• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic stay Fantastic stay, room was immaculate and exactly as described. Great atmosphere and excellent service, friendly staff! Very happy! May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location Used this hotel for a shopping and theatre break in Birmingham city centre. Hotel facilities are first class and the staff were very helpful and made our stay really good. The location is first class for the Bullring shopping, Mailbox and abroad after bars/restaurants. Our room was lovely and what we would expect of a Crown Plaza hotel. The public areas are spacious and well laid out. We will definitely use this hotel when in Birmingham again and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel in the city centre. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relax in comfort Just returned from the Crowne Plaza in Birmingham City centre on a short shopping break. An amazing hotel. The beds are very comfy rooms are relaxing.The staff remember who you are on each visit. Nothing is to much trouble for them. The breakfasts are all you can eat and piping hot. the restaurant food is delicious and highly recommended. A return visit very soon. Thanks and well done to everyone. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Experience Stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 double beds.Great for a family.Convenient for New Street Station and the City Centre. Live in Mid Wales and used hotel as a stay over for travelling to London and back on a Saturday. Polite staff and relaxed friendly atmosphere - slept really well both nights. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant weekend We booked two nights for ourselves, our daughter and her friend, to celebrate her 18th birthday. Prior to leaving home, we advised the hotel of our daughter's birthday. We arrived to find our daughter's room decked out with 18th birthday balloons, a birthday card and a bottle of wine. Service and comfort throughout our stay were excellent and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very good with efficient service. Our daughter loved the weekend. Mission accomplished!!! We had a great break and there is no doubt at all, we'll be back. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TRIP ADVISOR REVIEW LEFT - excellent I have left a review for this stay on Trip Advisor as so impressed with our recent stay ,including mention of 2 staff who made the stay very pleasant and problem free. See review Fiona013 for my stay this month. So good have just booked another weekend at the same hotel at the end of May! April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We have stayed here on many occasions and will still return in the future. Everything about this hotel is great we really can't fault it. Well done all April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOUNGE SERVICE Little disappointed with only Red/White/Rosie wine available and only limited nibbles. Lounge could not accommodate the amount of guest, which was a shame. However, the Lounge staff were excellent, very pleasant to talk to, well done Lounge staff April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 always good,staff excellent always stop in club rooms. the staff in the day and at night are excellent, breakfast is great, Sharon keeps a tight ship April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice Love the Crowne Plaza Hotels, I always seem to get a great nights sleep and this was no exception. Perfect position for the station, shops and the Nia. Great time span for breakfast which was super. unusually for me I used room service and had a great Burger at a fair price April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great city centre hotel This is my second stay with business in a year . It is well situated and rooms clan and very comfortable. Nice bathrooms , corridor is a bit dark and up inviting but got no complaints. The only thing was I had my daughter and grandaughter with me and there were only 2 bath towels so we had to call for another one each day , breakfast good but didn't have time to explore facilities available , April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Efficiency, comfort and convenience! My 2nd stay in as many weeks. As a 4 or 5 night a week hotel resident I look for all three of the above and have found it on both stays. The team at reception have been great and the ladies working the the Club lounge absolutely hit the mark. I look forward to my next stay. It was also good value taking everything into account. It could well now be my favourite spot in Birmingham. April 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel. Great Location. Club Lounge still a big dissapointment. Stayed April 4th. I have Stayed here many time.. Hotel is in a great location in the city centre. Close to all New Street station, shops, theatres, restaurants, Broad Street & the canal district. IHG Rewards status is always recognised. We were upgraded to a Club room with Club Lounge access. Many thanks. A complementary Continental breakfast is offered in the Club Lounge. My only problem with this CP are the offering in the Club Lounge. Only coffee, tea and soft drinks are available during the day - not even a bowl of crisps or nuts!. No beer or wine as the drinks cabinets are locked during the day! The lounge is never staffed for check in/out. We stay in many CP's around Europe where you seem to get so much more for your £. This CP can be a real let down. April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay Staff very welcoming over the phone and at the reception desk. Room was very tidy and inviting. It was my husbands birthday and the hotel staff very kindly made provisions for my husband to enjoy making the stay extra special. Would defiantly stay again in the club room as the services attached to this were excellent. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Reception FANTASTIC!!! We had our wedding reception here and are so glad that we did. The staff were wonderful , the food was excellent and the organisation was second to none. We didn't have to worry about a thing - it all went like clockwork. Our room on the 10th floor was out of this world, with great views across the Birmingham skyline. The suite was extremely comfortable and provided a restful, luxurious end to our special day. We had a truly memorable time! April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable roome and friendly staff I have stayed here many times and have never got around to writing a review. I fined the hotel comfortable and convenient for my work and leisure stays in Birmingham. The staff are friendly and helpful and the Club Lounge is a great place to work and relax. There is nothing like a free drink at the end of the day to relax and unwind. Beware that the double yellow lines outside are NOT done by the hotel, but the parking people from the car park below. NEVER park there even to pop in to check if your room is ready as they will pounce and give you a ticket. BEWARE ! Not the hotels fault but please don't get caught as I did. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, great location I booked this room for a wedding anniversary trip. The service was great -- the extra touches the staff included for our weekend were very thoughtful. Our room didn't have a remote control for the TV, but when we alerted the desk staff, we had a replacement within 20 minutes. The room was lovely, and the location was great -- very central. An easy walk to the city centre and the train station. I would highly recommend this hotel. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great position, very good room Second stay at this hotel and room and bed very good. Asked for room on first or second floor on booking but on arrival was told it was on the sixth floor. Reception staff put this right straight away. Excellent staff at every level. Food ok but drinks expensive. Internet charge for 24 hours which is shame these days as I know a number of colleagues will not book a hotel without free wi-fi. Why not just put it on the room charge? Car parking good and underneath hotel although a tad expensive Would recommend and stay again March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent relaxation before important meeting I had an important meeting the following day near to the Crowne Plaza. It was an easy walk from New Street Station, I was welcomed as a return Platinum Elite member, upgraded to a Club Room and from there on was in a relaxed atmosphere to allow me to prepare effectively for the following morning. All aspects of my stay were very good indeed (one of the reasons why it was not my first stay in the hotel and it will not be the last) March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff makes a difference Hotels like this have to be clean, comfortable, well equipped, and offer a good nights sleep. Crowne Plaza did all of this. Take it as read. What makes a difference is the staff. I appreciated them making sure I was comfortable during my stay. Small things, like being able to ask someone to come with me to the room and open the doors, makes a big difference to this disabled traveller! And housekeeping staff found the gloves I left in my room. Great teamwork, everyone. An improvement you could think about in accessible rooms would be to offer rooms with a shower seat for those who can't stand for long periods. March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service I love the Crowne Plaza Birmingham. I stay at this hotel frequently and have only ever had a great stay. I have stayed with family and a lot of my own for business. The rooms are modern and the beds are very comfortable, appreciated after a long drive. The food is always great and service is fabulous. Everyone is so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I want to say a special thank you to Remi in the Lounge for her attentive and fabulous service! I’ve stayed in a lot of Crown Plaza’s up and down the country and the Lounge in Birmingham is by far the best! I look forward to my stay again on Monday. March 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Such a shame This is the third time I have stayed here in a club room, the first stay wasn't the best, the second fair, but this time very very disappointed to say the least. The customer service was terrible, after making a complaint to the manager he never got back to me, I spoke to someone in the morning but in my opinion they wasn't interested in how I felt or in giving me the service they should for a four star hotel and the money I paid. As a platinum member I have stayed in many hotels, unfortunately this is by far the worse because of the customer service which is a shame as it's got the making of a really nice hotel March 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel regular visitor Just stayed at this hotel for the third time. Staff are proffesional but could be a little more customer friendly at times,but overall great place to stay and two minutes from broad street,brindley place and the mailbox. Breakfast is very good with most items you would expect available. Only downside was we stayed in a club room and it was a little tired with damp stains on ceiling and wall,as previously the rooms were top class when we have stayed before. Also stairs from car park to hotel are a bit grim and this may put you off if you are a lone female,it really needs sprucing up and bringing up to the hotel standard. Overall though a very good hotel and we will be back. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and location We would defiantley stay at this crown plaza again and would consider other city locations too in future with this chain.Ideal location for city and bars . March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for weekend break My brother and I were down in Birmingham for the Aston Villa v Chelsea match on Saturday 15th March 2014.Thanks very much to staff at Crowne Plaza for helping to make our week-end stay in Birmingham one to remember. Hotel was great. A nice touch providing a bottle of 'red' for my brother's birthday - thank you. Had a nice meal in the hotel and a good time at the bar. Thanks very much. Would highly recommend. Brian and David March 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Suite Had a suite for 2 days. Must say was disappointed with the room. Very basic and in need of a facelift. Not up to the crown plaza standard. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant! I don't normally write reviews but my stay at the crowne plaza was superb. Me and my partner sat down for dinner in the hotel restaurant and were utterly amazed by the fine quality of food. Some might say it was pricey compared to other restaurants that Birmingham has to offer but we would of payed double for the meal we enjoyed. Fantastic stay, hopefully be back soon! March 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but expensive bar. A pleasant experience which will be repeated. Nice room and comfortable night. Turned off noisy AC unit and opened window which was fine. Unable to find a free sofa seat or armchair in the busy lounge/bar on return from the theatre so settled for rather uncomfortable bar stools. Drinks were VERY expensive so probably will grab a drink on the way back to the hotel next time. Breakfast was good and the staff generally were very attentive throughout our visit. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Excellent value, service & atmosphere within easy walking distance of Broad Street & Mail Box plus has onsite parking which not many hotels do in Birmingham. Only downside is it's not a very pretty hotel from the outside but once through the doors it's fine. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent city centre Hotel To compliment a great night out in Birmingham you need a good hotel,the Crown Plaza has a good location, clean comfortable rooms excellent food and a great ambience.Most of all an excellent price! March 16, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Book the Holiday Inn Express Baytown to stay at one of our new Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading