Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 68 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Easy in and out, easy to get to restaurants, easy to rest and be ready for the next day., June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, quiet We were very tired when we got to the hotel-but we were amazed at the driveway UP the hill! That was a very cool entrance. There was some remodeling going on, but everything was cleaned up and tidy. The woman at the front desk was very helpful because we weren't familiar with the area-we were on our way to Georgia for a family visit. She gave us good information on where to go and how to get there. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff! although under refurb the staff is on the ball and great! May 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Construction I know it was under construction but there was no excuse for the mess we had to put up with. No discount was allowed because race fans would be showing up 2 days later That's a quote from the front desk I do expect better from Holiday Inns May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Overall Experience The ladies were professional and friendly. The room was very clean. The food was Great!!!! March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pat, Breakfast Associate, was GREAT Each morning, we were greeted with a smile from Pat. All the food was ready for our large group of 40 people, plus other guest. Pat was pleasant, knowledgable and proficient in her duties. At that time in the morning it was so nice to have an efficient person there to help us. Pat is an asset to your hotel. I did enjoy my stay with you. Thank You. Alice, Room 112 March 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The hotel is good but elevators were dirty The room was clean and the eating area was clean but their elevators were dirty. The staff was friendly! I really wish Holiday Inns had not changed their pillows! They are way to soft! March 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Snowbird return Enjoyed our stay. Left rested and resumed our trip. Staff didn't Know about barber motor sports park and museum. Great attraction! March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, great staff We were traveling home and found the Holiday Inn in Irondale to be very friendly and helpful. The night manager Kiera really made sure that our stay was restful and problem free. The location is good too and Kiera was Very helpful in helping us find a good restaurant. Thank you February 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by First time staying here on business and will be my last. Stayed here 3 nights as I was in town on business. Beds are not comfortable at all. I was in room 116 and had noisy neighbors next door all night long on the final day. I made calls to the front desk and was assured that they would look into it. However, the slamming doors continued as I believe the desk clerk was too busy hanging out with her friends in the hotel lobby to contact room 114 and ask them to quiet down. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable,Staff,Service,Breakfast The friendliness of the Staff was Great,the room was very neat and clean,the Breakfast was very good and the Lady was also very nice and friendly. February 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not much help Had a reservation for non smoking room when I arrived they only had smoking rooms left. When I complained the girl said I'll just cancel your reservation. The shuttle was not running to the airport and all the front desk told me was you can call a cab. I'm not in a hurry to go back. February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facility. We only spent one night here but we were very satisfied with the facility. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good quiet night's sleep traveling south to Florida... decent rate clean quiet!!! good breakfast!! January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by confortable bed Room needed better instructions for use of phone. The instuctiions on the phone said dial room number for room to room calls. I had to go to the front desk to be informed that I had to go through the front desk to make a call. Also both chairs were very uncomfortable, Overall I had a good experience. I always stay at the same hotel when I visit Birmingham. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfied with this Holiday Inn Express Send the manager and some key staff from Birmingham Irondale to Improve the Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon, VA. The Abingdon facility costs quite about 20% more and is not nearly as nice based on both staff and the free breakfast. It is like they belong to two different chains December 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and good breakfast The breakfast staff kept everything replenished and fresh December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but the floors smell like smoke The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable, but the floors had an overpowering smell of smoke that was extremely off-putting. I would likely consider another hotel in the future. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, comfortable, and clean. this is the second time I have stayed in this property. The time before was a little over a year ago, and we actually had moved to this hotel from another holiday inn that was having internet connectivity problems. This hotel was so memorable that we came back for another stay for business. The rooms were clean, the food was hot, and the internet was connected. Not much more you can ask for- thanks for the great day. December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I found the staff to be excellent and accomodating to their patrons. They were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. My room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional and well presented to the public. The hotel is located on a steep hill and I was concerned about the oncoming inclimate weather and was unable to ascertain from staff as to whether or not the driveway would be sanded or salted in the case of icing. I would suggest staff be alerted to the protocol for inclimate weather so guest's would not be concerned about possible driving issues. Otherwise my stay was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in the Birmingham area. December 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just average Hotel is showing its age in some respects. Biggest complaint: Internet is marginal at best. Kept loosing connection & staff had to reset the router, which probably kicked everyone else off each time. Turns out two routers serve the entire hotel & both are on ground floor. No wonder signal on 3rd floor at far end is iffy at best. FYI: If looking for a location that you feel comfortable going out at night, find another location. Would not recommend the area for evening or early morning runners. Generally OK during day, but not the best area of outskirts of Birmingham, and this was confirmed by a few locals. Overall average location. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good for the price the in room coffee was better than the coffee at the breakfast buffet . however I only gotone cup of that. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by stunk. 1/2 of the floor I stayed on is smoking. As a result the whole floor stunk like an overflowing ash tray, and it hit you as soon as the elevator door opened. As a result the room smelled smokey even though I don't believe anyone had smoked in it (recently anyway). On the other hand the entire staff was very nice. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience. My older sister and I stopped in Irondale for two evenings and when I checked in I showed my card for the AAA discount. I asked about EWTN, which we were going to in the morning, the front desk lady, had a special discount for the room since we were going there. I was pleased. Also the lady who takes care of the breakfast was also very caring and had excellent service. I will stay in Irondale again and I will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you so much. November 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Let me start by saying I am a platinum elite member with over 240,000 point. This means I stay at HIE hotels quite often. That being said, this was the worst experience I've ever had at an HIE. I was scheduled to stay there from 10/13-10/30. I checked out on 10/24 because I couldn't take staying there any longer. 1-I was given a handicap smoking room at check in. I asked if I could be changed to another room and was told I couldn't and they also made me feel like I would be stuck in that room for the entire stay (which I was). Besides the room being uncomfortable it had no refrigerator which is something I am used to having as standard with HIE hotels especially since I would be there more than 15 days. I asked daily about a new room and refrigerator but was pretty much told its not going to happen every time. I figured I would just have to make the best of it. 2- I was sent 3 packages to that hotel which I did make the front desk aware of and provided them with mt cell number and asked if the would notify me when a package arrived. Each package came on different days and not once was I called and told it had arrived. I had to ask the staff when I got in from working and there first response was no nothing came for me. I was able to prove them wrong only because I had the tracking and it showed which staff member had signed for it. Of course I got an "I'm sorry". The last package I received I was told the night before I finally gave up and checked out that it was not delivered even though I showed them a tracking email that said it was delivered. I was told to call the company that shipped it and talk to the hotel mgr in the morning. The next morning I talked with someone at the front desk and my package was some how mysteriously there waiting for me. They said it was delivered the night before...9:30pm?! That's when I first inquired about it and I don't think USPS delivers that late at nite. Well that was all it took for me...I packed my belongings and checked out. I'm sure I will be staying in Birmingham again probably pretty soon but will stay far away from this particular HIE. I will say this, i enjoy staying at HIE and your chain of hotels and am not discouraged from continuing to use them...it's like my home away from home since I use them so often but I will stay far away from the reviewed hotel in the future. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel on race weekend. My family and I had two rooms for the 10/20/13 Talladega race weekend. The staff was pleasant, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the comp breakfast was very good. Overall very satisfied, I just wish they didn't hike up the rates for race weekend. October 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by UNACCEPTABLE BED wE HAVE STAYED AT THIS hOLIDAY iNN eXPRESS FOR SEVERAL YEARS IN A ROW. iT HAS ALWAYS BEEN ONE OF OUR FAVORITE DESTINATION HOTELS BECAUSE OF ITS GREAT ACOMODATIONS. tHIS TIME HOWEVER, PROVED TO BE A MUCH DIFFERENT SENERIO. ALTHOUGH THE STAFF WAS IT'S USUAL PROFESSIONAL GORUOP OF FINE PEOPLE, THAT IS THE END OF THE COMPLIMENTS. wE HAD A SUITE ON THE 2ND FLOOR WITH 2 SERIOUSLY INFERIOR MATTRESSES ON THE BEDS, THIS CAUSED SERIOUS BACK PAIN THAT BEGAN ABOUT 3 AM.. SLEEP WAS UNATTAINABLE FROM THAT POINT ON. cONSIDERING THE RATE WE PAID THE VALUE WAS WELL UNDER PAR. tHE ELEVATORS FORCED US TO TAKE THE STAIRWELL ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. ON THE SATURDAY MORNING BREAKFAST THE HEAT WAS POURING OUT OF THE AC VENTS CREATING A MOST UNCOMFORTABLE DINING ATMOSPHERE. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff and quiet room. The staff gave helpful tips and the shuttle van driver was courteous and friendly. I liked the shuttle van which brought me to dinner my first night. This is the first motel I stayed at which offered a pillow menu, firm or soft. I was also able to use the free wi-fi. I do not have a TV, but I noticed that some common cable channels were missing from the channel offerings. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable stay We went to the Alabama game and stayed here on our way back great place to stay in Birmingham!!! September 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bridgett We have always stayed with Holiday Inn Express and we have always been satisfied. We had made reservation's 2 weeks prior to our arrival. We were going to see our grandson who is four and we had reserved a King Suite so that we would have room to play with him, only to get there and they had given our room away. I even called to tell them at 3:00 that we would be there at 7:00, everything was fine until we got there. We had to change rooms three times!!!!!! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone the staff doesn't have a clue how to accommodate anyone when things go wrong. Also they kept saying our rewards cards didn't work which I don't understand we have had it for years and used it many times and they said it only showed two times which is totally wrong!! Plus the ice machine was broke for over a week. August 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>