• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: AUBURN
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 19

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Holiday Inn Express and Suites Auburn, AL welcomes service animals Only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Toomer's Corner
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Surf Side Water Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Auburn University
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Chewacla State Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:38
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:39
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Auburn Hotel's Location is near University Area

Easy access off of I-85 at exit 51 means the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Auburn - University Area is conveniently located in the heart of Auburn and just minutes from Auburn University, Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail and Chewacla State Park.

Leisure visitors looking for hotels in Auburn love a location that places them right in the middle of Auburn's exciting nightlife, shopping and restaurants. They can easily spend the day
View More

Auburn Hotel's Location is near University Area

Easy access off of I-85 at exit 51 means the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Auburn - University Area is conveniently located in the heart of Auburn and just minutes from Auburn University, Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail and Chewacla State Park.

Leisure visitors looking for hotels in Auburn love a location that places them right in the middle of Auburn's exciting nightlife, shopping and restaurants. They can easily spend the day exploring the beautiful Chewacla State Park. Tiger football fans are pleased that we're near Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Football Stadium. After watching a great game at the stadium, be sure to head over to Toomer's Corner, a local, post-game hangout. We're also near the Auburn Softball Complex.

Corporate travelers appreciate having an on-site Business Center with and copy services, as well as meeting space that can accommodate business and social events for up to 100 guests. Free high-speed, Wi-Fi access and being just minutes from Auburn University are two more reasons they choose the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Auburn - University Area.

Among hotels in Auburn, our exceptional service, quality amenities and a warm, friendly atmosphere are unrivaled. From the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar to the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, we offer the perks you deserve. We hope you book today, so that we can welcome you soon!

View Less
Features
Best value in Auburn, AL. Just off I-85 and conveniently located to Auburn University campus, Auburn Business Park, Chewacla state park and Surfside water park. Our guests enjoy our southern hospitality as well as complimentary hot breakfast and a sparkling, outdoor pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Staff went out of their way to take care of us. Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff did everything they could to make us happy. They were always helpful, willing and delightful to us. Our experience was exceptional and we will certainly come back and stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The Jacuzzi and pool were wonderful. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel and location I really enjoyed our stay. Staff was attentive and helpful, the breakfast bar was great and the location was excellent. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lawrie Out of all the Holiday Inn's I have stayed at, this one is by far the best for friendliness, cleanliness, and comfort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back next time we visit Alabama. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodations Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and up to date room. Bed was very comfortable. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place with very good serice This hotel is very close to Auburn University and is an extremely good value. The breakfast selections are excellent and the lady working in the breakfast area "made my day." She was so up beat and cheerful that it was delightful. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Trevor was outstanding. I was traveling on the road and he helped me book an extra night because I was going to arrive earlier than I had planned. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best IHG properties The best thing you can write about a hotel is that there were no surprises. As this is a fairly new property, everything was clean and functional. The front desk staff was always cordial whenever we walked by. The morning breakfast...much better than most. We were in town for a funeral for a family member, so this wasn't the happiest time for us. We were glad that at least our room let us decompress and unwind. Whenever we travel, Holiday Inn Express is our first choice for accommodations. If you're staying in the Auburn/Opelika area, this is your hotel. Hopefully the next time we're back will be under better circumstances where we will have time to enjoy the pool / spa / exercise room. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service There were no carts when we checked in. The two men behind the desk tried to find us one but could not. Tysonn came out to the car and helped my husband with all our bags. He was so helpful.They were helpful in helping us find a place to eat close by. Would definitely stay there again. May 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ben was great. The folks on the 800 number not so much.... We booked two rooms with points during a very busy time period which was Auburn University Graduation weekend. I booked one room online and the other over the phone. We ended up having a major problem because although we booked 2 double beds, the only rooms they had were King size beds and they didn't have any rollaway beds. Since it was siblings staying in the room we didn't feel that King bed was going to be appropriate. Ben was working the front desk and he was awesome. He was able to locate a rollaway for one room and when he could not do so for the second room, he secured us a room at a nearby hotel. Originally I was told we were going to have a 2 bed suite with a pullout couch which would have been fine to accomodate us all but apparently Ben's co-worker gave that room to someone as an upgrade which left Ben to work out the problem for us when we arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon. He was nice and apologetic. When there is a busy weekend, they should not be allowed to upgrade people because it is unfair when your room gets taken away from you. Also, the IHG rewards folks should tell you that you are using points when you have a free room night on the books that is going to expire in less than a month. When I called on the phone I didn't have my account info in front of me. When I called the next day to convert it over, they wouldn't let me do it after the fact. Really not helpful at all. Apparently the pancake maker was broken also. May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by More TV Channels I have stayed at this perticular location dozens of times and every time i can remember griping about the selection of TV channels. It seems like the only channels they had were sports and news. Oh, and HBO. I am not a big sports fan and I can only watch so much news. I'm glad I don't use their cable provider. My provider's most basic package offers a lot more channels than they have. I like the room and the location. I just wish there were more TV channels. May 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom NOT user friendly It is unfortunate that a bad bathroom situation determined our rating for this hotel. The bedroom was comfortable, the staff above average, but a horrid bathroom was deciding factor!! There was a walk in shower, designed as to not need a door. However, there was not even a single hook in proximity to shower on which to hang towels-bathmat-clothes. And no bars or hook in shower on which to hang anything. My husband took a shower, had to deal with wet floor and leaving bathroom door open so as to be able to reach towel hanging on it. I opted to skip shower in favor of a sink bath--ugh!! This situation can be easily remedied by placement of several hooks beside shower opening and inside shower stall, and I would then recommend it. April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very friendly staff Had a nice comfortable stay. Breakfast was good and rooms very clean. Will stay here again April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Our stay was relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. The breakfast was fabulous with many hot and cold choices. The staff was always friendly and very helpful! I highly recommend staying here. It's also easy to find right off of I 85. April 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 2 Good 2 Be True This hotel had potential.Next too a movie theater that's currently being built. Didn't give me my points...Shopping opportunity just down the street with plenty of room for my kind of transportation.. Didn't give me my points..Big signs that exclaims Welcome IHG members..I stayed two nights..fat Zero on my IHG account.. More of the same..I hate it but, a hotel chain that is not loyal to me..Why should I be loyal too you..Another Hotel Chain is loyal to me..they give me my points..any hotel of theirs that doesn't...they make it right on the spot...Holiday Inns policy is totally off base..I choose where I stay ..And I stay at places that give me points bc that's the only thing I get out of the deal..I stay in a hotel every night...and I stay for free..so points are the only thing that keeps me comeing back..the discounted price means nothing too me..its a tax right off if I pay for it and its a tax right off if my company pays for it..Soo boo on this location for not treating me like a valued customer...me and my fellow co workers will be passing this spot by...Take the IHG Members welcomed sign down..u did not welcome me at all... April 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable hotel The hotel was convenient, clean and comfortable. I was treated with dignity and respect by the staff and I'll stay there again soon. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay Could not ask for a better place to stay, rooms, staff and breakfast were very nice.....Thank You March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfy and friendly Nice place to stay. Greeting when I checked in was warm, friendly and efficient (sorry I don't remember young woman's name...she was wonderful). Clean and safe location. Good breakfast. Convenient to restaurants, shopping and business. Not far from Auburn Univ. Overall very good place and experience. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful and welcoming staff! I stay here every visit to Auburn and have always had exceptional service. The quality and cleanliness of the hotel are outstanding. This is my "go to" hotel when visiting the area. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Friendly and Genuinely Welcomed I returned to the area in December 2013 to attend a retirement dinner for an ex co-worker (I retired in 2008) at the Auburn Fire division. Chose to stay here because of location and I'm an IHG member. The staff was extremely polite, friendly, relaxed and professional all the same. Room was excellent experience. Stay was great. I will and I AM staying a second time. March 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room not ready We arrived at 3:30 and were told we could go in our room, but there were no towels and pillow cases because all the rooms had checked out in one day and the laundry wasn't done and the maids couldn't get done. At 6:30 I asked if we could get towels because it looked as though the maids had left the floor. The female staff member was rude and told me "ma'am, we had 87 rooms check out and only have 5 maids." The male staff member seemed very weird and must have called my husband "my man" 10 times. We finally received towels and pillow cases at 7pm by a very nice young maid (the only good experience in this motel). If 5 maids is not enough to keep up, hire some more! 87 rooms means over $9000 taken in per day!!!!! Train your desk staff not to be rude. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location for a Good Price Great staff. Clean rooms. Great location. My only qualm was a few outlets in my room did not work. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Exceeded Expectations The staff at this hotel was phenomenal! The good morning smiles from Katy, the afternoon 'hello' and 'how was your day' from Lauren and Darcey, and even the night audit staff Lindsey saying 'sleep well' really made this place exceptional. The staff was trained well and really made me feel like I was welcomed and valued. The staff alone stand out above the rest here in the area. I will return to this location again and again because of your staff. February 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stained green blanket and bugs The green blanket at the foot of the bed had stains and there were bugs in our room. I will never stay there again January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I had a wonderful stay at this location. I was there on business from 1/19/14 thru 1/22/14 and everyone on your staff was very friendly and helpful. I would like to say that Darby was the young lady that checked us in and she was so helpful and very sweet. She was very helpful in giving us tips on places to eat as well. The breakfast was really good and the hotel was spotless. Great job to the crew in Opelika, AL. January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An Excellent Hotel Property This very new Holiday Inn Express was well-outfitted with spacious, business-friendly rooms and comfortable beds. The rooms were quiet and exquisitely clean and none were a far walk from either a stairway or the elevator. The breakfast served was full-course and far more than you could ever eat--and it was tasty! I loved the buttery yeast biscuits, which I feel certain were fresh. The staff was wonderful and friendly, and had a lot of good suggestions for places to eat. They also helped with directions, and even left my reservation open in case I had to return for another night (which I did, and with no hassle or increase in price). They even made sure my room had a freezer for my blue ice. The grounds were lovely. The only con was that the access road and entrance to the hotel are poorly-lit and thus the facility was difficult to find, and once found, it was hard to figure out how to get over to it from the main highway. I arrived at night, so this was important. I would stay here again. Thanks, Holiday Inn. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Auburn Visit I stay at IHG properties often and find them to be a solid choice. This property was a bit above the rest. Very good staff and great room. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pet Friendly We spent one night there while visiting family over the holiday. We had our small dog with us and really appreciated the pet friendly environment. Our first floor room provided easy access for walking the dog. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. January 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by had ants in our room and bed Very disappointed in this hotel. Turned down the covers and had ants in the bed and then I lifted the sheet and mattress pad to see if there were ants under it and there was a huge stain in the mattress very disgusting. The shower door was loose and needs to be fixed or your going to have a risk management issue on your hands. The walls in the room were filty with particles of food and scuff marks. It looked like there had been a huge fight in the room there were dings and scuff marks everywhere. In the bathroom there was hair behind the door. I find this super disgusting. I informed the person at the desk the next morning and there was no attempt to compensate me for the disastrous room. We were so tired we could not move to another room. There were two beds in the room so we slept in the other bed with dreams of ants crawling all over us. It was not a good experience at all. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable We stayed at the Opelika Holiday Inn Express across from Tiger Town on two different occasions within a week in December. We were completely satisfied with the hotel, the location, the personnel, and the breakfast. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Reception was very efficient and helpful, the facilities were clean and neat, and the location is very convenient to all of the restaurants, shopping, and everything else at Tiger Town. It's also fairly close to Auburn. The women that work the breakfast buffet were very personable, and the buffet itself was great. The scrambled eggs were perfect, and it was nice to have biscuits and grits (although instant). Waffles, sausage, cereal, bagels, toast, juice, and very good coffee too. We stall return. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room at a great price for Christmas vacation We stayed at this Holiday Inn out at Tiger Town while in Opelika for Christmas this year. The rates off-season were great, under 100 per day for a king suite with a small kitchenette with dining table. The staff was welcoming and hospitable, bringing extra pillows up within a couple of minutes after my request, and greeting everyone as we entered and exited every day. We stayed here to alleviate overcrowding at my mother's house, and it was great to come home every night and get a good quiet night of sleep amid the busy-ness of Christmas. The jacuzzi tub was a hit, as was the free breakfast downstairs every morning. Convenient to shopping and restaurants and just a great location. Definitely be back! December 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading