• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CALGARY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
McMahon Staduim
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
Canada Olympic Park
Distance From Hotel:9.3KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking included in room rate. Above ground parking and secure key card access to underground parking provided.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of suites:49
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary,
View More
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary, Calgary Zoo, Telus Science Center and more. Relax in one of our elegant rooms that feature modern decor and ammenties including free wifi internet, mini kitchette, executive work space with ergonomic chair. Enjoy 42" Flat Screen TV with HD channels. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast buffet and complimentry 24 hour coffee/tea. Take advantage of our heated indoor Pool/whirlpool with waterslide or energize in the new fitness center. You can use our 24 hour Business Center to put the finishing touches on work or surf the net for directions to local sites/restaurants. Our property features 2500 square feet of Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate meetingor Special Event. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is ready to make your trip a success. We are sorry our pool, waterslide and whirlpool are out of service for the June 6-8 weekend. Our guests will have complimentry use of another pool in the area.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Banff Trail is walking distance to McMahon Stadium and LRT station

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 159 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn @ airport Convenient and comfortable place to stay in Calgary. Breakfast was good and service was excellent. Shuttle to the airport was quick and location means no traffic for a snappy trip. I recommend this facility, typical for Holiday Inn stay & quality. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location for Highway 1 travellers we have stayed at this hotel many times when travelling West or short stays in Calgary. The service has always varied - sometimes it is excellent but at other times it is mediocre. It seems to depend on how busy the hotel is. The food has always been good & the rooms clean & comfy. Breakfast is overpriced & didn't like the fact that beverages were not included in the price unless you chose the buffet. Dinner was good value for money - we really enjoyed the salmon. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Good Service The hotel was clean and comfortable. Also, the employees were kind. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but shuttle service needs improving It is a good hotel. The shuttle service is confusing and slow. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The cleanliness of the hotel was very good. I did not use the pool or fitness center so I cannot speak on those. The staff was excellent, very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was good. It was a typical buffet which both hot and cold foods. The only drawbacks were that the bathroom is very cramped and like most hotels anymore they use those marshmallow pillows which in my opinion are uncomfortable. I would recommend a stay. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay Very nice Hotel, slept well and had access to everything needed for my stay. Staff was excellent! Thanks for Everything. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service I found my stay at the hotel very good. It meet ny needs for the weekend. The staff was very nice and accomadating. The breakfast was very good and service was great. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay great price Nice, clean room with terrific bar set up. Restaurant food was really good; service excellent. Business Center well-equipped. July 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stamped Stay The hotel and room were comfortable and the staff were very friendly. HOwever, clogged sinks and dripping water in the bathroom were annoying. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience While just in Calgary for the night, first night away from our 6 month old, the hotel staff were friendly, professional, and made our first impression great. The room was amazing and so clean. Couldn't have made a better choice in our hotel accommodations. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome expiriance I stay here all the time, i have stayed at many hotels over the last few years for work and after 1 stay here this has become my hotel of choice. If i cannot get a room here i do not travel to Calgary. Service, staff, and room are excellent. if you have the chance to stay here, do it. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprised all around comfort and convenience I normally go to another well known chain for hotel accommodations and this time I was very pleasantly surprised by the all around courtesy and assistance, great room at a reasonable price during Stampede week…shuttle service to and from airport was a plus. Reservation staff went out of their way to help me with scheduling dates and adjusting schedule when flight changed. July 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service When I checked in I was told about the hold of 1000 dollars on my credit card to cover the cost of the stay and for damage that could happen I was not acknowledge as a ing reward member the front desk staff was quite rude and to assume I could not afford my stay. Really bother me I was not even offer the standard water when I check in. So I was extremely disappointed. The lobby is nice. My rooms bathroom was so small you couldn't put the bath mat down and open or close the door you had to close first and pick up the bath mat before you open the door. So no I would not recommend this holiday Inn to anybody since you front desk staff is very snobby. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent but don't count on feeling important as IHG member I always enjoy the value of IHG brand hotels. The staff and hotel was in excellent order. I have no complaints but one. As a IHG Platinum member I was not treated any differently than anyone off the street where at other chains I am consistently given top attention. They apparently have a policy that its good enough that your getting points from your stay. No free breakfast coupons, no bottled water, no extra treatment or feeling special. Otherwise staff was friendly, shuttle was prompt, safe and on time and people were very honest. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Airport & Comfortable Clean, friendly staff, good business centre, restaurant on site, nice pool and hot tub.... June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but front desk staff let it down It's been a while since I stayed here, the renovations have turned this into a modern smart hotel. My room was just excellent. My check in let it down, three female staff on the front desk, the one who checked me in was cold and unwelcoming, didn't recognise my platinum status, didn't smile and was just unfriendly Even when I walked through the lobby later, non of the same staff made no effort to speak, just ignored me June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by short hop to airport great place to stay over,staff great to deal with,good veiw of The Rockies, shopping not far away ..food was great and priced reasonable.all services was top notch..would reconmend this as a good place to stay..not far from downtown area June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room - poor TV Love the hotel but not happy with TV - I like to unwind and enjoy but this was somewhat disappointing. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Renovated rooms very nice The location of this hotel is very easy to access From Deerfoot trail ( a major road running north and south thru Calgary ). The Staff are always awesome. The room I had on First floor was newly renovated with a 52" flat screen. I have stayed at this hotels for years and they recently renovated the lounge and restaurant which gives it a whole new feel. Very comfortable. If there is any issues they look after it for you. June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service nice renovation I like staying at this hotel. The people are friendly at check-in and the hotel restaurant and facilities are above average. I stay at this hotel frequently. I'd like them to get my profile right. I like staying on the floor with the renovated rooms and I consistently have to ask for the breakfast vouchers we negotiated with this hotel for all our company employees when we stay at this Holiday Inn. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel and Great Service The staff at this location is excellent and the hotel is clean and safe. It may not be in downtown, however it is close and will be your best bet for the price. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Very Good Holiday Inn The staff makes this hotel as well as location. You are made to feel a special guest. The staff is attentive and sincere. I look forward to returning on my next trip June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Rooms are clean and the beds and pillows are better then the standard Holiday Inn. For someone looking for a good sleep this is a decent older property. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Turned around my thinking on Holiday Inn This was a nice property and turned around my thinking about Holiday Inn. I grade on a curve with a C or 5 being a good, average, solid score. I would definitely stay again. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A stay of very good and not good at all... Desk staff - excellent Shuttle driver - excellent Restaurant food and service from wait staff - excellent Bar tender - unfriendly Beer - flat and warm Room - all OK except house cleaning was late everyday - well after 4:00pm and I needed to call the front desk. Did not clean the toilet on any of the days of my stay. Did not clean shower or vacuum since I was in the room when it was cleaned. I even offered a $5.00 tip per day as I always do so. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing renovation I stay in a lot of hotels and the renovation done to this Holiday Inn is one of the best I've seen in this class of hotel. The lobby and room look great and the fitness center is very nice. June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by New Take on an Old Hotel It is amazing how they have done renovations to the lobby, restaurant and entry ways yet it's still the same old drab rooms with no where to plug in your electronic devices once you get inside. The restaurant food is overpriced with poor food quality and service. Not a good upgrade at all. I am guessing this is why at peak times the restaurant is empty with staff busily chatting amongst themselves or texting. When you have to have a discussion over an additional charge of $2.00 for a Caesar salad when it is listed as a side it makes one wonder. Also the food quality is still the same overcooked, overpriced, small portions. The plate is certainly large perhaps that's what makes the portions look so small, lol. Overall its a bed close to the airport with not much more to offer than that. Thanks.. June 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Last Time I've given this place a few chances. Loyal IHG customer, just not at this place. Terrible beds. Mattresses are only a few inches thick at best. Last time I stayed here I was given the key to a room where someone was already staying in that room. I wasn't compensated in anyway and a manager never contacted me like I asked. This recent time I was told I could either have my priority club points or a bottle of water and granola bar, but not both. That's a first for me as well. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by sur charge $50 charge on my credit card for incidentals not good as you have my card already. now I have to follow up to make sure I got my credit. will not stay at your hotel again. I don't need you to make work for me. bad idea to charge and have to wait 3 to 5 business days to get it back bed on a slope tap in room loose . May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff great service I would definitely return to this property again. The staff was very friendly. The new lounge and restaurant were amazing. May 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Area Attractions
Area Attractions
Select to close.
Area Attractions Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading