• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 331 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and inviting... We were able to get a room at the last minute, after arriving in Charleston around 6 p.m. The front desk staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful. The accomodations were excellent: clean and comfortable. Delicious buffet breakfast. We were there specifically to tour the Yorktown carrier/museum, which was located very close to this Holiday Inn Express. The staff also recommended several restaurants, and gave us coupons for appetizers/desserts. Excellent. May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Our stay at Mt. Pleasant Holiday Inn Express exceeded our expectation in every way. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was spotless and comfortable, the property was beautifully maintained and the breakfast delicious. This was a mother-daughter sight-seeing visit to Charleston. We stayed one night in Charleston and two in Mt Pleasant. Holiday Inn Express won in every aspect. There was no comparison between the value of the two and no inconvenience of not staying in Charleston. Our bed was more comfortable, our room much larger and breakfast with an excellent variety was included. It was easy access to the bridge and a short 10 minutes to the historic area. The memorial park under the bridge is beautiful and it is a short drive to plantations. Well done! May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS MT. PLEASANT A+++++ This was the best hotel experience we ever had! The room was immaculate, the staff was extrodinarily sweet and the entire property was beautiful! My wife and I are still talking about it a week after our visit. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Helpful Staff This was our first visit to the Charleston area and we were torn between staying in the historic area and staying outside the town. W booked for 1 night and ended up staying 3. The location was perfect for us. Very convenient to Patriot Park and the Plantations but just a short drive to the historic downtown area. The staff was extremely helpful in extending our stay and never made us feel like a burden. I'm anxious to return again! May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel and Great Location We visit the Charleston area at least 2 times per year. This hotel is our first choice of places to stay. Always clean, well maintained, convenient to downtown, isle of palms and easy access to hit major highways. Great staff and easy to work with when checking in and out. May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed great service our needs were met ,breakfast was a great and the surroundings were so comfortable for oue family members to get together May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travel at Holiday Inn Express This was my first visit to this location. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff. I checked in and was upgraded to a junior suite. The employees at the front desk were always helpful, friendly and accomodating. I would highly recommend this facility. This was a great value for the money. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay in Charleston Location of this hotel was very convenient to the city and surrounding areas; room was pleasant and quiet; staff very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Charleston, one of the most beautiful cities in the country! May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Ever This was the nicest accommodation we have ever. It was an amazing value for the quality, comfort, efficiency, and aesthetics offered. On a scale of 1-10, we would rate this establishment a 10. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service Front desk was very helpful in giving us imfornation on area, since it was the first time we have visited. Sydney was extremely helpful. April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great For Families Close drive to downtown. Several good restaurants nearby and a great playground for the kids to play is less than a mile away. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Unexpected flight cancellations caused some serious broken reservations issues. The staff stepped to the plate and very, very courteseously accommodated our changes. EXCELLENT STAFF....and highly reccommmend this Holiday Inn. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met All Our Needs. We experienced a 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Mt Pleasant. Our room was fresh, well maintained from the bed to sitting area and bath room. Staff was very friendly and met any needs we had.The breakfast bar was very adequate. We enjoyed the court yard and pool area. Only thing that I would suggest, if possible, is the ability to adjust the air flow vents on the air conditioner. The air was always blowing on the bed, or sitting area. It would have been nice to be able to direct the air upwards/downwards. Would come back again if in the Charleston area. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful motel Everything was great at the Mt. Pleasant Holiday Inn Express. Room was very nice, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, it's an easy drive into Charleston, and most importantly, everything was very clean. I would highly recommend this motel. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience A friend and I wanted to visit Charleston a couple days before leaving on a Bahamas cruise. We choice Mt. Pleasant because it was less congested and Holiday Inn Express due to convenience and affordability. The service at Holiday Inn Express was fantastic~~ The room was very clean, nice, and all the staff were so helpful. We got lost coming in, my GPS didn't pick up the street, we called the front desk and they directed us straight there. The breakfast was tasty also. Easy access in and out to go across the bridge to the port and down town Charleston and shopping in the area was great. I will for certain stay at Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Pleasant my next trip to Charleston. Thanks ladies and gentlemen, it shows you take pride in your profession and you made us feel like family. Keep smiling~~ April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value in Charleston Service was excellent and we loved our room (a King Suite that we got for a great deal with AAA) - perfect for a family. I think breakfast could be improved a little bit, and I would have loved for the pool to be open, but the location of this hotel is perfect for many things in the Charleston area. We split our time between downtown Charleston, Patriots Point, and Sullivan's Island. I think it is the perfect place to stay for great value and accessibility to all of these places. Highly recommended. Other pluses are proximity to Whole Foods and Harris Teeter and good, casual dining options nearby for dinner and lunch for families with children. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay near Charleston, SC We had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Everything was as expected but the thing that stands out is the friendly service. This includes the front desk, breakfast ladies, and housekeeping. Wow, everyone was great. This a good location since you can get downtown Charleston in 12 minutes and very close to Patriot's Point and beach. Another plus is that you are across the street from Whole Foods. April 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and great location A very nice HI Express. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, which I appreciate. I would recommend this Inn to anyone traveling to the Charleston area.....close to the beach and downtown. April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Services My family and I stayed there for the Cooper River Bridge Run 2013 and it was great. The breakfast and service overall was good. They had maps at the desk that helped us get where we needed to go for the race and the location was great. Couldn't be happier! April 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sound insulation between rooms It's a great location, comfortable beds, very clean and well run. My only complaint, which is a major one, is that the walls between rooms are apparently not well insulated against noise. I could hear conversations and snoring from the room next to us – definitely a bad experience! April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay In town for Family Circle Cup....great place to stay. Front desk staff is genuine, great people who seem to really care about your comfort. Room very nice, and the surrounding area has everything you could need. Stay here and explore Charleston....we will be back! Breakfast area staff and house keeping staff are awesome! April 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Access to Pool I chose this Holiday Inn Express because it had a pool. It did not state on the website that the pool would not be open in April. We were not permitted to sit on the lounge chairs in the area of the pool. The manager said he was afraid of theft of the lounge chairs, so he could not permit us access to the pool area. After a long winter in Pittsburgh, I was looking forward to lounging at the pool in the sunshine. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable Loved our suite! There were four of us and we had lots of privacy and very much enjoyed the tv's in each bedroom. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room and ammenities were Excellant My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised with this Hotel. The room was spotless and very comfortable and the Breakfast was very good. Mallory at the front desk was gracious and very pleasant. Unfortunately we couldn't spend more time in Charleston, but we are looking forward to coming down again, and we look forward to staying at this Holiday Inn. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All very good except for AC/Heat system All very good except for AC/heating system. There is no "heat/air" choice. The A/C came on in the middle of the night when it needed heat (cold outside). Had to turn off entire system in the middle of the night and restart to trick it to work correctly. Had to repeat the next night. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! A very nice property that is well kept with clean grounds and clean hotel. The staff was wonderful both evening and morning staff were ready to help with any questions we had about the area or needed services in the hotel. Keep up the good work. It is appreciated. March 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service My visit was 3/14 and 3/15. The evening clerks were especially helpfull checking in and giving recomendations for local eating establishments and transportation. They seemed genuinely concerned with my satisfaction. Overall, this is an excellant hotel. My only complaint is that the mattresses in the room I stayed in need to be replaced. They both sank to the middle. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel good price and breakfast was ok. wish they had more variety of meats for breakfast than sausage. but other than that. close drive to downtown charleston just over the bridge to see all historical sites. fort sumter/ghost tours/ etc. nice location. i would definitely stay there again. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best place on our trip. This is a beautiful and clean facility. The staff were very helpful and hospitible. We can't say enough about the quiet and comfortable rooms, Very clean and noise free. The bed was very comfortable. The heating/a/c system was even quiet and did not blow on our heads!! The breakfast area was very pretty, clean and the food selection good. The location is great---just a hop over the bridge and you are in old town Chareleston for a day of sightseeing, good food and spectacular sights. My husband and I will return to this facilty on our next trip. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service was wonderful Ever since this hotel opened I have been a guest. It is a clean hotel, the room is spotless and I just love it. It's accessible to the bridge when I want to go to Charleston and also to Highway 17 when I want to go to visit family in McClellanville, SC. Of course there are several malls. I love to shop therefore it fun for me. March 19, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading