• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
(e.g. Nov-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 355 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bed - Excellent Food We stayed in a Club Room on the top floor. All of the staff there seem to be trained to a high standard and seem genuinely nice people to deal with. Reception staff were incredibly efficient - particularly in dealing with a small issue we had during the stay involving the drinks in the Club Lounge - that was resolved and no other guests will experience the same problem. Our original intent was not to use the hotel restaurant in the evening but we changed our plans somewhat - and were extremely pleased we did. My wife and I had probably the best rib-eye steak we've ever had (we've had a lot of them) and the wine was incredible value considering the standard of the hotel. The same standard of excellence applies to the breakfast. All in all I'd say it is well worth the money and the proximity of the hotel to the attractions Brum has to offer is second to none. A real positive "facility" for visitors to the second city. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good place to stay The bed was really comfortable and gave a good nights sleep July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by as you would expect Meets the usual business demands, plus a bit more. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location for a stay in city enjoyed every moment at the hotel and look forward to do it again July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and great service This is a great hotel. Right in the centre of town, very comfortable beds and at a very reasonable rate. We will be back on our next visit to Birningham June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Business Hotel A good hotel with extremely friendly staff. Will stay again no doubt. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff was welcoming and accommodating to our needs. Only issue was uncomfortable pillows (too high). Staff eventually brought a different one which was better. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel Great hotel for stop overs in birmingham,very friendly staff and helpful too. we did not eat in the restaurant so i cannot comment on the food but breakfast was great. We had a club room which have plenty of room and a nice bathroom in them with the most comfy bed i have ever slept on and your choice of pillows too.Club lounge is great for a drink and to chat and relax with friends .very clean and i will definatly be using again when im staying in the area June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Generally all around very good service Excellent experience; very helpful and congenial/informative staff. Excellent breakfast/choices June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant oasis in busy Birmingham Welcoming efficient staff on arrival despite arriving a little early. Also very helpful in storing our luggage as we we did not wish to be lugging our luggage around until going home in the evening of the day of our departure. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 lacking in attention to detail little things matter - like having a working kettle on arrival and if it doesnt work being able to get it replaced immediately - took 3 hours and 2 phone calls and a visit to reception to get it replaced. Small details matter like being asked if you'd like tea or coffee with your breakfast instead of having to go and find a waitress who might take your order. Hotel is very dark, almost gloomy in places. There was a lot of noise from other rooms during the night - we were staying opposite a couple of room of small girls having a sleepover! The sleep spray is bigged up by the hotel but getting the spray is hard work - we had to ask 3 different members of staff to get just one box with the kit in it! Not overly impressed - wouldnt choose to stay here again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb. Comfortable beds and customer satisfaction every time. Stayed recently at this hotel and they never fail to please or make you feel comfortable.Staff are excellent and the Customer is more than looked after. The rooms are spacious although I do prefer the standard rooms to the club rooms, with theseYou do usually get nibbles and drinks around 5.30 -7pm but as I don't drink this treat I miss.. Breakfast is all you can eat be it fruit and croissants or hot full English or both.i would recommend this hotel to anyone whether single,couples family or parties. Nothing is to much trouble.everyone is friendly and efficient at there job.well done. We will be back. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Ambiance and fantastic service by all bar and resturant staff. Both Renarta (Resturant Manager) and Marta (bar staff) have always welcomed me and shown profesionalism in customer service. It's a pleasure staying here! June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Did not recognise Membership Status Booked and paid for as a Platinum Member but not recognised as such upon check in. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable guest rooms poor check-out service This is a hotel I have used for business on a number of occasions. Unfortunately my checkout experience in June this year let it down. Whilst supposedly dealing with my check-out the receptionist felt that the needs of two other guests, who arrived after me, were more important. The receptionist tended to their needs and then returned to me with no apology, nothing. Spoilt the end of what had been a very pleasant stay. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable stay The hotel was clean and comfortable, Staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially front desk upon arrival who were very welcoming and friendly. My room was spacious and comfortable and the shower had great power, Breakfast had a huge array of foods in the buffet available, The only thing lacking was some porridge which would have topped it all for me. Otherwise I had an excellent stay in ambient and relaxed surroundings. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely weekend Stayed here for the weekend to help celebrate my 50th birthday, was very pleasently surprised upon arriving in the room a card,nuts and a bottle of wine, lovely touch. Stayed in a Club Room which we loved and the club lounge, a special mention here to Remi the waitress in the lounge she is an absolute star! one thing we found here the rooms are very quiet which is very nice in a new hotel. We ate in the resturant on the Saturday night and again a lovely touch was two unexpected complimnetry glasses of bubbly and and lovely plate of little desserts with happy birthday written on, a very nice touch for more of a corperate hotel, keep it up!! Would have given 5 stars but just missed out, as after checking out and leaving our cases with the concierge about 20mins later we realised we had left some choclates in the room so my husband rang back to the hotel to ask if they could be found and put with our luggage, on our return two hours later the chocolates had not appeared!!!! and being as we needed to catch our train could'nt wait, but really two hours is enough time to find them and especially when we realised what we had done within 20mins of leaving!!! This incident did leave us dissapointed at the end of a lovely weekend. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value With Large Room, Great Breakfast Stayed in middle of Birmingham for concert as NEC, short walk to station, large room, very clean, air con working, nice shower etc, only thing not good was picture quality on the tv, but was only watching because world cup was on!! Booked online at a good price for 2 adults with breakfast included Car parking is not cheap at £13 for 24 hours but at least you can park!! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As good as always Upgraded to club lounge, excellent room very comfy bed, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the lounge. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent value if booked well in advance. CP will always be my first choice in Birmingham. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Stay stayed for two nights. the hotel has very easy access to the shopping centre and also the china town where we had dinner. great location. the staff were friendly. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and room My only wish as I stay here several times a month is that the menu changed more frequently , there needs to be a daily menu and specials not from the main menu. Granted there is a weekly menu but when you stay 2 or 3 nights that is also limited. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Middle of night hotel delivery results in rubbish sleep Having requested a quiet room as I was having to work late and important day next day, I did not appreciate the lorry delivery in the middle of the night, with metal cages on wheels being banged around with no regard for the amount of noise they created. Impossible to sleep during this time, which went on for 30 minutes. Regarding WiFi, chargeable item - really! A hotel of this level charging to connect to the Wifi. Even coffee shops supply this free of charge these days! And mind your drinks at the bar - flat as a pancake! June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Hotel was Excellent , Stayed for two nights on business.. Room was an excellent aswel as all service provided. But might be a good idea fort the hotel to upgrade its TV Channels as half the Freeview does'nt work. Also requres walll plug sockest near to bed as most of them are hidden or in awaklard position Apsrtth from that this is an Excellant hotel to stay in May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break Good location in the centre of Birmingham. You can walk from New Street train station if you don't have too much luggage (only 5 minutes). Price list for wine is expensive, £8 for 250ml glass of a rather average quality wine. Restaurant prices not too bad but the dishes can be average or very good. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A night in Birmingham I just stayed the one night as planned. The hotel staff were welcoming when I arrived. The room was comfortable. Good selection at Breakfast. What more is there? Good central location. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant physical atmosphere We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of this hotel. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff were really nice. The room was comfortable and we all had a good night's sleep. Unfortunately we found the staff at the front desk to be not very accommodating and rather unfriendly (except for Joseph). This upset our stay a little bit. as you want to feel welcome! May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in a great location From the moment you walk into this hotel you are met with class. Lovely comfortable rooms, although my room didn't have the best view. Superior bathroom, with lots of fluffy towels. A lack of information from the check in desk, meant I had to ask where the lift was and which floor my room was on. I would definitely stay here again. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel but bar is nuts !! Excellent hotel , well located to centre of town, the Mailbox etc . Very friendly and professional staff . Lovely room , good facilities and very clean . Breakfast excellent. However , 2 issues.... Charging sterling 2:50 for a dish of peanuts with my drink in the bar is terrible. A quality bar would normally supply nuts for free. Worst of all I was not advised they would cost. Second issue , I got wifi for free as a reward club member , but charging normal guests for this service nowadays is disappointing . However overall experience was excellent . May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic stay Fantastic stay, room was immaculate and exactly as described. Great atmosphere and excellent service, friendly staff! Very happy! May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location Used this hotel for a shopping and theatre break in Birmingham city centre. Hotel facilities are first class and the staff were very helpful and made our stay really good. The location is first class for the Bullring shopping, Mailbox and abroad after bars/restaurants. Our room was lovely and what we would expect of a Crown Plaza hotel. The public areas are spacious and well laid out. We will definitely use this hotel when in Birmingham again and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel in the city centre. May 7, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading