• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 25.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. Korean

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 25 USD per day, 100 USD Maximum per stay. Maximum weight is 50 lbs. Larger dogs available with management permission.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Moonlight State Beach
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Quail Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
La Jolla Shores Beach
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Del Mar Fairgrounds and Horse Race Track
Distance From Hotel:4.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:115
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:101
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:54
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:101
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

Stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Encinitas Cardiff Beach Area near LEGOLAND California and just five minutes from the Del Mar Fairgrounds

If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the Cardiff State beach, and the Pacific Coast Grill, a fantastic dining experience, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice.

Our San Diego North
View More

Stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Encinitas Cardiff Beach Area near LEGOLAND California and just five minutes from the Del Mar Fairgrounds

If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the Cardiff State beach, and the Pacific Coast Grill, a fantastic dining experience, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice.

Our San Diego North hotel is just minutes from California's most exciting and relaxing attractions, including Birch Aquarium, Balboa Park, SD Wild Animal Park, LEGOLAND, SeaWorld, Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Self Realization Meditation Gardens, the San Elijo Campground, Swamis, Downtown Encinitas, Cedros Shopping District in Solana Beach, Carlsbad Village, Oceanside Pier, Tamarack Beach, and the Palomar Airport in Carlsbad.

In town for the horse show? Our hotel has special discounts with Blenheim Equisports and the Del Mar Horsepark. For our work-oriented guests searching for San Diego hotel deals we offer many business services, including newly upgraded high-speed wireless internet access throughout the entire hotel. We also offer close proximity to popular area companies, such as Calloway, ISIS, Camp Pendleton, UC of San Diego, the Scripps Hospital in Encinitas and La Jolla, and we are close to many outpatient plastic surgery centers!

Stay Smart with us!

View Less
Features
When you're searching for hotels near San Diego, make sure that you check out the Holiday Inn Express® Encinitas Cardiff Beach Area. Enjoy close proximity to area beaches and local attractions.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 151 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excelente servicio Felicito excelente servicio y atencion al cliente , gracias a Chayanne y linda quienes me orientaron y brindarosn excelente servicio, la habitacion muy amplia, comoda, limpia, asi comotodas sus ares de piscina, comedor. los alimentos calientes y abundantes. El precio adecuado al de habitacion. November 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfy place to stay My family and I spent a night and it was very agreeable. November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyed our stay Pros: friendly staff, ample free parking, great breakfast, clean, quiet, good pool, easy access from freeway. Cons: cramped quarters. could use an arm chair, needs a table to eat at. November 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Not bad, but dripping shower head was annoying. The room looked modern, except for the A/C-Heater which smelled funny. Not the best experience, but for the price I guess it was acceptable. November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and comfortable bed We have stayed at this hotel multiple times and will do so again. Great breakfast selection. Only wish there were a few simiple items (juice, cereal, yogurt, etc.) available for those of us that must leave prior to 6:30. The hotel certainly has all amenities available. If we want to be critical, the bathroom counter is tiny - room for only 1 person in there at a time. Towels had holes in them. TV was disappointing - all analog stations with poor selections. Other than that - all was great. November 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and good room. I stayed for approximately one month for business. The staff was GREAT! The room was good. I wish they had a few rooms set up for extended stay (kitchenette) but I understand that may not be in their business model. The WiFi connection was really good. I took away some stars for the following reasons. I was disappointed that Business Center did not have a scanner or fax available, I had to bother the staff multiple times to send documents for me. The breakfast was had about a three day rotation in variety and I had some billing issues. The billing issues were quickly resolved by the staff. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay - enjoyed the hotel The hotel met everyone of my needs and expetations. I will be returning. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by unexpected pleasure I usually stay in Encinitas when I travel to southern California. This trip, I chose to try the Holiday Inn Express in Carlsbad which is a short drive from Encinitas. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property, the guest rooms and the free breakfast. I am so glad that I discovered the Holiday Inn Express and will plan to use Holiday Inn Express in other cities on my travels. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful weekend in Carlsbad! The accomdations were perfect. Due to the size of our family, we rented three rooms. The rooms were clean; nice bathrooms and we enjoyed a good breakfast every morning. The accommodations were perfect. I do wish there were rooms with tubs. The hot tub in the evening was enjoyable November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall excellent the only disappointment was breakfast which was a wee bit above average. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This was the 1st time we've stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. We enjoyed the rest we had. The breakfast was great and what we expected. We'll stay here again if we're in the area. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Great Experience The entire experience was excellent from arrival to sleep to staff to breakfast. The property is new and offers neat and clean lobby, rooms and friendly staff. I will stay there again when I am in the area. Thank you. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hoilday Meeting Karen and the staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Carlsbad made my last minute Holiday meeting a great success. The staff was so willing to help and offer assistance when needed and made all my employees feel super special. I will continue to use this property to host meetings for future events and will for sure be staying here more often. Thank you Karen :) October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Time to Update the Rooms This hotel is a good value. The staff was great. The first room we went into smelled bad. Had a strong musty/moldy smell. I told the front desk and they upgraded us to a better room. So thanks a bunch! I have three suggestions: 1. Figure out where that smell is coming from and fix it. Probably the AC unit or old carpet? 2. It's time to replace some of the furniture in the rooms. It's worn and old. 3. Plant a bunch of trees and landscaping between the road and the pool area to make it feel more secluded. We did enjoy our time there esp being so close to the beach. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with nice amenities! This is one of the nicer HI Expresses that I've stayed in, everything in the hotel was very clean, the hallways were well lit, and the bathroom was very nice! October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great place! I would totally recommend staying here! Top notch service and facility. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Hotel at Reasonable Price Great quality, clean hotel at a reasonable price. Includes a free, expanded breakfast including hot food items which saves additional money especially when traveling with small children. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and quiet Great location and really impressive staff. I highly recommend this HIE. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value What a great place to stay, for couples or families. Close to everything. The beach was a short walk and we loved the shopping nearby. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location near the beach and LEGOLAND... clean, breakfast was good.. choices for the kids. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location - new property great place. This hotel is located close to the beach and "the village" which offer several great restaurant. The traffic between the hotel and SAN was much better than I anticipated. it all worked for me and I will stay at this location on my next visit to Carlsbad. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel. I'll be back. This hotel has the quality of more expensive beachside accommodations but costs less. The staff are attentive and helpful and the rooms are very clean and inviting. I thoroughly recommend this spot. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location A great location. The hotel is close to the ocean, the outlets, and theme parks. The breakfast is great and would be ideal for adults as well as kids! The staff was efficient and friendly. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice accomodations We enjoyed our stay while our house was fumigated for termites. We enjoyed a nice walk to the beach for the sunset and enjoyed the pool area swimming and playing card games. The staff was incredibly friendly. My only complaints are the lack of towel racks in the bathroom and the quality of the breakfast. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Friendly Staff and Pleasant Stay Nice Clean Place. Great Service and Friendly Staff October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Modern remodel with high value. Comfortable room with easy access to beaches, freeways and restaurants. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and Location Loved the location! Only 3 blocks from the ocean and we had a beautiful view! Free WiFi, parking and breakfast! What more could you ask for?? September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel A very good experience over all. The staff were great and able to accommodate odd requests like can we store a surf board? The room was nice and cozy. Only complaint not really a complaint? Could have used a little more light in the bathroom. Bed was great. September 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Billing Never received final bill and was charged extra $5.00 for what??? September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excelente opción cerca de Legoland CA Disfrute mucha la estancia y por supuesto que regresaría a este Hotel September 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading