very impressed with the quality of the breakfast, breakfast seating area, and especially the service personality and energy of the staff at the front desk and the food server. I will certainly stay there many more times. Rooms are well appointed, fairly bright for a hotel, room temperature well controlled, quality TV and fridge, ample and convenient parking. One of the best Holiday Inn properties in my experiences. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cozy bed and great breakfast My room was clean and comfortable. My bed was warm and soft.. not too soft but just like I like it. The cost was affordable. Under the circumstances your hospitality made our stay very nice. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room Everything met expectations. Friendly staff, clean room, decent pillows. December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and great breakfast! This as a perfect location to UGA and the rooms were cozy. We really enjoyed our stay and were greatful to the helpful staff. The breakfast was also outstanding. Thank you! December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Service When I booked our room I asked that it be in a quiet area of the hotel, I was given exactly what I asked for, very quiet and peaceful. We had a problem with the room air conditioner when we first got there, I called the front desk, they sent a man up immediately who found the problem, (it automatically turns off at intervals to save power), he reset it or something and we never had any more trouble with it. Our bed was so comfortable and clean it was a pleasure to sleep there. Staff were so kind and helpful, and Cheerful when asked a question or when we requested anything. We were very pleased with our entire stay from check-in to check-out. Thank you to all the staff at this hotel!! December 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good property Location was good. Nice to have a complimentary breakfast. Price was excellent! Would stay again. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean with Good Value Everything was in good condition with a comfortable bed and pillows. Value was excellent, especially the included breakfast. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for enjoying downtown Athens GA! Clean, affordable, great restaurants within walking distance...I'll definitely be back! December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff The rooms are always very clean. The breakfast is fantastic every morning especially the cinnamon rolls. But the most important reason for staying here and returning as much as possible is the employees. They are friendly, knowledgeable, and will help you any way they can. November 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too noisy My only serious complaint is that too much sound bled over from other rooms and the hallway. Some soundproofing would make this a really good place to stay. Still, it wasn't bad. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for the price. This is the second time I've chosen to stay here. One thing I look for in a hotel room is a clean bathroom. Both times, my bathroom was immaculate. The rooms are very comfortable. The beds are not worn out and I like the fact that each pillow case informs you whether the pillow is soft or firm. The breakfast has a great variety to choose from. To be complimentary, you can't beat it. I have only one recommendation. Even though the carpets in the rooms seem to be clean, they are wearing out. I realize changing them out is a major capital expense, but put it in your budget for the coming years. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff Kitchen staff was so helpful and courteous. Breakfast was delightful. Room was clean and comfortable. Hard to beat this for a college town hotel. Will return November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT CHOICE, LOCATION This was my first visit to Athens and this location made it a great first experience. Property was clean, inviting with excellent staff. This location will be my Athens choice forever November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff at Holiday Inn Express is so attentive. They welcome you from the moment you arrive. Management, front desk, breakfast staff all make us feel special. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional staff the front desk personnel and breakfast support people are friendly and very helpful accolades to to all. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast - best kept I've seen So we have all seen the self-serve breakfast scene in many hotels. What was different here was the smiling, very nice staff person who kept the whole area immaculate and everything well-stocked even with teams of athletes wiping out cereal, the usual newcomer messing up the pancake machine, the spills or juice machine running low. She was on it, mostly on her own (I saw a man come empty the trash bins and another woman walk through there on only 1 of the 5 mornings we were there) all morning from 5:30 (maybe earlier?) behind the scenes set up till every table was clean, the area vacuumed,... what didn't she do? I think her name may have been Alicia. I hope she is a manager someday very soon so other HI's I have stayed with abysmal breakfast bars become a thing of the past. All other staff I interacted with were very outgoing and helpful, she just stood out even more.I am a big fan and plan tol stay at the Express every time I am in Athens from now through 2017! November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and quiet, comfortable room! I really have nothing bad to say about my stay! Service was very polite and said nothing about my last minut booking and my special request for a late checkout. The room was clean, the bathroom was stocked well and also clean, and the furniture in my King room was very comfortable. Missed breakfast but there seemed to be a larger variety and selection than other Holiday Inn's I've stayed at. Definitely the best value in Athens! November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing staff When I arrived, I'd just been involved in a traffic accident. The entire staff made it their job to be certain I felt taken care of and safe. They all deserve a commendation. On the minus side, it was not made clear to me that the pet fee was per diem rather than per visit. To compensate, the staff removed one night's fee. I will admit I found the $25 fee a little steep. I've never paid over $15. I found a couple of bugs in the bathroom. November 3, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>