• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 444 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay in a great location Greta location - yards from New St station, Hippodrome, Electric Cinema, Back-to-backs, Bull Ring, and not much further to ICC, Gas St., etc. Room was clean and comfortable, staff good and we had a decent breakfast. No complaints at all 16 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just old and tired Having stayed in Holiday Inns all over the world I feel that this one is getting very tired and feeling old. If you spend a few minutes just looking around the room you'll notice the little things that need attending to. I'll not be staying at this one again, I'm sorry to say. 14 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by City Break We chose Holiday Inn based on previous good experiences and this hotel didn't let us down. From the outside, the building looks a bit uninviting, but inside it has been nicely updated to and given a modern look and feel. The breakfast selection was good and the food hot. All staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Check in/out was smooth and the room was ready for us to leave our bags upon arrival. The location's great, just a few minutes from New Street Station. Popular with professionals and visitors alike, the bar was fine for an informal meeting, relaxing drink or nightcap. Our 'Executive Room' had everything necessary for a great stay - workspace for writing or laptop use, lots of power sockets and the A/C worked fine. The room was well-designed with all the amenities in an accessible place #no boiling kettles on the floor#. We enjoyed our visit to Birmingham and would recommend this hotel. 14 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant as usual...... Stayed 1-2 August. Sorry for the delay with the review. 3rd review today. I must get on top of these things much faster. Stay here two to three times a month. Mainly for the location as it's very central. Close to both the Hippodrome & Alexandra theatres. Clubs & bars. Shopping at Bull Ring, Mail Box, New Street and Corporation Street. Reception staff always polite and attentive. Thanks to Jana, Melisa, Shannon & Katy. My IHG Rewards status is always recognised. Breakfast is always very good here. 14 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel in Central Location Stayed 35-26 July. Sorry for the delay with the review. Stay here two to three times a month. Mainly for the location as it's very central. Close to theatres, clubs, bars and shopping. Reception staff always polite and attentive. My IHG Rewards status is always recognised. A great stay as usual. Many thanks. 14 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay as usual Stayed 20-21 June. Sorry for the delay with the review. Stay here two to three times a month. Mainly for the location as it's very central. Close to theatres, clubs, bars and shopping. Reception staff always polite and attentive. My IHG Rewards status is always recognised. 14 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient Very comfortable hotel, with the exec rooms to a high standard. Comfortable bed! 14 September 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shame On arrival check in was fine but despite platinum card no executive rooms available! Then the following morning no hot water and the following night a fire alarm. Not the best by any means and not really much in the way of an apology. Shame as I've stayed there before and it's been ok but this time....... 12 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value we had a very relaxing stay. great value for money . the room was comfortable , clean and very quiet. 12 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, enjoyable stay. Good service enjoyable stay. We stayed three nights. Excellent breakfast. total in our party 5 persons and had three rooms. 12 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a pleasant break good location for the city centre,we parked the car and left it for 3 days. With the windows open it was very noisy but you would expect that in a city centre. The parking worked well,much easier to walk! Nice to be able to have a rest in the room during the day. 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham Overall the hotel was brilliant, staff were great at all times. Only things I would moan about are the cost of drinks/food inside the hotel bar/lounge, the workers outside on the Sunday morning just outside our hotel room which woke us up at half past 7 but couldn't be helped and the quality of the wifi as it was unstable during the stay. All in all, for the price we paid we got it well as it is only a 5 minute taxi from here to Broad Street and there were also lots of places to eat around us if we hadn't went for the hotel food. Would definitely go back! 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best night ever The room was really nice, although I was at the side of the building and the view of the works going on at the station, it was quite. I would definetly recommend this hotel to others 08 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel to stay in birmingham Had another great weekend stay at the holiday inn have stayed there several times now always had a good welcome by the staff with the room cleanliness great and food and beverage of the highest standard with the location of the hotel great for all the shops for the ladies and close too new street station so you don't have too carry the bags far,and yes we will be back 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ONE OF THE BETTER HOLIDAY INNS NICE CLEAN ROOM . NICE TOUCH THE ROOM HAD A REFRIGERATOR.NICE BED SLEPT WELL .PLENTY OF TOWELS IN THE BATHROOM .ROOMS AIR CON WORKED WELL.TV WITH PLENTY OF CHANNELS.ONE OF THE BETTER HOLIDAY INNS. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay The Hotel has a pleasant atmosphere. The staff are all very friendly. Ideally situated not far from the city center. 01 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed and great service Great location. Spacious rooms with nice decor. Tentative service 01 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and breakfast, pity about the parking Using NCP parking would be fine IF the lift had worked at least once during our stay also having to walk all around the block to get 20metres from the car park entrance, as the whole walk through to the hotel had been blocked by planters and wood and no small area for pedestrians' to walk through had been left, it was not a good start to our break. The room was excellent but the parking issues spoilt it I would not have booked this hotel if I was aware at the time of booking 01 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Facilities We stayed at the Holiday Inn Smallbrook Queensway for the T20 Blast Cricket. The Hotel was in an ideal location not far from the bus to the cricket ground. The hotel itself is extremely clean and tidy. The bar service and lounge was excellent. The dining room served a very good dinner and breakfast was excellent. There is a balcony with tables and chairs to accommodate smokers and doesn't interefer with non-smokers. Overall we had a fab time and will definately stay here again if we are lucky enough to go to Birmingham again. 31 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, graet F The hotel is closely located to the city centre. Their restaurant was reasonably priced. The service staff were superb - very attentive and cheerful. Only the pity was we encountered one horrendous staff who totally ruined our check in experience. We arrived 30 minutes earlier than expected check in time, but we were advised to come back for the proper check in time, but even we came 1 hour later than specified time, the room was not ready, and we were treated very badly in spite of us killing our time for their favour - very rude staff. I trust this is one off incident, and hope you don't have the same experience, as other staff looked very nice. 29 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bank holiday Break The room was spacious and well appointed, bathroom was clean with good shower and plenty of hot water, good sized tv and massive bed. The breakfast had plenty of variety and choice but as the hot selection was self service the quality was not brilliant but was quite acceptable 28 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Quite a walk with luggage from car park to hotel as walkway has been blocked off. Deluxe rooms smaller than standard rooms 26 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to West Midlands Hotel stay and staff excellent. Your car parking arrangements is totally inconvenient for guests. Walk tto and from car park especially in cold weather and rain is totally unacceptable. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I had a really good stay at the Holiday Inn in Birmingham. Staff were friendly, check in efficcient, room was very nice. The food was good but if you don't like what's on the menu there are plenty of restaurants just outside to cater for everyone. I loved my room and was very pleased with the staff and the service that was provided. 22 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Nights Everything was nice. Very good location. Comfortable bed. Nice bathroom 21 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very convenient location Our overnight stay to visit friends living in Birmingham was made very pleasurable by being able to stay at such a conveniently situated hotel so close to the city centre. We booked bed and breakfast and spent a very comfortable night in a very well appointed and spacious room with a really excellent en-suite bathroom complete with bath and shower. The only and very slight criticism which is probably unavoidable, given the location of the hotel, was the traffic noise while not being greatly excessive was noticeable. 21 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Access from car park and breakfast.... I am a Priority Club member and often use this hotel when visiting Birmingham. Unfortunately, the access to the car park has been compromised due to potential building work which now results in an excessive walk around the block. There was no notification of this change on the website . Lugging suitcases around the block after a recent operation, meant that I had to complain as soon as I arrived, which was not a good start. Fortunately the reception staff understood what good Customer service was and offered us the parking space next to the hotel, which was a great help. The extremely firm pillows in the room, meant that sleep quality was poor. The quality of breakfast ingredients needs to be improved as powdered scrambled egg cooked in excessive oil is unpalatable and even the fresh eggs were swimming in oil. The option of vegetarian sausages should be given .The urn of "coffee" was undrinkable and I remembered this from a previous visit and brought good quality instant to add to hot water. This hotel is now let down by the quality of the details as above and the only saving grace is the quality of the staff. 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Got a nice room without anything to complain about. Had a room at the silent side. Friends complained about noise on the street side. 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So comfortable and quiet I was spending a night in your Hotel to meet up with a long time friend I hadn't seen for a lot of years. As I was the one to book the Hotel I was worried in case my friend wouldn't like it, but I needn't have worried, she lovely it. The bed was so comfortable and it was really quiet, you usually hear people walking and talking going down the corridors all hours, but we didn't hear anything? We are going to meet up again soon and bring our men with us, and yes we will be coming back to you. Thank you. PS: The breakfast was really lovely. All 5* 17 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Decline in standards /customer services I have been a regular customer at this hotel for many years but of late with prices decreasing it appears to be attracting a rowdy noisy crowd. I checked into 723 after a long day in London and had an early start and wanted a lie in quick shower then left. Unfortunately for me the shower did not work and took over 15 minutes to get some pressure or heat. By this time is was too late and had to go. Obviously I was rather frustrated and this set my mood for the day. Reception staff were disinterested and gave a vague sorry to which my reply was is that it ? The other staff just stared at me. Another lady then got involved and requested I leave my number and assured me the duty manager would call me. It is now Friday late afternoon and I am still to receive a phone call, more than two days later. This hotels standards are declining, the staff are disinterested and obviously there is no communication with management which is disappointing. I just want a bed and working shower, not much to ask for? I used to love this hotel as it is in town and used to be pretty quiet but of late I would not recommend. I stay in IHG hotels each week and this stay was poor in both facilities and obvious management input. Hopefully this review will get them to respond! 15 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Book the Holiday Inn Express Baytown to stay at one of our new Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading