• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CALGARY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
McMahon Staduim
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
Canada Olympic Park
Distance From Hotel:9.3KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking included in room rate. Above ground parking and secure key card access to underground parking provided.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of suites:49
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary,
View More
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary, Calgary Zoo, Telus Science Center and more. Relax in one of our elegant rooms that feature modern decor and ammenties including free wifi internet, mini kitchette, executive work space with ergonomic chair. Enjoy 42" Flat Screen TV with HD channels. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast buffet and complimentry 24 hour coffee/tea. Take advantage of our heated indoor Pool/whirlpool with waterslide or energize in the new fitness center. You can use our 24 hour Business Center to put the finishing touches on work or surf the net for directions to local sites/restaurants. Our property features 2500 square feet of Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate meetingor Special Event. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is ready to make your trip a success. We are sorry our pool, waterslide and whirlpool are out of service for the June 6-8 weekend. Our guests will have complimentry use of another pool in the area.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Banff Trail is walking distance to McMahon Stadium and LRT station

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 151 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Where's the hot water The property is pleasant on the inside and the staff is great. The property lacks sufficient parking and the parking is all on the north side of the building where ice and snow are an issue. Most disturbing is the hot water system is insufficient if there are a large number of guests using such. Remember to shower early or late avoid the rush and cold water. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Any issue is quickly resolved by the staff at this hotel I had a minor problem with a room which was quickly resolved by the staff. the hotel is clean, staff are friendly. I do stay at Various Holiday Inns and this hotel will now be my choice while in Calgary. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large and beautiful room! We really enjoyed our stay. I thought the room was going to be noisy, as we were facing a very busy road, but I found it to be quite quiet! The staff were very friendly. The bed was very comfortable. Overall, we will definitely stay again if we're in the area. March 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great new hotel with helpful staff... This new hotel is not only a great location for the cost and is in a quiet area (perfect for working trips but close to essentials like restaurants and airport for any traveller. Staff went out of their way to provide us "must see" attractions and restaurant choices and including maps and pamphlets. The hotel foyer and sitting areas had new classy furniture and the hotel was especially clean and tidy. Great job!! March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed Our Stay Thanks for a great start to our trip. We were served quickly and warmly. Our family room was great. It is nice to stay at a Inn that takes family #s concerning room to make it an enjoyable stay. Thanks March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Management The general manager at this location has been exceptional and her staff are a great extension of her commitment to customer service. March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay Staff at this location are amazing. They were There to do whatever was requested. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and great room We just spent 3 night there while on a mini vacation in Calgary. Had our grandson with us and it was a great place to relax after a day of shopping/visiting. Large, clean rooms with pools and small waterslide which we all enjoyed. The coffee and tea are always on and breakfast was served in the hotel as part of our room cost. Highly recommended. February 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service at it's Best It is not too often you are made to feel at home when you are constantly on the road. The cheerful staff at Calgary HIE were a refreshing exception. Great service and nice facility. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay...until checkout Nice clean hotel, not bad location close to airport. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. I have stayed here 3 times in the last 6 months in a couple different rooms and all 3 times never got the express checkout (I am a platinum member). Not the end of the world but last time there was a lineup to checkout and of course I was pressed for time. I asked (again...) about this and was told (again...) my profile did not asked for express checkout (???). I spend about 80 nights a year in hotel rooms, this is the only one that I have this problem with. The lady looking after me apologized and said it would be fixed (again) and for my trouble said she would credit my account with points. Nice gesture I thought, except a couple of months later no such points appeared, and my trip to Calgary last week was to another hotel. I would likely try staying here again but the hassles left a sour taste afterward. January 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Staff very accommodating. Would stay again as car parking while away on trip was free. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff The staff at this property is top notch. Responsive, polite and service oriented. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quality That Can Be Relied Upon Shuttle service to airport is a superb amenity! Rooms and common areas are very clean. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay Nice new hotel. Stayed for a family trip but liked it so much will change to stay there for next business trip. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good room Very nice room, good service even over Christmas break December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room cleaniness The sofa bed had not been made and had previous guests hair on it. Called down to front desk and they did respond very promptly. The only issue was that the person sent to deal with it was the shuttle driver who told us he did not know where they kept the blankets/duvet and he did not really know how to make the bed. So as a guest I was making up the bed and stripping other peoples dirty sheets. I did talk to front desk managers in the morning concerning this and I am sure they will address this. The carpet also was dirty and could have been vacuumed better. On the plus side it was great to be able to leave our vehicle at the hotel while we were away. December 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location great location. friendly staff. comfortable rooms. December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not you typical Holiday Inn Express Was not greated as a IHG platinum member, express checking wasn't ready, When I left the hotel and the staff didn't do express checkout I asked about that and was told at this location we like to say good bye to our guests so we don't do express checkout. One of the reasons I chose Holiday Inn Express when it is available is specifically because of express check in and out. Travelling on business it usually saves me time and agrivation. Doesn't seem to happen in the Canadian Hoilday Inn Express hotels though. I've had this experience in Toronto as well at two different locations. If you aren't going to give the Express service I expect, I wiss you would reflect that in the title of the Hotel so I know what to expect ad give myself extra time to check out. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & Friendly Had a great stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic The staff and everyone was just great with early check-in and my needs for work from the hotel room. Spotless, the best HI Express I've stayed in yet. GM is super woman, and so pleasant and really felt at home. Can't wait to return. How your tire? November 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New Holiday Inn- Close to Airport! I stay at this hotel every time I visit Calgary. COmpared to other hotels in the area it's very affordable. It's new and has great amenities, great rooms, and was a quite atmosphere for each of my stays. It's so close to the airport you can get some extra zzz's before your flight! September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended the staff were professional, courteous and friendly. Our check-in was expeditiously handled with helpful suggestions provided as well as recommendations for evening dining. The room was larger than normal and met our expectations for an overnight stay before a morning departure by air. Breakfast was complimentary and satisfying noting that it is effectively a 'serve yourself' experience. Would recommend to friends. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness and contemporary look This hotel had always been very neat and the wall paints have remained fresh, toilet fittings has remained clean and in good condition the several times I have stayed in this hotel. There are some hotels which when new every thing looks nice and good but after two to three years it's facility depreciates without emphasis on maintaining them, but this hotel for now has kept it's standard, however, I have never had the time to use its swimming facilities so I can't comment on that. One other thing I like about the hotel is its contemporary designs, personally I like anything new and contemporary and the rooms have those qualities. The layout of the rooms are satisfactory and I can say for next couple of visits to Calgary, this is the hotel for my family. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Well equipped and clean room A clean room with a large fridge and microwave. The bathroom was clean and supplied with all necessities. The location was near the airport and would have been even closer if able to access via Barlow Tr. A gas station and Tim Hortons were located nearby on McCall Rd. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel I chose this hotel for its location, close to the airport. There are a lot of restaurants in the area to, so it was very convenient. The staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable. I will stay here again the next time I visit Calgary. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Airport convenient, good value We had an excellent stay. Room was up to date and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the airport and we were pleased with the convenient shuttle service. Nearby Restaurant, Moxie's, was nice but a little pricey. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing The hotel offers all the conveniences but found the Desk Clerk to be stand offish and not very friendly. Although he recognized me as a Platinum Member, there was no attempt to offer any extra conveniences. We have stayed at this hotel several times this year and this was definitely the worst check-in experience we have had. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good - not the one below Oops, made a mistake with the review below - it belonged to a different HIE. Much of what I said about room comfort and staff helpfulness is applicable here, but the breakfast was better!. No problems with checkout either. Took the hotel shuttle to the airport - good service. Minor issue - although the staff knew we were leaving the car for a couple of days while we away, it wasn't until I asked specifically whether they kept a register of cars left that they owned up to having one. It would have been easy to have left without them knowing August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable We stayed three night during a visit to the area. The hotel and staff made our stay very enjoyable. We didn't have time to use the pool etc., so can't comment, but the rooms were spacious, clean and relaxing. The location was perfect for us, close to the main highway taking us north or south, and the occasional use of the business centre was invaluable. The main downside was the quality of the cooked breakfast - we didn't bother after the first attempt. A pity. And although we agreed a late checkout with the manager, the cleaning staff didn't seem to know - we interrupted twice by them wanting to do our room. These things didn't spoil it - it was a good stay. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Nice, comfortable, clean hotel. Staff was very helpful with directions, maps, etc for getting to downtown. They suggested the light rail which was really easy to use and saved us lots of time, traffic, and parking headaches. Would not hesitate to stay again, or recommend this property. August 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Area Attractions
Area Attractions
Select to close.
Area Attractions Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Book the Holiday Inn Express Calgary NW - University Area to stay at one of our new Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading