• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 474 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable stay This hotel has a great location. Next to the New Street Station, China Town and shopping centers. It does not have fancy lobby, but very comfortable room with everything you need. The price is very reasonable. Reception staffs were very helpful. Two things I felt a little short. The doorman was very unfriendly (maybe they are trying to scare unwanted people). The checking staff did not ask my membership status (I have to tell them myself in order to get benefit). 22 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location of hotel in city centre the hotel was in the city centre of Birmingham with easy reach of shops, sights, pubs and resturants. 21 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel was situated in a perfect location for me - 2mins walk from the train station (I arrived and departed via train) and about 5mins walk to the Bullring shops and the New st area. I actually chose the hotel due to it location to the station and to the NIA as I was going to a show and it was not too far away (approx 1.5kms). It was a nice surprise to have the shops so close as I had not looked at the hotel for that reason. I would stay there again purely for the location, but the hotel is also cost effective and while the rooms are a slightly strange design (double bed against the wall so if you are travelling with someone, one of you will be sleeping against the wall) they suited their purpose very well. We did have a fire alarm go off at midnight on the first night, so we all traipsed down to the front of the hotel and sat outside for around 30mins, but the staff handled it really well, apologising on the night, leaving a letter of apology by everyones door the next morning, and apologising again on check-out. While it is an annoyance, it was not their fault and thankfully it was a false alarm and we could go back to our rooms after about 30mins (had to walk up the stairs because the firefighters had not cleared the lift for usage yet). Clearly this is not a common occurence and would not put me off staying at this hotel again. 20 October 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by BE CAUTIOUS I HAVE STAYED SEVERAL TIMES AT THIS HOTEL AND EVERYTIME WAS A PLEASURE. THIS TIME I STAYED FOR JUST ONE NIGHT AND IT WAS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCES I HAD AT A HOTEL IN BIRMINGHAM I STAYED IN A COLD (THE HEATING WAS NOT WORKING!!), NOISY (FROM THE STREET) AND OLD FASHIONED /TIRED ROOM WITH AN AWFUL SMELL COMING FROM THE DIRTY BATHROOM CURTAIN. I ASKED FOR ANOTHER ROOM BUT THE GUY AT THE FRONT DESK TOLD ME THAT I HAD ARRIVED LATE(AT ELVEN O CLOCK AT NIGHT)AND THE ONLY AVAILABLE ROOMS WHERE OF THE SAME TYPE ON THE SAME FLOOR (S FLOOR) I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY HOLIDAY INN RUINS ITS REPUTATION BY PROVIDING SO HORRIBLE ROOMS THAT COST AS MUCH AS A NORMAL ROOM. IF I KNEW I WOULD PREFER TO HAVE STAYED AT A BUDGET HOTEL SAVING MY MONEY. I WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN AT THIS PARTICULAR HOTEL IN BIRMINGHAM AS MY LAST EXPERIENCE WAS BAD.( I STILL HAVE THE FEELING OF THIS COLD AND SMELLY ROOM) I SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR A FULL REFUND! 20 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and a great location a great hotel with friendly staff and a comfortable room. Not noisy despite being on the ring road. 20 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff, knowledge of the area Visit was a group meeting the meeting room and facility was good and cleared afetr each break. Water and treats replenished. Good coffee and tea facilities at break times. Rooms allow for a comfortable and restful sleep. Oveall a good enjoyablestay. 20 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always a pleasant stay I've stayed here with the c.r. fan club for a few years now.The staff are always pleasant,helpfull,rooms clean,food tasty.The only thing missing is draws in the rooms for "smalls" !!! 16 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location visiting birmingham by train to attend a boxing dinner ,this was the perfect location, for a group of four people to stay top marks for all aspects of the hotel 13 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable sleep and excellant service Booked a room here, as I attended a conference which was being held in the same place. It is in a great location, near to Birmingham City train station and shops. The breakfast is highly recommended serving a choice of hot (which was hot) and cold breakfasts and choice of beverages too. The staff here are also very friendly and know the area pretty well (great if you re planning some activities during your stay). Overall an excellent comfortable and quiet experience. 12 October 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Nightmare weekend I arrived in Birmingham for a weekend conference on 6th September. All well so far, room was clean and well equipped but after returning from dinner, which was very good, with excellent professional waiting service, I found an extra bed in the room - wrong room! Next no hot water, and no hot water the next morning either, so a cold shower to wake me up! When I told reception, they just said that the whole hotel was without hot water and they were trying to fix it - no apology at all! Came back from the conference at 5.30pm and asked the front desk to order me a taxi for 7.30pm. When I went down, no taxi turned up so I had to flag down my own. Got back at midnight, only to be woken up by the fire alarm at 12.50am and had to evacuate the building! It was, of course, a false alarm! Finally got back to bed at 1.50am, only to be woken up at 7am by a call to say my taxi was waiting!!! Only twelve hours late!! Needless to say I felt this weekend was a disaster in the hotel. No members of staff informed us while we were all freezing on the pavement , waiting for the fire men to search the building, no-one apologised as we re-entered the building, no-one apologised for ordering my taxi twelve hours late. What sort of service is that? Only good thing was that the restaurant staff knew now to treat their guests. Front of house staff should take their lead and the maintenance department needs to up it's game! 10 October 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Arrived at Hotel and greeted nicely by reception, offered a room on 8th floor, originally offered a room backing onto the lifts, requested a room change due to wanting a quiet nights sleep after a busy day. Was moved to another room on 8th floor along corridor. All was well unti 8pm ish when there started being a lot of noise from one of the other rooms, later found out it was the room below & they were having a party. Cue lots of shouting, screaming, banging, music, general stuff for a party really. Rang down to reception to ask for a resolution & duty manager was sent to quieten the noise down, met duty manager, invited him to my room, he listened to the noise & was told they would be leaving within 15mins so not to worry. 30mins later still very noisy, unable to sleep, Duty manager refused to remove the guests who were causing a nuisance, saying that he had to respect their rights. So obviously not interested in my rights who was trying to get a nights sleep in a hotel bedroom. Seems its acceptable to have parties in Holiday Inn Hotel rooms, and disturb other guests. Eventually went quiet after 11pm, so whether they were thrown out who knows, DM didn't come back to me in the end. Breakfast was horrible, everyone was crammed into a room with rows of 3 tables, you had to squeeze past other guests chairs balancing plates & drinks, not very comfortable or pleasant, my partner wanted to leave straight away. Food was nice however. Asked to see the DM when checking out, he was not on & another DM knew the situation but was unable to offer a valid explination. DM Arranged for General manager to contact me on Monday, Writing this review on Tuesday & have had no call back or message. It seems like HI Birmingham don't value their guests comfort or respect their guests. Its a shame as HI Birmingham is in a ideal location & could be such an asset for IHG. 09 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location for visiting Birmingham This hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to the Bullring and to the Hippodrome. Staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable and great for a sightseeing trip or for business. The bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels and pillows. Ear plugs were provided as the hotel is on a busy road with several pubs and clubs nearby. As we had rooms on the side we did not experience any noise or disturbance. We noticed that there was a doorman at the front of the hotel and only hotel guests were allowed after 11 pm. We appreciated this security in a busy area, especially as we were travelling with children. Do not expect views and you will not be disappointed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1 Night - good experience we stayed for 1 night here - as we were visiting the Hippodrome locally. The room was excellent value for money and very clean. The WIFI was of good standard and reliable 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughters Treat This was a treat for my daughter and she was really happy with her stay and facility's 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easily the best IHG property in town Beats the somewhat dour Crown Plaza hands down. Friendly staff, quality breakfast and location is far less like being in a war zone. There is traffic noise, but when windows closed not an issue. Breakfast was rather crowded, and had to eat in the bar area, but not a major issue and all hot food kept in constant supply. Would pick this one every time I'm in Birmingham. 08 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay in Birmingham I found this hotel to be well situated in the city centre for all of the local attractions and transport. Staff were very helpful and attentive (I had a minor problem when trying to charge drinks to me room but it got resolved fairly quickly). Car parking at the nearby NCP is discounted which made a big difference. 06 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room but shocking internet and noisy staff Stayed here for a weekend and actively encouraged friends to book here too. All of us suffered the same problem...unable to connect to the wifi. After staying previously at another IHG Birmingham hotel with no problems, I booked an executive room at HI Birmingham. The above problem is not what I expected from the HI and IHG brands. This along with the amount of noise at 08.00 by the room cleaning service out in the corridor when check out isn't till 12noon was not appreciated. I think next time I wish to stay in Birmingham I will be heading back to the other IHG brand or away from the IHG family. 02 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Factura A highly recommended hotel to stay in if on a visit to Birmingham. If there is a negative I would note is the choice of items on the Dinner menu. We were going to eat one night in the hotel but went out due to the limited choice on the menu. Apart from this if you stay here I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. 01 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great service The hotel was ideally placed for our getaway and only 10mins from local pubs,shops and restaurants. 01 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Ideal hotel for a weekend visit to Birmingham good location and close to all amenities 01 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very great service central and friendly Very friendly near to the station near center and shopping. I recommend it. 24 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick stop before flight home The location is very convenient to the Central train station as well as shopping and resturants. I was welcomed at the front desk with wonderful hospitality. The young lady at the desk was attentive to my requests and helped me locate some places to eat that were within walking distance. My room was clean and everything that I needed for a good rest before my next days journey home. I would return to this location in the future. 22 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Nice hotel, friendly staff , Spotless Room, Proximity to train station 5mins, Pubs etc. We've stayed here twice in last year would highly recommend . 18 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Room was clean and comfortable, unfortunately the noise from outside disturb my sleep 18 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Great location for theatres and shopping Only complaint is the hair dryer is not near the mirror 18 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Finding location. We found it difficult to find using the signage obscured by trees and larger signs would help considerably. 18 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Good After staying at Holiday Inns all over the country, we found this one very disappointing. We had booked a Double room, but had twin beds. When we mentioned this to Reception, we were told they would mention it to housekeeping! Why was it not mentioned to someone who could act on it? If you like your sleep, then do not book room 305. The noise from the traffic, people shouting through the night, means that sleep is impossible. Yes the hotel did provide ear plugs, but they did not work. All in all the room was clean, we even found the cleaners badge on the floor, between beds, and the doorman was very polite when he allowed us in after our night out. 18 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by an excellent stay clean room,comfy bed,black out curtains,courteous staff,an excellent stay. 18 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good service Stayed two nights - unfortunately having requested a quiet room as had to up early for a conference ended up not sleeping until 0400hrs due to noise levels beyond the control of the hotel. Having said that the hotel is very good and ideal for shopping and entertainment. Will probably choose another hotel away from city centre. 16 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by IHG Rewards Customer As a Gold card rewards customer i was very dissapointed that there is no longer a priorty check in desk at reception. I was also dissapointed that i recived no robes or complimentatry items during my stay at the hotel. This is the second time this year i have stayed at the Hotel and the second time this has happened. I mentioned it on leaving but i wasnt met with a very warm apology. I like usinig the Hotel as it is central to the train station and for meetings in town. I would also like to mention that it is the only Holiday Inn that doesnt have breakfast menus on the tables. All the others that i stay at do. Overall it needs improvement to bring it up to the level of other holiday inns. 16 September 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading