• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ATHENS
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

15.00 non refundable cleaning fee per stay. Pets over 40 pounds will not be accepted.
Pet deposit amount  15.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:39
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:41
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Make Yourself at Home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio

This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us.

Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt.
View More

Make Yourself at Home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio

This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us.

Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art.

Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests.

Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit.

View Less
Features
Stay Smart at our hotel near Ohio University and you will feel at home with our outstanding service, a free Express Start breakfast and the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 191 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some easy improvements It would be an easy fix to provide more breakfast trays so that no one would have to eat standing up or juggle a plate and hot coffee to one's room. I know it would be a pain to enlarge the eating area and trays are a nice idea but seriously, how hard can it be to purchase more trays. The breakfast worker acted like if there are no more on the designated area, then they must all be upstairs being used by other guests who got here before you. (We still had another hour to go before breakfast was over). Also, just fix the hot tub! It has been broke for over a month according to other posts. You don't know how annoying this is to think you will get to ease your aching muscles from hiking and afterall the pool area is pictured as being wonderful but when you actually arrive, the pool is murky and the hot tub has been non-functioning for a long time. A lot of hotels have broken hot tubs frequently so I guess this is a pet peeve of mine. Why don't you let us know when booking that that amenity is not going to be part of the visit experience. We could have stayed at the other hotel in the area but were counting on this amenity and were willing to pay extra to get it. This is disappointing especially since you have been broken for such a long time. I thought surely it would be fixed since the June posting! If these 2 things had not happened I would have given the hotel top marks. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our First Vacation Together Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Holiday Inn at Hocking Hills as our first getaway together. We got a suite and it was amazing! We had an awesome time and most of the reason was because of how great out hotel room was! The staff were all friendly, starting from when I called to book my room until check out. They were very helpful with suggesting good things to do in the area as well. Awesome hotel and staff! I don't see myself staying at any other hotel branch in the future! July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stay somewhere else. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good. No internet, wired or wifi, for the entire 2 night stay. Hottub on the fritz. Staff was indifferent to the internet situation and never offered any alternatives, partial rebates, etc. Will avoid this chain from now on. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok place to stay Bed was comfortable and clean liked the pillows. Bathroom also clean. I liked the pool kids enjoyed swimming.i was looking forward to the whirlpool however, it was closed during my stay due to maintenance issues, wifi was also down the first day. Breakfast area too small. Breakfast choices were very good. The hostess at breakfast was very friendly. Front desk staff was ok but rarely seen at desk had to ring bell. They signed me up for priority club without asking, my husband used to be a platinum meet when he traveled often for work. Would rent a cabin for the weekend next time. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by horrible bed the bed was hard as a rock and there was no wireless for my entire stay July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Feelings I have mixed feelings regarding this facility. The appearance of the facility was nice, the staff was kind and considerate. The breakfast menu was good and tasted great. The room we stayed in was pretty good, there were issues with the internet and the HBO channel did not work right. July 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hocking hills holiday inn I was disappointed in this Holiday Inn. The pool and hot tub were dirty with visible green/brown scum on the pool walls. The vending machines were nonfunctional. I was glad we only stayed one night. Disappointing. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff We brought our 7yr. old grandson to Hocking Hills State Park and we needed a kid friendly place to stay. The place was great! The pool was fantastic to play in for a busy little guy and 2 grandparents...perfect temp! The staff was very welcoming and eager to make us feel at home. One particular staff member, Tessa, was amazing! She helped our grandson with his "DSL"...we did not have a clue, unfortunately! We had a fun time with our grandson and would come back again! July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good caves stay Very clean hotel with good beds and friendly staff. I was impressed with the lack of highway noise inside the hotel considering its close proximity to 33. Great restaurants nearby and the hiking in Hocking Hills State park are amazing. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cost Was told that the amount included tax and fees plus incidientals due to using a debit card, but when my account was charged, I was charged considerably more than the room was suppose to cost. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly hotel in a great area of the country My room was excellent, except for the older style ac, which was a slight nuisance. It did not control as well as newer versions. With that said, I was able to adequately control the room temp. Breakfast was nice, however the eat in area was on the small side. Friendly people at the front desk. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hocking Hills Not a place that we would ever stay at again. This was our third trip to the Holiday Inn Express and is surely out last in Logan! The neighbors/friends of staff appeared to rule the property. Not a pleasant stay to bring our 12 year old daughter! July 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by no ref No refrigerator in room and no good chair at computer desk. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Totally enjoyed our stay at the Inn.. Staff and accommodations were excellent... July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location. Staff very accomodating This is a good location. Within walking distance of some good restaurants. Staff was very accomodating. Pricing a little on the high side, especially once you add in all the taxes. A decent size breakfast area, but it was always full and did not have enough seating. Layout on food area made it hard to get to. People seemed to be in each other's way. Otherwise, we really liked this hotel. Especially the 24/7 pool area with a patio. July 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by never again Was given the impression that our dog would be ok for a short time during the day as long as it remained quiet, and it would have if the hotel staff and cleaning crew could follow directions, and would not have kept banging on the door, which we told the hotel upon arrival we did not want the room serviced while we were there. So they disregarded our directions and entered our room against our wishes, then told us in detail about their pet policy that someone has to be in the room every second of the day with the pet. It would have been courteous if they would have done a better job explaining these unreasonable terms over the phone before I drove my family over 200 miles to enjoy a trip to hocking. I mean how were we supposed to go to dinner together or hike the trails or even utilize the pool at the hotel if one of us had to remain in the room at all times. Had they done a better job at explaining their ridiculous "pet friendly" rules then I would have made other arrangements to have the pet looked after at home rather then bringing her along and totally ruining my only summer vacation. Not only that but then when I complained about all this they went on to say that the dog was barking the night before, which is ridiculous because we were there all night and the dog never made a peep. Our dog was a rescue dog and very timid hardly ever barks at anything unless something threatens her like a loud banging on the door or a stranger in her presence. Exactly why I didn't want the room serviced, had the hotel followed our explicit instructions, there wouldn't have been any issues. Thanks Holiday Inn for the worst hotel experience ever July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn high standards prevail We always choose Holiday Inn when we travel. They never fail to provide the best prices and most updated rooms. This location didn't disappoint. The highlight was the friendly staff. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. This place is conveniently located close to the entrance of the Hocking Hills Park and near the exit of the thruway. If you love your evening coffee, like I do, I would suggest you don't rely on their lobby coffee since every time we found it to be lukewarm and not fresh. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OU College Visit The hotel was like a home away from home. It was clean, relaxing, provided nice breakfast. The beds were surprising comfortable, I slept great. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place and Nice Staff! We stayed at the HIE because our son's baseball team was in a tournament down the road. The condition and cleanliness of the rooms was very good, with modern appointments. It was great having a pool for the boys to use, but the hot tub was "closed" for some reason. The staff was very nice during our entire stay and always offered a smile. The BBQ place just down the street was convenient and pretty good too. Bottom line, we would definitely stay here again. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Room This hotel appears to be changing from a lower quality brand to become a Holiday Inn Express. It needs a lot more work to reach an acceptable level. The room was filthy. The only reason to stay was it being late at night with an early morning check out. I would not recommend this hotel until improvements are made. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, great breakfast and awesome staff. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly, informative, and helpful. Will definitely stay here again. AL & Connie from Pittsburgh, Pa. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice hotel would stay here again.Very nice hotel.Best hotel bed I have ever had when I have been traveling June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service and comfortable bed I needed a bottle opener and did not have one. I called to the front desk and asked if there was one available. The young man said he would check and within 10 minutes he arrived at my room with a bottle opener. That was much appreciated - the small things but they matter. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'd stay there again! Positive points: Super clean, spacious room, beds and bathrooms. Comfortable mattresses which is a big plus for me as I don't sleep well away from home. AC worked great and thermostat easy to use and responsive. Nicely appointed bathroom. (Mild) Negatives: Not at all the hotel's fault, but we had some obnoxiously loud guests carrying on for some time around 2 am right outside our door. Just wonder what some people are thinking acting like that at a hotel in the wee hours. The only other thing I'd say is they need to make far more space in the breakfast area. We weren't there during a busy holiday or anything, but you couldn't find a seat in the place and people were practically crawling all over one another. Food was pretty decent and you can't beat a free continental breakfast after all. I've seen far worse and not many that were better. June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Logan Ohio The hotel was well kept and clean. The mattresses were rock hard and difficult to sleep in. The Great Room where breakfast is served is very cramped and it was hard to find seating in the morning. Otherwise, the hotel was good. June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and free wifi, pool needs help First impression property was well maintained and clean. One of the front desk staff seemed unsure of how to get my rewards points for staying at Holiday Inn, but that was resolved by a second clerk. Room was very nice, clean, comfortable and bathroom very good as well. Great choices at breakfast....loved the hot food options, SO much nicer then just doughnuts and bagels! Few wifi is a great resource. My only complaint would be the pool.....it was VERY warm, bath water warm and not at all refreshing. I had a concern about bacteria in a pool that temperature....where the water isn't hot enough to kill bacteria (like in hot spas) but warm enough to evaporate out its chemicals...giving water borne pathogens a healthy environment. Also the flooring in the pool area was made of rock material....which might be good to discourage slipping, but so many of the rocks had come loose it was painful to walk on the surface without shoes. The hot tub was out of commission at the time of my stay. Overall I would stay here again, but if you're looking forward to a swim to unwind after a long day....enjoy swimming in a rock filled bath tub. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great accomidations and great staff We were in the area for our anniversary. We chose this Holiday Inn Express because of comments of previous guests. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly. We told them about our anniversary and had a nice chat. A anniversary card from the staff was under our door the next morniing. The room was very comfortable and the hotel was well maintained. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest room was very roomy and clean. Very clean and quiet! Great service and clerks and employees were very friendly! I forgot my toothpaste and called the front desk. The Clerk was up to my room in just a matter of minutes!! Great service! Very good breakfast, with lots of choices! The only suggestion that I might have is....the waste cans in the room were too small for all of our trash. I would suggest a little larger trash cans in the rooms. But, please note that I am not complaining! I have stayed at this particular Holiday Inn Express a few times before and just love it!! Thank you for all your great services!! :) June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hocking gem! Great alternative to camping or cabining in Hocking Hills. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by close to everything Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice room that was cleaned every day. The maids greater us whenever we saw them, even in late afternoon when I know they had put in a long day of work. Overall experience was very positive. May 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading