• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIDDEFORD
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We apologize but we do not allow pets at the hotel there are kennels availble near the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for Guests and Visitors. All vehicles must be registered upon Checkin with the front desk. Visitor vehicles are allowed between 6am and 11pm and also have to be registered with hotel employees.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:69
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:69
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Situated in Biddeford, Maine off Interstate 95 at exit 32 and near to all southern Maine’s vacation destinations along Route l, including Ogunquit, York, Kennebunkport, Old Orchard Beach & just 15 miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze.

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Soleras, Fiber Materials, GWI, General Dynamics, University of New England and the Shops at Biddeford Crossing. You'll stay
View More

Situated in Biddeford, Maine off Interstate 95 at exit 32 and near to all southern Maine’s vacation destinations along Route l, including Ogunquit, York, Kennebunkport, Old Orchard Beach & just 15 miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze.

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Soleras, Fiber Materials, GWI, General Dynamics, University of New England and the Shops at Biddeford Crossing. You'll stay productive whether you are preparing for a seminar in our well-appointed 24-hour business center with free Wi-Fi or relaxing while on a leisure get away in our spacious and modern guest rooms.

Since we're near Portland's Maine Mall, guests can enjoy great shopping just across the street at the largest and busiest mall in the state. We're also only minutes away from Portland's best attractions and activities. Whether you tour the Portland Museum of Art, watch the AHL Portland Pirates play hockey at Cumberland County Civic Center, or visit the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth on the shores of Fort Williams Park, our hotel's spot in South Portland, Maine is close to it all!

And after a long day of meetings and tours, relax in our heated, indoor pool or recharge at the fitness center. Stay Smart in Biddeford, Maine, and reserve a room today to enjoy free Wi-Fi and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar.

View Less
Features
We have a great indoor pool for those who want to relax by the pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 303 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! Great stay, great view, very nice restaurant and a very relaxing stay. Thank you TEAM BY THE BAY!! April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent two night stay. Great room and view. Service fantastic. Lounge area comfortable and relaxing. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Security guards The security guards were a bit to much. They walked around and circled us our entire stay because we were with a bunch of kids. Didn't really appreciate a 20 year old want to be cop harassing us and following our every move. At one point I went up to the room because I wanted privacy and he followed us up there and had the nerve to knock on our door to tell us to keep it down when we were playing with a ipad not evening talking. The keys to the room also kept deactivating which was a pain. had to get at least 5 new keys for a 2 night stay. Besides that the room was nice, clean and beds were comfortable. Had breakfast at the restaurant and it was good. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable Walking distance to the State Theater and the Civic Center April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home sweet home Super place to stay, location is perfect, price is great, service is the best, thank you. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Overall a good stay with a spacious room. Food and service in the lounge was good and front desk staff were very friendly. The only down side was the AC/heater in the room had a rattle that started late in the evening, but didn't want to call to get it fixed at that hour. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn by the Bay We travel many places in a year and Keith in sales and the Lady supervisor in the dining room are the BEST. Great service great stay year after year. Thanks for all you do for us each March when we come to the AA convention March 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by worst mattress - sat in desk chair most of the night I.m sorry to say I was dissappointed this stay. I would normally give it an excellent rating my other stays, but the mattress was hard as a rock & wasn't happy with the set up of the executive suite. I think the set up of other rooma are much more comfortable with a table and two comforable chairs. The only other chair was in a cornor off to the side & couldn't be used with couch. The service was great as usual. March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable, quiet, and accommodating My room was clean, comfortable, roomy, and blessedly quiet. The staff were efficient, pleasant, and helpful. Food was delicious, service was prompt and attentive without intruding. Absolutely no complaints - would stay there again and highly recommend. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As usual I had a great stay at Holiday Inn by the bay. Clean room , great food Thank you March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by sheets I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for years and have always enjoyed my stay. Nancy and the crew are very profesional but at the same time warm and friendly! The only hickup with my last stay was that the bed sheet was clean but very "pilled". I did leave a note for house keeping suggesting that they retire the worn sheets... March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! My wife and 2 boys(9 & 11) have actually stayed here a few times. It is a great place, pool....real nice. The staff are all excellent. The rooms are clean and kept up nice. We will be back!! February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Hotel is well located to waterfront and Congress Street action. Portland is a very nice city if you like historic surroundings with today's amenities. View from my room was great and staff is very friendly. February 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to attend Cumberland Couty Civic Center We went to see Disney on Ice at the Civic Center. It's the best location you can get, it's just a few steps from it. Our 2-3 year old children were able to walk themselves to there ! So no need to find a parking ... & no need to pay for parking for the show ! The hotel's indoor parking is great especially during winter ! Room was a little pricy, but I guess the upside of the location was worth the difference. Rooms were great. Staff at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. Only thing that wasn't top notch has been service at the restaurant ... but hey, can't give the hotel a bad review just because of 1 bad server or 1 good server that was having a bad day ! By the way, buffet at the restaurant was great too ! Children had a blast at the pool ... wished they had a hot tob for the parents ! Priority Club Members that were travelling with us were spoiled ... wish I was one too !! February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for the ride This is our third visit in the last six months. Having been innkeepers in Camden, Maine for 14 years we know a lot about comfortable rooms and attentive staff. Where the Portland-By the Bay Holiday Inn excels is in guest services. During our visits I have been a patient at Maine Medical Center . On each visit the hotel has provided transportation so that she could visit me at least once a day. The inn is not far from the hospital, but at our age a ride is most welcome. Please pass my thanks to your great staff. Peter T February 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Get-Away We were very impressed with the service of this hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful at the front desk. We ordered a pizza delivery after sightseeing all day and the hotel accommodated us with plates and dinnerware. Quiet and clean hotel and rooms. We will stay here again when in Portland. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway from Boston Over the holidays my friends had given me recommendations of fun shops, restaurants, and bars to visit in Portland. In early February, my girlfriend and I were eager to get out of Boston and decided to make a quick trip to Portland to check it out. The Portland-By The Bay Hotel was within walking distance (even on a cold Feb. night) to many of the great restaurants and bars in the Old Port area of Portland. The hotel staff was friendly and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The overall experience was excellent and we would definitely stay here when we have a chance to visit Portland again. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel with great staff! Enjoyed the privilege of staying at this Holiday Inn. February 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Downtown Hotel was within walking distance of all the downtown locations! Staff members were very friendly and helpful with entertainment suggestions. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine place to stay close to everything The staff makes the stay a wonderful time. The lounge can be a bit short handed as the bar tender has to play all parts, not a good idea but had to judge traffic. All in all I always enjoy my stay January 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and great extras I love staying at Portland-By The Bay! The room was absolutely luxurious with an incredible view of Casco Bay. We did not dine at the hotel's restaurant but I loved the free beverages in the lobby. It was such a nice touch. I also really appreciate the free parking at the hotel. We parked right near the door to the elevators that took us straight up to our room. I am looking forward to visiting Portland again and will certainly be staying at this hotel when I return. January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location I had a great stay at this hotel. The views of Portland Harbor are impressive. January 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Water Views If you are lucky enough to get a room on the bayside, you are in for a treat. This Holiday Inn offers terrific water views....probably the best in the Portland Area. This is my third visit to this Holiday Inn and the staff always does their best to make my stay enjoyable. The pool and exercise room are welcome additions to a winter visit. My only concern is that at this time of the year the fact that this is an older property becomes most apparent. The central heating is continuously noisy in the bathroom, and the random heat from individual units doesn't contribute much to a relaxing environment. Certainly I will be back, but just not in the winter. January 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness The room wasn't very clean. There was a dirty plastic cup under the desk and a lot of food debris on heater and table. If this area was not cleaned I have to wonder how cleans the toilet and bed were. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We stayed during the New Year holiday, and loved this hotel! We had a great view of the bay with a very comfortable room. This location is walking distance to many restaurants, cafes and clubs, which was great since there was a parking ban downtown due to snow. Fortunately the Holiday Inn has indoor, free parking, so we had no issues parking the car we rented. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. And we opted to have a quick dinner in the lounge, and the food was really good. No complaints! January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the 12/27/12 snowstorm The Room was clean,the beds were comfortable,the extra towels and pillow i asked for were in the room. the shuttle bus driver was execellent,. the pool area was well kept and clean. worth a repeat stay. the only drawback was they would not accomodate an early checkin that day of the storm. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We have always had good experiences at this hotel. Every time we travel through New England, we stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay, The room is clean, comfy, and in close proximity to the waterfront and easy to get to/from I-295. The bar is friendly and nice and the property is well maintained. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay to book when other nicer hotels are not avialable The hotel is below average. Room: When we entered the room for the first time there was a pile of bedding on the floor. We were not sure the room had been thoroughly cleaned and changed out or not. Called front desk and house keeping supervisor promptly corrected the issue and assured us the room was cleaned. HVAC unit in room stopped on its own. Maintenance showed us how to reset it so we could have heat. Bathroom: Hair, lent and dust behind the bathroom door. Strands of hair in the tub. Drain in tub was slow to drain. Called front desk on drain and it was dealt with quickly. Wad of hair pulled out of the drain. Chatted with housekeeping next day to have the area behind the door cleaned to remove lent, dust and hair. Bar and Restaurant: Bar was staffed with 1 bartender to tend to about 25 people at once in the bar area. Bar crowd was heavy due to restaurant not taking patrons because a 'big party' was booked. It made for a very frustrating evening to find dinner due to other places local to the hotel closed at 9:00 p.m. Other guest: Hotel was hosting a 'home grown' convention. This is the equivalent of a moderate number of marijuana users having issues navigating in the hotel from their rooms, to snacks to the convention area. I see in 1999 Maine legalized marijuana so that explains why the convention was booked. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed & furnishings. This is my 3rd stay here. The location is great & with your free covered parking garage we only have to use the car if we want to travel outside Portland. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Water Heater Broke We weren't able to take a shower because the water heater broke. It would have been nice if the hotel had told us prior to us having to call the desk. December 14, 2012
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Our spacious lobby at the Holiday Inn Express Biddeford View from the Front Desk at the Holiday Inn Express Biddeford
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading