• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We at the Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria would like to welcome you and your pet and or service animal. We are happy to be able to accommodate you. For a small fee of fifteen dollars a night your pet will be able to enjoy our hotel with you.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample FREE outdoor parking, including seven parking spaces reserved for travelers with disabilities.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:108
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:64
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:CA316

Enjoy This Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two
View More

Enjoy This Carpinteria Hotel's Charm and Great Location

You'll discover the best of the Golden State while staying at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria. The hotel's guests can take advantage of our excellent location by spending an afternoon at a secluded California beach or by enjoying our proximity to the energetic and beautiful downtown Santa Barbara.

We strive to provide each corporate traveler with the best in business amenities, so the hotel includes two event spaces, as well as a Business Center with print and copy services. Other perks include our proximity to nearby businesses like Venoco, CKE Restaurants and Clipper Windpower, which means you'll never be late to client meetings.

Leisure guests appreciate the fact that we are pet friendly and near Carpinteria State Beach. Our hotel's property is just a half-mile from the pristine California shore, and we are a short drive from Santa Barbara, so you can enjoy great dining, entertainment and shopping. While in the area, be sure to check out the historic Santa Barbara Mission and to spend an afternoon exploring Stearns Wharf.

We are proud to provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the property in addition to the option of wired access in select rooms. We also serve the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar at our pet friendly accommodations near Carpinteria State Beach, so the hotel's patrons can get the day off to the perfect start. Book your room today.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Carpinteria is centrally located in one of California's last, small beach towns, and we're just a 15-minute drive from lovely Santa Barbara, as well.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 240 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The best location for a hotel in Ventura because it is on the beach. However, it comes with a lot of hidden costs. $12 per day for parking, $10 per day for internet and an authorized charge of $5 for a bottle of water (which is being disputed). The great staff and location doesn't make that much of a difference for me to want to come back. In addition to the cost, the bathrooms are so small, it's like being in a closet with a toilet. Not a good set up if you have four people in your room. April 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, but felt like I was at a Convention... I had an appt. in Ventura on Sunday morning, so we decided to drive up for Sat night stay... the price was good, but as soon as we arrived, we entered into a whole convention going on... no parking anywhere! It was also extremely loud, so we decided not to have a drink in the lounge because we couldn't hear anything we were saying to each other. We went to our rooms to get ready for dinner, and when we walked down to the lobby, another convention/tourist group was arriving... taking the whole hallway with their luggage. And I wouldn't recommend staying on the side where Aloha's Steakhouse is... their live loud music kept us up till 1am. Overall, the location was good because you could walk into town, but the ambiance was definitely lacking. Service was fine. March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend away I had a fantastic experience from check in to check out. The staff was fabulous. March 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by location is greatest asset! Great location, especially to watch ocean from balcony. However: We checked into room and found major appliances left in middle of floor -- fridge & micro. Staff returned, after we called front desk, to replace them correctly. AC / Heating unit from above room drips onto our balcony, splashing across it part of it. When called front desk they said all rooms do that except top floor. Suggested we put a towel on balcony floor and railing.... Bathroom sink very very slow drain. Received very dirty washcloth with clean towel delivery. Yuck. This place is all about location but unfortunately lacks the ability to deliver quality service. March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location When I made the reservation, I requested a room with a view and the staff responded by upgrading me to a room with an awesome view of the ocean, beach and pier. I didn't want to leave. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great everything,bed service,room and esp. personal Always stayed some where else in Ventura---was unable to make reservations----then called your hotel---people were great, rooms great, atmosphere great, food at the rest. wonderful. Able to take dog for a great walk---easy to get to, close to hwy 101. All in all you won me over --- we'll be staying at the Plaza from now on Thanks March 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The staff at this hotel is the greatest, however amenities that are taken for granite do not exist here. For the price you would expect to have free Internet access and parking. I don't mind not having a free breakfast but I do mind the parking and Internet situation. March 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & newly updated rooms Unbeatable service, friendly staff and a great place to be by the beach. March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs We love everything about staying there, except, the lack of space in the bathrooms. We have to put cosmetics on the floor outside the bathroom. I realize changing this is not feasible because it would be expensive th expand the bathrooms. But thought I'd mention it. March 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Location was great but the hotel is dated and not I expect from Crowne Plaza Location is right on the beach. The hotel reminded me of an old Holiday Inn. It is not the high quality of hotel that I expected from the Crowne Plaza Hotels. March 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not so good Internet did not work in the room. Never had a parking spot despite that I paid for a week up front, it was sold out to event attendees. The parking was full with surfers changing cloth like in a male strip club. All the homeless congregate at the hotel entrance to enjoy the amenities and intimidate the guests. The breakfast place opened only after I had to leave to the airport so I had to pay for what I did not get. The room was dilapidated with broken furniture and door. The computers were broken in the business center which I had to use since the WiFi did not work. This was the third time I stayed in this place on business and I will not select it ever again. Thank you March 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice property - Excellent staff This felt like an older property that was a little past due for a re-model but it was still a nice stay. The staff was excellent. They were friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable but a little "worn" looking. Also, the A/C unit was very loud. The view was outstanding. I would stay here again even though I felt it was a little over priced for the condition of the property. March 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy with hard beds I loved the fact that the hotel was right on the beach, and the staff were very kind and pleasant. The room, however, let much to be desired. The bed was hard and both of us woke up with hurting backs. The hallway near the door was narrow, and made it difficult to maneuver. The hotel advertised "ocean view" in nearly all the rooms, but our room only saw the ocean if you went and stood across from the bed, because the bed direction faced the mountains and not the beach. In addition, there was so much noise from the traffic that we could not hear the waves at all. When we turned the heat on (as it got chilly at night), all we could hear then was traffic and VERY loud noise from the heater. I understand that the hotel staff is not responsible for the location of the expressway, so I tried to overlook this. However, my biggest complaint was the parking and elevator. There was a private event one of the nights that we were there, and they would not allow us on one of the elevators since they designated that for the guests at the event. There was such a line-up for the other elevators that we had to wait just to get up to our room. I think the fact that the non-paying event guests had priority over the guests staying at the hotel was ridiculous. We were charged $20 a day for parking. However, they opened up the parking lot for the event guests and the parking lot was full. We were told we would have to park at a structure away from the hotel. The fact that I paid money to park there, but then was told that these party guests were more important was completely UNACCEPTABLE. Again, the staff was fantastic and the location in the city was convenient and easy to navigate. Unfortunately, I will likely never choose this hotel in the future due to the aforementioned concerns. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Time We were here for a county wide awards event; the hotel was busy but the staff was great; our event started downstairs and the two lady bartenders were great; the was a gentleman helping as well, seemed more like a manager. We then went upstairs to a grat ballroom overing looking the ocean; great views and a great meal fro over 350 people (incredible). We knew we did not want to drive home and pre-arranged for a room; it wass wonderful, had an updated look to it and more great views of the ocean and hillsides; the bed was wonderful. We will recommned this place to our friends and family; the staff was wonderful. Thank you February 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway Stayed here as a getaway for our 33rd anniversary. We last stayed here 8 1/2 years ago, after my daughter's wedding. Had a great time. While we enjoyed the facilities, the staff was the best part. They were outstanding. Rememered my name. They were professional, freindly and courteous. We will not wait another eight years before we come back. February 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room had many issues, but staff and beach were amazing! The location of the hotel can't be changed, so if you know going in....it's right on the beach. It's gorgeous. However, it is also right off the freeway and right next to the train. So, expect those noises as well as the crashing waves. The staff is wonderful, friendly and nice. When you first enter the hotel, it is just beautiful. The bar area is really nice with an amazing view. Ate at the hotel restaurant once for dinner and it was decent, service was good. Ate there for breakfast twice (it was included with our rate), again our service was really good. We ate dinner across the way at Aloha and it was AMAZING!! I suggest that place! Now, for the room. I was pretty disappointed. I called ahead and asked to make sure that we had the newly remodled rooms (as I had read some pretty bad reviews). My room looked nice enough when I entered. However my bed was the hardest mattress I have ever slept on in my life. Most hotels have some pretty luxurious mattresses these days, but this felt like a cement block with scratchy sheets. The room was decent size, but wondering if they could make it a little smaller to make the bathroom a little larger as there is absolutly no room at all to put anything in there. Seriously, where can a girl put her makeup and hair products? PS: Housekeeping must be aware that when they clean, that the toilet seat is basically hanging on by a thread...call maintenance and have them fix it!!! When scanning thru the channels on the TV, the sound is very inconsistent; very loud on some channels and barely audible on some. Also, I had an issue with the wireless one night, so when I tried to call the front desk, I had to use my cell phone because the phone in my room did not work. All in all, my stay was okay. The location was pretty nice...right on the water. The staff was very friendly. But the rooms need a little work. February 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too high expectations I was greeted by your front desk person who informed me that the rate quoted the night before had gone up because "as the number of reservations go up, so does the rate." This logic escapes and disappoints me. The rate was too high especially because the room was subpar: ripped lamp shade, dirty tired looking carpet, no kleenex box, uncomfortable chair (with ottoman), lousy ocean view (not as promised), impossibly old and hard mattress, and a bad experience walking to a restaurant your staff recommended (more on that below). The guy who greeted me as I pulled into the hotel driveway was helpful and friendly, but it was downhill from there. The front desk staff though friendly was ramped up perhaps because they were so busy. I prefer a calmer more relaxed approach when I am checking into a hotel. The first room had just an awful ocean view, the second room only slightly better. The property is on the beach-I was expecting better. I asked for a dinner recommendation and was told about a restaurant on the nearby pier. I walked with my wife past a large parking structure where a number of young, drunken, "street" people were hanging around. I am not easily threatened, but walking past them made me concerned about our safety. Returning after our over priced dinner, the people at the parking structure were louder, more routy, and drunker. I observed one guy fall off his feet and graze his head on a large rock-he nearly took another guy down with him. I walked us pass them as quickly as I could. I took my wife upstairs (our room key did not get us in the side entrace to the hotel) and took the rickety elevator (which shook on each trip), and called the front desk to complain about the crowd at the parking structure. The front desk person informed me that there is security somewhere and maybe he just hasn't made his rounds to the parking structure. She seemed unfazed and uninterested. Not a first class hotel staff reaction when a guests safety and comfort is called into question. We are Priority Club Members, having stayed at several different properties within this program, and this was the worst experience we have had yet. Definitely would not recommend it, and will most likely not stay there again. January 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay - Train too Close The staff f is always very helpful and the room is comfortable. The view to the ocean is great. The train and train signals always wake me up. January 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Location, Service & Value Made a last minute reservation here and my expectations were blown away. Customer service was amazing, location could not be beat, and the room was extremely comfortable--all at a super reasonable price. Would definitely come back and recommend to others. January 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom The sink in the bathroom was much too small. No place to put anything. Glass ledge above toilet was dangerous for things to end up in the toilet. January 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by need some tweaking Okay, first off I had a great time in Ventura, and your hotel is situated nicely. I would indeed return. BUT when I arrived, with a confirmed reservation, I was told by the front desk that it had been cancelled as it had been for the previous day. I produced my confirmation, which indeed showed I was there correctly. The manager was summoned, the room assigned, but not even an apology or nod or even eye contact from him, or from the front desk staff, for taking my time, and producing some anxiety. A classy hotel would have upgraded me, sent a basket of fruit etc, but perhaps that is not your style. When my room form was produced, I was charged for parking, and I noted I had no car, (I was there as judge for dog show and was provided "chauffeuring"), and reassured. Noneless, the statement the next day billed me for parking, which was subsequently removed at my insistence. And lastly, in the AM, the room heating could not be turned on. Did nothing about this, as I just needed to shower and dress. You can do better. January 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Crown Plaza in IHG I don't know how this place can be rated as a Crown Plaza. This former Holiday Inn has less to offer. I had stayed here few years ago. Nice view from the top floor Bar and Buffet. These are gone. Billing error is in dispute right now (1-14-2013) and still can not get a call back from the accounting people. January 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unpleasant smell inside the room +... Was not greated as a Priority member nor offer an upgrade. The room was freshly carpet and the "new carpet smell" not pleasenat. T.V remote control not working. Bathroom sink pluged. January 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by RUDE awakening on Christmas Eve My partner and I stayed here due to the closeness to his family and the beach views. However, the hotel quickly lost its allure. Upon arrival, the parking system was broken, and we were told at the front desk that parking would be free. We had to ask several times if that applied to our whole stay or just until the system was fixed. Finally, the front desk person said it would probably be for the next week. Jump ahead to when we checked out 5 days later, and they attempted to charge us for parking on the bill. In addition, upon check-in, the front desk staff could not explain how to get online using wifi in the room. They could not even answer whether wifi was free or at a cost. Next, the room itself was not in any way worth the price. It was an average-to-below-average cramped, tiny room with only the basest amenities. The view was mostly of the parking structure next door. Finally, the ultimate inconvenience occurred when we were rudely awoken at 9am on Christmas Eve by extremely loud pounding, construction noises reverberating throughout the building. Calling the front desk only turned up an answer that this noise would be going on until 4pm. Nobody could answer where in the building it was occurring or if it would be happening the next day as well. The hotel found us another room on a lower floor, and we went through the trouble of packing and moving our things there only to realize that the construction was occurring near that floor as well. When we called the front desk again, they tried to put us on a floor that allowed dogs. I refused that floor because I did not feel like trading construction noise for barking dogs for the price we were paying. Eventually, they told us it would take a couple hours to find another room, but when we called to say we would be out doing last minute errands for the holiday, they suddenly had a room available. This room was even worse than the original. The view was of the hotel's roof with sounds of exhaust and various vents going off. This room lacked basic things like a microwave or mini-fridge and the television was vastly outdated. Also, when we originally made the reservation we had specifically asked for a high floor, but thanks to this construction nightmare, we wound up near the bottom. In addition to all of this mess, everybody should know that these rooms are not soundproof to the TRAIN that runs by regularly all hours of the day or night. This hotel is also not exactly populated by a classy crowd. There were bed-banging sounds against the wall, clearly there were escort services operating in the building, people were doing drugs on the patio outside the bar into the late hours.... It was just, in general, a trashy atmosphere and not at all what I was expecting. NOTE: I just checked with my partner and there are additional charges on his credit card that did not appear on the final bill we paid. This hotel has horrendous service, an awful atmosphere, and some of the worst rooms in which I have ever stayed. I will NEVER stay here again. January 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hard Bed All was decent except for a hard bed and pillows. When I backpack, I get a similar experience when I throw down a thermarest, however that is to be expected when sleeping on the ground. This is a hotel bed - - needs to be softer. My girlfriend agreed. January 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Charged for Parking It seems the more expensive the hotel the less amentities one receives. At lesser hotels/motels WiFi is free, parking is free, breakfast is free. Not so as the price goes up though. I paid online for 1 night. All paid for upfront...well, not really. After my stay my credit card was charged $10 for parking. Nice... And the look of this place was new back in 1971. This whole complex needs to be bulldozed to the ground and rebuilt. The place has a confining feel about it. Hallways are dimmly lit, room doors seem narrow, bathrooms dated....A tube TV, really? I've stayed in National Parks lodges which have flat screens and here a 'on the beach' hotel in California has a tube TV and no place to sit.....oh there seemed to be a spot for a recliner or sofa but there was none. Plain Holiday Inns or Express provide more amentities than this 'elite' version. Why pay for more and get less? Oh and they don't mention the trains do they? January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Weekend :-) Room was small but nice and cozy was the bed. Smelled of cotton clean and crisp. View was perfect to the north with an eye on the sunset. Balcony was great with the slider window. We kept it a bit open so we could smell the ocean and hear the waves crashing while we slept. We had waited a bit at the hotel bar until our room was ready. We were given complimentary drink coupons so we took advantage of it. Had a nice time at the bar talking to people. Met some people who gave us free drink coupons and we continued to have a good time at the bar. Then some more people gave us free drink coupons and wow, it was on! We took those drinks up to our room since it was ready and waiting for us. We put our luggage away and decided we would walk into town for dinner. We ended up on California Street at Cafe Fiori. The food was delicous and the service excellant. What a good night! Walked back to the room and the rest is history. Slept great. We would definately stay again. Room service in the morning. Big pot of yummy coffee. It was great. December 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Pick a different hotel I stayed at this hotel for one night for a christmas party my company was having in the banquet room. At first glance, the lobby was nice but the staff was horrible. My company had a pre negotiated group rate for rooms but the girl at the front desk refused to give us the rate. After arguing for qutie a while she finally realized it was her mistake and gave us the correct rate with no appology. The room was dirty with something red splattered on the bathroom door, a lamp that flickered, another that buzzed and a leaky sink and shower. The sheets did not fit the bed correctly and kept coming off the bed which left me sleeping on a bare mattress for most of the night. Today I realized they charged me twice for the room and also for the water in the room that I did not drink. I called the hotel and after getting transfered 3 times, they told me it was not their fault, that it was my banks fault. I called my bank and sure enough, it is the hotel's fault. I called the hotel back and again got transfered around but could not seem to get the girl I talked to to begin with. Now I am waiting for a call from the manager to see if he can manage to give me my money back. If I do not hear from him soon I will have to file a FRAUD CLAIM with my bank to get my money back. This hotel is absolutely horrible. I would rather stay at a motel 6 than stay at this horrible hotel. I will make sure I tell as many people as possible how horrible this hotel is. December 7, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking fee Since I became a priority club member and got platinum level. Front desk staff waived parking fee for me everytime. This month, they started charging me for the parking fee. When I ask a guy at the front desk, he said " we can't waive the parking fee for you any more. you should me charged with no exception". Look like he didn't care an honest customer ... Sorry! I have to say that I am not coming back here anymore. Today is my last day staying here ... Bye bye Crown Plaza Ventura beach. December 5, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My review Pros: The staff are all pleasant, courteous and helpful. The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean as was our room. The outdoor, swimming pool is heated and large enough to swim in. Cons: Although you can pay for an "ocean view", there are no rooms facing the ocean. All rooms face the beach from the side so you can look either north or south down the beach. The hotel is very close to the freeway which makes it convenient but you also can hear traffic (although it's not incredibly loud). When we checked in, there were two 1 liter bottles of Smart Water in the room with a price tag of $5 each. These probably cost the hotel .55 each or less (purchased in bulk). I feel this qualifies as price gouging. Would it be unreasonable for the hotel to provide 2 free bottles of water upon arrival? Another example was the $2.00 charge for 1 banana to go in the restaurant. Bananas are under $1 a pound. I don't mind paying extra in a restaurant but I dislike being ripped off. November 29, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Stay Refreshed with a Free Express Start ® Breakfast at Holiday Inn Express. Click to learn more.