• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DETROIT
  • Distance From Hotel: 14.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only service pets allowed. 250 US dollars non refundable pet fee.

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Lit parking lot, with both front and rear entrance. Limited covered parking available to first come first served.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:64
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:14
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:64
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Birmingham Hotel's Boutique Feel Delights Guests

Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights.

Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and
View More

Birmingham Hotel's Boutique Feel Delights Guests

Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights.

Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel.

If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre.

During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now.

View Less
Features
While in Birmingham, Michigan, the hotel's guests are delighted by a welcoming bed-and-breakfast-style atmosphere and the friendly staff's attention to details that set this hotel apart from the rest.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Favorite! The Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills is my favorite Crowne Plaza! I stay there whenever I'm in the area, which is often! The accommodations are great, the staff is phenomenal and they take great care of their priority club patrons :) My highest recommendation to the Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant surprise I have suggested to hotel managers for many years that they offer beer from local breweries. Most ignore me. You can imagine my reaction after viewing the lineup of Michigan craft beer on tap at this hotel last week. Unreal--8 Michigan beers, plus guest taps from Louisiana and Ireland. I was familiar with several of the Michigan choices. but had the pleasure of trying others that are not distributed where I live. For those unfamiliar with Michigan craft beer, let me assure you that they are of high quality. My plans will bring me back to this hotel in the coming weeks and I look forward to getting to know even more Michigan beer. A plus is that the hotel rotates in different beers when current choices run out. I would not consider staying at any other hotel in the area based on this commitment to real beer. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel We enjoyed our stay for my daughter's wedding and all our guests had positive comments about the hotel service and the restaurant! The after party went very smoothly in O'Malleys and their pizza is fantastic. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good except for a few things.... Staff was marginally friendly. Bathroom sink had a broken handle. Otherwise, everything else was good. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FAVORITE I work in the area quite often and every time I get a chance I stay at the Crown. The staff is always the best. In fact one time I needed to get to the hospital and could not drive. Not only did the staff drive me to the hospital, but they waited until I was finished and gave me a ride back. Then they helped me with my luggage. Always have had a good experience there. November 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disapppointing I usually look forward to stays at Crowne Plaza's. It is the brand for me. However, this one really falls short of brand recognition. WiFi was extremely slow, no conceirge lounge, no recognition for Platinum Members, etc. I was disappointed and I only write positive reviews, until now. October 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Several TV stations not working in the entire hotel -- including ABC and ESPN on a college football weekend. Maintenance did not return my call for replacement of broken TV remote. Wake up call was not received. 30-minute late checkout request was denied. Double beds were small - not for two adults. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service was great! The service from the desk clerk that checked us in to the team that over saw after hours activities were all very friendly and super accommodating. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 All Good We did not have our son's wedding there, but we did use it for all of the bridal party members and some family. For two nights it was our meeting place. Great pool, food, room, etc. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast buffet was very tasty. Pizza late at night was very good. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good visit, good staff, some upgrades I stay here quite often throughout the year. Always been pretty good hotel and still is. They've added some new small things like a refresh station in lobby, map for running/jogging close by, and a "do everything plug in" within the room. Asked for a extra sleep pack and staff accomidated me quickly. I would recommend staying here. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and fun stay I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a wedding I was in. When making the reservation the front desk staff I believe her name was Dameka was very helpful in telling me about the hotel. When checking in I was greeted with a smile and checked in by a very nice young man Mashawn. Anytime I called down the staff accommodated me very time efficiently. I didn't get to check out Omalley's or the 24hr pool but I will definitely try it next time I come to visit! October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great loction and good quality Enjoyed our stay - good location - nice to have a restaurant in hotel. Would like to see some kind on shuttle/bus service to the Palace for guests staying at the hotel. Would be happy to pay for service. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This is our second time here, and it was great. Excellent service and clean accommodations. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very accommodating and friendly staff We Reserved a block of rooms for our daughter's wedding and Crowne Plaza couldn't have been more accommodating to our out-of-town guests. They provided a special room for the bridal party to have their hair and makeup done and a shuttle to and from the church. Since all 100 guests (including the bride and groom) were coming from out-of-town, we can safely say Crowne Plaza played a big role in the success of the wedding. Thank you Auburn Hills Crowne Plaza! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 服务还不错 安静,卫生,景观好,安静,卫生,景观好,安静,卫生,景观好,安静,卫生,景观好,服务还不错, 服务还不错。 September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Traveled from Toledo for a concert in Pontiac and stayed at this hotel. The room and service was great. Everything was very clean and in order and we had no problems with noise or anything. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and stay there again if I am in the area! September 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Room Size I booked a room for two adults and 3 children. The room was so small we felt like we were put in a shoe box. Bathroom was nice and good size.But it didn't meet our needs at all. The pictures of the plaza look nothing like the real thing. We will never stay here again. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very positive experience I visited the area to participate in the Woodward Avenue Dream Cruise. I found that the hotel met all of my needs, and had plenty of room to park my truck, trailer and show car. I shall return! August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Less than stellar We were part of a wedding party that utilized one of the meeting rooms for its reception. It was an admittedly busy weekend, but part of our group was denied the opportunity for early check-in; yet when they tried to check in at the regular time, they were told their rooms were not ready because of late check-out of prior customers. Front desk personnel were rude. Later, my teenage son went to O'Malley's, the hotel restaurant, to order some food to take up to the room. He was summarily ignored for 15-20 minutes and was never served. It was only after I contacted the front desk and subsequently spoke with the restaurant manager that he was able to get someone to take his order. Although this was a personal trip, I travel a lot for business, and this was an unhappy hotel experience. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Average only No room service available as part of the hotel. The only service available is from the third party restaurant/Bar in the lobby. After 11:00 pm they only serve Pizza and you will be stuck with no actual room service in the hotel. We ordered a cup of milk for our little one, and they charged us $3.5 for the cup of milk and $1.5 for delivery !!! No safe box in the room. No fridge in the room. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A special experience. Was treated to a special 60th birthday surprise. A very pleasant surprise ! The staff was very accommodating and informative. The room had an impressive wow factor. The cleanliness was exceptional. We had a very good buffet breakfast the following morning in the restaurant. The wait staff was courteous and attentive. Our stay was enjoyable and comfortable. A great way to surprise your special someone. Thanks Crowne Plaza Staff !!! August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tony The hotel, room and on board restaurant are great. Nothing particularly special - just nice average. The desk clerks are great at getting you what you might need. The work out area needs some maintenance as does the so it yourself washing machines. That's where Tony comes in. The washer worked fine - but the drier didn't so I had two wet loads of clothing and I had plans for the evening that didn't include a laundry mat. After figuring this out I went to the desk clerk and asked if I could borrow the commercial drier they use for towels and sheets. That was a no. She called this guy named Tony (whom I haven't been able to find). And not only did he dryly clothes - but folded them and placed them on my bed. Cheers to Tony! I don't know who you are - but I really need that help and I can promise you - karma will find you. Thanks so much! August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service & housekeeping staff!! The room was comfortable and clean, which is very important for our family. We brought the pack n play for our daughter but forgot the sheets and a blanket. I called the front desk, and housekeeping was there in a very timely manner to bring what we needed. The 2 guys on front desk, I know one is an Assistant Manager, were wonderful!! I asked for their names and then accidentally lost the card. My family and I must have always been heading out of the hotel when they started working because they were working all the time! It's nice to see familiar faces. We love this location, not too far from the Great Lake Crossings Outlet mall. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a nice place with a good location We stayed here in July 2013 because my daughter and friend were attending a concert at The Palace. It would be PERFECT if they had some sort of shuttle for concert-goers. It took me 45 min to drop the girls off, and more than 45 to go pick them up, even though the drive was about six miles round trip! The room was fine and the bathroom was quite big, which was nice. Even with the curtain clip to hold the curtains closed, we were awakened by the crack of dawn because there was a space by the air conditioning that couldn't be covered. The desk employees varied in friendliness, but none were rude. We used the pool (bathwater!# which had a really neat lift #hot tub too) for people needing assistance getting from a wheelchair into the pool. The fitness room had decent cardio equipment, but the weight machines were in need of a bit of maintenance. They seemed a bit sticky. The food at O'Malley's was good, but the service was terrible. The waitress forgot two things, didn't come back to ask if we needed anything, and I had to take the bill to the bar to pay, where I had to cool my heels for several minutes until she came out of the back. In spite of that, I'd stay there again. It was fairly quiet, clean, and the location was very handy. July 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room & excellent service but rude wedding guests Service was excellent!! MASHAWN at the front desk was excellent!! Very focused on ensuring that our stay was the best possible! He was extremely friendly and professional. A great representative of the Auburn Hills Crowne Plaza. I reserved 3 rooms for my family as we were in town from the other side of the state for a family reunion. Mashawn worked very hard to get us adjoining rooms which really made our stay so much more special! The only down side was the floor was filled with wedding guests who became more and more intoxicated as the evening went on. Then the loud arguing and profanity began and lasted until early the next morning. Luckily the room with the baby in it was a bit further down the hall from our adjoining rooms and he slept great (best he's ever slept in a hotel in fact!!). Maybe wedding parties should all be on one floor with no other guests? July 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good stay First, I had no major issues during my stay. Staff was friendly and courteous. Was leaving one afternoon and was stopped by a front desk worker pointing to a batch of freshly baked cookies...very glad he did. The O'Malley's restaurant was ok for breakfast, nothing special. For evenings, the bar had a great selection of local Michigan craft beers which I was pleased to sample. Getting to the actual room, was good size and had no real problems. Would like to point out that having a wet bar and refrigerator are nice but no microwave to heat items was a let down. Was upgraded to a Jacuzzi room, but this was not an impressive upgrade. Jacuzzi was outdated and had knobs that fell off. Toilet also had an issue with the float resetting after each flush. My biggest annoyance at hotels, especially in the summer, is AC issues. I had no problems on this front and was very happy that the air blew cold the entire stay. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is always A #1 Better check the fan in the bathroon roon 502. It was closed when we arrived with lots of dust and dirt. plugging it. Managed to get it open by hand but there was very little sucktion to take out the steam from the shower. July 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Five Weddings at venue on same day creates lots of noise We arrived after 11pm and were ready for a good night's sleep. We heard a gurgle in the bathroom and upon investigating, saw nothing wrong. Went to sleep around midnight. The sink gurgled again with black gunk coming up which we reported and were offered to be moved to another room. We declined as we were both trying to sleep. At 12:30 the first wave of party goers came up the elevator, which dings, every time the door opens. The people were noisy, yelling for 'Eric' etc. They kept the door open across the hall from us which added to the noise level. I informed the front desk and they said they would send security. I do not know if they did. The second wave of party goers arrived on the floor after 1am. The Third wave arrived after 2 am. I was amazed at how rude and obnoxious people were. In the morning I suggested to the front desk that they hang a sign in the elevator to 'remind' people that some guests have already retired for the evening and to be quiet. He said that it wouldn't help. It is like this every weekend. So be warned if you stay here on the weekend. The staff we encountered were very nice,especially our waitress in the restaurant. As far as the room was concerned, we thought the room was decorated well but the mattresses were very soft and we just sunk in the middle. I would not stay here again when there are other places in the area that are as nice. We also received no recognition as priority club members e.g. no bottled water, etc. The maintenance people did come to fix the sink at 11am as we were walking out of the room. There was no maintenance staff on duty during the night. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Staff I've now stayed at this property multiple times. A lot of the staff is different than the last time I was at the hotel. I originally had a reservation for the begining of June for a high school reunion. I decided not to stay due to how absolutely rude the night auditor was to me the night before (I believe her name was Pam?#. I did make another reservation more recently and stayed. I was greeted very warmly at check-in and after enjoying a great swim and relaxing time in the hot tub I was just as warmly greeted by Darlene #a different nigh auditor# who was very friendly. The Executive Housekeeper Ray was an absolute pleasure as she always is when I stay as well as Duke the maintenance man. The evening staff in O'Malleys was not overly friendly #with the exception of Roxy who is ALWAYS friendly# when I first came in, but the morning staff was very pleasant and friendly. The over all stay was very good. One thing I would defintely recommend is either get your other auditor #Pam?) some people skills or get another full time auditor she will ruin any stay that could have potentially been great. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel review Had laundry, however, just one and wish to have more machine. Also elevator move strange, need to fix it. More than these, this hotel are great and wish to have more to stay in the future! June 20, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.