• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 9.7MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed. Only Service Animals. Please have document for Service Animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Summit Shopping Center
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Legion Field
Distance From Hotel:13.2MI
Attraction:
Talladega Super Speedway
Distance From Hotel:42.0MI
Attraction:
Barber Motorsports
Distance From Hotel:15.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:86
  • Car Parking Available
  • Limited Motorcoach space

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:96
  • Total number of suites:35
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:49
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:96
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham-Inverness 280

Experience southern hospitality at our boutique-sytle hotel in Birmingham, AL, USA located on Hwy 280 off Interstate 459. The hotel is situated near several attractions including the famous Barber Motorsports, Porsche Sports Driving School and Talladega Super Speedway, which houses a 143,000 seat raceway and is adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Families can appreciate the hotel's
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham-Inverness 280

Experience southern hospitality at our boutique-sytle hotel in Birmingham, AL, USA located on Hwy 280 off Interstate 459. The hotel is situated near several attractions including the famous Barber Motorsports, Porsche Sports Driving School and Talladega Super Speedway, which houses a 143,000 seat raceway and is adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Families can appreciate the hotel's proximity to several popular family-friendly Birmingham attractions including Legion Field, the Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame, Vulcan Park and Alabama Adventure Theme Park.

For a look back into history, guests can visit the Civil Rights sites that mark the South’s struggle to embrace diversity. Monumental sites consist of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, Kelly Ingram Part, and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute.

Unlike other Birmingham hotels, the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel provides business travelers with several quality business services, which include on-site meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. High-speed, wireless Internet access is also available.

During your Birmingham vacation, enjoy our choice hotel amenities such as an indoor pool & whirlpool, free Internet access and a complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Birmingham hotel deals and rates and book your reservation today.

View Less
Features
This Birmingham hotel is happy to offer high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the common areas and in every guest room to ensure that each guest stays connected with family and friends.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 54 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room comfort The beds were very comfortable and the room was very nice. The layout of the room was great. Front desk was very helpful and friendly! The dining area was spacious and the workers were very friendly also.We would stay there again. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service at Breakfast I wish every restaurant had a server like the lady that ran the breakfast cafe. The breakfast was excellent, she was very attentive, super polite, and had me in and out just as quick as I needed. I was delighted to tip her well during both of my recent stays. The only con I'd have is a couple of my rooms have had musty smell coming from the AC unit. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Comfortable I enjoyed my stay. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will stay again. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Accomadations Our stay was great. Front desk staff were great. Very courteous and helpful. The accomadations were very nice. Entire motel was clean and neat. Everything was top notch. I will definitely return and stay again. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. This facility is tucked back off the road, a little bit difficult to find. It was very clean and the breakfast wonderful. Plan on staying here again. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by google map directions We used Google Map Directions to your location and got lost for 30 minutes. The front desk said we were the 10th people in two days. You need to correct this with Google Maps! September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Staff and club membership means nothing here! Arrived to find the desk unmanned, took over 5 minutes and the bartender had to come off his smoke break to check me in. Was not greeted, no acknowledgement and room keys not made. At dinner had bartender "Joey" serve myself and a partner we go to order and Joey takes my order then walks away not taking my partners order, then after I finish my dinner Joey just took my drink glass and did not ask or offer another, guess he was in a hurry to get rid of us. Then we walked to the elevator to find the young lady behind the desk playing games on her cell phone, was that what she was doing earlier when I tried to check in? Well needless to say I will NEVER stay at this hotel again when in Birmingham, I was supposed to stay two nights but I checked out the very next morning and moved to another hotel. September 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, room service did not knock when changing I stayed there on business, and it was one of the nicer holiday inns I have been to. Strangely, after my room had already been cleaned and bed was made, room service barged into my room without knocking right after i had gotten out of the shower. Luckily I was able to cover up and make my presence known. I did not bring it up with the manager right away out of embarrassment, however that is entirely unacceptable. September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by They need a trained cook. The cook didn't know how to make basted eggs. Instead of having the waitress come back and ask for an alternative, he send out scrambled eggs. On top of that, it took so long that the medium breakfast steak was so well done that it was dry and black. By the way, basted eggs are just sunny side up, cooked with a little bit of water under a cover to cook the white and leave the yolk soft. They are really easy to make. Signage to find the hotel is poor. Might be a little better in the daylight. August 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Conditions The airconditioner thermostat was not working. Room was super cold when in use, and I could not control the temperature. The tub drain was clogged and collected water when taking a shower. Reported room conditions to front desk but nothing was done to resolve them. Will not stay there again. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Out of the Storm I got caught in a storm there .I pulled into a parking lot & called California & had my nephew call IHG. They found me a room about 2 mins. from where I was parked, Yes I was into a nice comfortable room within 20 min of needing a room. Thank You. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel This hotel was very nice. Was on a deadend road so it was very quiet, but was also kind of hard to find. Beds were very comfortable. Only complaint was with tv. All local HD stations had a lot of static so we were unable to watch them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional At Home Feeling This was probably one of the best experiences I have had on a business trip in a long time. Not only was the room large and clean, it didn't smell like a "hotel room" (and I know you know what I mean by that). It was fresh and clean and very inviting to come home to. The view was wonderful, the staff friendly and the food was very satisfactory. I was even impressed by the bar are and the bartender. As a Texas resident, I had my first Alabama Slammer and I must say it was quite tasty. I think the most impressionable and satisfying thing was the front desk clerk always remembered my name and addressed me using it when I walked through the door. Thank you Holiday Inn for making me feel at home away from home! July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff I had a reservation for a free room using Priority Club points. I was not familiar with this property but was pleased with the handicap accessible room that I requested for my mother. Although I cannot say enough about the beautiful room, the staff is what made our stay more than I could have hoped. From the maintenance employee who had serviced the room as we arrived to the desk clerk, to the waitress in the dining room and the manager upon checkout, everyone, without exception, was polite, helpful and went above and beyond expectations. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and staff all around! From the Front Desk, bar & dining area the staff was great! They all were very upbeat and helpful. Thanks ! June 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice hotel and staff. Only issue is that I didn't get upgrade I should have gotten with my Priority Club Platinum / Royal Ambassador status. June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property Excellent Hotel with great staff, especially the breakfast staff. Fantastic Middle Aged Black woman who assisted us. She was simply wonderful and very helpful. The breakfast was awesome. June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some work As always, I love staying at Holiday Inn. This stay was not one of the best, however. Although I was upgraded to a suite for being a Priority Club member, the suite was lacking. I never could get the refrigerator to turn on, and when I tried to take a bath, the stopper in the tub would not sit right and the water leaked out before the tub could fill. I reported this to the staff on my first night, worked the next day, and when I returned in the evening none of these problems were addressed (to be fair, it was Memorial Day Monday). Otherwise the staff was great as usual and the stay was enjoyable. June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't agree to bonus points The front desk will offer you 500 bonus points if you elect to take points instead of the free breakfast. You will never see your bonus point. I elected to do this on three separate visits and have yet to see the 500 extra points per visit. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best HI I travel all over the Southeast US and this is the best Holiday Inn I stay at during my many visits to Alabama. April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean roon I stayed at this location for 12 nights for work. The location is GREAT. So much to do in the area and many restaurants in the area. I highly recommend this hotel. April 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Attention to Details Lacking I have stayed at this location a couple of times over the past few months. Overall, the rooms have been comfortable, but the lack of concern from the front desk clerk to an assistant manager leaves me disappointed. Each time that I have stayed here, the parking lot was not full; therefore allowing me to summise that the hotel was not overly busy. My last stay in February resulted in disappointment based on a couple of things - (1) I booked at this location although it was not convenient to gain the additional 5,000 reward points that was advertised on their website. The front desk knew nothing of this and asked that I leave a message for the manager. The assistant manager returned my call on the following day, and Mr White was very attentive and assured me that he would take care of this. To date, 8 weeks later, I do not have the points on my account. (2) There was concern with 2 things in my room - the desk chair was broken and I brought it to the attention of the front desk clerk and she assured me that she would take care of it - I never received a call from maintenance nor another chair, and also there was a concern about the loose lock / knob on my room entrance door. The front desk clerk only commented that "you will be fine - there's nothing to worry about here." I appreciate her assuring words, but as a female traveling alone on business - I prefer a room that I feel secure in. The restaurant and food were great - the servers and bartender were outstanding - and the food was well-prepared and reasonably priced. There was a personal note in my room acknowledging me as a Priority Club Member, which was a nice touch. Overall, I like the hotel - but a more thorough attentiveness to requests would have prompted a higher score and a stronger recommendation. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business night out I have love the accommodation in Homewood hotel. I love the peace and happiness of the hotel and their employees. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing work week Comfortable, modern Holiday Inn with a restaurant and lounge with friendly people! I thought those days were over. It makes a hard work week nice. I will stay here from now on when on business in B'ham. March 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pillows At the end of the day, it is a place to sleep and the pillows were the worst ever March 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Care and attention at HI Homewood Birmingham I have stayed at this Holiday Inn a couple of times and both times, I had very poor experience. In fact it seems more like an attitude issue towards providing the service to customers. The room did not have any pen, any guide for TV channels, even worst is that they did not have even the lids for the coffee cups. Asking about those things for three days resulted in nothing. For hot coffee, the best soultion offered was to put a plastic wrap on the cup. Very unprofessional and rather disaapointing. There are at least six other hotels side by side with this HI. My good experience at other places took me to this HI. I am rethinking. March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I have been staying at your hotel since shortly after it opened. I have always been treated very well and all of my needs, without question, are always met. I have never made a request that has been denied. The folks at this hotel answer requests with, "I'll take care of it!" The attitude of all employees, and I do mean all, is to give their best in the performance of their duties. It is easy to see that everyone here has a career and not just a job. Tremendous people are here doing tremendous jobs. There are a few employees that I would like to single out for praise. Tamiika is always the smiling face who greets me when I check in early and she is always the first smiling face and friendly hello in the mornings as I leave for work. She is energetic, enthusiastic and a real blessing to me. Beverly is my lady behind the front desk when I check in late and she is always smiling and recalls my name without me having to tell her who I am. She is focused, friendly and always remembers that I need an extra packet of regular coffee. I have had a few instances where my remote control was defective and Beverly has done whatever is necessary to ensure my complete satisfaction. She is a great asset to not only me but to your hotel. Your manager David and I talk every time we see one another. Even on days when he is leaving he takes time and interest in me and talks with me. He is friendly, relaxed and a genuinely nice person. I have always believed that the attitude of management dictates the attitude of employees; Holiday Inn Homewood supports my belief. Many thanks to David and all of his staff for making Holiday Inn Homewood my favorite hotel when I am in Alabama! March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SAVED THE WEEKEND We stayed for a soccer tournament and used points to book a 1 night stay here after a horrible stay at another IHG hotel in Ironwood, Al. This property and its staff were a breath of fresh air. Great Room, Great Staff, WELL DONE! March 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Property is going downhill overall I have stayed at this hotel at least once a month for the last year. It continues to go down hill. The equipment in the gym is in poor shape. One treadmill was broken. The other treadmill partially worked. The incline was broken so only the speed could be adjusted. There were no towels on either day of my stay. On my last visit there water dispenser was empty. Outside of the condition of the hotel, I have to say the employees are very nice. They have always been very professional and kind. It is too bad the hotel is not being kept up to standards. March 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our Weekend Vacation The front desk personnel was wonderful and the room was comfortable and elegant. The location was amazing; everything we needed was really close. The only problem I had with the room is the fact that we had to carry our own blankets for the sleeper sofa instead of them already being in the room and when we got in the room we had no pillow for it. The pillows were so tiny and I think they were more for design and less for comfort. Also the tv in the bedroom was not plugged in, but my husband moved the dresser to plug it in which was great because he was going to be gone the whole weekend and if i didn't catch it before he left, I would either have had to move it at 8 months pregnant or wait for someone to do it. Other than that, the bed was comfortable, the room was nice, the bathroom was clean and we enjoyed being there. We had a suite so our family could come and visit us and was not cramped. They really enjoyed the room. We did not eat breakfast because on the day that we tried, there seemed to be only one person working in the restaurant and we were told by the front desk to grab a seat and she gave us menus from a stack that was laying around. We sat, and waited, and while we waited three other tables arrived. The waitress got their orders first and one lady even got her food before the waitress asked us what we wanted to eat so we left and just went to IHOP. The front desk was courteous about this, we were given either a free breakfast or 500 points and she was able to swap the breakfast for our points which was all we wanted after experiencing the breakfast situation. The bad thing about it, is that as we passed the restaurant each day, the food smelled amazing. We just never got to taste it. The hotel room was a little more pricey than the other Holiday Inns as well and I believe after three years, the hotel is no longer new and can have more competitive rates. March 9, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Lobby seating area Lobby seating area Lobby seating area Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.