• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BENTON HARBOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Holiday Inn Express is a pet friendly hotel
Pet fee amount  35.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Lighted Parking Lot ample semi parking close to highway

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:49
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

One of the Nicest Hotels in the Benton Harbor Area

St. Joseph, MI, Silver Beach and Lake Michigan are all close to the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Benton Harbor. The hotel's location along I-94 not only makes it ideal for getting to nearby business, but also places guests near the best local attractions.

We have everything a business traveler needs for a productive trip. Keep in touch with the office using complimentary Wi-Fi access or at a computer in the Business
View More

One of the Nicest Hotels in the Benton Harbor Area

St. Joseph, MI, Silver Beach and Lake Michigan are all close to the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Benton Harbor. The hotel's location along I-94 not only makes it ideal for getting to nearby business, but also places guests near the best local attractions.

We have everything a business traveler needs for a productive trip. Keep in touch with the office using complimentary Wi-Fi access or at a computer in the Business Center. You can use the 750-sq-ft meeting room to host an event or seminar for up to 60 attendees. Plus, because of our hotel's location in the Benton Harbor - St. Joseph, MI area, it's easy to get to companies like Whirlpool and Leco.

There is so much to do around Benton Harbor that our hotel's guests will want to stay at least a week. Spend a day on Lake Michigan at Silver Beach or Warren Dunes State Park. A host of exquisite wineries pepper southeast Michigan, and you can catch live performances at the Mendel Center on the campus of Lake Michigan College.

Our 100% non-smoking facilities are filled with amenities to help you unwind completely. Test the waters of our heated, indoor pool or just sit back with friends and soak in the whirlpool. Our Fitness Center offers you the convenience of your daily workouts, and each morning you can enjoy a hot, tasty deluxe breakfast on the house. Let us show you the unparalleled hospitality of Benton Harbor, Michigan.

View Less
Features
You'll definitely love the friendliness, experience and knowledge of our hotel's staff. Whether in Benton Harbor to attend a meeting or unwind, we help make your stay as productive as you wish.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service Great location, only two miles to Silver Beach where the parking is free all day. The hotel restaraunt was awesome, I highly reccommend the sea bass. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff This hotel is wonderful. The only reason I don't give it a 5 star rating is because the breakfast is not great and is served on Styrofoam plates with plastic utensils and the pool is nothing fancy. For those two reasons I feel the hotel is over priced. The same chain in Holland (with very nice rooms and a huge pool, but same breakfast) is considerably less in cost. The reason its wonderful?...the rooms (stay in the Kids Suite)... the staff (Mitch) and St. Joseph is also a great place to visit with LOTS to do. August 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Experience Our visit to this hotel was a mixed bag. Here are my thoughts. Pros: The staff were very nice. The room was clean as well as the public areas The breakfast cold food, NOT the hot food Location of the hotel Cons: Room: Stay away from room 105. For the price that we paid, it was a big disappointment for the following reasons. 1. You could feel and hear the rumble of running on the floor above us. 2. You could hear the guests above us urinating 3. We heard every flush of the toilets and the draining of the water down the pipes within our walls. 4. This room was on ground level and guests would be able to look into our room from the outside. All we had were shear curtains. The heavy duty drapes were NOT designed to cover the window. 5. With no drapes, there was a patio of some sort outside our window and at night the lantern type light would come on and light up our room. There were NO drapes to stop the light from coming in. Breakfast Bar 1. Do NOT count on any HOT food. This food will be almost warm to cold temperature. I thought the first day was a fluke but it was the same all 3 days we were there. I even came to eat when the bar opened and the food was still not hot, so it was not even coming from the back room hot. Don't get me wrong, the food tasted good but it would have been nice to be HOT. Particularly the sausage gravy, it was never hot. 2. The first day I almost broke my plastic knife trying to cut through the biscuits. They were like rocks. On the third day it improved. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great place to stay stopped here on the way to Chicago . great town ST. JOSEPH very clean , great beach August 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do NOT stay here for R This was probably our most miserable hotel experience. We were not given the room type that we booked. Air conditioning did not work, TV remove was missing, hair in the bath tub and you could hear EVERYTHING in the hallway. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Came here for our Anniversary. Very nice hotel inside and out. The service was great and the breakfast EXCELLENT! We stayed in one of the Lake view rooms which I thought was a little pricey, but worth it! Would definitely recommend. August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Pay for a "Lake View" I booked this online for a Lake View Suite-Then I read a review that said they had done the same and didn't get the "balcony with a view". this option is 30-40 dollars more expensive. I was familiar with the Hotel's location from many trips to St. Joseph so after I booked it with a call to the 800 number I called the Hotel direct and told the woman who answered that I wanted the balcony room with the Lake view, if one was not available I did not want to pay the extra cost, 30.00 to 40.00 dollars per night and a two night stay guarantee, this is much more than this Hotel is worth. I was told "no problem, you are booking 2 months in advance. I went ahead and kept the reservation. We got a first floor suite with a walkout cement slab 20-25 feet from a busy highway where between cars you could almost see the Lake!! The National booking number heard my complaint and told me Management would call me to see if we could resolve the issue. I never heard from anyone. When I asked I was told the manager was not there Friday, Saturday, or Sunday. His response when I called him the following week was that they did not guarantee any room availability and that he had no proof I ever call the Hotel itself, This Hotel is fine, it is a Holiday Inn and located close to Downtown, but the bait and switch for a balcony with a Lake view which can't be guaranteed puts the price at the same rate as a really lovely hotel downtown directly across from the Lake , Go there and forget the promised "lake view" which can't be guaranteed. We had kids running back and forth in the room above us until after midnight, and someone up there dropping lit cigarette butts from the balcony they got onto our cement slab. Save your money. We received no resolution or even an apology for this issue. August 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing This hotel isn't that old, we lived in St Joe when it was built. And as we return to the area to visit we were anxious to stay there. But we were very disappointed. It has not been maintained, the paint is worn off, door finishes scraped off, and the evening staff was beyond rude. We just interrupted their watching TV. The morning checkout crew was much better. But overall the hotel us very tired, and worn. But we will not return to this property. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by STJ HIE Great hotel, very friendly staff. Quick survey is turning out to be not so quick. Hotel still excellent. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great option in St. Joseph The Cliff's Notes: Have stayed here before and will do so again. Pretty much enough said. The full story: Having been to St. Joseph several times for long weekend family vacations, my family feels this is one of your safest and best bets for couples and families (not for party animals... no bars nearby). With this location and the necessity to drive to the beach and downtown, the price tag is high as there are one or two similar quality options downtown (thus walking distance to everything) for the same price, but they fill up extremely fast. So, if you're set on St. Joseph, pony up and pay a little extra to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It really is a great hotel. You also know exactly what you're getting - a clean facility, good sized rooms and bathrooms, professional staff, and the backing of a national brand should anything ever go wrong There are some real horror stories out there of the other places in town, and I've heard several of them firsthand. With all the money you'll spend on vacation or a business trip, spend the extra few bucks to stay here. There's something to be said about the comfort of a good home base (especially in case weather is bad). August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place! Love staying here! We stay here every time we are in the area! August 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty rooms Room was dirty, very disappointed, would have moved hotels if there was better options during our stay, we stuck it out but will never return August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A pretty Good Place to Stay in St. Joseph Returning to the south from Mackinac Island, we heard St. Joseph was " The Riviera of the Midwest" , so we wanted to stop here. This is a fine place to stay in St. Joseph, but it is a little far from the "action" of the beach and downtown. The reception staff was efficient and gave us a good recommendation for dinner. The room was ok. Breakfast was a mixed bag: The juice machine didn't work, so that was a disappointment, however the new pancake machine was both fun AND produced a very good, albeit very flat, pancake. They somehow managed to ruin hardboiled eggs, which are normally a favorite. They almost tasted fake. Don't know what that was all about. The sausage was horrible. The folks taking care of the buffet were very friendly and helpful. Basically, it's a pretty good place to say in St. Joseph, but it isn't cheap. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean and spacious room; nice view of Lake Michigan Don't expect to use the Wi-Fi there; it only worked about 10% of the time that I tried to use it. Room with kid's suite is great if you have kids with you. Pool is teeny. Housekeeping staff is nice and room was clean. Not near the beach or downtown St. Joseph; you can't walk anywhere so a car is a MUST. Bed was rather hard. Front desk staff was never friendly; seemed like they wished all the guests would go away so they could get back to their web-surfing. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Returning quest Staff seem to make an effort to be friendly. Stop staying their after the staff would not find the fan that was removed from the fitness center. The fitness center is next to the pool and is always warm. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service. Comfortable bed and great service. Comfortable bed and great serComfortable bed and great servicevice. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place with beatiful location and very close to downtown St. Joseph Room was very clean and service very attentive. We were there for a half ironman and had to leave by 5AM, they had breakfast ready by 4:30 for the athletes and family. The value was just a little low just because if you are looking for indoor pool it was kind of small, but you do have the Lake right there. Very convenient location for local events and places to see. Friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was awesome, something different every day. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service. Marry Ann the Manager helped us arrange and plan a great stay. I can not thank her enough. The staff and service was excellant all away around. This is a great hotel and location to plan a leisure or business trip August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly. Our room had a wonderful view of Lake Michigan. The room was extremely clean and was furnished very nicely. The breakfast was one of the best I've experienced. They offered a variety of items and the staff kept it well stocked. The Wi-Fi worked well the first day but we couldn't get it to work the second day. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others! August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great option We decided to use this hotel based on a recommendation on a family website. I'm glad we did. The hotel lacked nothing. The rooms were a good size. The bathrooms were clean and everything was in working order. I love not having to worry about breakfast and there was a good variety of food offered. The kitchen attendant made sure everything was stocked and was very good about replacing the hot items. The pool is small, but my kids didn't mind. I would definitely stay here again if we came back to the area. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by St. Joseph This Holiday inn Express was a very good hotel. The front desk staff were phenomenal, the room was very clean and it is in a good location. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room and great value!!! We stayed in a Jr. Suite room which had to queen beds, sleeper sofa and a separate room with bunk beds and it was very roomy and a great value! We stay at this hotel every year to go to Silver Beach and we are always very satisfied! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff and beautiful view This was our first stay at this Holiday Inn. The location is convenient and the view of Lake Michigan was beautiful. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above average. The pool was very nice and they even gave the kids free beach balls. Will definitely stay there again. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay We had a great stay, however the first hotel employee we saw was a woman in the parking lot smoking, not the best first appearance. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean rooms This place was great! Friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfasts! August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay ! Our family of four (w/ kids 10 and 4 years old) enjoyed our stay. Pool, hot tub, rooms, beds were all very clean and very nice. Staff, from front desk to housekeeping, was courteous and helpful. Breakfast is nice (love the pancake machine). Breakfast room got very busy on Saturday, but staff kept food up for longer time to accommodate as many as possible. We were given what we considered a good and fair rate Tues. thru Thurs.. The rate was increased for our Friday night stay (probably an industry standard, but the much appreciated American-owned and long-term local mgt. WOULD have made a big impression if they would have granted our request to be given the original rate for that one extra night. Just sayin'. No hard feelings, though, we would return (and maybe accept a bonus upgrade to a room with a view/balcony). :-) August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Bad Check-in Experience Pros: Nice location, short ride to downtown/beach area, modern rooms, clean, nice pool area and good breakfast choices. Cons: Customer service was lacking. We arrived at 3:20PM to see if we might be able to check-in 10 mins early (check-in time was noted as 3:30) and was told that no early check-ins were allowed. That's fine, just came back after 3:30 to find a long line of people waiting to check-in -- and all being told that there rooms were not ready yet and they had no idea when they would be available. They took our phone number and we finally got a call at about 4:45PM stating that our room was ready (as we were sitting down to eat an early dinner). Also, you will pay a premium price to be closer to the lake and the downtown area. Overall -- great family hotel, a bit pricey, and don't plan to get into your room on time. August 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Customer Service and They Lied To Me! Before booking this room online, I called customer service to ask questions. I was told it was the presidential suite and the best at the hotel. I specifically asked if it had a balcony with a lake view and was told yes, it does. When we arrived, I was extremely disappointed to find out that it did have a lake view, but did not have a balcony at all. I would have never booked the room if it didn't, as my husband and I wanted to have a balcony to sit on in the evening while our kids were sleeping. When I called the front desk to tell them what happened, I was told I should have called the hotel directly to ask my questions, that customer service doesn't really know much about the hotel. I was also told there was nothing they could do because the hotel was completely booked up, and I wasn't even offered any money off our stay. I was also very disappointed to find out when I called ahead of time that there weren't portable cribs available, and since we were traveling with twins, we would have to lug two portable cribs with us so that our kids had somewhere to sleep. I would never stay here again, or any other Holiday Inn for that matter and will make sure to tell others of my experience. I've tried filling out reviews and emailing Guest Relations and all I get is an email that they are forwarding my information to management. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, comfortable and friendly staff My wife and I went to St Joe for the weekend for our anniversary. Awesome place!! Hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly upon arrival and through out our stay. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but not great, plenty to choose from and the helper in the breakfast room was outstanding. She hustled about making sure all foods were available and she was very kind and attentive to the children's wants and needs, whether is was food or beach balls :-) If I would have lived closer to St Joe I would have offered her a job on the spot!! The hotel was nice, but over priced , but the staff was top notch! July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as the hype Not worth the cost. Customer service is not that great. July 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk-Guest Reception Desk Front Desk Front Desk Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading