• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ATHENS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

15.00 non refundable cleaning fee per stay. Pets over 40 pounds will not be accepted.
Pet deposit amount  15.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:39
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:41
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Make Yourself at Home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio

This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us.

Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt.
View More

Make Yourself at Home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio

This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us.

Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art.

Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests.

Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit.

View Less
Features
Stay Smart at our hotel near Ohio University and you will feel at home with our outstanding service, a free Express Start breakfast and the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service, clean, comfortable rooms, good breakfast Everything was great about our visit - friendly service, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. The only problem was with the hot tub in the pool area. The jets did not work properly. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and friendly Stayed a few days at this Holiday Inn Express while we enjoyed the Hocking Hills area hiking. Very clean, breakfast was more than I expected to be served. Wasn't rushed out like some hotels in the morning as checkout is 12 noon, which was great. We would stay here again. Our only disappointment was the pillows, but we should have brought our own. They do supply many pillows, but they aren't just our own personal preference. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and quality service There is not much out there so this hotel has a good location near the highway for when i travel. Staff was friendly even though I got there late. My largest complaints would be that some of the furniture was a little dated and the place needed painted or something to lift up the decor. The other complaint would be that the front door is not automatically or a sliding door. This may seem minute, but when you are coming from your car with your hands full of things, or pulling a rolling suitcase, it is hard to physically get in the building. Breakfast was good and enjoyed the tea selection (I don't drink coffee but still want something warm in the morning!) September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & Comfortable with Great Location We would definitely choose this hotel again if we're in the Hocking Hills area. The room was nice. The hotel was clean. It was quiet. Everyone was pleasant. Breakfast was a full breakfast. And it was a great value. Definitely recommend. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hocking Hills Wedding Visit I was pleased with the helpful staff upon our arrival. Everything was in order and ready when we got there. The front desk personnel was extremely helpful with directions to Crocketts ?? wedding site. We arrived at 3pm give or take and the wedding was at 4:30, so we had to change and get there with little time to spare. All the construction near your location made driving and finding things a bit challenging because road signs had been removed adding to the confusion. With directions from your staff everything came off with out a hitch. After a comfortable night we had a very good breakfast in your dining room and were on our way back to Hamilton. Thanks to everyone that helped make our stay a happy one. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Busy Breakfast Great stay. Breakfast was packed. No place to sit. Left without eating. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall experience! This hotel is very close to all parts of Hocking Hills parks. The hotel is very clean, beds and pillows are very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful!! We also enjoyed the free breakfast each morning. We would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family and will be staying there again next year! September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by News flash..Hotel Exceeds Expectation!!! We decided to spend a weekend exploring Hocking Hills area. This hotel made it even more enjoyable weekend. The pool and hot tub were helped relax achy muscles. Great stay, reasonably priced. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing My husband and I came back from a day of hiking and were able to come back and relax. The room was very clean and quiet. We really enjoyed out stay. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Problems several different problems. Sheets smelled ,hot tub did not work again this year and had to eat my breakfast in the lobby because the breakfast room is to small September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for Hocking Hills Park visitors The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was excellent. Right by the visitors center and Hocking Hills Park. We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Experience The staff was friendly and professional. They answered all questions we had for them. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff at this hotel were excellent! The staff behind the desk was very accommodating, including finding milk for my infant daughter since there was no gas station/store close by. The beds were very comfortable and clean. I highly recommend. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great everything We were very pleased with our stay at the hotel. We have never stayed in a suit before and weren't sure what to expect. We had a fridge and a microwave. And in the past, these commodities were not included in our room. The only complaint I would have about the stay is the fact that the AC would only cool the room if it was set at a fridgid 65 or so. And in the night, one of us would have to crawl out of bed to turn it up because at that point we were freezing. However the breakfast was great!!! And our room was spotless when we came back at the end of our day! August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased Very pleased with our stay at the Hocking Hills-Logan Holiday Inn Express. We didn't have much contact with the staff other than check-in and the woman who checked us in was wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was nothing gourmet but was varied and sufficient - we didn't expect as much as what was there and so were pleased. The room was clean and efficient with room for our family of four. When we needed extra towels - no problem in obtaining them. The only couple of suggestions that I'd have is to have more outlets by the bedside for charging phones and adding small fridges to the rooms - that is a nice amenity when you are traveling a distance. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good place for local attractions overall good place to stay. would stay there again. 1st room no ac. I think they knew there was problem because it was unplugged. they did move to another room although it smelled like freshener like maybe someone smoked in a nonsmoking room tried to cover. the front desk clerk did a great job. arrived after 5 p. m. and she also did maintenance. did not think it was appropriate to have only one person working for all the rooms (bad management)would have been nice if they had a out door area for evening relaxing,maybe some type of courtyard with table and chairs to enjoy the partial view of area. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thin walls the hotel was clean and staff was great but very thin walls you could hear all the noisy children August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent And Friendly Staff / Very Clean This place was so clean I made sure I told every employee I ran into. We were extremely happy with the cleanliness. We paid a higher price because of the dates so that is why I gave it a 4 on the value. Able to relax got a 4 because we had disrespectful people letting their kids misbehave in the pool area. We used the pool a lot and this only happened for a couple hours out of the whole weekend. This is not the hotels fault. The ladies in the breakfast area were super nice and very clean. I was down at 6:35 in the mornings getting coffee and then back down at 8:30 when the family was ready. The ladies were just as nice the whole time. There is a good selection of food and drinks for breakfast. Everyone looked professional and clean also. Very important when you are in the food service industry. The hot tub jets weren't working but we were told that at check in. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful place to stay The breakfast was very nice; far from the stale doughnut and coffee you get other places. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay in Hocking Hills In April we visited Hocking Hills State Park and stayed in the Holiday Inn Logan. We had a very nice stay. In August, my family returned for a second trip, and there was no question about where to stay. The property is clean and up-to-date. The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is varied. After three mornings of the same offerings, breakfast was a little monotonous. A little more variety between days would be nice, but if that's the biggest complaint about the food, then you know something's right. :-) I really like the hotel lobby. The chairs and sofas are comfortable, and I love the fireplace. I sat in the lobby for a few hours reading and enjoying the decor. We had some noisy neighbors one evening; talking loudly and slamming their doors. Not the hotel's fault; no one can provide 100% soundproof rooms, but it was irritating. If you're visiting the area, you can't beat the Holiday Inn Logan for convenience of location. We would definitely stay there again. August 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Most uncomfortable bed. As far as location and the fact that they had a pool, it was a great hotel...especially for the kids. The room was on the first floor and was so noisy, the bed was horribly uncomfortable, we found ants all over our small table in our room, and we had to bring our breakfast back there because there was no room in the dining area. I would not stay again...we will spend the extra $ and get a nice cabin next time. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hocking Hills! The hotel was comfortable and the State Park was amazing! I accidentally left my computer bag - containing my laptop and NOOK - when we checked out and didn't notice until later in the afternoon! The hotel staff recovered my bag and mailed it and all the contents promptly to my home! I can't thank them enough for going above and beyond! I highly recommend this hotel! August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty I stay at this hotel about once a year. From last year to this year, this Holiday Inn Express has failed to matinee what I have come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The pool was dirty and even had bandaids laying on the floor the entire time we were there. The room smelled, they ran out of fruit for breakfast all 3 days we were there. As you can see I was very disappointed with the cleanliness, and lack of attention to my experience. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second time We have stayed here before while visiting Hocking Hills. The location is perfect, sandwiched between the highway and the sights. The people here are so sweet and attentive to the needs of all the guests. We fell in love with Michael who works the front desk. That young man goes above and beyond his job description. What a gem! We have adopted him as our son. We had issues last time with the breakfast area. It's just so difficult to reach for a spoon or a napkin because people stand there and wait AND WATCH their pancakes being slowly made. We love pancakes but this machine holds up people who simply, like us, just wants a bagel. The lady working the breakfast area was so gracious and worked as hard as she could. At one point, I tried three different coffee pumps before I could find one with coffee in it. We all just ate too much and too quickly for her to keep up with the demand. When I asked if she was going to put out any bananas, which I could see in the crate, she apologized and sweetly got them. Where do you find this kind of courtesy? Give this girl a raise and some additional help! We love our coffee and in our four or five attempts to get a cup throughout our visit, 80% of the time it was empty or cold. Same with the hot water. Overall, it was a great visit, with minor issues. We'll be back so just get those bananas ready. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay hotel staff was great, room very clean. Hotel needs to invest in new mattresses for beds. Need to provide an address to find via GPS, came from south not Columbus, was hard to find. Overall would rate as good. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pool Not Usable Heater problem with the swimming pool so couldn't use. Also bathroom towels are of a very poor quality, as are the bed pillows. Definitely need some TLC in the rooms. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Stay I enjoyed my stay in this location. I had great fun. July 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by pool open 24 hrs. came for a wedding. wasnt in the room very much (sleep and go) like the pool being open 24 hrs. the spa (hot tub) was not working, it was luke warm, no bubbles, the pool was freezing. I asked both times I spoke to desk to be on 1st floor as my Mom is in a wheel chair. We were on the 3rd floor. Everyone else that was there for the wedding was on the 1st floor. My neice told me her room was infested in ants. I havent stayed in a hotel in a long time, but I feel the price was way too high and I had two rooms(double the price).I did not get to the breakfast as we checked out at 9:00am for the wedding. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We came in late that night after being at Ohio University all day. The young lady that was working at the desk was so polite and such a great help. Also the breakfast the next morning was outstanding. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by !st Class Service We were in Hocking Hills for a motorcycle rally and stayed from July 6th thru the 11th and were really impressed with the facility and the staff. The big continental breakfast was always excellent with a wide verity of hot and cold choices. The two ladies in charge of the dining room did a super job making sure that everything was kept clean and that the coffee urns and food items were always fresh and well supplied for our big group. We were so impressed with the two women that we rewarded each of them with a good size tip. The desk staff and all of the hotel staff were always smiling and ready to help in any way they could. Our room was super clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job making sure we had everything we needed. We have traveled many places in the US and in Europe and would rate this facility a 10 in all aspects. July 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading