• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 9.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Hungarian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Small pets are welcome please advise at time of booking. Guide Dogs welcome
Pet deposit amount  50.00  GBP  per stay
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadburys Word
Distance From Hotel:22.32MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:211
  • Car Parking Available
  • A spacious car park offers parking for hotel guests.

    The Following Car Parking charges apply at this hotel on a tariff basis:

    0 - 30 Mins - FREE

    30 Mins - 24 Hours - £7.00

    Please speak to hotel for further information.

  • Daily Parking Fee ( 7.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:179
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:78
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:179
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Enjoy a Peaceful Stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC Hotel, 1 Mile from Birmingham NEC and 2 miles from Birmingham International Airport

The welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is just 1 mile from Junction 4 of the M6, connecting to the M40 and M42. There's a complimentary breakfast with hot items in our inviting Great Room. Hotel now offers a limited dinner service available in the bar daily from 6PM - 10PM.

You can bring presentations to life with free
View More

Enjoy a Peaceful Stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC Hotel, 1 Mile from Birmingham NEC and 2 miles from Birmingham International Airport

The welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is just 1 mile from Junction 4 of the M6, connecting to the M40 and M42. There's a complimentary breakfast with hot items in our inviting Great Room. Hotel now offers a limited dinner service available in the bar daily from 6PM - 10PM.

You can bring presentations to life with free wireless Internet in our 8 bright meeting rooms for 80 guests. Head to events at Birmingham NEC in under 15 minutes' walk and reach clients at Birmingham Business Park in10 minutes. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC's Family rooms have sofa beds where under-18s stay free, and you can leave your car when booking our Park and Fly Package.

View Less
Features
Stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC and enjoy free wifi and free breakfast whilst being within easy reach of the NEC event centre and the LG arena.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restauant We have stayed at the hotel previously and on this occasion we choose to take the evening meal package. When invited to book a table in the restauant at checkin we agreed and asked for a table at 5.30 pm. We were told that the restaurant did not open until 6.30 pm but we could eat in the bar. As we we going to the LG Arena this was too late and as this was a birthday treat we were somewhat disappointed. That said Mario was most helpful and obliging and the food was delicious. It is just that we would not have booked the evening meal package if we had been aware of the opening times of the restauant.! April 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was fine but restaurant service so slow The hotel room was excellent and very comfortable. Absolutely no complaints. However the food service in both the restaurant and bar was excruciatingly slow. We waited almost an hour for food to be served after ordering and we were not the only ones. When the food did arrive it was delicious but by then anything would have tasted good as we were so hungry. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Hotel & Staff 5* I cannot rate this hotel more highly. The staff were simply brilliant, from Reception, Bar, Restaurant and House Keeping. This hotel deserves all the praise and sets a standard others should aspire to. April 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not really Crowne Plaza standard I would not recommend this hotel for several reasons. It is surrounded by building work which is very noisy. It is on the flight path for Birmingham airport, again very noisy early in the morning. There are no leisure facilities and no club lounge. On check in, we were handed a welcome letter saying that a bottle of wine would be waiting for us in the room. It was actually a miniature bottle. Half a glass each! This hotel does not come close to any of the other Crowne Plaza hotels we have stayed in. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to relax before enjoying the concert we arrived 2 hours before room availability and were treated superbly by the reception team including complimentary drinks young lady looking after the bar area who served us with coffe and the lady on reception who arranged the complimentary drinks deserve a mention for their customer skills both made us feel very welcome room was excellent size and very clean staff in the bar had to deal with a huge number of guests after the concert ended and handled this superbly breakfast and departure reception excellent will definately consider flying out of birmingham rather than gatwick in future and staying here for early morning departures April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff and service at this hotel were fantastic I don't think we have ever experienced such helpful and courteous staff. The hotel itself and the food in the restaurant was great but the staff must be brilliantly trained and well chosen. Thank you April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleased I booked this room for a getaway and to visit a show at the NEC. I arrived early and the room was ready and the staff were very helpful. This hotel is what I have come to expect from IHG. There were a couple of issues, one I had a room with a balcony but it looked out at a building site which spoiled thing a little. The other thing was that there is no executive lounge that is available in a lot of IHG hotels and for the extra it costs for en executive room I was expecting one. The two issues are only minor and it would not put me off staying at the Crown Plaza again. I have marked down the cleanliness because there were p/hair still in the bath. I do not usually look at the cleanliness that closely but there were some many hairs in the bath they were hard to miss even just a glace and they stood out on the nice new bathroom. April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Waste of money even though work was paying Stayed due to speaking at an NEC conference the next day. Due to a large construction project next door the stay was pretty horrific as they took a while to stop works and started at 07.00. I ate in the restaurant with a client and although the food was OK I didn't expect £111 and it wasn't worth that. Overall I've come to expect more from Crown Plaza ans wasn't even asked how my stay was at check out. April 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid room 107! Probably one of the worst 2 nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The first night the room fan woke me at 4 am. Second night I turned the fan off to be woken at 3 by clicking noises. Not what I expected from a brand new hotel. No breakfast card on my door the second night and to top it all off had to pay £1 to the driver to take me to the airport. Very disappointed as its a lovely hotel! April 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A disappointing nights sleep I stayed at the hotel as I was working at the NEC and the location was convenient. First impressions were that the hotel had all the facilities required and rooms were incredibly well turned out and clean. I had a number of issues when checking in as the first two rooms I tried to get into were already occupied. I had a very disturbed nights sleep as the air conditioning unit in both rooms I stayed in during the week were very loud. I did complain on check out and the staff were very attentive and willing to make up for the problems I had incurred however as I was only staying in the hotel to get a good nights sleep it was a case of too little too late. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant enough stay Have stayed here before & a very similar experience again. Pleasant staff, food is good & walking distance to the NEC is a bonus. Considering the high room rate & cost of eating here I think the internet charge is very steep & should be reduced or at least free for a few hours each day. The noisy air con unit does disturb your sleep, I recommend ear plugs! However I find the rooms very comfortable & clean. The hotel needs to indicate where the coffee & tea facilities are & the hair dryer, they are all hidden very well! All this to one side I would stay here again. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, shame about the food If you're visiting the NEC or LG Arena, this hotel is in a perfect location. A short (4-5 mins) walk around a lovely lake will deliver you to either location. It's under 10 minutes walk from the railway station (through the NEC, well signposted), and I'd guess at well under 15 mins from the airport. Timed right, you can probably make Birmingham New Street in about 20 minutes by walk+train, if you really wanted to! Hotel wise, it's a nice hotel, everything you'd hope for in a new-ish Crowne Plaza. Much as you'd expect, it has decent sized rooms, good furnishings, large + comfy beds, well layed out rooms, nice bathrooms, small but effective gym, all generally well done. Staff here are excellent, very friendly and helpful. We had one minor little problem, and they were amazing at getting it all sorted + going out of their way to offer an alternative. Couldn't have asked for more from them. The main problem with the hotel is with food + drink. Neither are cheap here, but for a nice Crowne Plaza that's nothing unusual. The problem is that they don't hold up. Both are decidely average, and hence bad value. This is not a Crowne Plaza trying for excellent food and drink offerings (as many out there do, Lille or Kowloon East being two which spring to mind). It seems to be somewhere assuming it has a captive market (which it doesn't really - there's several options in the NEC a 5 min walk away, or there's a Hilton sub 10 mins walk), and overcharging. If the cost had been half, and I'd been at a Holiday Inn or similar, I'd have been perfectly happy. In a CP, with those prices, I was miffed. It's not actually a rip off, just bad value, and a shame given how well the rest of the hotel works. If you're in the area, the hotel is good, especially if you can get a decent rate on a weekend. Just skip the food and drink offerings here, and take a nice walk round the lake to get something either better or cheaper, whichever you fancy! April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for NEC events The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the NEC, the rooms were spotless, well equipped, very comfortable and quiet. The bars and restaurants were welcoming and good value, but what made our stay was the warm welcome and excellent service from all the staff we encountered, truly nothing was too much trouble. Excellent service can't praise the staff highly enough. April 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by How To Lose A Customer Firstly, I must say that in terms of facilities. cleanliness and service this hotel is perfectly acceptable and that even the food in the restaurant was pleasant. The problem with my stay was quite fundamental and ruined an otherwise pleasant experience. I was staying in a suite and after a very late night was looking forward to a good nights sleep, intending to leave the hotel around noon. As I have a loyalty membership level that allows me to check out late, in some instances as late a 4pm, I did not consider leaving just before noon, a fairly normal check out time, to be a problem. Unfortunately at 11am a member of staff burst into the room whilst my wife and I were still asleep and all but threw us out. They demanded we pack up and leave. To say I was shocked is an understatement. In over 30 years I have never experienced such treatment and I really feel unable to recommend a hotel that is prepared to treat guests in an expensive room in such a manner. If it really had been essential to ask a loyal guest to leave surely a simple phone call to the room as a reminder would have been sufficient. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access, great staff For ease of access from M5 and very attentive staff our stay was first rate - but please put earl grey tea bags on the room tray! March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service & Facilities, Let down by Internet A colleague and I stayed at the Crown Plaza for three nights while exhibiting at an exhibition at the NEC. The hotel is conveniently located in close proximity to the airport and was about a 15 minute walk from our location at the exhibition so we didn't need to rent a car while attending this exhibition which was a plus. Staff were superb throughout the hotel and the quality of the rooms, facilities, food and so forth all exceeded my expectations. The only negative point I can make about the hotel is the quality of the internet. As a IHG gold member I was provided with free internet access whereas my colleague, on the same booking under my company account, had to pay to access their network. On each day, it took me several attempts to access the network and when I did the speed was extremely slow - frustrating when you're trying to work. There is also a limit of 2 devices you can have accessing the network at once; again frustrating when you have a laptop, work cell phone, personal cell phone and kindle that all require access to the network. My stay at this hotel was exceptional in every other way, so the hotel's policy on charging for high-speed internet and limiting access was very disappointing. I would stay here again when exhibiting or attending conferences at the NEC but only because the NEC itself has far superior internet, if I was relying on hotel internet to access internet for work purposes I would not be staying at this hotel again. March 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disabled access having a daughter in a wheelchair for the first time at this hotel makes you understand how impossible it was to access the hotel. Having disabled room is no good if you cannot get a wheelchair out of the hotel. Coming back from Crufts at night she was unable to get into the hotel for 1/2 an hour until some staff and a member of the public lifted her chair across the grass access. It is to hope they change as the hotel complies with the disability act in name only. Its a shame i have been staying here for years and i do hope they get it right March 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and relaxed atmosphere I have stayed in several hotels on and around the NEC over the years that I have been visiting Crufts Dog Show. This is by far the most superior hotel of them all in my experience. The staff are always polite and professional and should be commended for their welcoming manner. The hotel is always spotlessly clean which I haven't found with others I have stayed in. The only reason that I didn't award an "excellent" this time is that for some reason on this occasion, the room was not to the usual standard. It was very clean as usual, but on the first day, the morning paper did not arrive and there were no bath robes in the room. However following my reporting this, both things were quickly rectified. The fridge in the room was out of order, but apparently there was a problem with the fridges in all the rooms and use of the hotel fridge was offered to me as an alternative. On my final day, toiletries had not been replenished, including shower gel and toilet tissue which were obviously needed. On mentioning this when I was asked on checking out, the staff were very quick to waive the parking charge as an apology and I cannot praise them highly enough for their customer service. It is evident that staff are chosen carefully and/or are well trained. Anyone can make mistakes, but the key issue is how they are dealt with. I will definitely be staying again. March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location, great service and overall ambiance Crowne Plaza experience in NEC is perfect - perfect location when visiting NEC, clean and comfortable with friendly staff and especially good breakfeast, room well equipped with hint of luxury (only missed hair dryer). I recommend the hotel to everyone. March 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor communication I stopped at the crown plaza while attending a show at the NEC. It is not a place i would recomend because they have a problem with the NEC security wiping the room keys and the staff neglect to tell you this. This meant that during my time there i spent more time in the lift then in any other part of the hotel. I also found it extremely unusual that they expect you to look through all the cupboards to find the tea making facilities because the staff do not tell you and there is no information in the room to make you aware either. I and my colleagues who attended felt that the hotel was over priced and is more interested in making more money while your there than wether you enjoy your stay. I was flabbergasted to find out they charge for parking your car and for wifi access. I stay in a lot of hotels and i have nether had to pay for either of these, they are included in the room price. On checking out i was offered a phone call form their service manager in regards to my stay but even though over 12 days have gone by i have still not received that call. My overall service level rating is the lowest i could go but in reality it should be in the minus. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent two night stay had nice two night stay for NEC photo show, hotel, staff and food especially breakfast buffet were excellent. Steak at the restaurant was superb. Two nights great sleep, wont hesitate to book for next year... only downside was building site next door, but no noise was heard as we were on other side of hotel so did not directly affect us at all. complimentary parking for house guests would have been nice. March 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Just a number Hassel booking in - total confusion Fridge in room was noisy and when I complained nothing was done about it. Reception staff were dismissive, like somhow the delays were my fault Resturant staff were actually very good and most helpfull My colleague had black mould in his room and asked to be moved. Checking out was a nightmare - again confusion reigned. Hotel is in a prime location for the NEC but I feel it takes advantage of that fact as the alternatives are limited. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Very conveniently situated close to the NEC halls. Stayed here a number of times since it opened. Great atmosphere. Food and drinks on the high side, but to be expected with such hotel quality and location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only downside was a noisy air con unit in the room which did disturb our sleep. Would stay again. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant The hotel reception and maid service staff were exceptional and very friendly . The bar was a typical hotel bar and the bar food was adequate . The whole hotel experience was let down by the evening restaraunt staff and food . The food was poor quality , to the extent that one of the steaks was almost inedible . In short I would think twice about another stay as alternative evening eating places are not local . February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Very happy with the service and stay. Good hotel and location February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed service and room maintenance issues I stayed here for a conference and reception seemed understaffed for check-in with many staff busy on computers and not engaging with customers leading to a long wait and some confusion. The bar and restaurant service was excellent and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food also excellent. The room was generous and comfortable, and very clean and well kept. This was however let down by the main ceiling light not working leaving me fumbling in the dark to find the secondary lighting. The desk lamp was also not working - note to staff please check and replace room lights! Generally though really enjoyed my stay and would recommend. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SPRING FAIR WE ARRIVED TO A BUSY MAN ON THE DESK,WE WERE NOT SURE WHAT HE WAS UP TO ,IF HE WAS CHECKING US IN OR NOT! HE WAS AND HANDED ME THE FORM BEFORE LETTING ME CHECK AND SIGN ,IN WITH YOUR CARD ,PIN NUMBER . WHEN READING THE FORM IT WASN'T ME , O DEAR, AGAIN NOT SURE WHAT HE WAS UP TO,WE GOT THERE IN THE END,BAD START. THERE ON, FAB,UNTIL LAST NIGHT 5/2/14 AND 6/2/14 IT WAS IF SPRING FAIR OVER ...............................PHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEW. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasurable expierience my friend and i stayed overnight at the hotel.we were attending a concert at the lg arena just next door we were able to walk there in a matter of mins.we called the hotel shuttle bus from the airport and the driver picked us up.tommy i think his name was ,so friendly and helpful.the room was lovely clean and comfortable.the staff were very professional but happy and relaxed.the breakfast was amazing! a very enjoyable experience.thankyou. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but the fitness room needs updating To start this review I have to say that this is a great hotel. I have stayed here several times for business and leisure. The location is perfect for the NEC, Birmingham Airport and The National Motorcycle Museum. This hotel has stood up well considering how long it has been open but now a few cracks are starting to appear. The most obvious and important to point out is the age and poor state of the equipment in the fitness room. I took the time last week to have a run and use the stationary bike but found both very slow to respond to inputs and the bike was exceptionally unstable, nearly falling over as I ran a simple interval style program. Whilst this does not detract from the overall experience of this stay I do feel that when I reported it to the reception staff after my time in the gym, and then again at checkout, it was not taken seriously. Let's see if anything changes before my next visit in May. Jamie February 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for LG Arena - but otherwise very average Stayed one night on rewards whilst attending a concert at the LG Arena. Very slow check-in due to being understaffed at reception. Finally got to room but Key Card system was not working so had to return to reception and be escorted to room with master key. Room adequate. Overlooked building site. Bathroom smelt damp. Returned to bar after concert - they had run out of crisps and nuts! Not enough seats for the number of visitors. Decided to find Breakfast elsewhere in the morning. Served our purpose - but have had much better IHG experiences. February 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>
Look forward to a wam welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC
Look forward to a wam welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC
Select to close.
Look forward to a wam welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Scenery / Landscape Look forward to a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC Enjoy Free Express Start Breakfast when you book direct. Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Perfect location if attending an event at the NEC Look forward to a wam welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC Lobby Lounge Situated in its own grounds with ample car parking. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC Look forward to a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC Situated in its own grounds with ample car parking. Enjoy a relaxing Starbucks Join us for a Great Stay at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC Look forward to a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Look forward to a wam welcome at the Holiday Inn Express NEC Reception Reception
Select to close.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading