• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 124 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Like trying to sleep in a very hot night club! Air conditioning did not work, no opening windows so room was unbearably hot. Staff unhelpful and dismissive. Hotel was fully booked so offered fans, which would only have circulated the warm air! Added to this, when we returned to our room at 11.00 pm we were greeted by the loudest live music from the champagne bar located above our room. This lasted until 1.00 am. Obviously there was no sound proofing and it was like trying to sleep in the middle of a night club. In terms of sleep quality, I have stayed at budget hotels that have far exceeded my stay at this hotel. Definitely does not match up to it's start rating and is not value for money. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel but… Hey, I’m dead realistic- this is a city centre, smart hotel located fairly centrally in the middle of the country’s second city; it was going to be busy and the price was going to reflect its profile. The designated Mailbox parking was relatively easy to find/ park and was in close proximity to the hotel (we paid £27 for a day and a few hours but it was fully expected). Our check in at reception was surprisingly frosty and the two hotel lifts seemed inadequate and overstretched on such a busy day- every time we packed into a lift the other patrons seemed to comment on this. No issues with the room whatsoever. We'd stayed in a King executive room- it was as exactly as advertised. The spa was very good although again very busy. One member had removed my towels from the recliner around the pool onto the floor. When I pointed this out to him he apologised and stated how it was a nightmare for members as it gets so busy with hotel guests over the weekend. We used the concierge service to request directions to the Hippodrome and were immediately hailed a taxi- being told it was complicated to get to- despite it actually being in walking distance. Breakfast the next morning was a tad underwhelming. We stated we’d like a cooked breakfast and was told someone would be right over. We waited and waited until eventually I had to get the attention of a waiter clearing a table. It did take a while and when it came it wasn’t great. There was also a continental breakfast selection which badly needed topping up (we were down in good time- not at the end of breakfast service). Overall it wasn’t a bad stay but did fall a bit short of expectations and it was just the little things that let it down. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Stayed for one night for a special occasion. Everything was excellent from the Spa to the food. Slight issue that the champagne cocktail bar was fully booked so bar area was very busy but apart from that it was excellent. easily 5/5 July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, worth the extra buck! Having stayed at nearly every other hotel in Birmingham, I was recently recommended this hotel by a friend who happened to have had dinner at the rooftop restaurant/bar. The hotel was functional, clean, modern and trendy. The clientele seemed to be exactly the same which was a welcome change as most hotels are overflowing on the weekends with groups of party goers etc. Great nights sleep, wonderful breakfast, fantastic view and one of the best fitness centers that I have had the chance of using! July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by an excellent experience great hotel, excellent central location, great views from the room, happening bar on the roof, excellent breakfast, i will definately be staying again July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by cake was a nice touch I booked the room & table for a present for family members birthday so cannot comment my self but they said they really enjoyed it, the room was air conditioned, clean & service was really good. when i explained that it was for a 60th Birthday they kindly left a birthday cake in the room on arrival which was a nice touch. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very welcoming and great service Cannot fault this hotel. The booking agent was very helpful and efficient, I just happened to mention in conversation that it was a surprise for my Partners 40th Birthday. On arrival into the room there was a plate with two brownies strawberries and engraved in chocolate around the plate read Happy 40th Birthday, this was done as a surprise for him but was also a surprise to me and at no extra cost. I thought it was a lovely gesture. Thank you!! The Reception Staff were very welcoming and friendly, and our room was very bright and airy, with a view to die for over looking the mail box. Unfortunately M.P.W Restaurant was fully booked, but we did go up there for a drink the following afternoon to take advantage of the magnificent views, and again the staff up there were very attentive. Overall the experience was wonderful and have already recommended this hotel to friends. I would definately stay here again without hesitation. The only down side was that our stay wasn't long enough. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a pleasurable one!!! July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 50th birthday i booked the hotel for a surprise 50th birthday present for my husband. we did not know to what to expect from the hotel or room as you feel they are all the same. when we entered the room we were speechless, it was so bright, refreshing and the view was fantastic. we left one of the curtains open overnight and my husband watched the sun rise over Birmingham. we will definitely be returning. July 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, shame about the expeience The room was an OK standard but not stand out, noise from next door was very loud. The walls in this place must be made of paper. The roof terrace is also a night spot of an evening and as a result there is alot of noise. Not a place for a quiet stay. July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid the restaurant what a shame that this pleasant hotel is stuck with MPWs restaurant. I had crab cakes that had never seen a crab there was so much potato and the steak - sirloin which I asked for rare was overdone and tasteless. Two fat battered onions and some tasteless chips did not improve matters. I waited over half an hour for both drinks ordered. It was impossible to complain as I was hosting the table but the rest of the food seemed ok apart from overcooked sea bass. The sticky toffee pudding was good however. I would be happy to stay again but would certainly go elsewhere to eat. The breakfast and its service redeemed my views the next morning however. What a shame July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overnight couldn't fault anything about our stay. pool is not as small as some reviews led us to believe. if I stay again will have my nails done while having a glass of fizz salon looks great July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost perfect for Business This property is almost perfect for a business traveler. As someone that travels 60% of the time being away from home and family is not the most enjoyable experience so when you find a hotel that helps you relax it is a very pleasant experience. However there is one small thing this hotel needs to be perfect for a business traveler and that would be a business center. I was shocked that there was not one in this facility. The staff deserves a raise in salary they are on thier game. They know what they are doing well trained and very, very friendly July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb experience - thank you Not the first time that I have stayed at Hotel Indigo and won't be the last! Staff as usual were superb and very welcoming, views over Birmingham were stunning. Food and ambience in Marco Pierre White Restaurant were great with a relaxing but vibrant bar area for drinks afterwards. Thanks again - keep up the great work! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sleek, comfortable with grear WIFI My stay was comfortable and easy. Check in and out was quick. I dined in my room and enjoyed fantastic wifi during my stay. The cosmetics provided were luxurious and my whole stay felt like a real treat. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views The bedrooms and the restuarant have factastic views of the city being 23 to 25 floors high. The room had a modern business like feel with quality furniture and furnishings including a comfortable bed, arm chair and desk. The bathroom was clean, bright and well equipped. The breakfast selection could not be faulted being very fresh with lots of choice. Hot selections were made to order. The central location, fantastic views and comfortable rooms will bring me back here again. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Can only use 1 word to describe my stay - GREAT. Brilliant hotel and very friendly June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed The Mattress was far too soft however the towels were magnificent June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb hotel Stopped at this hotel using my reward points , I was in 2 minds which hotel to choice between this and the Crowne Plaza because of the treatment you receive being a Platinum Elite member at the Crowne Plaza but I was so happy with the treatment I received at Indigo and will definately be going back , from when I walked in to when I left the staff were so helpful and happy , which is great to see, our room was great with a lovely view over Birmingham and then the view from the bars on the 25th floor were also superb , what was even better was the discount I got in the bars for being a platinum elite member although the only downfall was your not told this at reception when you check in , it was down to chatting to a member of staff in the bar so I'd like to thank you for a great stay and will definately be back to try MPW restaurant June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location and view, comfortable room An overnight stay,very enjoyable. Had trip to the Rep theatre a short walk away, but sad part was Marco resaurant was closed after, but plenty of places around outside. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for a shopping weekend Hotel pretty good overall, but bed too soft for my liking. Lifts to residents ratio poor. Often kept waiting, I suspect mainly because of the number of non residents accessing MPW Steakhouse. Not good when you are on 22 floor. Disappointing dinner in MPW. Must learn how to cook a steak, but an excellent breakfast helped to compensate. Would recommend hotel, even though a bit on the pricey side but eat out.. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel with the most comfy bed ever!! Had a lovely stay at this Hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. Loved the room, the Restaurant and most of all loved the bed it was so comfy we did not get up for breakfast the following day and chose to have a lesiurly lie in. If we could pick one fault it would be only to say the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy but that could of been down to our operating instructions. Would definatley recomend this hotel***** June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful views - modern comfort the entrance to the hotel is basic and goes through to the other side of the building affording two entrance and exit points.. the rooms cannot be accessed via the lift unless using a room key card which is ideal as so many people using the lift are not guests but visitors. the restaurant is good value for money, and the bar cocktails are stronger than you might think. overall a lovely experience. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern Rooms, Great Breakfast, Loud Bar. Whenever booking a city break I always try to book into an Indigo hotel, as the rooms, staff and food are all excellent, with by far the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. Indigo Birmingham met all these expectations and overall had an excellent stay. Our only negative was how loud the bar was, loud music went on into the early hours (around 2am), something I wasn't expecting. However, having said this, Indigo would still be my hotel of choice when staying in Birmingham, but I'd perhaps request a room on the 23rd floor oppose to the 24th (Bar is on the 25th floor). If you choose to stay at this hotel, please book in advance to the breakfast, the service was fantastic and the food even better, with an excellent view over the city from 25 floors up. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect romantic getaway Me and girlfriend stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Birmingham as a Birthday treat for her. We stayed in room 2401 which had a huge balcony area (enough for about 20 people) and the décor was beautiful. There were complimentary treats in the fridge which were a nice surprise. Although we had full use of the Spa facilities on our stay we didn't get around to using them. We had two tvs in our room however the remote control only allowed us to turn the tv on and off and adjust the volume. We contacted the reception about the matter who swiftly sent someone up to resolve the issue however after about 5-10 minutes of trying they also were unsuccessful in rectifying the problem. The only other minor criticism was that with such a spectacular room, the bathroom was a let down. The staff were friendly and the breakfast (which was also included in the price) was delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here in future. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern hotel centrally located This is a new, comfortable, friendly modern hotel well located for a Birmingham city break. Only quibble was late night food availablity as I think they lose a trick by not offering a better room service menu range. They do offer third party pizza delivery which is a bit hassley as you need to arrange June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel I booked this for my partners birthday getaway. On arrival I was checked into the wrong room as I paid for a king executive. The staff accepted their mistake and upgraded us to a room on the top floor with a balcony! Great views, lovely experience. So central location. Lovely bar on the roof. The only thing I could moan about was that the furniture was being moved in the bar which kept us awake till 1am! An additional mirror would be nice in the room of that size! Great experience the spa in the hotel is lovely. Take the bath robes provided in your rooms by the hotel with u if using the spa facilities. May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short Break Great experience for Birmingham break. Modern bright rooms. All staff very competent & helpful. Many thanks to reception for answering pre arrival queries. Varied breakfast selection. Hi tech gym facilities. Relaxing pool facility. Great views from the restaurant/lounge. Will definitely stay again April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel This is not my first time at the hotel indigo. And it will not be the last. Excellent hotel with breath taking views of Birmingham (depending on room location). A lively bar/resteraunt on the top floor. Which serves a good breakfast. And good spa / health facilities on the ground floor. I would definitely reccomend to anyone looking for a hotel in Birmingham. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Eager to please I have stayed in this hotel approx 8 times in recent months and I must say each visit has got better and better. I was initially disappointed with the lack of priority club recognition and brought this to their attention and eve since they have gone out of their way to be welcoming, and accommodating beyond expectations. Whenever possible I have been allocated interesting to spectacular rooms and staff have gone out of their way to help. The spa is very nice. Small and often bust but a real perk. Breakfast is outstanding!! Service and food. My only gripe is internet connections in rooms and the fact that the free alcohol in mini bar which was a feature of indigo seem to have disappeared. All in all however excellent value for money. March 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great view but not much else!! We had booked a balcony room for my birthday in September and on check in we're told this was no longer available- after complaining the hotel very kindly gave us a free balcony room and breakfast to be booked at our convenience- we took this opportunity last week. What a disappointment!! The room has an amazing view and the shower was great but otherwise offers nothing very special. We found it dated and grubby. The air con was screaming all night resulting in a poor sleep, and we were unable to turn it off! Towels had lipstick stains and a very small amount of toiletries were provided considering there were two of us ! Breakfast quite frankly was a let down, my partner asked for Earl Grey tea and got Lipton ! I got stale coffee and quite frankly in a hotel of such stature and as a coffee addict I would expect a cafatiere of fresh coffee.Whilst the cooked breakfast was rubbish there was a lot on offer in the continental breakfast options All in all, given this was a freebie I wouldn't complain but had I paid the £189 per night for room ( more if you had breakfast) I would have been furious! It's a great location and the balcony room gives a great view of the city but otherwise I'd recommend the Hyatt ( just a 1/2 mile away) over Hotel Indigo March 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading