• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A mixture of Excellent and Poor Excellent location, rooms, spa etc. but the Saturday night thumping of bass music an inconvenience as break for all family was to relax and sleep! Hotel staff excellent dealing with the noise situation. Breakfast was so dissapointing. The quality of food was not great but the service was so poor it became unbelievable. The extremely efficient lady in charge kept telling the staff to serve us and they did not listen to her. On third occasion of speaking to lady in charge she said "what more could she do, she keeps telling them but...." This was such a shame as on a previous visit the breakfast and service was excellent. ( To cap it all the veggie breakfast contained pieces of bacon in the baked beans...oh dear not a good morning at the Indigo !) Despite the issues we experienced I would still return to hotel and would recommend to others.... August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room with a view and Exceptional Service! Having stayed at many hotels in the city I had high expectations for the Indigo - it did not disappoint. From the moment that I checked in to the time I reluctantly checked out the service and experience was of the highest level. Very comfortable beds Exhilarating rain shower Excellent toiletries Fantastic restaurant and view Superb Spa It really does not get much better than this. Good value for money too. I cannot wait to return... August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. loved every minute of my stay. would definatly receommed. cant wait ti stay again August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Well run hotel Check in the first time was great, my second visit the key did not work the iift so I ended up going to the 25th floor and back (there were others in the lift); the second key impressions didn't unlock the room and the third time, with a different room finally worked but after a long day it wasn't great to take 15 mins to get into my room But... rooms are lovely (once you get in!), internet is quick so I could stream iplayer on my laptop and room service is swift with great quality food although the menu is a bit carb heavy and a few more salad options would be good. Spa pool (visit on my second visit) is great for a relax and chill All in all I would recommend this hotel August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, lovey staff Two night stay. Check in easy with helpful and informative staff. No car park but directions to public car park at The Mailbox and told that the parking token could be activated for a 15% discount. Hotel is modern contemporary design, bright, and on the 23 and 24 floors of the building with picture windows and great viewsacross the city. Plus a restuarant and bar on the 25th floor which has 360 degree glass, plus an outside seating area with fantasic views. Lift is a little annoying. You need to insert the room card to access the bedroom floors. If you are not quick enough it flits between the restaurant an reception floors which are 18 levels apart! Bedroom was clean tidy well appointed but dissapointingly appeared a little tired ,the wardrobe had chipped paint, the towel rail in the bathroom was loose and at risk of pulling out of the wall. However the bed was comfy and all linen was fine. Only ate breakfast. As it was the weekend we had a two for one deal, otherwise it would have been pricey at £18 a head and we would probably have headed into the city. Full english breakfast looked and tasted lovely but was only warm and not hot. However there was a good selection of fruit juices, cereals and continental options and you can have as much as you like. Service was really good with polite attentive and friendly staff. Did pop to the bar one afternoon. Waiter service only which was slow and we seemed to be the slowest. However once they realised we had been waiting probably about 15 minutes for a drink they were apologetic and quick to rectify. In summary would I recommend it and would i stay again - inspite of the negative points above, yes. it has a generally nice feel to it, and if they address the minor points then it was good value for money, well placed for the city centre and with a plenty of bars and restaurants a few paces away, that have a great lively atmosphere but with the bedrooms 20 floors up they dont impact upon a a good nights sleep August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class. Great location, service and accommodation Stayed just the one night on business, however will certainly return with my wife for a weekend! Set on the top 3 floors of the Cube (part of the mailbox) the views of Birmingham are impressive - benefiting from floor to ceiling windows. The room was clean and spacious. The service and welcome excellent. I would thoroughly recommend eating at the Marco Pierre White Steak restaurant - service and food quality was first class, price was reasonable. If I'd arrived a little earlier i would have eaten in the many restaurants within a stones throw of the hotel, however glad I ate on site. Get a window seat if possible! Breakfast is served in the MPW restaurant, so again a high standard of ingredients and service. Whether on Business or Leisure i'm sure you won't be disappointed - some of the rooms had balconies, a definite to try and book Only criticism was the parking - you only get a 15% reduction on parking in the mailbox, which is about a 5 minute walk from reception (and not obviously sign posted). August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Funky minimalist hotel Good hotel for business traveller. Reception area is quite stark. Rooms are quite minimalist in design and in block colours - okay if you like that particular colour! Beds comfy. Some great views over the city. Bar meal was fine although as a single female I felt I was invisible to the staff! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay! It was my partners birthday and we really had a wonderful time. Our room was upgraded and it was so spacious with the most amazing balcony and view. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful, they really pulled out all the stops for us! Will definitely be going back! August 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Great experience Had Once Fire Incident in the middle of the night. The hotel is not child friendly. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room but poor Room Service I'd come in from a long drive and was very hungry. I tried to order room service 15 mins before it was due to close, but the staff member told me that the kitchen was closing! So i had to settle for a take-away pizza instead! Apart from that, front-desk staff were brilliant at checking in and out and polite and courteous. The Room itself was also very nice with an amazing view!! I would like to come again and hope that for next time that their Room Service staff are more accommodating. August 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sleep / noisy rooms On the outside the hotel looks great with a superb restaurant to boot. However, the rooms are way to lareg and not condusive to a good nights sleep due to way to much natural light and windows. August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Modern hotel but poor service Hotel is modern and decorated in vibrant colours. Rooms are on the small side and furnished relatively simply with modern furniture. Service is a little approximate. Expect to have to ask for everything you need. D Don't even bother heading to bar, service is terrible. August 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Like trying to sleep in a very hot night club! Air conditioning did not work, no opening windows so room was unbearably hot. Staff unhelpful and dismissive. Hotel was fully booked so offered fans, which would only have circulated the warm air! Added to this, when we returned to our room at 11.00 pm we were greeted by the loudest live music from the champagne bar located above our room. This lasted until 1.00 am. Obviously there was no sound proofing and it was like trying to sleep in the middle of a night club. In terms of sleep quality, I have stayed at budget hotels that have far exceeded my stay at this hotel. Definitely does not match up to it's start rating and is not value for money. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel but… Hey, I’m dead realistic- this is a city centre, smart hotel located fairly centrally in the middle of the country’s second city; it was going to be busy and the price was going to reflect its profile. The designated Mailbox parking was relatively easy to find/ park and was in close proximity to the hotel (we paid £27 for a day and a few hours but it was fully expected). Our check in at reception was surprisingly frosty and the two hotel lifts seemed inadequate and overstretched on such a busy day- every time we packed into a lift the other patrons seemed to comment on this. No issues with the room whatsoever. We'd stayed in a King executive room- it was as exactly as advertised. The spa was very good although again very busy. One member had removed my towels from the recliner around the pool onto the floor. When I pointed this out to him he apologised and stated how it was a nightmare for members as it gets so busy with hotel guests over the weekend. We used the concierge service to request directions to the Hippodrome and were immediately hailed a taxi- being told it was complicated to get to- despite it actually being in walking distance. Breakfast the next morning was a tad underwhelming. We stated we’d like a cooked breakfast and was told someone would be right over. We waited and waited until eventually I had to get the attention of a waiter clearing a table. It did take a while and when it came it wasn’t great. There was also a continental breakfast selection which badly needed topping up (we were down in good time- not at the end of breakfast service). Overall it wasn’t a bad stay but did fall a bit short of expectations and it was just the little things that let it down. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Stayed for one night for a special occasion. Everything was excellent from the Spa to the food. Slight issue that the champagne cocktail bar was fully booked so bar area was very busy but apart from that it was excellent. easily 5/5 July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, worth the extra buck! Having stayed at nearly every other hotel in Birmingham, I was recently recommended this hotel by a friend who happened to have had dinner at the rooftop restaurant/bar. The hotel was functional, clean, modern and trendy. The clientele seemed to be exactly the same which was a welcome change as most hotels are overflowing on the weekends with groups of party goers etc. Great nights sleep, wonderful breakfast, fantastic view and one of the best fitness centers that I have had the chance of using! July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by an excellent experience great hotel, excellent central location, great views from the room, happening bar on the roof, excellent breakfast, i will definately be staying again July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by cake was a nice touch I booked the room & table for a present for family members birthday so cannot comment my self but they said they really enjoyed it, the room was air conditioned, clean & service was really good. when i explained that it was for a 60th Birthday they kindly left a birthday cake in the room on arrival which was a nice touch. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very welcoming and great service Cannot fault this hotel. The booking agent was very helpful and efficient, I just happened to mention in conversation that it was a surprise for my Partners 40th Birthday. On arrival into the room there was a plate with two brownies strawberries and engraved in chocolate around the plate read Happy 40th Birthday, this was done as a surprise for him but was also a surprise to me and at no extra cost. I thought it was a lovely gesture. Thank you!! The Reception Staff were very welcoming and friendly, and our room was very bright and airy, with a view to die for over looking the mail box. Unfortunately M.P.W Restaurant was fully booked, but we did go up there for a drink the following afternoon to take advantage of the magnificent views, and again the staff up there were very attentive. Overall the experience was wonderful and have already recommended this hotel to friends. I would definately stay here again without hesitation. The only down side was that our stay wasn't long enough. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a pleasurable one!!! July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 50th birthday i booked the hotel for a surprise 50th birthday present for my husband. we did not know to what to expect from the hotel or room as you feel they are all the same. when we entered the room we were speechless, it was so bright, refreshing and the view was fantastic. we left one of the curtains open overnight and my husband watched the sun rise over Birmingham. we will definitely be returning. July 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, shame about the expeience The room was an OK standard but not stand out, noise from next door was very loud. The walls in this place must be made of paper. The roof terrace is also a night spot of an evening and as a result there is alot of noise. Not a place for a quiet stay. July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid the restaurant what a shame that this pleasant hotel is stuck with MPWs restaurant. I had crab cakes that had never seen a crab there was so much potato and the steak - sirloin which I asked for rare was overdone and tasteless. Two fat battered onions and some tasteless chips did not improve matters. I waited over half an hour for both drinks ordered. It was impossible to complain as I was hosting the table but the rest of the food seemed ok apart from overcooked sea bass. The sticky toffee pudding was good however. I would be happy to stay again but would certainly go elsewhere to eat. The breakfast and its service redeemed my views the next morning however. What a shame July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overnight couldn't fault anything about our stay. pool is not as small as some reviews led us to believe. if I stay again will have my nails done while having a glass of fizz salon looks great July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost perfect for Business This property is almost perfect for a business traveler. As someone that travels 60% of the time being away from home and family is not the most enjoyable experience so when you find a hotel that helps you relax it is a very pleasant experience. However there is one small thing this hotel needs to be perfect for a business traveler and that would be a business center. I was shocked that there was not one in this facility. The staff deserves a raise in salary they are on thier game. They know what they are doing well trained and very, very friendly July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb experience - thank you Not the first time that I have stayed at Hotel Indigo and won't be the last! Staff as usual were superb and very welcoming, views over Birmingham were stunning. Food and ambience in Marco Pierre White Restaurant were great with a relaxing but vibrant bar area for drinks afterwards. Thanks again - keep up the great work! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sleek, comfortable with grear WIFI My stay was comfortable and easy. Check in and out was quick. I dined in my room and enjoyed fantastic wifi during my stay. The cosmetics provided were luxurious and my whole stay felt like a real treat. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views The bedrooms and the restuarant have factastic views of the city being 23 to 25 floors high. The room had a modern business like feel with quality furniture and furnishings including a comfortable bed, arm chair and desk. The bathroom was clean, bright and well equipped. The breakfast selection could not be faulted being very fresh with lots of choice. Hot selections were made to order. The central location, fantastic views and comfortable rooms will bring me back here again. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Can only use 1 word to describe my stay - GREAT. Brilliant hotel and very friendly June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed The Mattress was far too soft however the towels were magnificent June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb hotel Stopped at this hotel using my reward points , I was in 2 minds which hotel to choice between this and the Crowne Plaza because of the treatment you receive being a Platinum Elite member at the Crowne Plaza but I was so happy with the treatment I received at Indigo and will definately be going back , from when I walked in to when I left the staff were so helpful and happy , which is great to see, our room was great with a lovely view over Birmingham and then the view from the bars on the 25th floor were also superb , what was even better was the discount I got in the bars for being a platinum elite member although the only downfall was your not told this at reception when you check in , it was down to chatting to a member of staff in the bar so I'd like to thank you for a great stay and will definately be back to try MPW restaurant June 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Book the Holiday Inn Express Baytown to stay at one of our new Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading