• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ATHENS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0BLK
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Holiday Inn Express does accept pets within select rooms on the ground floor level at the hotel. Please inquire for further information. The hotel offers limited pet friendly rooms please inquire directly with front desk staff.
Pet deposit amount  25.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Each guestroom is provided one complimentary parking place in our well lit and secure parking areas.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:160
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:62
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:98
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:GA0103

Enjoy Our Downtown Hotel's Athens, GA Location

Located just two blocks from the University of Georgia campus, our hotel's facilities feature an excellent location in downtown Athens, making the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Athens - University Area the place to stay for Bulldog fans.

When in Athens for business, our hotel's corporate guests can use the on-site Business Center whenever they please. Other amenities include six meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. We
View More

Enjoy Our Downtown Hotel's Athens, GA Location

Located just two blocks from the University of Georgia campus, our hotel's facilities feature an excellent location in downtown Athens, making the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Athens - University Area the place to stay for Bulldog fans.

When in Athens for business, our hotel's corporate guests can use the on-site Business Center whenever they please. Other amenities include six meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 200 people. We are also near several area businesses, as well as schools like UGA and the new UGA Medical School.

Besides being near the University of Georgia, our hotel's guests also find themselves close to the vibrant downtown area, so it's easy to enjoy the shopping, dining and entertainment for which Athens is justifiably famous. While in the area, set aside an afternoon to explore the State Botanical Gardens of Georgia or to tour the Taylor-Grady House. At the end of the day, attend a spectacular show at The Classic Center. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you'll be pleased to know we're near the Georgia Square Mall.

Before beginning their day in Athens, our hotel's guests can "Stay Smart" and visit the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, which we serve every morning. We also provide free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and we have an outdoor pool and Fitness Center on-site. Book today to take advantage of great deals and rates!

View Less
Features
Since our hotel's location in Athens, GA places you just a few blocks from the University of Georgia, you will completely forget why you need a car with everything so close by. Take advantage of our great downtown location and visit the UGA campus, and over 75 eateries within a 5 block radius.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 243 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay for any occasion It was wonderful! The property, the location, the staff, the rooms...everything was GREAT! August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo It is a great hotel close to downtown Athens. Very modern and clean. Pricier than other hotels on Broad. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We only spent one night here but i would have loved to have spent more time in both the area and the hotel. Clean, friendly and accommodating. We traveled with our dog and not only were welcomed but felt very at home. A lot of times traveling with a pet you get the "older" rooms. Not here...beautiful, clean and modern. Only complaint is that being a college town and this was a Friday night when the bars closed for the night for about 1/2 hour is got noisy..but that isn't the hotels fault. For what we paid I would have liked breakfast to be included though. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Austin set us up in a great room, would stay there again August 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by over priced This was our first time at hotel INDIGO. Lacked a warm and inviting feel. Wood floors in the room and concrete ceilings added to the "loft" type feel. We ate at the Bistro for breakfast. Service was good along with the coffee. Food was fair. Not sure the eggs were fresh...only offered scrambled. Comfortable over all but nothing special for the price. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Athens Indigo Hotel Very modern Hotel. The location is just 3 blocks from downtown. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely and convenient place to stay in Athens, GA What an excellent location in Athens, GA. The hotel is clean, refreshing and has lots of amenities. The staff is extremely friendly. I loved that some guests could bring their small pets. It's pet friendly! Way to go, Indigo!!! August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience all around! We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable. We attended a reception in the Club Rialto and it was a great space. Walking distance to downtown. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Leed certified and fresh, clean decor Nice alternative to big chain hotels. Very convenient location. Clean and comfortable rooms. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Place to Stay in Athens I love the Indigo and only stay elsewhere in Athens if they're booked solid. The property is beautiful and unique, the cocktails are fabulous, and the service is top notch. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast The room was quite large for having two beds. plenty of space for two people. The breakfast was inexpensive and very filling. Good Taste. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this Hotel! I have stayed in many hotels in the Athens area. This is by far the cleanest hotel with an exceptional staff! Conveniently located too! It is a tad on the pricey side, but it is a fair value given the alternatives in the area. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Great accommodations, dining options, cleanliness, and fresh air. Best sleep I've had in a hotel in quite some time. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Green features appreciated. Nice hotel. Quiet and comfortable. Staff friendly but no acknowledgement of status was a disappointment. Also, was not offered 500 points on check in or a snack as usual at an IHG property. August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not return, nothing special There is not reason to stay here over the other hotels in the area. The reviews for this hotel are inflated. Three things were nice about this hotel: 1) it looks like a nicer hotel from the outside; 2) The soap was pretty nice; 3) the bed was comfortable. Everything else about this hotel was not up to my standards. I ended up leaving early and staying at another hotel. The price was lower and I felt like I got a much better value. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quick stay Hello, this was my 1st time staying at this location. I have a few thoughts on how to improve. The bathoom should have a fan that can be turned on. for obvious reasons and also to give noise reduction for those outside the bathroom when you do your business. I was charged for parking and basd on my companys agreement I should not have and the company rate was given so not sure why this happened. Hoped for a refrigerator. No space for dinner leftovers to be storeed. This should be standard Did not eat breakfast and usaually do. Some type of introduction or special from the resturant would have been nice. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Athens Very cool hotel. Has a European/German feel. Staff shows typical southern hospitality. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cool Place What a great idea-modern, green hotel with great spaces and artwork as well as a neat bar and restaurant. The staff was outstanding and friendly and everything was within walking distance. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Decor, Poor amenities Staff needs to focus on cleaning the rooms better while a guest is there. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a little late but... I had a fantastic stay and really enjoyed the hotel and friendly staff. The 'Art Scene' theme was intriguing to me being a budding artist myself. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, Awesome STAFF Best experience I've had at a hotel in many years. I'll be more than happy to recommend this property. The staff at Hotel Indigo is professional and respectful. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by EXPENSIVE We found the property safe and clean but expensive. It seemed odd to us to have to pay $10 per day for parking but evidently that is a standard in the city of Athens. Had to request a refrigerator and pay extra. Some of our group wanted a refrigerator but did not receive one in their room. Lack of carpet in rooms if clean but a little more noisy. Room doors close tightly and were a bit loud. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent overall experience in all aspects of stay. All aspects of the stay met or exceeded expectations. Easy check-in and check-out. Bed and pillows were as good as ever experienced at a Hotel. Internet and TV were of excellent quality. I would recommend to anyone traveling to Athens for a quality stay. Room and hotel were very quiet; apparently excellent insulation on all areas of the hotel. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff everyone is just so helpful friendly--top to bottom! July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Major Love the art work, the staff was very friendly and the food was good for a small hotel July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed but dirty room My husband and I checked on the Penthouse floor . We expected great things because of the price tag attached. What we got was sticky(uncleaned floor) and water left over in the ice bucket. They were quick to come and replace the bucket. They also cleaned the floor with me waiting to get back into my room. We then had a film of cleaner all over the bottom of our feet for the rest of the stay. It wasn't worth the price to get an executive room. The room itself needed some repainting and a big cleaning. I was disappointed because I have wanted to stay there for sometime now.... Finally convinced my husband..... it was a bad experience. I will stick to my preferred hotel chain. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Nice place to stay in Athens,GA. A nice place to relax and get away from the busy work week of traveling July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Place to stay! The Indigo is an excellent choice for lodging in Athens. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Location is within walking distance to downtown Athens and to UGA campus. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Highly recommend! July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Administrator Great experience, I would visit again. Thanks for all you have done. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wedding party loved it My now hubby and I had our wedding reception at the hotel's Rialto Club in Athens and rented out the two presidential suites for the wedding party to enjoy, hang out at and get ready in before the ceremony and during the reception. It was more than wonderful! Not only did we receive a complimentary bottle of bubbly from our event coordinator, but had everything we could have wanted from a hotel at our availability ; clean towels, beyond comfortable beds, fridge and oven, great decor, etc... Also at the reception, all of my guests were very impressed with the venue, it was beautiful and cozy! It was overall a great experience and the staff was oh-so-helpful! They even let me bother them until the wee hours of the night the night before the wedding just so i could get my cake to the downstairs fridge when the cake baker arrived. LOVED IT!!! July 18, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading