• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel
View More

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Lynda.com, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara.
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting
View More
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting facilities. Guests will enjoy our refreshed complimentary hot breakfast including new healthy food choices. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new hotel!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 375 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend GetAway Love this place. I make frequent trips to Ventura and this is always where I stay. Great location, accommodating staff, and always clean. Like the new upgrades to the rooms. Looking forward to my next stay. July 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very good and not so good. We went to the Crowne Plaza Hotel through a promotion at my workplace which allowed us discounts on our stay. The discounts were fairly good. The hotel is in a beautiful location and I expect that most all of the rooms have a nice view of the Pacific Ocean. We learned that it is a pet-friendly hotel, which is nice to know if we decide to visit again and bring our 2 dogs. We were disappointed when we received a room with 2 double beds when we specifically requested a queen. Wanting to sleep together made it a bit cramped. I also found the bed VERY UNCOMFORTABLE!! Another thing I was disappointed in was that our room did NOT have Wifi access. If I wanted to use my iPad, I had to pay around $10 per day. What planet does the management live on? Everyone has smart phones and pads and I wasn't sure if we did not have internet access because our room was from the promotion and perhaps these guests are treated differently. I complained to the front desk and one of the women there was able to accommodate my request...which I was quite grateful for. Part of the reason for the get-away was to do some online research from my iPad while in a lovely setting. The best thing about the hotel was the C-Strret restaurant. We had the MOST DELICIOUS meal there that we've had in ages!! The seafood risotto was out of this world and my husband loved his swordfish steak. We highly recommend the restaurant. June 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location We loved the location. Swimming pool is at a warm 82 degrees, which is nice after a cold swim in the ocean. Staff are polite. However, I would have like the front desk staff to have asked me to enjoy the beach while the room is being clean by asking for our cell numbers. That would have been excellent and going above and beyond. We'll what happens next time, because we will stay there again! June 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay if you want to sleep This hotel has very poor soundproofing. I was woken at 5 by road noise, 6 by the train passing outside, then again by fellow hotel guests. The air con units make a racket and cannot be switched off as far as I could see. I have stayed at airport hotels overlooking the runway and had better nights sleep. I do not recommend staying here. The decor in the rooms is old and tired. Housekeeping is also a little slow in responding to requests. It took an hour for towels to arrive. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff, great experience This was our second time staying here and it was again, a great experience. I do not understand how people can complain about the staff. They went out of their way to make things great. Makayla was wonderful and checked on us to make sure we had everything we needed. Everyone we encountered had above average professional skills. We had appetizers at the bar and dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing and the service excellent. Listening to the staff talk to other people on the phone and in person they were professional and courteous, best thing was I never heard them make negative comments or snide remarks afterwards, like you so often do. I don't know who is training your staff but they are doing a great job. As for the hotel, yes it is old but I saw tons of staff cleaning and polishing things throughout the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and there is nothing anyone can do about the freeway noise, and it's not that bad. We slept with the sliding glass door open and enjoyed the sea breeze and slept great. We will be back next year!!! June 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Service in the Hotel Restaurant I went down to the restaurant for breakfast, a waiter came and took my order. I sat there for 30 min no sign of the original waiter. I stopped another waitress and she said she would go check on my order. She never returned, I ended up leaving after 40 min, with no breakfast. On my way out I seem that same waitress in another part of the hotel. Since the restaurant is affiliated with the hotel, I would consider another hotel before selecting this one again. June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Return Review My family and I stayed here a month prior for one night on our way back up to the Bay Area from a family trip to Disneyland. One night was all it took for us to re-book for a weekend stay. We stayed on the pier side the month before and it was a beautiful view from our room. On this stay we have a view to the west and the sunsets were amazing! The hotel is the only one on the beach and I can say that comparably, a hotel room on the beach anywhere else would have cost us double or even triple what we paid which makes this a great deal anywhere. The hotel is within walking distance to Ventura's Main Street which offers shoppers and diners a multitude of dining options. We're thinking about returning if just to sit on a lounger and watch the waves. The hotel is older, so don't expect too much from the rooms...yet. I know they're remodeling, so give them some time to get all the upgrades done. My only con on them is their parking situation. They have their secured lot, but it can fill up fairly quickly. While they allow you to park in the structure on the other side of the building, there are some worrysome characters that linger in the space between the hotel and the parking structure, so if you drive off to have dinner and come back, pray you have parking in the hotel lot and won't have to park in the structure. Other than that, this hotel is well worth your stay! June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room need some upgrade Great location, good price, but room need some upgrade. June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great room and service I thought the hotel was located in a great place, it was quiet and staff was very friendly. June 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice We enjoyed our weekend get away. Being so close to the coast made the morning walk more enjoyable. Room service and the late checkout were a nice treat. Only wish we could stay again without the jump in price for the upcoming salsa festival and hot air balloon event. Would have loved to bring the fam! June 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location I choose the Crowne Plaza primarily because of its location. To be near downtown, the promenade and the pier made our vacation. The staff was very helpful. Jesus on the 2nd floor maintenance tracked down a chair for my room, which I'd had in my rooms on past visits. The rooms were clean and the lobby was welcoming. The pool was very warm which the grandkids loved. I have a few suggestions for management. The beds could be better. They were too hard. The bar should be sending a staff member out to the pool to take orders for drinks and food. My party of six were constantly tracking down staff to place an order. Once we placed our orders, the staff were wonderful delivering it out to us. I will definitely return to Ventura and The Crowne Plaza! June 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fun beach hotel I was upgraded to a single room large suite. Loved it. I had a minor issue during my stay, but Reuben the front desk manager took care of it as usual. He's the man! June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We stayed here and enjoyed our stay greatly! The restaurant was amazing! Food and service at the restaurant was great, you have a great chef! We'll be back July 4th weekend spending more time to enjoy the beach, bar, and pool! Thanks again for a great stay! June 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location I have been staying at this location for years. I have happy with service however slow on food service. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cleaning staff was off their game Pros: Overall, a nice older hotel to stay in. Comfy beds. Good location. Great view of the ocean. Cons: Room was half made up when we entered. There was a long black hair weaving down the side of the shower. But what really bugged me was a large eaten room service order next to our door. It was there when we checked in at 3:oo, there when the maid came to finish our room at 3:30, there when I called at 6pm about it, there when we came in after dinner, there when I called at 8pm and finally picked up around 11 pm......dirty dishes on the hall floor for over 8 hours....right by my door! yuk. June 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but poor noise level I could not sleep at this hotel I had to check out early and find a quiet place to sleep over Memorial Day Weekend. Too many doors slamming in the halls and people running around. June 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room and Hotel I stayed at the hotel because it was the host hotel for the M2B Half Marathon. I was unaware the Crowne Plaza is a pet-friendly hotel. The people in the room next door to us brought a small dog with them, then went out for the evening. The dog yapped, whined, cried, and scratched furiously at whatever type of crate they had it confined in all night! My roommate and I had to get up at 3:15 for the race, but we were not able to get to sleep because of the noise from the dog. I was extremely disappointed with the entire situation, however when I complained to the manager the next morning, she was very apologetic and did her best to appease me. Despite her efforts, I will not stay at your hotel again. In addition, I found the bathroom to be ridiculously small and inconvenient for showering and dressing. June 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view! As close to the beach as you can get. Unfortunately, no ocean front rooms. Great view of Ventura and ocean from upper floor balconies. Comfortable room. Good service. Other great amenities such as bar, restaurant, and newly refurbished boardwalk. June 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful setting The atmosphere and setting on the Ventura beach is incredible with he access to running trails and the surf. Hotel lobby and staff are great and highly presentable. The rooms are starting to show their age but are still comfortable and appealing. My only complaint would be in he offering of a variety of pillows, all were too thick and firm o my liking and limited the quality of my sleep overall. Still, I would plan on returning to the hotel next time I am in the area. May 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 STAFF VERY UNFRIENDLY THE STAFF NEVER SPOKE TO US IN 7 DAYS OTHER THEN TO ACCUSE OF SMOKING IN OUR ROOM. ( WE NEVER LIT A CIG. ONE IN THE ROOM). WAS CHARGED AT CK.OUT $250.00. THE MAID SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE, HAD THE SAME BROKEN CUP IN OUR ROOM TIL I TOOK IT DOWN MYSELF THEN NEVER GOT A REPLACEMENT, CRUMBS IN THE EDGE OF TABLE ON ARRIVAL WAS THERE WHEN WE CKED OUT. FLOOR WAS NEVER VACUUMED IN THE 7 DAYS WE WERE THERE.. WE HAD TO PAY TO PARK( A FIRST FOR US, THEY DID NOT PROVIDE PARKING) THEN THE GARAGE THEY SENT US TO WASN'T TO SAFE, WATCHED THE ATTENDANT BE ATTACKED, WHEN WE TOLD THE FRONT DESK THEY SAID IT WASN'T THEIR RESPONSIBILITY. WE HAD TO PAY IN ADVANCE, NO REFUND, WE FELT STUCK THERE. WHEN WE LEFT WE CKED INTO CROWN PLAZA IN L.A. ALSO PAID IN ADVANCE, WERE NOT SURE WHAT TO EXPECT, HAVE TO SAY IT WAS WONDERFUL..WHAT A DIFFERENCE. May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect get away Just what we had in mind- the beach, a nice room, and good food. We enjoyed our executive suite with two balconies facing the ocean. My husband loved sitting on the balcony and watching the beach that he used to surf in high school. :) We ordered room service one night, and the food from the hotel restaurant is very good, the clam chowder was excellent, and the fish and chips were crispy and tastey. Love the local restuarants, walk to the peir, and the clean pool, if you want to stay out of the sand. We'lll be back. May 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overview Room was small, bathroom was extremly small, hardly room for one person. Could not enjoy sitting on balcony as freeway nosie was too loud. May 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible, Disgusting and Dirty My recommendations: DON'T STAY HERE. THE STAFF -- NOT HELPFUL AT ALL. WHEN I CHECKED OUT THE WOMEN AT THE DESK DIDN'T EVEN LOOK AT ME. SHE WAS SHUFFLING PAPERS AROUND AND KEPT DOING IT WHILE I WAS TELLING HER I WAS CHECKING OUT. DIRTY FURNITURE, STAINED CARPET, SHOWER CURTAIN DID NOT FIT THE SHOWER, SLIDING DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK AND THE ROOM SMELLED. AT NIGHT WHEN I PULLED THE CURTAIN CLOSED IT FELL OFF THE ROD ONTO THE FLOOR. THATS WHEN WE NOTICED THE BIG RIP IN THE CURTAIN ITSELF. TOWELS HAD STAINS OF TAR ON THEM AND SOME WERE RIPPED. I SCHEDULED A WAKEUP CALL AND NEVER RECEIVED IT. THANK GOD FOR CELL PHONES. VERY HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service We had a great experience, always enjoy our visits! May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodations The staff and accommodations at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach were above my expectations. The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the beach. I will visit again soon. May 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome view of beach Room was comfortable. Bathroom was not modern; no countertop. But the view and access to the beach makes up for all the. May 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by closed captioning for the hearing impaired My wife, who is deaf, was very disappointed to discover that the tv in room #505 did not offer close captioning as an option on the remote. The engineer said that he would call Direct TV for a "code"; but he never returned. My wife was unable to watch tv throughout our stay.Suggestion: upgrade remotes in order to become more "deaf friendly". You wouldn't dare run a hotel without handicapped parking or access ramps. Be aware that there are other disabilities that would appreciate equal treatment. We stayed two nights and were generally pleased with the accommodations and the staff were very friendly and helpful. $12.00 a day parking is outrageous! Location is excellent... right on the beach and a short walk to the downtown area with excellent restaurants. May 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Setting the hotel is in a wonderful setting at the pier in Ventura and the Staff is great. but that is really all I can say that is good about the place. The rooms are average, the television service is poor, May 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Did not honor corporate benefits No drinks/restaurant breakfast coupons this time. Seems to be random when / if they provide these , even though they are listed as part of the corporate rate May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodations We decided to take a vacation in our home town. Couldn't be happier with the Crown Plaza. It has everything you need including lots of local restaurants, night clubs, stores, all within walking distance. We hiked from CP to the "new" botanical garden hike (above the City Hall).. which we highly recommend. After going out for the evening... we realized that we didn't have to go anywhere at all. They were having the Ventura County Music Awards upstairs and they also have a cozy area near the bar/pool with nice firepits! May 21, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 14 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading