Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 128 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Notch Staff The staff is very accomodating and helpful. The location is perfect for our needs next to Cardiff, Solana Beach, Del Mar, and Encinitas. The beds are comfortable, the wifi is fast, and the showers have plenty of hot water...what more can you want! January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away From Home We are frequent guests in this hotel and the staff treat us like family. Since we love to golf, we find this location to be very convenient to several great courses and almost anything of interest in the area.This hotel is extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. We find this hotel to be very quiet which also accounts for a good night sleep. The exercise room has a recumbent bike (which I use daily when there) and two treadmills. The breakfast offers a wide selection of breakfast items and all are fresh daily and very good.. Just one time in the exercise room there were no towels. When I reported it to Holly at the front desk, minutes later the towels appeared. Andrew, the hotel manager is extremely professional at the same time very friendly. He runs a very nice hotel that is very well taken care of. His entire staff does a great job of fulfilling any of your needs or requests.We visit this area often and wouldn't think of going to any other hotel. Our compliments to the entire staff! January 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay...except for the clogged bathtub drain :( This hotel was nice, the front desk staff VERY courteous and helpful (a very nice gentleman on the evening of 1/19/14 helped us find AND made copies of lined paper my daughter needed). The room (#110) was nice and roomy, comfy bed too. The sofa bed was ok. Our only problem was with the bathtub. By the time you were halfway through your shower, the water was almost at ankle level. This was pretty gross especially since we were at the beach, so we were all so eager to get the funk off of us. The next morning, Sunday 1/19/14, my husband called the front desk to report it and the girl there said she'd call someone about it. Nobody ever came...then we mentioned it to the (very nice# housekeeper just to see if she had anything she could use to help us. She couldn't help us and sent someone else to see what he could do #I believe he was also part of housekeeping, also very courteous#. He told us that nobody would be able to fix it until the next day, so I guess there are no bldg. maintenance people on duty Sundays. That was fine, but you'd think the front desk girl would have told that to my husband instead of saying she'd send someone to fix it. Geesh. My husband happened to have a tool he used to try to get the clog out...and boy, was that DISGUSTING!! When it's not even your house and countless people have stayed there, it's just a whole different ballgame of GROSS. #WE EVEN HAVE A PICTURE OF THE HORROR) This helped and the tub didn't fill up AS MUCH. My toddler had to take her bath standing up. The whole horrible shower thing did put a damper on our weekend, and waiting for it to drain before anyone else could shower kind of threw us off time-wise. Pretty inconvenient. As long as we don't have to endure the whole non-draining bathtub ordeal again, we'd definitely come back here. Breakfast is fun, decent varieties too. Thanks for reading :) January 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed comfortable; handy location This location is close to many interesting places and easy to access from the highway. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned well. The breakfast room managed to serve a lot of people without running out of things. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great! This is our favorite HIE in the San Diego area! The staff is friendly, the rooms comfy and the location perfect for the Cardiff/Encinitas/La Costa area. The manager, Andrew, is very helpful and a lot of the staff has been there for a long time like the man in the breakfast area. We stay here three or four times a year while visiting family in the area. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great breakfast Enjoyed our stay and the breakfast the next morning was great! December 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay in room 246 Rooms were clean and staff was excellent. The problem we had was being across the laundry room. The room would shake when the dryer was on a certain cycle. Also, we had to listen to an annoying sound for the full 60 hours we were there. Almost sounded like a helicopter pad above us...or even being at a luau listening to the drums. Only time you couldn't hear it is when the A/C was on. Mentioned it to the front desk and the lady said it could be the piping. December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive Staff I sleep late and have the do not disturb sign on my door until 11 or 12pm. I don't, however, think that this should exempt the chambermaid from making up the room in the early afternoon. Two out of three first days that I stayed there my room was not made up. I went to the front desk and told them, very nicely, and they said that they had people there until 4pm and that my room should have been made up. It was attended to the remaining days, but since 2 out out 5 days weren't taken care of, I asked the manager if he would compensate me for it on my final bill. He did take off a reasonable amount for my inconvenience and I was satisfied with that. As an aside, I worked as a chambermaid one summer during college and we worked an 8 hour day, 8-4, and had 12 rooms to do. We wouldn't think of just leaving without having one of our rooms done. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service & Good Value Stayed for 2 nights in fall of 2013, the service people were very professional and courteous. The pool was not large enough to swim in, but the property was nicely located right off of Interstate 5 at Birmingham just east of Cardiff-by-the-Sea. The beds were decent but, I wasn't a fan of either their "Firm" pillows nor their "Soft" pillow selection in the room. The shower functioned well with the right amount of pressure and easy-to-figure-out controls. Was there for business in San Diego and the morning traffic southbound was manageable. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in North County San Diego, California The Holiday Inn Express in Cardiff by the Sea (North of San Diego) is the best choice for lodging in Southern California. We are repeat customers because the greatest asset at this hotel is the staff who excels in every facet of customer service. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast are good. The location of the hotel is ideal being situated mid way between attractions as Sea World and Legoland. But the main reason to stay here is the hotel staff. My wife and I had booked a two night stay to celebrate our grandson’s 12th birthday. However, due to my wife having a skateboard accident on day two of our trip, it became a two week stay with my wife spending a week in the hospital while I stayed at the hotel. Prior to the accident upon initial registration, we were greeted with a great smile by the Front Desk associate. She excelled in her amicable attitude which made us “feel at home.” This feeling was prevalent with all the front desk personnel who always asked my wife’s condition when I returned to the hotel from the hospital. The hotel General Manager is an outstanding manager as he recognizes his customer's concerns. He inquired about my needs while my wife was in the hospital and daily followed up on her condition. Upon her discharge, he moved us to a handicap room and furnished it as desired. My wife convalesced for a week at the hotel before we were able to return to our home in Tucson. If you want to find great customer service which is genuine, Holiday Inn Cardiff by the Sea, should be your hotel of choice while in the San Diego area. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast; quiet location The rooms are comfortable and quiet--at least in the back, away from the freeway. The breakfast has a wide variety of choices and is quite good. Some areas for improvement: 1. The ice machine is on the west side of the lobby. If you are staying in the back on the east side, it is a good block, or block-and-half, walk to get ice. There needs to be some closer availability for ice in the rear hallway. 2. There wasn't enough counter space in the bathroom to place a toiletry bag. The toilet had no cover to put down, so if you put some items on the back tank, they could fall in the toilet. Needs a small shelf for one's personal items. 3. Room rates for singles should be lower than that for 2 or more persons. One person does not use double towels, supplies, or eat double food. This is a pretty large single supplement. All that said, this is a nice place to stay, and I have stayed here several times. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Clean, quiet rooms. Good Location. Would stay again. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent stay This is a very nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. The staff are very helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to make our stay as good as possible. We used the spa and pool and both were clean and well maintained. There is a great Mexican fast food located right next to the property with great food and affordable prices. We would highly recommend this property if you need a place to stay along the north county coast! October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service! The room was great, comfortable and clean. The staff was very cheerful and pleasant. Breakfast was pretty good. We were very glad we choose this hotel for the night. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I enjoyed my stay The person who checked me in actually seemed appreciative of my platinum status and my visit. Most of the time I feel the acknowledgement is just part of the check-in speech. The best part about my stay was the proximity to the beach. I walked there and back and was able to get a good workout. Not into walking then there are ample restaurants with parking, which allow you to enjoy a drink/dinner and watch the sun set. I would definitely recommend the hotel for business or pleasure. October 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Score 8 of 10 My wife and I had a great stay. Only one minor discomfort pillows to soft, even the "firm" ones. Staff was excellent, all of them. Location, perfect. It was good! October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by this was an easy stay room was a little dark, (but we chose bottom floor) but very comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel was busy but not noisy, young man on the night desk very helpful and polite, and the pool area was nice too...the bed was comfortable....really enjoyed our nights there and would return....good job. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Bad Experience Happily Resolved I have stayed at this hotel before on several occasions and was disappointed this last time I stayed here. I had my credit card compromised and the room smelled and there were stains on the carpet. I was very upset and called the front desk, the manager called me back from my previous review and he reversed the charges and gave me my money back and apologized for the condition of the room. He did ask that I give his hotel another chance and I agreed. I can easily recommend this hotel as the management staff really does try to make it right which is rarely seen now days from businesses and corporations. I do think this chain of hotels is one of the most responsible as they care about their customers. This hotel is located very close to many great amenities like the Del Mar dog beach, and downtown Carlsbad, downtown Encinitas, and it accepts dogs. It is very quiet and easy to access from the freeway without the freeway noise. This hotel does have free Wi-Fi and free breakfast with many great breakfast choices, and they do not charge parking fees as some hotels do. September 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel ..Enjoyed my brief overnight stay enroute to San Diego airport. Check-in staff was pleasant and the room was very comfortable and clean as well. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient beach location and nice environment I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a family reunion. Initially, I could not figure out how to make the room comfortable but eventually did figure it out. The room is laid out nicely with the necessary plugs integrated into the lamps for charging of all of our electronics. The bed was quite comfortable with enough pillows. The room even had a small refrigerator to boot. Upon check-in, I was provided two water bottles for my two night stay. A very nice touch. The hotel is 5 minutes to the beach by car and 20 minutes if one wanted to walk. My two complaints were the view and the location of the pool. My room on the 2nd floor overlooked part of the roof of the building and had bird poop on the window. The pool is located in the parking lot, not exactly an inviting site. Thus, I chose not to use it. If it was located somewhere else on the property, I may have used it. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We have stayed at this HIE several times now. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are good. Nice and clean, on the large side, with a desk and a chair/ottoman. The bed was nice, not hard but not soft, firm and comfy. For what they offer the price is a very good value. September 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Disappointed The room prep was incomplete. The toilet did not evacuate properly and was not fixed in spite of multiple reports to the front desk. The desk clerk was very apologetic and promised to get someone to fix the problem right away, but her polished execution of the scripted apology mantra did not make up for the fact that the problem was not fixed. The management of this property seems to be getting a little shabby. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD CHOICE A friendly and knowledgeable staff and a great location to points North and South. Will stay here Again ! ! August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, great location This hotel was a great value. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Hotel is in a great location and had free breakfast and parking. Will definitely stay here again. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you The gentleman at the front desk when I checked in Sunday night Aug 18 was just outstanding and compassionate to the family emergency that required my stay at the hotel. Many kudos for his performance. But you make answering this survey ridiculously difficult August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I spent the night here with my elderly parents. The staff was friendly and the room clean and spacious. We had a very enjoyable stay. One thing that bugs me though, and it's a personal thing, but it drives me crazy when the sheer drapes blow up when the air conditioner comes on. Besides that, everything was great! August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Modern, Well-Located, Good Staff My two night stay for business was very comfortable, in a spacious king room with all necessary amenities. Even facing the highway, with the windows open, the steady hum of traffic was not disturbing. With the windows closed, it was hard to hear any sounds at all from outside. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheerful, which helps make any hotel stay more pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convient Location and Nice Facilities Good location near many popular attractions. Friendly staff and very helpful. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel. The hotel, staff and breakfast were all great. the only thing I did not give an excellent rating on was the value because the hotel parking of 10 dollars a night seemed not only excessive but unnecessary. However did not ruin the experience at the hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk Hollie was exceptional. She was professional, friendly, and very helpful. She set the tone for a great experience and stay. The breakfast room is small and staff did not keep everything stocked without being asked. Room was nice, roomy and comfortable with the exception of a very small bathroom with poor design of the door blocking the sink. Great location. WIFI wAs slow but we were on holiday and had our own access point with us. Found crayon under nightstand August 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>