• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel
View More

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Lynda.com, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 456 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Anniversary Ever I called the hotel 6 weeks in advance to reserve a room for my wife and my anniversary. At that time I informed the guest services representative at your hotel that the room was for my anniversary and that I would like to have a nice ocean view, preferably in a lower floor room. The representative assured me that she would do her best to ensure we had a “lovely view and a nice room.” Upon arriving and opening our door, we discovered that from the room, we had a very lovely view of the parking lot above the Aloha Steakhouse. After being disregarded by the desk representative, and because we wanted to get to our anniversary dinner, we left the room without saying anything to the evening staff. After dinner, we returned to the room and enjoyed a sleepless night of hearing the elevator doors open and shut and lovely hotel patrons loudly traveling down the hallways. I suppose when we made the reservation, and when I confirmed my requests, the staff identified a ninth floor room with a parking garage view that is DIRECTLY across from the elevators to be a good room for a couple on their anniversary night. The following morning, we traveled down the C-Street “Restaurant” aka conference room for breakfast. My wife and I ordered the pancakes. I ordered coffee and my wife ordered tea. The first cup of my coffee was great. My wife was very quickly given some hot water, but the servers took 10 minutes before I lost my patience and asked if they could be interrupted from sitting around joking with one another to bring her some tea. After another 10 minutes (20 minutes since ordering the pancakes), my cup had been empty for about 8 minutes when I again lost my patience and waved at one of the servers after I had asked twice for a refill. We were then told (24 minutes of waiting) that there was a “pancake accident” and that it would be another 3 minutes. 9 minutes later, our pancakes finally showed up. Having waited for 33 minutes, I was expecting some amazing pancakes. However, the pancakes my wife and I were served were dreadful. I have eaten frozen pancakes that were better. My wife and I ate less than one bite and left. When I thought that nothing else could possibly have gone wrong, I find that we had been charged an additional $50. I assumed that the $50 was for consumables. However, the check-in representative said nothing about a $50 authorization, nor was there a sign. When I asked the representative about this, she in a very condescending manner informed me that it is standard policy, and that “most hotels” do it. I am well aware of this, as I have traveled all over the nation and the world for both leisure and business. However, MOST HOTELS either inform the customer of this verbally, or via a conspicuous sign at the front desk. In short, the less than desirable service, terrible representation of “ocean view,” and miserable excuse for a restaurant put an awful damper on my wife and my anniversary. We had high expectations from previous experiences at other Crowne Plaza locations. Clearly, The Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach is not on the same level. Had it not been for the other events of the weekend, our trip would have been ruined. From this point forward, we will be finding other arrangements in Ventura. It is unfortunate considering one of our favorite restaurants in the Aloha Steakhouse. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Happy return to Ventura We always enjoy returning to the Crowne Plaza in Ventura. It's the best location and the staff always treat you like family. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautiful California destination Simply a great place to stay at California gold right on the beach. excellent location for surfing, stand up paddle boarding, kayaking and Dog friendly beach. This hotel sits on beachfront property. Beautiful views of the ocean from the room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Definitely returning again and again here for a nice getaway from Los Angeles or ever you're coming from. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My STRESS BREAK I go to this Hotel several times a year and have only encountered one problem which was rectified to my satisfaction. Other than this it has been a sheer joy to be next to the beach relaxing and DE-STRESSING for the weekend. The staff here is excellent all the to maintenance and housekeeping BRAVO to the management. Also it is PET friendly which they always spoil my dog whenever I bring him, everyone is so nice. I live approximately 25 miles from this Hotel but whenever I go there it is like I am on a Mini Vacation and everything is wonderful Again my many thanks to ALL the STAFF at the Crown Plaza Hotel Especially the management Sincerely , Daniel L. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looking forward to the return trip We've stayed in several rooms and after giving critique to each one, we got a room that fit our needs! It was a great room! Clean as always, comfortable bed and delightful view! The room key and door did not quite agree, but after a bit of prodding, we discovered its quirkiness and all was well! The staff were very kind to give quick assistance! October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly service the staff there were very accomidating. i check in here every week and the stay is always comfortable. great bar and lounge area. internet availbale for IHG members is a nice welcoming package October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Inconsistent guest room quality, nice front desk staff the front lobby and dining area is up-to-date with a friendly staff that always greets you when you come in and out of the hotel. dining area is nice too. i've stayed here 3 times so far for business purposes and each time the bathroom quality was either good, average, or poor. the water has a weird smell too so their plumbing doesn't seem to be the greatest. the beds are comfortable and i always get a nice view of the beach. however, not sure i like that you can smoke out in the balcony and can smell smokers smoke. yuck. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, excellent place to stay in Ventura Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and view of ocean great. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful getaway The food was excellent, much better than I have experienced in most hotels, and the room was, too. The bed was so comfortable that I bought a similar bed on my way home and had it delivered the same day! The location was beautiful, right on the boardwalk of Ventura. Views from my balcony and the outdoor lounge area were stunning. I had never considered staying in this town before, but now it, and the Crowne Plaza, will be my regular spot. October 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by crowded and lack of elevator and dor a fairly good experience overall as it was nice being on water but feel my concerns should help hotel to not let these things happen much more....If this helps the hotel I feel if confirmed by reviewer I feel it is not asking too much to get a little bit of a discount if I should stay there again when the demand is low....thanks Marty October 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by too noisy Cant beat the location. The bathrooms are tiny, no counter space in the bathroom. The walls are apaer thin. The person staying next to us obviously loved to watch tv loudly till 2 in the morning with his barking dog. You can hear the tv even at moderate levels from the neighbors. When the guest in the room next door uses the bathroom you can hear them. not pleasant. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, great location Hotel is on the beach and is easily accessible to downtown dining district. September 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room with Great view This was my first trip to Ventura. loved the hotel, loved the beach. the view from my room was awesome! I also liked having a mini fridge and microwave in my room. I was able to bring a few of my special diet items without having to worry about keeping an ice chest cold. September 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All around good We were told at check-in we wouldn't be charged for parking and we were. Then my daughter and son-in-law who came with us were also charged for parking and they didn't even drive. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful views and romantic atmosphere. We were very happy with front desk staff who accommodated our request to have an improved room location. We loved the pool and enjoyed our breakfast outdoors each day. Staff were very helpful and service excellent. We will be back. September 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Ventura Ca Hotel staff inattentive to problems. No follow up from hotel management to correct problem. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location like the site and will visit again. the hotel is a little older but well kept September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Ocean View!! I slept well, I enjoyed my ocean view in the morning, during the day, after noon and all day :) Customer service was very nice. September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by grte hotel love the place clean grate staff love it well be back September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent short stay Upgraded to a suite which is always a nice bonus. Breakfast was excellent. Great location right off the beach near downtown Ventura. You can watch the surfers in the morning and football on the big screen in the bar area in the evening. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Charges A pet hate of mine additional parking charges ! I understand this where aprking is a premium in city centre locations but when I use a hotel I expect to be able to park without addtional charge. especially in acountry whre rhte car is the primary means of transport. September 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms are pretty bad This place is in serious need of an overhaul. the last time I stayed for business will be my last. My room was dirty...stains all over the carpet, stains on the walls, the curtains are so disgusting you don't want to touch them to open to the beautiful ocean view. This last time there was a brown ball on the floor that concerned me as I thought it might be animal feces...I'm assuming they allow pets because of the condition of the carpet. I called to have my room changed, the woman at the front desk she would find me a new room and call me back. I never heard from her again! I just ended up staying. I don't like to make a fuss. Nicest staff in the world though! September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location, excellent staff. The location can't be beat. All of the staff are very nice and try to make your stay more enjoyable. The food in the restaurant is delicious. You need to give it a try. The fire pit outside the bar is very comfortable and fun. It's a great place to meet others. Entertainment was great. Some customers brought instruments and started playing after the entertainment ended. Everyone joined in singing and had a great time. September 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good customer service Hotel staff were very nice and helpful with questions. September 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Big Pillows Pillows are far too big. Need 2 big and 2 normal size. The walls through out the establishment need a refresh and new wallpaper. However, the staff was very professional and really made an effort to make you feel welcome! September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fun getaway another relaxing getaway /a pleasing experience!we will be returning soon. September 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by old Old hotel, broken elevators, not enough front desk staff, small bathroom. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business became pleasure Reserved a room for business and was treated to a balcony with a view of the ocean. The ocean breeze and view with the hotel amenities made this business trip very pleasurable. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location Great location, near everything able to walk to local restaurants and shops. September 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, nice checkout time, needs some work. As a prior hotel employee myself, it is always interesting when I stay in hotels. I probably notice too many details, but I know what was expected of me and know what to expect. Some hotel staff generally were kind. Front desk receptionist upon my 11:00 p.m. check-in was not very friendly or helpful, did not provide any information about location of the room, pool hours/towels parking (I had to ask), restaurants, etc. which was disappointing. She seemed bothered that I didn't know the make and model of my rental car. Rooms were small, but well appointed with fridge, microwave, decent linens and flat screen TV. Towels were a little old and scratchy, but they were fine. Check-out time was great - 12 noon. I was in town for a running event and it was nice to be able to take a shower, rest a bit before checking out. Location is great, right next to the beach with a pool (although there was no security/keycard access restriction to the pool, so anyone and everyone was walking in (including teen locals, etc), taking chairs, etc. That said, it was comfortable. There was a lot of road/highway noise on the 7th floor, but it is between the highway and the ocean, so I sort of expected it. Elevators situation was appalling. They have three elevators and no service elevator. This means that all the hotel staff, luggage carts, food service and housekeepers have to share the common elevators. No problem for me, but it stinks for them as they seem to defer to guest and the guests were filling the elevators. Out of the three elevators, one was pretty much non-functioning the entire weekend. That meant, for the 11+ floors, all guest (and they were sold out) had to share 2 elevators. It was a nightmare. People couldn't get onto elevators with all their bags. The hotel management really needs to invest in this problem as it was incredibly bothersome. Overall, it was a decent stay. Pros of a nice, 12 p.m. checkout and location outweighed the cons. September 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading