• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ATHENS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0BLK
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Holiday Inn Express does accept pets within select rooms on the ground floor level at the hotel. Please inquire for further information. The hotel offers limited pet friendly rooms please inquire directly with front desk staff.
Pet deposit amount  25.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Each guestroom is provided one complimentary parking place in our well lit and secure parking areas.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:160
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:62
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:98
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:GA0103

Enjoy Our Downtown Hotel's Athens, GA Location

Located just two blocks from the University of Georgia campus, our hotel's facilities feature an excellent location in downtown Athens, making the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Athens - University Area the place to stay for Bulldog fans.

When in Athens for business, our hotel's corporate guests can use the on-site Business Center whenever they please. Other amenities include six meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. We
View More

Enjoy Our Downtown Hotel's Athens, GA Location

Located just two blocks from the University of Georgia campus, our hotel's facilities feature an excellent location in downtown Athens, making the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Athens - University Area the place to stay for Bulldog fans.

When in Athens for business, our hotel's corporate guests can use the on-site Business Center whenever they please. Other amenities include six meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. We are also near several area businesses, as well as schools like UGA and the new UGA Medical School.

Besides being near the University of Georgia, our hotel's guests also find themselves close to the vibrant downtown area, so it's easy to enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment for which Athens is justifiably famous. While in the area, set aside an afternoon to explore the State Botanical Gardens of Georgia or to tour the Taylor-Grady House. At the end of the day, attend a spectacular show at The Classic Center. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you'll be pleased to know we're near the Georgia Square Mall.

Before beginning their day in Athens, our hotel's guests can "Stay Smart" and visit the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, which we serve every morning. We also provide free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and we have an outdoor pool and Fitness Center on-site. Book today to take advantage of great deals and rates!

View Less
Features
Since our hotel's location in Athens, GA places you just a few blocks from the University of Georgia, you will completely forget why you need a car with everything so close by. Take advantage of our great downtown location and visit the UGA campus, and over 75 eateries within a 5 block radius.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 176 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a treat! We love staying here when we visit our son at UGA. Rooms have lots of space, staff is friendly and beds are very comfy. Love the design and you can't beat the location! April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 ATHNES PARENTS WKND We stayed at Indigo the wknd of 04/12-04/13 for UGA Spring Parents Weekend ..I love the location and the hotel was nice and clean ... However parking was a problem as well as no bar service or any food/ drinks during the day// The Jittery Joe or any other coffee for that matter should be complimentary especially in the morning . April 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rehersal dinner April 4th You should have a rating for food. The dinner food was terrible. The salads came wilted and only lettuce with a minute sprinkle of something else. The main meal I had fish and it was great fish, but cooked dry. The potatoes were overcooked and hard. The desserts were fine. I don't know what the father of the groom paid, but it was too much. It felt like a basement. It needs some more décor to match your beautiful hotel. Your staff were fantastic. All of them were so friendly and helpful. I loved the room as well. Fire the cook!!! (Bar was great too) April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a wonderful surprise! We were so excited and surprised with our wonderful nights stay at the Hotel Indigo in Athens. Only one thing was wrong and that was that we couldn't stay longer. We had excellent food from the restaurant. Great wine! Thanks for the experience! April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Customer within 1 week We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Indigo so much that we returned to stay there during a second visit to Athens within the same week. We enjoyed the decor and the quality of the room very much. The ONLY negative is that the LEED energy efficient design depends on sunlight, and it was rainy and overcast during our visit, making the room a little dark. But that is a small price to pay to support sustainability. We'll be back! April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I travel on a weekly basis and stay in hotels throughout the Southeast and this hotel was by far the best that I have stayed in a long time. The staff go above and beyond expectations to insure that your stay is the best that it can be. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend Hotel Indigo. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a couple of suggestions We were placed in a great room but it had a handicap bathroom and we would have much rather been placed in a room with a regular bathroom so that we could have enjoyed a bath. Also i feel the staff should ask if this type of bathroom is ok before just putting you in that room. Only other thing the ledge where the towels and tissue were sitting had obviously not been dusted off in sometime you could write you name in the dust. Thanks! March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Art, Music and the Neighborhood meet!! Look no further!! If you want a true Hotel Indigo experience, stay at this hotel. They have created a GREEN hotel bringing Art, Music and the local Neighborhood to life. I am still working to convince my husband to buy a piece of the local artwork they have in their Gallery currently. It was a wonderful experience to hear about the Art, to be close enough to really examine it and to see what this incredible neighborhood can create. The service is beyond compare, did I mention they have some of the best "local" drinks I have ever enjoyed? You could not possibly get a fresher drink anywhere, and I mean...anywhere!! If you're looking to experince Athens, this Team can tell you where to get the best crepes, where to experience a pharmacy right out of "Mayberry" and did I mention our trip to Five Bar? You have to experience it!! From the Front Desk, who opened the door upon our arrival, to the General Manager and Director of Sales who could not have been more hospitable, to the housekeeping Team who welcomes you as you walk down the hallway each day. And, the Bartenders...well, they are engaging, fun and accommodating. Please, allow them to suggest a local drink and go ahead and try it!! You won't be sorry!! I love to travel, I love the experience, the food, the drinks and the people you meet along the way and this was a memorable trip in every sense of the word!! Stop looking and stay here!!! March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great atmosphere! very comfortable bed. I enjoyed my stay in Athens. Hotel Indigo was very relaxing for me. the atmosphere was just great. Room service was right on point! March 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by NEVER, ever again!!! I wanted to take my husband for an overnight stay for his birthday and thought this would be a great start to our weekend. Well, first I booked the "penthouse", what a joke!! It was more like a king sized room. Didn't even have a table to have dinner on. So, BIG disappointment. The bed was not comfortable at all and the tv only had channels 2-11. Needless to say we did not have an enjoyable overnight stay and would not recommend anyone staying here. We are not hard people to please, but, this was a disaster. I will say that the only good thing was the guy that delivered our room service. He was so polite and gave us recommendations on where to go and have some fun. We had planned on staying in and having dinner because we didn't have the kids and wanted some "alone" time. But, the hotel room was such a huge disappointment that we decided to go out. Thanks for the HUGE disappointment. I will defiantly save my money next time. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it!! Room was beautiful. Especially loved wood floors. Very clean February 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo Fan but not of this hotel As residents of Georgia and huge UGA fans the city of Athens is a love close to our hearts. We finally found availability for a stay at the Indigo Athens that worked with our schedule. This hotel had been on my bucket list since it opened. The stay was very disappointing. The first room to check into not completed by housekeeping and they were still 20 minutes from being finished. The second Room, one bed had been fake freshly made up and had pre used sheets on the bed by the window complete with multiple public hairs on the bed and what looked like blood smudges on the edge of the fitted sheets. Reported to reception and changed rooms for the third time, however it was not a charm we hoped for. The sheets were wrinkled but clean, the over blankets were clicked and scruffy looking and had strands of hair interwoven into the weave of the blanket. The bathroom sink had hair in it also. There was also a sticky spot on the floor I discovered on a trip to the bathroom in the middle of the night. The decor is more urban than some of the other Indigo's which I feel is slightly colder in atmosphere than the relaxing lux feel that you would get from the Indigo in Fort Myers, or Jacksonville FL. The hall ways are wide and airy feeling in Athens however the doors to the rooms are heavy and the noise through the night seems louder because of the doors slamming and the wide corridor. Also only there was only one roll of toilet paper in the bathroom. (Even in a Motel 6 you get the standard two rolls of paper). We stayed for breakfast but we thought the wait staff was curt and unprofessional. We sat a the bar, but had to shout our order to the attendant as she did not want to step away from the register where she could just punch in the order, instead of walking to us and writing it down where we did not have to shout out of order. The food was average and smaller portions than what you would get at the Jacksonville Indigo. This was a reward stay but honest to goodness we came away not feeling rewarded. Our overall impression was the hotel was at 70% of the standard it is supposed to be at. With sub par room cleaning, skimpy portions of food and toilet paper and curt staff we left feeling gypped. We will continue to explore the Indigo group and when we travel back to Athens we will be going to a different hotel. First impressions count in the world of Hotels, you never can get that first feeling back. Having to go upstairs three times for different rooms because house keeping was not communicating with reception is poor management. I have worked in hotels and can be sympathetic to a hotel having an off day. Poor cleaning is just plain sloppy and rude staff are a reflection of the hotel. I can only think that the people who gave this hotel rave reviews either do not travel much, or have never stayed in the Indigo group before and are just happy to get a modern room. The gym in the hotel had no clean towels at 7:30 in the morning and the water tower was completely drained and empty. The negatives just kept adding up. There was no recognition of being a Priority Club Member February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room The staff was very accommodating.. Loved the hotel bar and the friendly bartender. Room was very comfortable. If charging $10 for parking on top of high room rate, there should at least be valet service. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Loved my stay. Everyone made me feel comfortable and the room was nice February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay I stay here any time I am working within an hours drive because I like the location,room, food, service and people. A very personnel touch and great place to work from as a home away from home. February 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Great stay! LOVED that I could bring my dog! He loved the stay as much as I did! Very clean rooms, great people!!!! Would stay again! January 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Check in nightmare We were traveling with our son who is disabled and uses a power wheelchair. The first key did not work in the door, we went down to the desk and got a new key. This key opened an occupied room! My husband again went to the lobby for a new room key. Finally this one got us into our room! It was very inconvenient and kept us all waiting in the hallway for over 30 mins just to check in with no apologies. Kind of an "oh well" attitude from the front desk. The next morning before checkout, housekeeping knocked 3 times on our door to come in to clean. I have never had this happen before with the first knock before 9 am on a Sunday. We even had the do not disturb sign on! The housekeeper said that people forget to take them off! We had a handicapped room and always need time all the way to checkout. While the hotel was nice the staff was not tuned in to guests needs and were very cold. We would not stay here nor recommend it. Our oldest son lives in Athens and we will be visiting often but staying elsewhere! January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reliably pleasant stay The rooms are comfortable and open and the staff always tries hard to be accommodating. Hotel Indigo has become one of the best parts of my trips to Athens Georgia. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by If you want to impress your employees, have your meetings here. We recently held our national sales meeting at this location and it was all but perfect. Every staff member I encountered was genuinely friendly and made an effort to ensure our needs were met. The physical property itself is exquisite and unique and I can't tell you how many of my employees commented on what a cool place it was. I just want to thank the management and the staff for helping to make this an exceptional meeting for us and I promise we will be back! Thank You. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Property, Very Nice Stay This was my first experience with a Hotel Indigo. As a mid-50s business traveller the style of the property was a bit trendy and "stylish" for my taste. However, that was merely aesthetic. The property was clean, fresh, and well maintained. The staff were friendly, professiona, and very helpful. The room was roomy and comfortable, and the property was very close to eating/entertainment. I would stay again if I come to this area. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Excellent Room This was my first stay at Hotel Indigo in Athens, GA. My family and I decided to spend New Year's Eve in Athens with fellow Bulldawgs! What a great time we had at the hotel, and you would think it would have been very noisy. It wasn't, and the rooms were very comfortable & clean! Great job to the staff, and I appreciate the extra towels for my wife and daughters!!! January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! My wife and I stayed for one night recently and enjoyed our visit. The staff was friendly as usual, but the bartender was really great. She was very friendly, polite, and recommended several drinks and meals to not only us, but others that came to the bar while we were there. Our room was clean but not perfect as the shower was a little dingy (but not too terrible). Overall, we enjoyed our stay. This was our second visit and we will definitely stay again in the future. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay We have stayed at the Athens Indigo a number of times and really like it. The facilities are nice and the service is very good. However, there are a few areas for improvement. The lighting in the rooms is not good. The rooms would be enhanced with a small frig and even more with a microwave. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience and a great rate! We made last minute reservations to stay the night in order to see the Randal Bramblett band at the Melting Point and were thrilled at the rate! We've never stayed here before so were pleasantly pleased with the entire experience. What a beautiful hotel! Too bad the weather didn't cooperate since the outdoor area looked so welcoming! We'll definitely stay again, especially if the rates stay this good! January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lighting I realize hotels are using energy efficient light bulbs,but the lighting in the bathroom is horrible as well as by the beds. As I have told others when asked about my stay at the Indigo," it was fine,but if I stayed there again I would bring my own light bulbs". December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything about our stay at Hotel Indigo was excellent. We were celebrating the wedding of our son and they helped us in every way possible to make Everything about our stay at Hotel Indigo was excellent. We were celebrating the wedding of our son and they helped us in every way possible to make it a great experience. They had to duplicate my key to my room 5 times and they never ever complained nor made me feel like I was an inconvenience. The manager himself even helped me with my handicapped husband which was beyond the call of duty.They even allowed me a " late" check out due to an after wedding brunch. They were great. I highly recommend them!! December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Green hotel with best staff and service in Athens Kudos to Indigo for their commitment to ecological principles while offering the most knowledgeable and friendly staff in Athens. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So Refreshing I enjoyed my recent visit to Athens and the Hotel Indigo. The room was gorgeous and the bed was super comfortable. Everyone who was working there (it was Thanksgiving holidays) was so friendly and helpful. This is the only place I want to stay when I'm in town. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant and Parking We stayed 11/27 and 11/28. The service in the restaurant the morning of the 28th was slow and unfriendly. Not rude, but just didn't feel her attitude was very positive. To pay for parking in Athens, GA seems a little ridiculous. Nevertheless, it wasn't very clear in booking that there would be a charge to park on site. December 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not sure where to start... I booked 5 rooms 11 months in advance for a big UGA football weekend! Imagine my surprise after a 10 hour drive that they had no rooms for any of our party in spite of the fact that we had confirmation emails? After a lot of back and forth they managed to get us all rooms and we were assured our stay would be "perfect" going forward. Upon check in it was also discovered that whoever botched up the reservations did not charge the required deposits to my credit card. I gave the person handing the situation specific instructions of the rooms whose first night needed to be charged to my credit card as they had already paid me for the deposit. AGAIN- imagine my surprise when my brother in law checked out and they had over charged his account $1200+ (for the deposit rooms) as well as messed up most of the bills in our party. I had to make several call to get to the correct person and I spent a tremendous amount of time over the next few days working with the controller to straighten out all the billing issues. I also spoke to the GM who assured me he would call me back to resolve all the issues. I never did receive a call back from the GM and he has yet to respond to the 3 emails I sent! The hotel was nice, our stay was enjoyable, the DAWGS won but the attention to billing, follow-up and customer service is unacceptable when you pay $400.00 a night. December 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading