• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel
View More

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Lynda.com, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara.
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting
View More
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting facilities. Guests will enjoy our refreshed complimentary hot breakfast including new healthy food choices. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new hotel!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 380 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful area and a great place to stay. We came to the area to play soccer, we had no idea what a great place Ventura is. Crown Plaza gave us a safe and comfortable place to stay. The staff is incredibly friendly! August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nirvana THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL. Brevity is the soul of wit. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay always will go back It is always a wonderful stay & we cant wait to return :0) August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Business Development Over all my stay with my wife was great and look forward to doing it again soon August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Stay Ever! We had the best stay because Zeke made sure we got the rooms that accommodated us since my mom is handicapped and needed a low standing bed. He made sure we had rooms that made both of us comfortable! I would highly recommend this hotel! This place is very clean and the beds are very comfortable and both my mom and I got the best sleep we have ever had! We were at the pool both days and it was clean and relaxing and the staff was very polite and professional and always ready to help! Even the bellman were absolutely helpful and sweet!!! We had so much fun we didn't want to leave! Three days went by so fast! We will be back soon for sure! Thank you Crown Plaza Ventura for making our stay so fun and comfortable!!! We love you guys!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Limited parking in the hotel parking lot. Hotel relies on the City Parking structure on the other side of the Hotel for overflow. Works great if you have a vehicle that is less than 6'6. If not then hopefully you don't need to leave in the evening when the regular lot fills up and it is almost comical watching cars coming into the parking lot looking for a space that isn't there. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location but city needs to clean up all the seaweed on beach that also had lots of fleas in it. Nice firepit. Lots to walk to. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family vacation spot Pros and Cons of this property Pros: Fantastic location on beach within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and theaters. Cons: Rooms facing the freeway horribly loud traffic! August 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wont Be Staying Again We stayed here for part of our vacation. We made reservations 6 or more months in advance. We asked for a room on the side facing the ocean. We were told at check-in we got one on that side of the building. When we got to our room it was a room with a view of a parking garage.... not at all what we asked for. We called the front desk and they told us that they filled the other side over the weekend and there wasn't any rooms over there for our stay. Our toilet paper holder wasn't sealed to the wall so it always fell out when being used. The service was more geared toward a suit wearing business person, not a family. This hotel appears to be "classier" that what it is. We received vouchers for the restaurant downstairs and every time we went there it was a joke. Mistakes with this or that. It was like the left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing and very frustrating. The beach and ocean were the best parts about our stay at your hotel. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff, Ocean View From Every Room, Great Location! This was my second stay at the Crowne Plaza Ventura and once again, they did not disappoint! Every staff member - poolside, bar, restaurant, front desk, housekeeping, front desk, room service and management - were top notch, kind, pleasant, helpful and welcoming. The location is walking distance to the fairgrounds, shopping, restaurants (many great food options nearby) and the pier. The boardwalk is fun for long walks/jogs/bike rides. There is an ocean view from every room. The exterior looks a little dated, but inside is very clean and current. I highly recommend this hotel! August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. If you just want to get away for a few days and not travel so far this place is great. Nice pool, fire pit, Happy Hour was o.k. not great choices. The room was excellent facing the ocean and the Fair grounds. Could see the fireworks from the Fair grounds every night. Right on the beach and you could walk and not have to use your car. The room cost enough without parking charges. I wish it could be arranged that one could stay a full 24 hours. Check out is kind of early. I have been staying here since the hotel was the Holiday Inn. About 30 years every year with very few missed years. Thank you for a very nice time. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay So beautiful right on the beach had lots of fun family time at the pool, beach, nice walks down the pier and rode bikes along the beach. We will be back! August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs to improve the overall accommodations The overall accommodations in this hotel were poor. The room smelled regardless of being cleaned every day. Everything needs improvement. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Night at The Beach Our recent visit (08/09) was a wonderful experience. The hotel is an older property, however, Management has refurbished the rooms and common areas. Every room has a large balcony with an ocean view. The Ventura Pier and Boardwalk is directly in front of the hotel. Main Street in downtown Ventura is four blocks walking distance. If you want a night at the beach, with everything within walking distance, and you don't want to pay the Orange County prices, this is the place. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't get closer to the beach. Great location! Directly on the beach, wonderful views, walking distance to old town, restaurants, pier and fairgrounds. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Great location in Ventura and the best staff: friendly and helpful. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff was amazing in addition to the beautiful location! I can't say enough about how welcoming the staff was at this hotel. They contacted me in the morning before checking in to confirm the reservation and to accomodate my request to upgrade to a larger room. Not only did they place us in one of the best suites in the hotel without additional cost, they did everything in their power to assist in providing directions to the hotel since most of the roads were closed for the County Fair that was next door. One staff memeber walked outside to contact a police officer to direct us into the hotel property. I have never experienced a more welcoming and accomodating staff than the staff at this hotel. The lobby/rooms/restaurants/outdoor facilities were very clean and up-to-date. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for an enjoyable stay! August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Love the location, Great beach right out the door and plenty to do. Fantastic ocean views and nice balconies. The property is old but well maintained. The king executive is nice but expensive for the size. The bathrooms are small as older properties are. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to the Crown I could not hear myself or the front desk help on my visit with a fellow guet checking in on approx August 3, 2014due to the loud steel drum music being played in the lounge by a live person. Even the front counter person commented on how loud the music was and stated she could not hear the guests at the counter. It was an unforgetable two hours while we waited for his room to be available. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ventura Always enjoying staying here...just love the sound of the ocean. August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Declining I don't know what happened, but this place really has declined lately. Room had a wet spot that caused the room to be muggy. The bathroom had a smoky smell. My free "breakfast" consisted of a basket of pastries. No proteins, no veggies, all sugar and carbs. Might as well have been a box of donuts. Not surprisingly, there were crumbs all over my table. Then the topper, they swapped out my dresser while I was gone. Took my underwear, socks, and my iPad?!? After a call, a visit, and a search, my things were eventually returned. Thank goodness. I did get an apology, but isn't that the bare minimum called for? This place seems to be going down hill. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed The staff was very nice and helpful but the facilities were a big disappointment for the price we paid. There were ants all over our bathroom and the air conditioning would not turn off. We froze half to death. We left much earlier than planned because we could not take the temperature. Not a great mattress either. August 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room in terrible condition, service was good Did not service room for next day. Room was in poor condition and quality compared to other Crown Plaza's I have stayed in, it was more like a Holiday Inn. Hotel rate was very high. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant surprise I usually stay in Santa Barbara but the hotels I usually stay at were all booked and I decided to try Ventura. I enjoyed my accommodation and stay so much, I may not stay in Santa Barbara again. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was a great value. I enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and downtown. I will definitely be back. August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older hotel - and it shows When they built this hotel, several decades ago, it might have been on the cutting edge. But now the physical layout of its rooms is somewhat cramped and dated. The staff are very kind and helpful but the restaurant could do with more of them and with better training. Later arriving guests should never be served before earlier ones, promised accessories (e.g. bread) should eventually appear (ours didn't); and orders should be accurately executed Ours weren't). The location on the boardwalk is a plus and the ocean views - though all oblique - are nice. Passing trains and traffic on the 101 can be annoying, especially the train klaxons late at night. The cost is way above the value delivered. It might be appropriate for a brand new facility in this location but not for one this old and more or less antiquated. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Loved the stay and ocean view from my room. The room was very clean, room service was fast and good! Would stay again.. August 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location needs updating Great location right on the beach, within walking distance to town. Booked a ocean view room on the internet. The picture looked great.... but what I got was a room looking out over the freeway. If you went to the corner and looked out the window, you could see the ocean. Small deck had water dripping on it from the deck above and the noise from the freeway was deafening. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff, Amazing Views & A Comfy Bed = A Great Weekend! My daughter & I stayed here for a Paul F. Foster(Navy) reunion & I can't say enough how helpful and accommodating the staff were. We arrived early, so the bellhop stored our luggage for us and we were able to enjoy the pool and lounge areas while waiting for our room to be ready. The rooms are pretty and clean and the bed is so comfortable it is tempting to forego the beach & sleep in! The location is right on the beach near the pier but within easy walking distance to the quaint downtown shops, wine tastings, and restaurants. My favorite part of this hotel is the outdoor lounge area around a huge fire pit in view of the ocean. Thank you for a memorable experience! August 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by outdated & noisy The brand would suggest a better content than we got. Amtrak keeps you awake until last train has run by. Including the one at 3 am... Room furniture old, shabby. A loose microwave on separate white fridge is not what ì expect booking a crown plaza hotel... August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, needs work Great location close to the fairgrounds and right on the boardwalk. The lobby and restaurants are all clean, the staff is friendly. But the room was dirty and needed a facelift. August 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading