Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and good breakfast The breakfast staff kept everything replenished and fresh December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but the floors smell like smoke The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable, but the floors had an overpowering smell of smoke that was extremely off-putting. I would likely consider another hotel in the future. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, comfortable, and clean. this is the second time I have stayed in this property. The time before was a little over a year ago, and we actually had moved to this hotel from another holiday inn that was having internet connectivity problems. This hotel was so memorable that we came back for another stay for business. The rooms were clean, the food was hot, and the internet was connected. Not much more you can ask for- thanks for the great day. December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I found the staff to be excellent and accomodating to their patrons. They were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. My room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional and well presented to the public. The hotel is located on a steep hill and I was concerned about the oncoming inclimate weather and was unable to ascertain from staff as to whether or not the driveway would be sanded or salted in the case of icing. I would suggest staff be alerted to the protocol for inclimate weather so guest's would not be concerned about possible driving issues. Otherwise my stay was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in the Birmingham area. December 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just average Hotel is showing its age in some respects. Biggest complaint: Internet is marginal at best. Kept loosing connection & staff had to reset the router, which probably kicked everyone else off each time. Turns out two routers serve the entire hotel & both are on ground floor. No wonder signal on 3rd floor at far end is iffy at best. FYI: If looking for a location that you feel comfortable going out at night, find another location. Would not recommend the area for evening or early morning runners. Generally OK during day, but not the best area of outskirts of Birmingham, and this was confirmed by a few locals. Overall average location. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good for the price the in room coffee was better than the coffee at the breakfast buffet . however I only gotone cup of that. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by stunk. 1/2 of the floor I stayed on is smoking. As a result the whole floor stunk like an overflowing ash tray, and it hit you as soon as the elevator door opened. As a result the room smelled smokey even though I don't believe anyone had smoked in it (recently anyway). On the other hand the entire staff was very nice. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience. My older sister and I stopped in Irondale for two evenings and when I checked in I showed my card for the AAA discount. I asked about EWTN, which we were going to in the morning, the front desk lady, had a special discount for the room since we were going there. I was pleased. Also the lady who takes care of the breakfast was also very caring and had excellent service. I will stay in Irondale again and I will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you so much. November 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Let me start by saying I am a platinum elite member with over 240,000 point. This means I stay at HIE hotels quite often. That being said, this was the worst experience I've ever had at an HIE. I was scheduled to stay there from 10/13-10/30. I checked out on 10/24 because I couldn't take staying there any longer. 1-I was given a handicap smoking room at check in. I asked if I could be changed to another room and was told I couldn't and they also made me feel like I would be stuck in that room for the entire stay (which I was). Besides the room being uncomfortable it had no refrigerator which is something I am used to having as standard with HIE hotels especially since I would be there more than 15 days. I asked daily about a new room and refrigerator but was pretty much told its not going to happen every time. I figured I would just have to make the best of it. 2- I was sent 3 packages to that hotel which I did make the front desk aware of and provided them with mt cell number and asked if the would notify me when a package arrived. Each package came on different days and not once was I called and told it had arrived. I had to ask the staff when I got in from working and there first response was no nothing came for me. I was able to prove them wrong only because I had the tracking and it showed which staff member had signed for it. Of course I got an "I'm sorry". The last package I received I was told the night before I finally gave up and checked out that it was not delivered even though I showed them a tracking email that said it was delivered. I was told to call the company that shipped it and talk to the hotel mgr in the morning. The next morning I talked with someone at the front desk and my package was some how mysteriously there waiting for me. They said it was delivered the night before...9:30pm?! That's when I first inquired about it and I don't think USPS delivers that late at nite. Well that was all it took for me...I packed my belongings and checked out. I'm sure I will be staying in Birmingham again probably pretty soon but will stay far away from this particular HIE. I will say this, i enjoy staying at HIE and your chain of hotels and am not discouraged from continuing to use them...it's like my home away from home since I use them so often but I will stay far away from the reviewed hotel in the future. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel on race weekend. My family and I had two rooms for the 10/20/13 Talladega race weekend. The staff was pleasant, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the comp breakfast was very good. Overall very satisfied, I just wish they didn't hike up the rates for race weekend. October 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by UNACCEPTABLE BED wE HAVE STAYED AT THIS hOLIDAY iNN eXPRESS FOR SEVERAL YEARS IN A ROW. iT HAS ALWAYS BEEN ONE OF OUR FAVORITE DESTINATION HOTELS BECAUSE OF ITS GREAT ACOMODATIONS. tHIS TIME HOWEVER, PROVED TO BE A MUCH DIFFERENT SENERIO. ALTHOUGH THE STAFF WAS IT'S USUAL PROFESSIONAL GORUOP OF FINE PEOPLE, THAT IS THE END OF THE COMPLIMENTS. wE HAD A SUITE ON THE 2ND FLOOR WITH 2 SERIOUSLY INFERIOR MATTRESSES ON THE BEDS, THIS CAUSED SERIOUS BACK PAIN THAT BEGAN ABOUT 3 AM.. SLEEP WAS UNATTAINABLE FROM THAT POINT ON. cONSIDERING THE RATE WE PAID THE VALUE WAS WELL UNDER PAR. tHE ELEVATORS FORCED US TO TAKE THE STAIRWELL ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. ON THE SATURDAY MORNING BREAKFAST THE HEAT WAS POURING OUT OF THE AC VENTS CREATING A MOST UNCOMFORTABLE DINING ATMOSPHERE. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff and quiet room. The staff gave helpful tips and the shuttle van driver was courteous and friendly. I liked the shuttle van which brought me to dinner my first night. This is the first motel I stayed at which offered a pillow menu, firm or soft. I was also able to use the free wi-fi. I do not have a TV, but I noticed that some common cable channels were missing from the channel offerings. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable stay We went to the Alabama game and stayed here on our way back great place to stay in Birmingham!!! September 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bridgett We have always stayed with Holiday Inn Express and we have always been satisfied. We had made reservation's 2 weeks prior to our arrival. We were going to see our grandson who is four and we had reserved a King Suite so that we would have room to play with him, only to get there and they had given our room away. I even called to tell them at 3:00 that we would be there at 7:00, everything was fine until we got there. We had to change rooms three times!!!!!! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone the staff doesn't have a clue how to accommodate anyone when things go wrong. Also they kept saying our rewards cards didn't work which I don't understand we have had it for years and used it many times and they said it only showed two times which is totally wrong!! Plus the ice machine was broke for over a week. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient Having stayed in this facility for one night last October, we were familiar with the site. So, when we needed to stay in the Birmingham area, we had no reluctance to stay again. Despite the current road construction we were able to navigate easily. The area restaurant information sheet provided by the front desk was very extensive and LaToya's (front desk clerk) recommendation (Logan's) was great. The room was clean and the breakfast was acceptable. Overall a good value. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to Stay! I have stayed here on several occaisns and it it always an enjoyabe experience, the staff there always makes me feel at home, the rooms are always clean with no problems. it is my place to stay whenever I am in Birmingham August 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by low end of fair Hotel looked new outside but was old inside. Bed was not comfortable,room had a smell didn't feel clean,& you have to use room key to turn on bath room lights that are on a timer that will go off after you fall asleep which made it hard to find where to turn them on at night. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in Birmingham Awesome staff and very nice room. Quiet, clean and comfortable a very positive experience. Only non 5 star were the breakfast choices which were below my normal HI express experiences. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property Convenient location and comfortable beds. Outdoor pool was smaller than usual but still worked out well for the kids. July 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Very weak internet connection. Would stay at another hotel next time i am working in the area. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff/Great Location near EWTN Veronica and Shellie at the breakfast bar made my day every morning. When traveling it is a welcome treat to have such friendly staff to greet you in the morning. My tub was slow to drain, I mentioned the problem to the front desk, and it was immediately corrected by my return that day. The rooms were clean and fresh. The service was so good that I asked to speak to the manager to praise them. No, they did not recognize me as a Priority Club member or give me a bottle of water and it did not matter. Why HIE always asks me that I do not know. I do not think it is necessary, especially when there is a line of people all checking in at once. The women behind the desk did a GREAT job handling it. June 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Difficulties The elevator was broken, and it required 4 flights of stairs. I am 59 years old, and this was difficult. Out of tea bags to make hot tea @ breakfast. Truck had not arrived. Waiting on tea bags. Really? Internet down which delayed my work in the room. Pool is so so. No umbrellas. No cushions. No plants. Really needs overhaul. Hotel is looking run down and not up to standards of HIE. Needs updating in every area. I am a smoker. I chose a smoking room. No air-freshened used to improve the smell each day. I found a housekeeper to spray the room. This should be standard. Please consider these suggestions. June 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room for a decent price Pricing was competitive to other area hotels. I asked for a smoking room which was available. When i arrived my room smelled stale(windows do not open). I immediately requested a non smoking room and was accommodated without hesitation or question. Real nice front desk lady, clean rooms and it's right by the interstate. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay! First time we have used this property. Almost always try to use a Holiday Inn Express. Just found out about this property from a friend. It is fairly new, wonderfully located - although was hard to get to because of the Interstate work and the detours required. But, once found it is convenient, quiet, close to many restaurants and other amenities. Had a great stay. Rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. Staff was super. Will definitely book again when in Birmingham and will definitely refer this property to others. May 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful, Friendly Staff Housecleaning is excellent, rooms are clean & comfortable, breakfast is consistently varied & fresh, but the primary superlative is the Staff. They are friendly, helpful & efficient: especially Veronica - Breakfast Bar and Natalie, Nicole & Loraine - Front Desk. May 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and easy to get to the airport I had my doubts about how easy it would be to catch a 6:15AM flight from this location. Left the hotel at 4:30AM, at the rental car return at 4:40AM May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Granite counter tops Much better stay and comfort than the Express in Sylacauga, AL at the same price. We were placed on first floor what a treat. May 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel The staff makes a difference and this staff is terrific. We stay here every year and will continue to stay . April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham business spot Good evening Ms. Colon, I am a platinum member of priority club and visit Birmingham approximately once a month. Normally I stay at the Bessemer HI property but as a result of your wonderful hospitality I will be spending more time with you at Irondale. After you left for the day the staff continued to be attentive and concerned about the quality of my stay. Love the scratch off promotion. Thank you again, see you in April. Happy Easter, March 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but poorly managed Rooms are clean and comfortable. However, Hotel MGMT did not provide my Corporate rate so beware. On Saturday morning, hotel was full but was not prepared to provide breakfast. There was only limited quantity of breakfast items available. Hotel should not promise breakfast if they cannot deliver. I would not recommend staying at hotel because it was not properly managed. March 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>