• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CALGARY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
McMahon Staduim
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
Canada Olympic Park
Distance From Hotel:9.3KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking included in room rate. Above ground parking and secure key card access to underground parking provided.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of suites:49
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary,
View More
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary, Calgary Zoo, Telus Science Center and more. Relax in one of our elegant rooms that feature modern decor and ammenties including free wifi internet, mini kitchette, executive work space with ergonomic chair. Enjoy 42" Flat Screen TV with HD channels. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast buffet and complimentry 24 hour coffee/tea. Take advantage of our heated indoor Pool/whirlpool with waterslide or energize in the new fitness center. You can use our 24 hour Business Center to put the finishing touches on work or surf the net for directions to local sites/restaurants. Our property features 2500 square feet of Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate meetingor Special Event. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is ready to make your trip a success.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Banff Trail is walking distance to McMahon Stadium and LRT station

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 208 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed again I sTay at this hotel often for business. In fact I stay in several holiday inn brands each year. This hotel never recognizes my Platinum status with a room upgrade. It's the same answer every time I ask. Oh,sorry, we are sold out tonight. I just don't believe the story. I shounderstand take myour business elsewhere but it is in an extremely convinent location. November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service! The staff is very engaging and very friendly. The The 1st and 5th floors are completely updated. The food and hospitality at the hotel restaurant and lounge is great! The carpets in the common areas need to be shampooed more frequently mainly because of the high traffic. November 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by calgary great hotel and great location. convenient from the highway. November 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Road Construction to the airport My husband and I had an early flight in the morning. We found the decor from the hotel to the airport was poorly marked. I was informed that the room I booked did not come with a free breakfast. I would have had to purchase a upgraded room to get the breakfast that was offered. The staff was friendly and polite. The hotel was quiet and clean. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Facility Overall nice facility. Shuttle service was excellent for an early morning flight. Very courteous. Coffee in lobby nice touch on a cold morning. November 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Lounge Decor - Room needs work Title says it all. Average hotel with an unfortunate painfully bright lounge decor and rooms that are well past needing a makeover. November 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service I am always treated well at all IHG Hotels. Beds are comfortable and great pillow options. The Calgary Airport Hotel actually allows pets with no limits to size. Had I known this prior to arrival, I would have brought my lab instead of kenneling him. I stayed with my entire family as we were in between houses while relocating from BC to AB and we missed our dog. Guaranteed to return! November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Stay We have stayed at this hotel several times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very clean, the staff is incredibly friendly. Great value for your money November 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed terrible room condition We were quite impressed with the hotel until we came in late from a family wedding and were ready to go to bed. The water did not stop running in the bathtub, the water head was not secure and looked like it was going to fall out of the wall and when we went to turn on the heater/air conditioner, it never stopped banging, clicking and making terrible noise throughout the night. Had it not been at 2 am and having to move 3 kids, I would have packed up and left. At 7 am, we got up and left to head back out of town - we decided not to stay and enjoy the pool or sleep in.....I would not recommend this hotel to anyone October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great overall stay. excellent stay,would recommend this hotal , awesome stay. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New Bar While the design is nice your bar/lounge area is like constantly looking into the headlights of a semi truck, I almost had to wear my sunglasses while sitting at the bar. Your restaurant staff is always fantastic and they always remember me from previous visits. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service at Front Desk Please review comments made throughout survey in regards to the issues I had with Front Desk staff the evening of October 26th. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay The hotel staff here were very friendly and very organized and professional. the room was clean and modern and I had a fantastic stay. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This is a great location to the North end of Calgary and also downtown. Close to a large mall and a ton of amenities... October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Stay The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant/lounge was good. We had an issue with the service time when we went for a late evening snack at the lounge. This was due to extra customers being sent to this hotel due to a power outage in another area of the city. The food and drinks when we got them, were very good however and the host/server was apologetic. I believe this was an unfortunate incident and not the norm for service there. The beds - mattress, pillows and linens were clean and very comfortable. A good selection of pillows also. The business centre was easily accessible, and equipped with Mac computers and a printer. There are no programs loaded on the MAC however for document creation and editing, but I was able to download form to produce labels I needed. Overall it was a very pleasant and restful stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, should I be in the area in the future. October 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Holiday Inn - Calgary No bath towels in the washroom. TV remote doesn't work. Hair in the food. Not a good experience overall. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by People and pet friendly hotel My daughter and I stayed here because we were picking up a puppy.. we flew to Calgary from Vancouver Island. I think we lucked out staying at this very clean, pet friendly and also very people friendly hotel. It was very clean, comfortable and always very courteous staff.. they even gave us a complimentary breakfast, I think because we are 'gold' members, but I am not positive.. Anyways, the stay was very good.. I thought the pricing was a little bit expensive but I would definately stay again. October 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience My family usually stays at HI express south Calgary. But we decided to stay here in the north. Our truck was broken into and our items were stolen. The parkade that is there made it easy for someone to do this. So we had a bad experience & the manager also did not reply to my email. Thought he was a nice guy at first. I would not recommend this hotel. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable The hotel is modern and clean. My husband and I enjoyed a very good movie selection for an evening in prior to some leisure activities in Calgary. The only issue was the size of the room and bathroom. The executive suites are quite compact. The shower in the bathroom won't accommodate a larger person. My husband competes in Strongman events and had to stand sideways in the shower after our competition as his shoulders were too wide for the stall. Other than that - it had everything we needed. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Final stop on the move We were relocating to Calgary from the US and stayed at the Holiday Inn Calgary Airport before moving in the following day and were more than able to relax from a long drive from the south and before having to unload a truck the next day. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was as we have come to find every Holiday Inn brand we stay in, very clean and comfortable. We will definitely be staying at Holiday Inn brands more often. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Overall great place to stay. Easy check-in, clean modern rooms. Good value. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Welcome at the check in counter Very friendly and helpful front dest staff. A little maintanance on the first floor hallway, but the staff did a good job of putting a tempory floor cover to make it safe. October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice room and good facilties The room was a good size with a nice large tv, better size then expected. Good pool and gym. NOT TO FAR FROM DOWNTOWN. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Always a great Stay This Holiday inn is always a great stay. The staff always treat me like gold and are always very friendly. The General manager always is making sure things are you not only with me but i see him with other guest and he is the same way. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Great stay! close to everything! Hotel easy to find! comfortable beds, really quite, and great value for the money. Staff was friendly. Would stay here next time I stay in Calgary. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Last minute stay , made enjoyable by staff and facility October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were amazing! Super service from staff from front desk to restaurants to meeting rooms. Far exceeded my expectations October 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 great stay I spent 2 nights at this hotel. Front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Shuttle service to the airport was great. Rooms were updated and very comfortable. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Calgary great hotel My favourite hotel in Calgary, stay often and have always had good service at the front desk, restaurant/lounge and love the shuttle service. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean I have stayed at this property many times for work and pleasure and are always impressed with the property and staff. October 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk McMahon Stadium Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Book the Holiday Inn Express Calgary NW - University Area to stay at one of our new Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading