• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CALGARY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
McMahon Staduim
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
Canada Olympic Park
Distance From Hotel:9.3KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking included in room rate. Above ground parking and secure key card access to underground parking provided.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:49
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary,
View More
The NEWEST addition to the North West of Calgary, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is conveniently located just off of 16th Ave and Banff Trail NW. The hotel is steps away from the Banff Trail C- Train Station, only 7 minutes to Calgary's Downtown City Center. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University provides great convenience to many points of interest in the Calgary area such as McMahon Stadium, Canada Olympic Park, Pengrowth Saddledome, University of Calgary, Calgary Zoo, Telus Science Center and more. Relax in one of our elegant rooms that feature modern decor and ammenties including free wifi internet, mini kitchette, executive work space with ergonomic chair. Enjoy 42" Flat Screen TV with HD channels. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast buffet and complimentry 24 hour coffee/tea. Take advantage of our heated indoor Pool/whirlpool with waterslide or energize in the new fitness center. You can use our 24 hour Business Center to put the finishing touches on work or surf the net for directions to local sites/restaurants. Our property features 2500 square feet of Meeting Space and is the perfect place for your Corporate meetingor Special Event. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites NW Calgary University is ready to make your trip a success. We are sorry our pool, waterslide and whirlpool are out of service for the June 6-8 weekend. Our guests will have complimentry use of another pool in the area.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Banff Trail is walking distance to McMahon Stadium and LRT station

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 108 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Helpful and Comfortable For last minute arrangements, especially during a time when all hotels were full or very busy, the reservation process and dealing with the hotel staff were very helpful. The room was comfortable, clean, good location, and a perfect value for my planned stay. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality room and helpful service. Not only was the room nice and reasonable in price, but the shuttle service was particulary helpful. It picked us up when we dropped the rental car off the night before our departing flight and again the next day at the airline terminal. Good service and helpful folks. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight with Grandson My wife and I had a very nice overnight stay with our 2 year old Grandson. Everything was great including the staff and the room.We will stay again soon at this location. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Spot! I think I just wrote a review to the wrong hotel...This Holiday Inn had higher room rates, I believe there was some convention going on, so my room was $50 per night more than my next stay is. Rooms are GREAT! Nice little mini-bar area with fridge and bar sink. bathroom was fine, room was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was just great. I have no complaints, other than one that wasn't their fault. Someone in the room next door was...busy let's call it, at all hours of the night, moaning, groaning, really the loud variety. Again, not the hotel's fault. I will stay there again, as it was really nice! Lots of parking, restaurants nearby, great clean lobby! June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant place had a Great stay Have stated here a few times all ways look forward to staying here when on the move . the rooms are clean and relaxing the breakfast has good choice to eat and drink . Would tell family and friend to stay . Great place to sleep. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything about this hotel was first class Very comfortable beds. Relaxed atmosphere. Suites roomy. Cleanliness excellent. Staff very knowlegable, helpful and polite. Will definately stay here again and highly recommend it to others June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Quiet The hotel was close to major roads and the airport. It was clean, modern and quiet. The buffet offered omlets, pancakes, sausages and a variety of cereals and assorted. Free WiFi was nice. I would stay here again. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff The kids love the pool and water slide. The staff is always very accommodating and helpful. Location is close to many restaurants and the airport. June 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No to-door Invoice Service, Eh? I'm not sure why, and do not care why, this hotel did not slip my invoice under my door the morning of check-out. I have come to rely upon the service as standard. When it did not happen the second stay at this Holiday Inn, and I had to return to the hotel because I forgot to stop by the front desk to retrieve it when I checked out, I asked to see the management. The very nice young lady said that if I request the service, then I'll get the service, and made a note that reassured me this would happen during my next stay. So BEWARE, and ASK for the service: Unlike almost all other hotels, and all Holiday Inns, it does not happen automatically. June 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Very good customer service- plan to stay here more :), Thanks team. May 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced, Broken toilet Very expensive as compared to other Holiday Inn's. Not worth the extra amount as rooms are average. My toilet was leaking when flushed during my stay, making the entire floor wet. May 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not happy When I book, my room it indicated to be away from elevator. You had me right near the elevator, hearing every person getting off and on. My sleep is every important to me. Being a platinum level you would think to check the comment selection, of the booking. I guess that does not happen even if you book it a month in advance. When I check out, the gentlemen ask me how my stay was and I told him that, I did not enjoy my stay, here! He said I should have put that in your comment selection when checking in. I told him it is in there, all the time. So he checks my booking and the comment was in there in that selection. He said I my sorry that this happen to me. May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay Room was clean & great size, beds comfortable, like pillow sellection. Left before breakfast but 24-hr coffee service and apples/oranges worked great as substitue. Complimnetary bottle of water was nice touch. May 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Quiet, and nice. Nothing more than what is expected which is all I expect... May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in Airport Area We thoroughly enjoyed an overnight stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They immediately recognized us as Platinum Members and we had a wonderful room with a quiet peaceful stay. We will be back! April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service with Awesome Staff I stay there everytime that I visit Calgary . Excellent Service with Awesome Staff . I find the Staff to be Very accommodating ! Thank you for Everything ! April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly good, spacious and comfortable I was in Calgary for 2 weeks on business. This Holiday Inn Express & Suites was perfect for my needs. The suite I had was adequately equipped and had an excellent working area. I will stay there again next time. March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Accommodating Hi I would like to Thank everyone at the Hotel for the amazing services. The Friendly and Knowledgable staff are always willing to help us with any questions we may have about the city. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable. The G.M. and staff we very helpful, we had faxes to send and a package was delivered and we had packages to be sent out I can always count on the team for their help and support. I can't Thank them enough. You truly are amazing!! March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I have on several occasions to you, made remarks about the parking at this hotel, and there has never been any change. It's same old same old. Has anyone reviewed this problem after people mention it in a review? I will review the problem again so that you know what I am talking about. The parking spaces have been made exceptionally narrow and therefore vehicles end up taking one and a half spaces reducing the number of actual parking spaces. The hotel allows people to leave their vehicles there while they are holidaying elsewhere. There seems to be no organization as to where these people are allowed to leave their vehicles and these too, take the extra space leaving very few spaces available for the hotel guests. Especially when the hotel is full. This is extremely frustrating and will be the main reason for us to look for other hotels to stay at. The hotel does not have the parking space to to accomodate the vehicles where people leave them for a week plus while they are holidaying elsewhere. I will be very interested in seeing whether anything will be done regarding this problem. If nothing is done there is no use in asking for a guest review. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service The HIE is a great place to stay at. Rooms are immaculately clean.Breakfasts are fresh and tasty. Staff are all friendly. I recommend anyone wishing to experience a great stay to try the HIE at Sherwood Park on Broadmore or the HIE in Calgary at Gateway near the airport. February 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay, near the airport From the airport shuttle drivers, to the front staff, the cleanliness of the room, it was quiet, everything worked, just a super value for travelers, business, or pleasure. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Calgary. February 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Little things add up. While the property is well located and the hotel, common & individual rooms well appointed there are still - in my opinion - some "little details" that should be dealt with. 1. The no-host complimentary breakfast is still served 30 minutes too late. Many travelers need to be 'out-the-door' near to or just after 6am but the breakfast service doesn't 'officially' start until 6:30. Earlier you can get some minimum nourishment but the point is breakfast is served TOO LATE. 2. If you are a Priority Club Member, your status may be recognized; however, it is only at 'check-in' and service deminishes after the 1st night. And if you possess "platinum status" you do NOT receive any consideration for an upgrade as is required under the terms-and-conditions. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facilities Front staff was nice. Had some trouble figuring out I had 2 nights booked separately but it got fixed. Was not greeted as Priority Member (other HI hotels also offer refreshments/snacks), but did receive the complimentary late check-out. Hot tub was under renovation, which would have nice to know prior to booking. January 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Expect to Use the Internet This hotel cannot get their internet issues resolved. If you are planning on staying here for business and need to get ANY work done, you might want to stay some where else. January 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice accomodation Short stay, did not eat breakfast, so not sure what they have. Is close to the airport, but the construction detour makes for a longer drive to the airport. Staff was very friendly, the room was clean and very nice. Will definetly stay there again. January 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Horrible Desk Staff Don't stay here! Not worth the money or headaches the desk staff will give you. I never was greated as a platinum member when I arrived and received nothing but attitude when checking out. December 20, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Attitudes Front desk manager Kim was very rude and should not be greeting public. I did not receive priority check-out. I paid maximum price upon check -in. No regard for Plantimum Elite status. December 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff at this location were helpful and knowledgeable. Leaving early in the morning the staff let me know that construction on my way to the airport could delay me. The staff then provided me with alternate route information. The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. It is in walking distance to a nice restaurant. I would recommend this location to anyone. December 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Staff is always helpful and kind, a very well managed business December 16, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum membership not respected I have stayed at your hotel on many occasions and you don't offer any of the platinum member privileges. Not once have I been offered an upgrade or even apologized for not having any upgrades available. No snacks, water or anything. infact I find that the service culture is completely lacking in this hotel. The Alberta work climate is an issue however you should hold to your policies. December 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Area Attractions
Area Attractions
Select to close.
Area Attractions Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading