• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel
View More

Enjoy This Remodeled Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Lynda.com, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara.
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting
View More
Announcements
Come experience our newly renovated and upgraded Holiday Inn Express. All public areas and guest rooms are brand new including: outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, expanded Fitness Center, and meeting facilities. Guests will enjoy our refreshed complimentary hot breakfast including new healthy food choices. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new hotel!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Beds were very comfortable, the hotel is easy to find for the non-locals, within easy reach of the Amtrak station and a lovely (but short!) walk into the city. The view from the ocean side rooms is to die for! August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service at an outdated property I checked in as a Platinum member. There was no reference made to this, along with no information on parking, events for Priority club members at the hotel, or any type of customer service. The person I spoke to seemed like she was trying to get rid of me as soon as possible. I spoke with 4 seperate front desk staff during our stay with each of them being in most cases rude The room looked very old and outdated. The location was great, along with the bar staff, the rest was at best, poor. I could not possibly recommend this property. Of all the Intercontinental Hotel Group Properties I have stayed, this was by far the worst August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service - Great Ambiance I had stayed here last year and wanted to bring my family this time, we had a nice stay and the staff, room and atmosphere were great. Staying at the Crowne Plaza Ventura was very convenient for us. Thank you and hope to stay again soon August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Getaway This was a last minute brainstorm to spend a night with my daughter and grandaughters and give us all a special evening. Thank you for accomodating our sleepover with everything we could ask - great dining, pool time, surf time and a movie! We truely felt like we were on vacation even though we live only 20 minutes away. Wonderful, comfotable and affordable. Thank you! August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location poor service My family and I frequently stay at this location simply for its easy access to the beach and to Main St. We have also used this property to teach classes at. Last weekend we had my entire extended family at this hotel to celebrate my father's birthday. My aunt set up a lunch to be server at the main bar. Aside from our small party of 9 people, there were no other guests. The waitress took an extremely long time to place our order and we waited over an hour to get our food. The hotel is in a prime spot, as I have mentioned. For food and drinks, it's worth it to walk to other places. August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poorest example yet of Crowne Plaza experience IHG Gold member having stayed in associated hotels across the world, this was the poorest example of service we have experienced at a Crowne Plaza Hotel. It started off poorly at check-in and got worse. We headed to our room on 7th floor with three key cards. None worked so back to reception where they reprogrammed with no apology but the sort of look to suggest you clearly have no idea how to use the room key! None of them still worked so this time I returned. At least there was an apology forthcoming but no offer to send someone up to check the door. A further reprogram of the cards so said perhaps third time lucky. Luckily I met a maintenance chap on the way back up and explained that I thought the lock was faulty. So I tried all three cards yet again and still no luck. He tried and got the same result unsurprisingly to me. He tried his master key card and still no luck. He then used a mechanical key to let us in the room. He removed the faulty lock and carried out some maintenance over the next 30 minutes. At no time were we offered an alternative room. Eventually he repaired the lock and all was well for a couple of days on that score. Our next issue was with the breakfast vouchers we had been given on check in. We had only been given two vouchers despite there being three of us. I did not spot this until the following morning. We were checked in for 4 nights and that was clearly written on the two vouchers we had been given. At breakfast we were asked for our vouchers and they were taken despite me saying that we still had 3 more days. The breakfast waitress was very curt with us and insisted that we needed a voucher for each day and for each person. So I went back to the check-in desk to explain and was then told that we were only entitled to one breakfast each but could take it on any of the days. None of this was explained and seems odd to have a separate Rewards breakfast area for club members if it is only for one day's use. To add insult the selection was exceedingly poor to almost non existent. Suffice to say we did not eat at the hotel on any other occasion. The reception staff were hardly helpful though just about civil. We were treated as inexperienced travellers whereas quite the opposite is true. The room itself was tired. The bathroom shower curtain was only just held at one end where the tile had come away from the wall. The hair dryer was only just held by a very loose screw in the wall. Bathroom itself was very small. TV was a very old CRT monitor. I chose an ocean view, presumably at extra cost, although in fact from what we could tell all rooms had an ocean view of sorts. Our room could not have been further from the ocean unless you count the three floors immediately above us. We were right next to the road, the level crossing gates and the rail track and consequent loud trains. Overall the staff were mostly surly and the hotel survives by its ideal location for downtown Ventura and had been recommended by family locally. They were embarrassed. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes but only if you needed the location and were only staying one night otherwise absolutely not until some serious improvements take place in both attitude and replenishment. We were told that parts have been upgraded - it would be helpful to know which parts. As a gold member I expect better. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Get-away My husband and I were attending the Ventura County Fair and decided to go to a hotel the night before so we could relax and have parking close to the fairgrounds. We were pleasantly surprised by the room service, wonder view, and overall cordiality of the staff. We were a little disappointed by the size of the bathroom but the overall experience was wonderful. We would definitely recommennd this hotel. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience We had a great time, the annual county fair was underway so we just walked to it (about 10-15 minute walk from the hotel). The room was clean, the staff were great and very helpful, and the beds were nice and comfy! August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pillows not comfortable, breakfast girl rude and unfriendly There was an epmty Capri sun left on the floor behind the lamp for my entire stay which was 3 nights, I left it there just to see if housekeeping would pick it up, and NO, they didn't pick it up, there was also some Chex mix there next to it also. The gal that worked at continental breakfast was unfriendly and you could tell she hated her job. Although The front desk was nice and accommodating. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 3 star location, 2 star experience A/C didn't work the first night. Tub and sink drained very slowly. Room and facility looked very.....well used. Noisy. House keeping was sloppy, No clean glasses or coffee mugs, bed and towels were not neatly done. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything is great except housekeeping Good restaurant. Nice bar. Great location on the beach. Good front desk staff. But the housekeeping is below average. August 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and at the same time bad location I enjoyed the proximity of the hotel from the beach but didn't enjoy the proximity of the Amtrak to the hotel. It was noisy. The beach front rooms are really partial beach view. None of the room face directly to the ocean, so save you money and pay for the non-beach view. The breakfast should have been included but it wasn't unless you pay extra. don't pay extra just buy it at the restaurant for $10 a person. The public beach was clean but watch out for the street bums. The bike rental was nice and enjoyable and the downtown was in walking distance and clean. August 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too Expensive for Inadequate Service We stay in a lot of IHG hotels and this one had the absolutely worst breakfast service for Priority Club members we have ever experienced. The rooms are in need of an update. The waitress at the breakfast bar was snippy and the food was non-existent. We were told that "breakfast sandwiches" would be there in five (5) minutes and they finally arrived 30 minutes later. There really wasn't anything at the breakfast bar (as opposed to the one at the Beverly Hills Crowne Plaza which was very nice). And promptly at 9 am the girl announced "well technically we're closed anyway" even though the food had not shown up. This lack of service was horrible. The problem is that it is the only "nice" hotel in town, so you're stuck. Next time we will stay in Oxnard or up in Santa Barbara. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by old property and bad pillows Rooms are pretty worn. Carpeting looks old. Neighborhood kind of run down. Many vagrants. Pillows are terrible. Lobby was nice. Check-in was very good. Breakfast server was somewhat lacking in personality and slightly short with her guests. Climate control was off. August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Softball Nightmare Stayed for the 2013 NSA World Series Softball Tournament this year and have to say I will never ever stay here again. For 4 days our room was never cleaned by housekeeping, When we called down for Towels and to notify the front desk 3 times of the problem nothing was done to fix it. Save your money and go somewhere else. July 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below Expectations Several mechanical problems with room. Could not turn off air or heat, Toilet handle came loose and I had to tighten it myself. Two of the room lamps did not work. Service in Restaurant was poor and slow. July 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall review Room was outdated from the bathroom to the TV. Very uncomfortable beds. Carpet was wet and slimy. Very loud train came by too often. Had to pay for parking and Internet. It took over an hour to receive our food from the time we ordered it in the hotel restaurant. One of the worst hotel stay I have we have experienced. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by unknown credit card charge Our stay was lovely, comfortable, staff was very pleasant and helpful. On my return home I found an additional charge of $38.00 on my credit card acct, dated the day after we left. After 2 days of inquiring I was told - "the $38.00 was an authorization for incidentals in case you purchased any extra items within the hotel. When you checked out on the 23rd, it was released back to your bank. After that, it can take up to 7 business days to be displayed on your bank account. You can also contact your bank to see if they will be able to release it sooner." I was never advised of an automatic charge...my email confirmation states clearly that any additional incidentals will be charged UPON CHECK-OUT., and the extra parking charge was done that way. Suggestion - 1) advise guests in advance what you are charging here 2) give the guest a choice how they wish to pay for hotel incidentals - in advance or at check-out 3) do away with this sneaky policy. Thank you. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beach property Right on beach with good restaurant and lounge onsite. Sat outside on deck and had few drinks relaxing from drive-it was excellent! Girls enjoyed the beach and pier. July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My first stay This was my first time at The Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach. I will definitely be coming back here when I visit my daughter who goes to college in Ventura. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good stay Enjoyed the overall experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will recommend this hotel to everyone. Cant wait to stay at your hotel again. The only thing we didnt like was being charged for parking. that was a new one for us. July 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs work My husband and I are stayed at your hotel and stayed in room 420. First off, the room was horribly torn apart. I did take pictures I would love to share with you. The wood was torn up on the end tables and desk, walls looked like they were chewed on, the doors were torn apart (from paint peeling to wood falling off the area where the lockset is) making it difficult to shut the doors and get into the room. The bed was hard as a rock as well, which made the stay very uncomfortable and not much of a getaway for us. Plus, other than the desk, there was no seating space although there was room for a chair or 2 in the room and definitely space on the balcony. It was strange there was a small table, but no chairs. Whoever was in the room next to us (418) was so incredibly loud throughout the day. I don't know if there was a person staying in there or the hotel staff were moving things around, as I saw them in and out of there all day long. It lasted until 10pm. The staff was very helpful and kind. Although there was only one bell staff that actually asked how my stay was when we were in the elevator together. Otherwise, I was only greeted when I was in the bar (which by the way, you have some wonderful women staff in there in the evening. They are very kind, know what they're doing and made the stay more welcoming). Overall, I wouldn't rate this hotel at 3 stars nor worth the nightly cost we paid. More like $75/night. Plus there is the parking. Pay $12/day for parking and we could never park in the hotel's parking because it was full by people who weren't even staying at the hotel. We would have to use a public parking structure that was being urinated in by all the "beach bums". July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel on the beach Great hotel, staff, location, comfortable room. Had a great stay until I got my bill at check out informing me of the $12 parking fee per day. Spoke with mgr and he waived fee. Mgr informed me I would have to pay the parking fee in the future. My wife and I were planning on coming back until we were informed of the parking fee. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Perfect visit We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the beach. We were greeted at check in warmly and allowed an early check in because there was a room available. The number one criteria for me is the room was clean, clean, clean and it was. We could see the ocean from our balcony and had access to the beach and a beachfront walkway. The decor in our room was current and very nice. The hotel restaurant had fabulous food, warm service and the price was reasonable. We love the area and will definitely be returning to this hotel for our visits. July 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great ocean atmosphere The room was not the best. The sheets on the bed were torn. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall the worst stay in a long time The hotel was fine when I stayed there 40 years ago. The staff was surly and very unhelpful. I had some pain in the night and needed some pain meds so I went to the front desk and asked if they had any and was told to go to a vending machine in the next room. I went there and found it was out of order. The desk clerk seemed as if he could not be bothered. A security guard said to go to a store across the highway. The hotel charged $12 a day to park and when I left the gate would not open, I had to go back to the front desk to get a new gate card. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value Great location and price but getting a little run down. Awesome main street in walking distance and nice pier. July 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by What a dump! We got a 2nd floor room overlooking a rusted roof. Had to wait for overcrowded elevators to go three floors up (and then down) for ice. Extra charge for wifi that's free almost everywhere. Paid for parking and none available in hotel lot. Mildewed shower curtain. All in all, a nightmare. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by family reunion. overall was very good with great family atmpsphere. few things need to change, Pool close at 10:00pm. this is unreal for families, other places are about 12:00 am. Parking was a mess. we bout our room including parking, but it will not work because we push the button or forgot to push it again. they just have to change thier system for parking ticket, it was very annoying and frustrating. make sure to check your bills twice, we got charge for 2 nights of parking for every room that we rented and had to go back to get it fix again (we had 6 rooms for 2 nights) it need some more imrovement to make it wasier for the guests the printer in the computer room was not working and apprenetly for the last 2 days which they hadn't fix it and there was no sign e.g. out of order. July 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, comfortable bed, great service, and a great sense of security The only think I was not so happy about was that I had to pay for parking. July 19, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading