• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our free Breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 86 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful stay! Extremely poor nights sleep, not helped by unhelpful staff. Would not recommend, would not stay again! December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wifes birthday very nice hotel everyone was friendly nice surroundings my only complaint was on the sunday evening my wife and i were in the bar having a drink and there were two people by the bar and the one was swearing quite loudly generaly annoying the staff so we left and went to another bar when we went back later they had gone but it wasnt nice to hear that kind of language in such a nice establishment December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing stay ever! Last Thursday I stayed with my boyfriend in this hotel. Check-in was smooth, so grafeful that we have been upgraded to the best room in the hotel. My boyfriend was amazed about what a fabulous view we could see on the balcony. He couldn't help himself to take some pictures of the city view. We did not plan to have dinner in MPW until the last mintue, but the staff were so helpful to sort out a dinner reservation for us. At the end of the night, we had some friends joined us for the evening, and they loved it too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to the others. Thank you for all the staff who helped us to have a memorable stay. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect weekend Great experience from start to finish. Would do it all again without hesitation. Well worth it if you enjoy the finer things. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room, facilities and staff We had a great stay! Room and the facilities were great. Staff helpful and friendly! Good value for money! I would happily stay here again! November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently. I hadn't stayed at a Hotel Indigo before but I will using them more in the future. The Hotel has the feel of a smaller/boutique style hotel. I was greeted as a rewards club member and dealt with very quickly. They had even upgraded my room, which I really appreciated. I ended up with a fantastic view across Birmingham, with floor to ceiling glass windows, lovely decor and a very comfortable room. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The lift was a bit problematic in the evening. There are two small lifts and it was very busy with people going to the top floor that I had to wait a while to get to my room. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby including the Pierre White restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. The breakfast was in the Pierre White restaurant and was great and the 360 degree view was a lovely way to start the day. Definitely get the breakfast added to your stay when you book. The Parking near the hotel was tricky. So I decided to try the Car Park - which was expensive. However, I loved it because it was a bit James Bond style parking! Car disappears into the ground on a platform and then comes back when you leave. Worth a try even if just once - Just ask at reception. November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent 5 star service to follow breathtaking views room, staff and atmosphere is ideal for a night away November 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Trendy, comfortable and great location Great stay, used the spa and dined at MPW fab night out at a high standard hotel, would definitely recommend November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NICE HOTEL BUT OVERPRICED FOR WHAT IT IS. The Indigo is a very nice hotel. The room we had was very, very small, however was quirky and had great views. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very irritating. There were only a handful of tables in the restaurant and yet we had to wait around 10 minutes before we were seated - I have no idea why as it was almost empty. The staff wandered slowly and aimlessly around not doing very much. We had to wait a long time for someone to take our order and then quite a time longer for breakfast to arrive. The reception staff were great - very friendly and helpful giving us full instructions on using the underground parking system (very unique!!) It's a nice hotel, but very overpriced for what you actually get. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely hotel stayed for my husbands birthday .staff on reception very friendly and helpful. car parking great.would reccomend staying here .good location .rooms very clean and comfy.no problems at all. November 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed customers We just got married and my husband paid a lot of money for the superior suite for our wedding night. We booked for 3 nights in total the overall experience was very poor. When booking, my husband had asked for rose petals to be scattered on the bed - this did not happen. The next day we asked for room service for breakfast which took over an hour and the Spanish omelette was under cooked. We were on the 24th floor so the view was beautiful but the staff don't seem to have a clue about anything. Although my husband had already paid for the room online, he was asked to provide his card for verification upon checking in. It was only later that we realised that we have been charged twice. It has been over 2 weeks since the wedding and we are still waiting for a refund, despite having made calls and also visiting the hotel again to complain. The service is rather poor and there were several things in the room that weren't working. Considering how much we paid for the room, I don't think we will be coming back again. Very disappointed November 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sunday morning building work This is a very nice hotel in a very nice area of Birmingham, however when I stayed builders started refurbishing the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse & Grill on Sunday morning before 7am October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The service we received at the hotel, spa and restaurant were first class. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing appeared to be too much bother. The staff in the restaurant were especially diligent in their work. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Probably The Best Hotel Stay Ever I booked a reward night for this hotel as part of the fantastic Point Break promotion they were running back in May. The hotel is in a great central location part of the Mailbox Shopping Center. From check in to check out the staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind and I must thank each and every one of them. The complimentary upgrade from a standard room to the Penthouse Suite for being a (platinum member) was the nicest most appreciated and unexpected gesture. It goes without saying the room was absolutely fabulous. Thanks again to you all I look forward To visiting again soon. Tom October 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Gem Superb restaurant, helpful staff, best views for any City, a real surprise. Could do with advertising themselves better for the weekend and reducing rates in the week. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Great hotel The staff at the indigo are a breath of fresh air. The building is amazing as are the views from the restraunt. October 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Loads of marks on the walls and doors, hand prints on the windows, snacks in the fridge was free but only 1 of everything not 2 (in a double room). Bed too soft as you move if your partner does. Marco Pierre White restaurant - felt very uncomfortable and unwelcome. Didn't stay long. Spa- hotel guests have to walk all the way through the spa nearly to the exit (in a bath robe) to check in and get a locker and towel. Unable to use the spa reception??? Spa had issues too - lighting out by the pool, jets in the pool not working, looks like decorating work going on but no one working on it. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Try it and see! Located in a lively part of Birmingham with plenty of attractions for the 'not yet senior' members of the populace. Disappointed at not being able to check in until past 2:00pm. Room furniture basic but a very comfortable mattress. Returned to the hotel bar at 11:00pm to find it full with very slow service - 15 minute wait, too many cocktails having to be made, hence not maximum mark for service. Breakfast excellent value with superb views of this magnificent city. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk Fantastic service from the front desk. Very informative and helpful October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely modern hotel Lovely hotel - enjoyed my stay here. The room was well equipped and comfortable. Bed very comfy. Very clean and bathroom spotless. My platinum status was recognised and I was upgraded to a balcony room - great views of city. A*. Staff were very helpful on reception and I enjoyed the breakfast on the top floor - again with great views. Breakfast was simple and fresh. The spa is a nice edition - small pool, sauna etc - relaxing. Steam room out of action - take your dressing gown down to pool if you want to use one during visit to spa. Phone in my room didn't work and couldn't be fixed unfortunately, but didn't spoil my stay. Had room service - Marco Pierre White restaurant - very tasty burger and fries. Would recommend, but unfortunately brought to my room without salt and vinegar or sauces and couldn't phone to get any - but very tasty none the less! One thing that could be improved is walking directions to the hotel. You can access it easiest by walking through the Mailbox and going up 2 escalators . The directions on their website are non-existent and Google maps sends you a very long way round and isn't accurate either. Overall would certainly recommend hotel October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT HOTEL Stayed here on a Saturday night in the summer and was 99% satisfied with the experience, the rooms were bright and tastefully done, what you would expect from the IHG Group. for me this hotel was perfect for my weekend. the only very small issue you might have if this was a stay for business was there is no separate lounge/bar area for guests for a quite pint etc. the only one is shared with Marco Pierre White restuarant and on a weekend this becomes very busy. Might be ok in the week or if very lively bars are your thing after a hard day at work!! dont let this deter you from this fine hotel October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Style and substance A great view and fabulous (Purple) room and most importantly a very comfortable bed! A lovely and friendly welcome was to be had after a difficult day and the offer of room service was thoughtful. The hotel is very central and has great amenities within and close by. The addition of a stocked fridge was great and as it was complimentary even better. There were enough plug points and adapters for all my equipment. Room service was good and the amounts great for me I suspect someone with a bigger appetite would require something more substantial! The shower was lovely and strong and powerful although water does escape so be careful with the floor - you can pipe music into the room and there is a fantastic backlit mirror. Parking is a little on the odd side where you need to park in a ‘pod’ next door and to do this you require some clear instructions (well given by the front desk staff) although I was not told of the £18 charge and did discover I could park in the surrounding streets for free if I left or paid by 0800 which was great! All together a great and relaxing place to stay well worth it! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 didn't want to leave stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend away and we fell in love immediately. The room was spacious and the decor was eye catching. Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful. The room had everything we could have needed and the complimentary mini bar was an extra special touch. The bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in and the walk-in rainfall shower was great! Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was delicious, described by my other half as "biting into heaven". Overall I loved this hotel and was very sad to have to leave. Would definitely come back here or use hotel indigo elsewhere. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Class Service and Lovely Hotel We stopped here for our wedding anniversary and managed to get a table at Marco Pierre Whites Restaurant on the top floor. I had paid to upgrade the room to a King Size with seating area but mentioned in my booking that it was our anniversary. On arrival the reception staff were very attentive and wished us happy anniversary then proceeded to tell us that the room they had given us was there favourite in the hotel. (We'll see eh?) They weren't kidding. Glass walls on two sides, beautiful view of the city, great layout, stylish furniture and amazing bathroom. They had left an anniversary card in the room for us with a beautifully decorated plate in chocolate with an assortment of berries and brownies. Very impressed with the detail. The pool and spa are excellent and the complimentary fridge in all their rooms, containing wine, beer and nibbles, is a great touch. There's nothing more annoying than being charged £4 for packet of nuts. The service and quality of food at Marco Pierre Whites Restaurant is superb also. I would tell you the number of the room we stayed in but then you will all want it and I wont be able to book it again. A big thank you to all the staff. We had a great experience and will definitely return. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stunning views and great food A perfect hotel when visiting jean Pierre white restaurant at the cube. Good facilities and location for the city centre September 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 exceptional hotel Myself and my husband booked hotel indigo for our 10 year wedding anniversary , upon arrival we were greeted by polite friendly helpful staff , we had a little trouble finding the hotel even asking some of birminghams residents they were unsure of where the hotel was . Obce we were made aware it was by the mailbox pwople knew exactly which way to direct us .the hotel itself is only 5 minures walk from the train station .once given our room details within 5 minutes of being in our room we were presented with a beautiful plate of fresh brownies and fruit with happy anniversary wrote in chocolate on :0) , our room was situated on 24 th floor with outstanding views of birmingham .we were extremelly happy the room was clean and vibrant .we enjoyed a lovely meal in the marco pierre white resturant situated on the 25 th floor of the hotel.unfortunately we didnt get to make use of any of the fascilities due to not feeeling 100% .but we shall certainly be revisiting hotel indigo and highly recommend it to anyobe and everyone looking for somewhere exceptional to stay .thank you to all the staff for msking our anniversary perfect ***** September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not up to usual standard I did not enjoy my stay here as much as usual. I have a standard request for a quiet room but i was put in the disabled room, which had a pillar in the middle of the room with limited view of the TV, but worst of all it was directly below the bar and the noise kept me awake. I could even hear it over the TV... room service is tricky to order as there is no one to answer the phone so i kept leaving messages on their answer phone - which did not work, and went through reception - who were very helpful. the food tasted great when it arrived, but the order was wrong and i could not get through to room service to change it!! breakfast very helpful to pack it up for me to take away with me. the spa facilities are great and the yoga classes excellent. but the pool seems a bit dirty - blobs of hair floating in it, and there is a damp smell. beds comfy, but due to the design, most of the rooms have air con rather than windows and fresh air September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very luxurious, amazing rooms but rooms were too hot After staying in the Hotel on the 24th floor our only criticism was the fact that we could not control the temperature of the room. The poor air conditioning meant that we were very uncomfortable in the room due to the heat. Apart from that, our stay was really good. Amazing views, great staff and lovely food. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely birthday treat! Indulged in a refreshing, relaxing spa package overnight stay for my birthday. Delightful spa treatments and use of facilities. Tended to by fantastic, friendly staff. Fabulous meal at Marco Peirre Whites based on top of the building. Slick, boutique styled suite which was very comfy. Breakfasted/feasted on a variable menu again in the restaurant. On the whole a perfect stay and experience September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Stay had a lovely weekend break here last weekend,rooms bright and refreshing, would recommended eating in Marco Pierre restaurant situated on 25th floor amazing food advise to book, used spa the following day very relaxing September 4, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Reception Entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions