• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel
View More

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Lynda.com, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara.
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting
View More
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting facilities. Guests will enjoy our refreshed complimentary hot breakfast including new healthy food choices. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new hotel!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 373 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, but room desperately needs upgrades. We loved the ocean view and sound of the ocean. The lobby was cheerful for Christmas, and the staff was friendly. The room (602) however, left much to be desired. The bathroom tile needs deep cleaning, and the soap rack was rusted. The sink fixtures were difficult to turn off, and were covered in hard water deposits. The sink clogged up immediately. Also, the toilet tank kept running frequently. The room was very cramped with two queen beds. We will probably not come back. This hotel needs a renovation! January 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible reception staff!! I reserved three rooms for a two-night stay as a post-Christmas family get-together. Upon arrival, I used my credit card for all three rooms. When one of our party arrived to check in, the staff person insisted that she use her credit card to secure the room, assuring her that it would not be charged. When I discovered this, I asked the manager to remove her credit (actually debit) card from the reservation. I also checked on this the next day. My step-daughter called her bank to make sure that the room fee was not debited from her checking account and found that it had been. After several calls, she was still not able to get this corrected. In the meantime, I paid for all three rooms upon checking out of the hotel. So in effect, we have paid for the room twice and my step-daughter's checking account has been charged. Since it is a holiday, I have not been able to call the hotel or their accounting staff but will do so tomorrow. Needless to say, we are extremely unhappy, and my step-daughter has had to delay payment of an important bill. Also, the room was not cleaned and we had to call housekeeping to get it done late in the afternoon. It appeared that a whole section of our floor had been overlooked. In addition, dirty glasses were not removed or replaced. January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but old hotel The hotel is old and shows its age. The staff are friendly but a bit dim. I booked a room with two beds. They were nice enough to give me an upgrade but without a second bed. I waited for an hour for someone to bring me a key for another room and ended up going to reception myself to expedite the transfer. Not how I want to spend valuable vacation time. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and value for money Had great weather (89 degrees Dec. 19th - can't beat it!) which really helped our stay be enjoyable. But there's still no better location along the south coast for the money. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by food and view First floor restaurant dinner ...food and service exceeded our expectations despite being a sold out weekend. Sun morning in the room with a great view of the coast and surfers , room service was swift and the breakfast just right. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Everything was wonderful from check-in to check out. Great location. December 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff. Property Needs Work. I have stayed here many, many times for work over the last four years - with stays as long as three weeks at a time. The staff has always been great to me, but the physical aspects of the property are in decline. As one of my team members described it: "This is a 1 and a half star hotel in a five star location." It is definitely NOT up to the standards of the Crowne Plaza name. That being said, the staff tries very, very hard to keep the place going both at the front desk and with food service. I would like to recognize Rueben, Julia, Belinda, and Margarita at the front desk. I would also like to recognize Arturo, Ashley, Jamie, and Ranelle in food service. Lastly, the management needs to listen to Nicole V. (F&B Supervisor). She is very observant, intelligent, motivated, and has some great ideas to get your hotel turned around. You need to invest in the property to get the return you want. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I love Ventura but..... We have stayed at the Ventura Crown Plaza three times this year, we love Ventura ! The first stay carpet was being replaced directly above us for several hours. Second visit....heater didnt work. Third visit, carpet cleaning and furniture moving above our room starting at 3:45 AM. The Crown has it going, right on the beach, bar, pet friendly, close to dining and downtown night life. I just am not happy with the room problems we've experienced. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Did we really stay in the same place? I stayed at another hotel last time I was in Ventura based on some of the reviews of this place (negative comments about the staff) and I really wonder if we were staying at the same place. The staff were great. I expect front desk people to be pleasant (as there were here), but twice I rode up or down the elevator with maintenance people, and both times they asked me if I was enjoying my stay. I was very pleasantly surprised. This hotel is right on the beach, and a quick walk to a playground on the sand (very popular with my 7-year old) and Eric Ericsson's restaurant on the pier (very popular with my wife). My only suggestion would be that if they rebuild this, don't put the stairways at the ocean end of the building as you could get some great suites with killer views of the islands that way. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time The room was very comfortable and the view was so wonderful. When checking in the front deck man talk a little rough he was very ruled ,but the rest of the staff was very nice. I LOVE the property right on the ocean and walking to downtown for a wonderful dinner. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Great accommodations. Everyone so very nice. All requests granted. Clean and comfortable. Top notch accommodations December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanksgiving week stay Everything was perfect. The only negative thing we felt was that the meal for thanksgiving was a bit too pricey and we did not like our seating. We sat off in a banquet room at one of the 2 tables for 12 and there were 6 of us. We ate at 11:30 with the restaurant virtually empty and the waiter already seemed harried and overwhelmed. Last year we sat at a table of our choice since we were the first patrons and we felt like we were eating in a fine restaurant. This year it was rather herded and rushed and stressful. And we had to sit in this banquet room even though the rest of the restaurant was empty and our favorite table for 6 by the window that we requested awaited. We have come for the week of Thanksgiving now for the past 4 years and plan to continue the tradition. Although, we may not join you for the thanksgiving meal again. We just did not feel we got what we paid for in ambience or quality and proportion of food. December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view! The front desk staff was so helpful when checking in. The room had an amazing view, everything was great except for the syringe found behind the mirror. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Sevice We checked in a day late and the staff did an exceptional job getting us organized, retrieving our reservation and ensuring that we were all taken care of! We would highly recommend if you have the opportunity to stay here. Food was outstanding! December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience all around! I had a great time at the Crowne Plaza. The room was beautiful, clean and had a great view of the ocean! Love the in-room amenities and the bed was really comfortable. The staff was great too, super friendly and knowledgeable about the area. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay The stay was magnificent. this is something to fill the space November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean great location and reasonably priced I stay here a few days a month for business. The experience is consistent. The staff is nice and friendly, the hotel is clean and easy to get in and out of. Of course you cant beat the location, right on the beach and the sound of the waves is nice to fall asleep to. The staff in the lobby restaurant/bar is always very friendly, the food is good and very reasonably priced. November 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location on the ocean and walking distance to downtown restaurants and entertainment The bathroom is very poor. Tiny. No counter to place toiletries. Bathroom smelled musty very badly after a shower which then permeated the room. Tub drained very poorly. Not enough electrical plugs for 2 cell phones, 2 computers , 2 cameras. Very comfortable bed. Well assured darkness for sleeping . November 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ocean views rooms Been coming here since 2008 because of the ocean views rooms. However, not all their rooms are refreshed therefore is outdated. The fitness center needs updating as well. The restaurant and bar always have decent foods and drinks at reasonable prices. The staff is friendly and willing to help. Try to get rooms away from the freeway and train tracks if you like to have a good night sleep. November 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ocean View If you plan to stay, be sure to get an Ocean view room. It's breathtaking to be able to stand out on the balcony and see the ocean. The room is overall average, with all work amenities. The pillows were a bit too firm and bulky, leaving me with a bit of a stiff neck, and the walls are quite thin as I could hear not only the next room over TV clearly, but any conversation they may have had. I would also warn that about 1am, a very loud train goes rushing by with horns blazing. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We had a wonderful stay The Hotel is nice and everything went well no real issues. IF we were staying longer I would have goten the Phone in our room fixed because someone splilled beer in it and it didn't work we told the staff though and they were on top of fixing which was nice. One thing I think they should add though is like a small Continental breakfast area with alittle something for the guess for breakfast but all in all this is a wonderful hotel and the staff is great. We will be back soon, November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended Good staff. Nice bar and restaurant. Great location. Can be noisy November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service, location, atmosphere is priceless! After traveling a long distance from San Diego, I needed rest, peace and not far from my family and friends in Oxnard and Ventura. I love the location on the beach. To walk, run and enjoyed the sunrise and sunsets. The people at the front desk were very helpful in directing me in finding my way too few local places. The hotel itself was beautiful from the art work, elegant setting throughout the lounged areas, eating locations and they even had a fitness room, my kind of place. My room overlooked the ocean view. It was clean and comfortable. The overall experienced at the Crown Plaza in Ventura, CA. was excellent. I was very pleased with my stay and will definitely stay there again. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service was great I found the service and the staff (all employees) that was provided to be courteous, friendly and efficient. The room was very neat and clean. (directions for the heating and air would be nice. Couldn't figure it out) Very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anyone as a destination. Thank you Jerry November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by bad service in the lounge The restaurant was closed on Sunday..so we went to the lounge and couldn't get served for dinner, very under staffed.. We went somewhere else to eat. November 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A Local Disappointment! My husband and I just wanted a close to home get a way after several weeks of long work hours. What a disappointment, the Crown Plaza has such a great location but it is in serious need of an update and better standards for what a clean room means. The front desk staff was not the friendliest with the exception of James who helped me up to our room while my husband parked the car. That reminds me, the card to get in and out of the $12 per night parking lot never worked so we had to buzz the front desk to let us in & out each time, annoying. I could go on but you get the picture. Find another hotel! November 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Room was OK. Older rooms on our floors kind of smelled musty. Bathroom was WAYYY small. front desk staff was absolutely no help and seemed to be bothered by me asking questions like, wheres an ATM. Wife left her shirt there accidently. I have called twice and left voicemails, Wife has called Twice and left voice mails with no return call. Dissapointing to say the least. Asked again about IHG rewards and no help. We have 7 nights with n o points credited. GREAT Location and was nice to be at the beach. If you stay here try the taco place on the peir.. OUTRAGEUOSLY good.. living social deal if theres still one. KICK BUTT food and great time November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another nice time I enjoyed this hotel so much 2 weeks ago that I came back again for a quick get-a-way. Staff has been consistently kind, upbeat, and helpful. Bed comfortable, slept great, and enjoyed getting out for a walk in the evening and jogging in the morning right out the front door of the hotel. Will definitely be back soon! November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Bed was super uncomfortable, like sleeping on the floor, and the room was way small. There was an event going on in the ballroom above us and we could hear the band clearly until 11. Overall I was pretty disappointed and won't be staying here again. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great area Even with a late check in the staff was amazing! So polite and pleasant, which is really appreciated after a long drive. Room was very clean a little small but great view! Very nice area as well. November 3, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading