• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CALGARY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
McMahon Staduim
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
Canada Olympic Park
Distance From Hotel:9.3KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking included in room rate. Above ground parking and secure key card access to underground parking provided.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of suites:49
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary,
View More
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary, Calgary Zoo, Telus Science Center and more. Relax in one of our elegant rooms that feature modern decor and ammenties including free wifi internet, mini kitchette, executive work space with ergonomic chair. Enjoy 42" Flat Screen TV with HD channels. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast buffet and complimentry 24 hour coffee/tea. Take advantage of our heated indoor Pool/whirlpool with waterslide or energize in the new fitness center. You can use our 24 hour Business Center to put the finishing touches on work or surf the net for directions to local sites/restaurants. Our property features 2500 square feet of Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate meetingor Special Event. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is ready to make your trip a success. We are sorry our pool, waterslide and whirlpool are out of service for the June 6-8 weekend. Our guests will have complimentry use of another pool in the area.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Banff Trail is walking distance to McMahon Stadium and LRT station

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Finally... Accommodating Accommodations This was a very hard trip for my husband and I. A very close friend had to travel to Calgary away from his family for medical treatment. We came up to visit and provide some non-medical contact. The hotel was amazingly accommodating. We were late coming back from the hospital, and the hotel staff re-opened the pool so we could sit in the hot tub for 10 minutes before bed. The hospital doesn't provide laundry services, but My hotel did! Our friend can use some of his own clothes and feel a bit more human again. many hotels think of some of the possibilities. Few think of this many. From some Videos you can borrow at the front desk for free, Popcorn along with the coffee and tea in the room. When I'm in Calgary, I will drive a little further to where I'm going to stay at the Staybridge. It is definitely worth it. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Enjoyed my stay at this location. Pillows could have been better but overall excellent stay January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff great service Always stay here when in Calgary great people actually remember you by you're name Completely recommend this hotel January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Very friendly staff with great facility. Great gym December 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decor Needs Updating; Execellent Service is the Only Positive I stayed here on December 7 for a one night stay. Booked online with IHG. I arrived at the hotel and was checked in by Monty. He was very cheerful and made sure that I was warmly welcomed. As a Platinum Elite member I was offered a bag with water and some chocolates. Monty also gave me a granola bar. The things that excite us! lol. I was given a room on a high floor, away from the elevator, with an airport view as requested in my profile. The room itself had dated furniture that is showing its age. It reminded me of a grandparents' house. The kitchen is fantastic - that is part of the Staybridge Suites brand. Two complaints about the room: 1) I found that the bathroom walls had not been cleaned in a long time which leaves a lot to be desired. You can see the 'sprinkles' near the toilet that gravity has displayed. There was obviously not enough attention to the bathroom by Housekeeping, an important area of any hotel room. 2) The curtains only have light blinds that do not allow enough darkness into the room. The room itself was spacious. I did not find the mattress comfortable to be honest, but I like firm beds so maybe that was the issue. Since it was the weekend there was no reception at night. Wifi was included since I am a Platinum Elite member. The housekeeper the day I checked out was patient with me as I was leaving the room about 30min after the 1100 checkout time. She made sure to ask me how my stay was. So overall the employees are friendly. It is the hard product that needs to be worked on. The décor could use updating. Better attention to cleaning the bathrooms is needed. I did like the big bath towels though! I may or may not stay here again if I ever needed an airport hotel. Their IHG branded property is the only reason I chose it and would be the only reason I would consider returning. The rate was the lowest of any IHG properties in YYC that evening. They do have some positive things going for them but I think it is time that they look into investing into a renovation of the guest rooms. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay in Calgary ever I travel a lot and Calgary is a main stop for me with an office there. I haven't stayed here before and wondering now why I haven't. Excellent staff, very friendly and accommodating. Lots of amenities at this hotel and all the little things that make a big difference. Keep up the great work and I will see you soon again. Highly recommend this property. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by At Fronddesk It was good for my colleague who can not speak English well that there were the front desk staff who can speak Japanese, especially the Lady named Gennma, her Japanese was almost perfect. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Job Well Done! I have stayed at this location before. This repeated stay turned out to be another 5 star rating. I have been to over 40 HI hotels in the last 11 months, very few would earm such as good compliments from me. Very well Done! Strongly recommended. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Above and beyond I travel to Calgary often and each time try to stay at the Staybridge Calgary Airport. On this particular trip, the front dest were able to assist us with a the use of a boardroom for meetings on short notice. Of all the travel I do, these are always the most comfortable beds and cleanest rooms. i will always recommend this location to any of my colleagues. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by quick stay only stayed 1 night but will come again for longer stay. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and friendly staff. On most days the cleaning was less than satisfactory, and occasionally replacement towels and or sheets were forgotten. Exercise room and swimming area was poorly kept. Laundry facility was dirty. More staff is required to properly maintain this facility. Hospitality was warm and friendly creating an atmosphere that made the cleanliness secondary. A very comfortable long term stay. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly helpful staff Stayed here twice on my last visit to calgary. Staff were very good, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was not anything to shout about, but was ok to start the day. Free fresh coffee available day and night which was a very good touch. Rooms were ideal apart from the proximity to the maim road. Traffic noise was a nuisance but bearable. I would stay here again but would request a room on the opposite side to the main road. The pool and gym were ok although I didn't get to use them. November 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and comfortable room I stayed here off and on for a total of 4 weeks. The accommodations were good and the staff was very friendly. The location is close to several restaurants, shopping, and the airport. Despite traffic, the drive into town was not bad. My last stay I ended up with an inconsiderate neighbor who apparently thought a boombox was appropriate for a hotel room. The staff was accommodating in providing me another room that provided some peace, necessary when awaking at 6 AM every morning to go to work. The breakfast was the biggest disappointment. The hot breakfast wasn't, and coffee and juice seemed to be consistently low or out. At least there is a Tim Horton's and McDonalds next door. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks The staff was very accomadating. The breakfast was great. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality room with great extras Room was nice and comfortable. I didn't mind that the maid service was reduced vs other hotels. Breakfast was good and there was a nice bonus of having food and drinks in the evening as well during the week. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and Staff I am on long term assignment in Calgary and chose this hotel based on 1) Member of the IHG family 2) Value. I find the hotel excellent and the staff more than willing to please. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Thanksgiving Home! Our family (20 of us), meet in Calgary every Thanksgiving weekend. The Staybridge Suites allow all to have a very enjoyable time, including a turkey dinner!! The breakfast bar allows everyone to "get going" at their own pace, the rooms allow for some visiting, the access to shopping is great, the pool and waterslide are very popular amongst the kids ...and, the staff makes us feel like we are at home. Highly recommended! October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff & comfy environment I had my stay at comfort inn last month during my first ever visit to Calgary, Canada. The staff is friendly and helps you with anything you need. The location is good and near to the highway. The bus & local metro service is a bit far away. You need to take a cab for 5 min or walk about 20 min to reach the local metro station near Sunridge mall. There needs to be a bit more improvement required on the food options available for breakfast. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service We recently undertook a four week visit to BC and Alberta. Staybridge at Calgary was the best hotel we stayed at in all that time. The room was well designed and comfortable, staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, particularly when we had rental car issues, and the hotel is well located with ready access to train, airport and shops. We particularly liked the touch of free laundry facilities and breakfast, and we even got one dinner as well. Only one other hotel came close. Well done and thank you. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service Would like to thank hotel staff for going extraordinary lengths to locate nearby restaurant open for dinner late at night on day of arrival. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hospitality This property provides not only a comfortable suite but great amenities. The breakfast and dinners are so nice when staying away from home. The staff is very friendly and always looking to make your stay enjoyable. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really Positive Experience This hotel stay was a great experience. We needed somewhere close to the airport at the end of our Canadian Rockies adventure and chose this hotel from online reviews.We were not disappointed. The suite we were upgraded to was extremely livable- spacious,clean and comfortable. The front desk was manned by Anis for both checkin and checkout and we could not have asked for more efficient and friendly service. As for the breakfast, which was complimentary, it was better than many higher rated hotels in which we stayed. We would definitely stay here again if ever we are fortunate enough to return to this wonderful area of Canada September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very impressed My husband our two boys and I had a great time at your hotel! Not one complaint. Room was homey and met our needs. Staff was great and always helpful! My son loved the pool and waterside! Breakfast every morning was amazing! Will for sure stay again! September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Hotel I had flown to Kelown BC to buy a vehicle from Saskatchewan - I was up at 2:30 am to catch a 6:00 am flight. I drove from Kelowna to Calgary and arrived at 9:45 pm to the hotel. I was completely beat. I don't know Calgary and in the dark, it's hard to read a map so I went by memory when I had looked at the map. I located the hotel easy as pie - couldn't have been happier about that. Then I checked in which was super fast and was able to get to my room in a very short time. Inside the room was just awesome. Full sized fridge, utensils....all the comforts of home; even French doors to the bedroom. I was too tired to try out the fitness room but looked like a lot of equipment from the doorway window. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I didn't get to try the breakfast but sure wished I would have - needed to sleep. The complimentary fruit is a nice touch and very welcome after a long day. I plan on staying here again. It's close to malls, eating places.....can't go wrong with staying here. Other hotels provide similar but not at this price. Biggest plus is it is so easy to get find and get to. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great hospitality Great satisfaction from our stay. The room size is great. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and comfortable during your entire stay. This is from top to bottom. The staff taking care of the breakfast and coffee are always on top of things and immediately fix anything brought to their attention! I will advise others to stay here as well. September 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good deal but smoky I was impressed again at getting almost an entire suite for the cost of some regular hotel rooms. It feels homey to have a kitchenette and if staying with kids there are two TVs. However my room had been smoked in. At first I thought it would be ok as the smell was nominal except in the bathroom. I can appreciate the challenge for a hotel to get that room clean. But by morning the smell was really bad and I worried the rest of the day as I now bore a slight aroma of cigarette smoke. Next time I will have to be more careful should we use their hotel again, as it is a conveniently located hotel and reasonably priced. Considering though that there is another hotel right beside this one, one would have to think twice. That is a fairly large mistake for a hotel to make. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff The manager we met on our 3 visits (in the last 2 weeks) was excellent - effective, friendly, efficient, helpful, personable. I can't say too much good about him. The remaining staff was outstanding - desk, cooks, housekeeping. I wish I were planning on going back to Calgary soon so I could stay there, but that was a once in a life vacation. I almost quit trying to send this after 3 attempts when you kept rejecting my nickname. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pool We have 3 kids and planned to do day trips around Calgary. Unfortunately they weren't keen on sitting in the car, but they WERE keen on the pool with the water slide and hot tub. We spent many an hour there. The suite was perfect size. Nice to have a kitchenette. Great to have the option of breakfast and weekday suppers. Staff were very friendly. Quiet at night. Location not close to anything of note, but easy drive to most of NE/SE Calgary. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding hotel From the front desk service (thank you, Anis) to the spotlessly clean room to the extraordinarily wonderful breakfast, this place is one special place to stay. September 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Area Attractions
Area Attractions
Select to close.
Area Attractions Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading