• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel
View More

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Lynda.com, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 406 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disapointed The hotel looks good in the internet photos, but upon arrival things are a bit worn and dirty. Parking was challenging, we were sent to a room that already contained guests, bedspread had mystery stains, bathroom was not functioning well. This hotel is on the beach, and it was easily accessed. Evening and early morning walks we got to know the homeless population well. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great hotel I stayed here for a Navy reunion and it was perfect, my girlfriend and I really enjoyed the beach and the room, I was upgraded to a 2 room suite for free and it was great Dave K August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room,friendly staff & employees,Great place to take a vacation! Miranda in the office was a gem,Zeke has a natural affinity for kindness.Good people that made you feel like you were at home.I really can't think of any problems while I was there. August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Really enjoyed the hotel's location. Was walking distance to everything we wanted. Liked the pool area and very comfortable lounge chairs. When the pool got crowded the one waitress got a bit overwhelmed and we ended up going inside for bar service, but not that big of deal. Right on the beach. Which was great to have both. My only complaint was the bathroom. It looked like a somewhat recent remodel. However, it wasn't very user friendly. The sink was a pedestal sink and left no room to set your toothbrush or toothpaste down. No room to set your make-up down. There was a small shelf over the toilet but once you set your toiletries there the was no room. The lighting was really bad too. Very soft, hard to see to apply makeup. Even in the main bedroom. The tub did not drain either. Other than that I would recommend this hotel and we plan to stay there again. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ships Reunion Had good time in Grate accomidations Great View of Ocean, we had North Side, Grate room Comfortable Bed, Pillows were bit hard (Big) You can really enjoy your self areound the Fire Pit with Friends and Family in the evening and walk the Board walk any time of the day. With the Train Tracks & Freeway access is hard, and during the Day Train can bit noise, but did not here it in our room. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ship reunion stay Great service, great room, great view. The hotel made our ship's reunion very comfortable and convenient. Loved the fire pit for the evening sea stories. The views from the dining/meeting room at the top of the hotel were superb. Can't say enough for how the hotel made our reunion a memorable experience. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to the beach and great staff Pros: I love that this hotel was beach front. Staff was great! Hotel was clean, pool was clean. Great customer service. Cons: restaurant not always open & the parking lot was full Saturday night so we had no where to park our car. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff. Beautiful location and views. Helpful and friendly staff. Looking forward to my next stay. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and accomodating staff My friend and I stayed one night in order to visit with an out of town friend whose family gets together at this hotel yearly. The staff was outstanding. I had an issue with a charge and it was dealt with pleasantly and efficiently. The hotel has the feel of a tropical resort, with comfortable chairs and couches outdoors as well as indoors. Situated near the sands of the beach, the parents could watch their children playing in the sand while visiting around a choice of fire pits. The food is great, as are the drinks! We didn't want to leave, but the hotel was booked for the weekend. Next year we're going to stay for two nights rather than one. The location is fabulous, as not only is it on the beach, but restaurants, wine bars, and shopping are all within walking distance. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The worst crowne plaza The hotel smell really bad and old. Staffs are very friendly to compensate the problem of an old hotel. Second level laundry room was flooded during my stay. July 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Try another Hotel 4pm check in was late to begin with but it was close to 5pm before we were able to check in. The were several cars checking in and one bellman with one cart. We had to make several trips to the 7th floor and back to the parking lot. The staff was friendly but seemed inexperienced. Our lunch order took forever and was wrong. To their credit they didn't charge us. My wife and I ordered two glasses of their house Chardonnay and it was really bad. We told the bartender and his response was "Yea, everyone says that". The room had a small but nice patio with an ocean view. The problem was the AC unit was leaking so much water the patio was flooded. The compressor in the mini refrigerator made so much noise I had to get up twice during the night and shake it to get it to stop humming. The noise made it hard to sleep but wasn't nearly as bad as the train blowing his horn as it passed the hotel at 2am. The tracks are right across the street. My wife literally jumped off the bed. It sounded like it was coming right through our room. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing weekend My experience was mixed as I made reservations to acquire a room for the weekend The person I spoke to said the only rooms available were handicap rooms and a suite I reserved the suite. upon arrival to the hotel they did not have my reservation which later found out my Name was misspelled I was very much stressed out after an extremely busy week so I was looking forward to a nice relaxing weekend at the beach. After about 15 minutes of trying to explain to the desk attendance's my situation and that indeed I made reservations for a suite, the manager Alex came to intervene as we discussed the situation he informed me that the only suite available was a Parlor Suite with a fold out full bed. well this frustrated me further to my limits as I was told I would received a suite not a partial room in a suite. so they offered me a regular room after 30 minutes stress I decided to accept this room as there was not much choice I feel the hotel should have complimented me the room for the inconveniences of their mistakes Although in their behalf they were polite and courteous and Alex the Manager was trying to accommodate me to some extent. There was another incident where as I need to speak to the Manager Alex whom was off that Sunday and I spoke to and assistant Manager by the name of Ezekiel who was a true customer service representative and should be commended on the handling of my problem Very professional. All in all I would recommend this hotel and after my room problems although not to my satisfaction were resolved my weekend was very relaxing.. The food service and cocktail service personal were great. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Steps to the Beach in Comfort A nice getaway with all the creature comforts and amenities with a lovely pool with poolside service and live music right on Ventura Beach. Close to the pier, and walking distance to or tram to take you to the city center for local shopping and restaurants. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long weekend Nice hotel, great location on the beach and within walking distance to the restaurants in town. Side ocean view from all the rooms. Our room could have used some paint on the ceiling and updated wallpaper. Bathrooms on the small size. Otherwise everything was nice and clean and as it should be. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything you need, good vibes, great location The Crowne Plaza at the beach is a great place to stay. It's RIGHT AT THE BEACH, right on the promenade between the pier and Surfer Point (and the following nature preserve), and only a few blocks from the downtown restaurants, theater, bars and shops. The rates were fully competitive with major venues in town. The room was clean, smelled fresh and was sufficiently quiet. All cotton bedding! The furnishings are a little worn; what in Ventura isn't? And our room had everything we needed and everything worked fine. The staff is well-trained, responsive, very friendly, almost a little too out going, however, I found I did not mind them saying hi and asking how things were. And they have a pool. And the ambiance among the guests is a festival at the beach mood. I'll definitely look to stay there on my next visit. July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unclean bathroom We found a fingernail in the soap dish and hair cuttings on the sink.The housekeeping mgr inspected the room and left without returning to sanitize the bathroom. I inquired on status with front desk and was informed they are busy and will get back to us as time allows. The next time I heard from them was when I went down the following morning to address the issue, The front desk lady was very friendly but it does not discount the fact that 2 phone calls were previously made with a visit to the room for inspection without any follow up on behalf of the hotel. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service Perfect location on the beach in Ventura. Excellent service -- when we arrived the front desk person noticed that the package we had booked had been offered in error (the items were no longer available). She spoke with the manager and adjusted our rate while offering other freebies to apologize for the mistake. Great proactive service and excellent customer relations. Room was wonderful with a great view and very relaxing listening to/ watching the waves. We'll be back! July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food served was good Location to beach and view of surfers, excellent. Also access to food and shopping was very good. Overall experience was good. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service My only complaint was that the pillows were too thick. I prefer a thinner pillow but did not contact the staff to correct it. Friendly service in the restaurant/bar areas. Very good food and drinks at reasonable prices July 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by sehrt schöne Lage am Meer Freundlicher Empfang im Hotel. Super Sicht aufs Meer. Wegen Lärm von Strasse und Schiene Schlafen nur bei geschlossenen Fenster möglich. Für ein Fristclass-Hotel erfüllte dieses Haus aber unsere Erwartungen nicht ganz. Zimmer nur oberflächlich sauber (nie unter die Betten schauen). Eisfach im Kühlschrank total vereist. Restaurant nur Sicht auf Nebenhaus, Bar mit Meersicht, gilt aber auch als Begegnungsort für Junge, die sich mit Getränken und Essen aus Fast Food Ketten am gleichen Ort verpflegen wie Hotelgäste, die beim Essen die Meersicht geniessen wollen. Etwas befremdend! July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Getaway location What a marvelous and enjoyable place to stay and so conveniently located within a short walking distance to unique shops and great restaurants. All the staff was very cordial and helpful when we needed assistance. What an incredible view of the coastline from our rooms! We enjoyed an evening stroll along the boardwalk and to the end of the pier. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Great service - overall The views were great cannot wait to visit again best staff ever July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice view. Convenient to beach/pier. Great view from the room and the beach and pier are right there. Ventura is a short walk away. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed feelings The room was great, the ocean view was good as well. Service staff did a great job of trying to deal with my concerns. On the other hand, there was no frig in our room and no ice machine on our floor. I reported the first day of our arrival. We stayed three nights. On the night prior to leaving we received the frig..The staff said that the frig was on order. Prior to leaving the manager made every attempt to make up for my concerns. He went out of his way to insure I left with a good feeling about the establishment . July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded our expectations Our 24 hours at this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff is extremely accommodating. Every person from server to housekeeping to front desk employee was very pleasant. In my book, customer service goes a long way. The pool area and bicycle rental enhanced our experience. We'll definitely stay here again. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ocean view rooms My siblings and I took Mom on vacation and we visited Ventura. The view was great; the staff very helpful; and, it's the only hotel on the beach. There is a great paved path that seems to go for miles, and the Hotel rents surries, so we all took a surry ride. I couldn't have asked for more! July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Exceptional service given by every staff member that we encountered. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home Coming to the Crowne Plaza Ventura is truly home away from home due to the relaxing and calming atmosphere presented at the hotel. No matter what room I've stayed in the view to the ocean is awe inspiring. My over all experience has always been one that brings contentment and satisfaction as regards location, quality of the hotel and of course the staff. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, and great service. We needed a pet friendly property, and was thrilled to see how wonderfully they accommodated the numerous guests with show dogs for the weekend. Every member of the staff encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was really nice and the view of the beach awesome. Through no fault of the hotel, the loud train whistle and the freeway noise made it tough to sleep well, but everything else was great. I would stay there again, just with earplugs. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service; excellent location A fine hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great ocean view. Good restaurant and lounge. A little noisy as a result of the proximity of the train station and tracks, but the sound of the ocean waves is nice. July 4, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading