• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 300 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent with One Exception Every aspect of our stay was most pleasant, except one. Nice staff, very clean, good breakfast, quiet atmosphere. The sofa bed was horrific. When kids can't sleep on a bed because it is so bad, don't even think of an adult doing so. March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience!! We recently stayed at this Holiday Inn and had an exceptionally nice experience which included the cleaning staff and the managemnt returning my Kindle that I left in the room. A special thanks to Chantol. Will recommend to our friends and will stay there when we come back to Charleston. March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Does Not Disappoint We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was large, quiet, and dark at night. The beds were comfortable and the staff friendly & helpful. March 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast. I really enjoyed the breakfast, I would say that you are spot on and the internet was good, but we were not happy with the beds ( mattress) , it was like sleeping in a bowl. I also thought the price was high for the cold weather season. This was the fourth time my wife and I have stayed there and it was the least desirable of the four. Thanks and have a great day. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly caring staff this was the 4th year I've stayed at the HIE Mt Pleasant. I travel to MP annually for business and have stayed at this HIE for 2 weeks each time. Wonderful hotel, conveniently located, comfortable rooms with good amenities. The staff is very pleasant and truly want to make your stay stay comfortable. They provided great recommendations for dining and weekend activities. One of the better breakfast's , again with smiling staff to assist with your breakfast needs. Pool area is nice when its warm enough outside. Lots of dinning choices within a couple of miles or you're 20 minutes from downtown Charleston. Obviously I enjoy staying here. March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a great stay Stayed here while visiting my son at The Citadel. Only a short ride over the bridge made the location very convenient. This is our third stay at this Holiday Inn Express and I am sure there will be many more. The rooms are always clean and the staff friendly March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing, quiet accommodations, and excellent staff Very enjoyable stay in Mt. Pleasant. We requested a "quiet" room away from elevators. The staff was helpful and friendly--apparently they have been trained well. The breakfast was very good and the dining area was clean and inviting. Perfect location for driving downtown or to Isle of Palms. It is our first choice for our next visit to the Charleston area. Have already recommended it to several of our friends! March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and Great Breakfast. I felt very Safe Always a wonderful stay. Staff is great. They go above and beyond my expectations. Will stay again real soon. March 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed,clean room,great service hotel was clean,bed was comfortable,service was great,breakfast was good and was served at correct temperature.will stay here next time in area.I will recommend this hotel to all friends travelling in area. was close to beach and provided shuttle service. felt safe on property.special kudos to front desk clerk March 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is friendly Under the circumstances it was overall good. We had to be moved several times; once due to the bed was not comfortable & the other time due to a unforseen incident not at the Holiday Inn's fault. They handled this well but it did put us without the option to be in our room for most of the day. We are grateful that they did respond to an emergency situation well though. We never got to enjoy the breakfast since we are on a different time zone and they close before we can enjoy this amenity. The staff was kind enough to get our child a bowl of cereal & milk on the 2nd day but we ate breakfast out while staying here. would utilize this amenity if it was available. I have stayed here before and was quite pleased and it is very convenient to our need. February 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay My husband & I came back to Charleston after moving away 20 yrs ago for a special birthday party for a friend living in Mt Pleasant. We were able to get around from this wonderfully central location...no trouble getting to downtown Charleston, the beaches, Pawley's Island or Summerville. We had lots of folks to visit with! Our room was facing Hwy17 and we never heard a sound from that busy road. The beds were so comfortable we had to take a nap every day. Breakfast had lots of options and was constantly refilled. It was nice having a refrigerator and a microwave in the room also. All of the staff were very helpful in recommending new to us restaurants or things to do. You can walk over the bridge from the hotel! And let's not forget the great rate made it all the better. February 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and great service We were in Mt Pleasant for a wedding and stayed four days. Everyone from the front desk staff to the cleaning ladies to the man cleaning the glass doors could not have been nicer . Each time we passed in the hallways we were always spoken to.The breakfast in the mornings was always hot and good. The coffee was great and we would definitively stay at this hotel in the future. February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice for the Charleston area I enjoyed my stay and visit with my son in the Charlston area. This hotel is an excellent choice and is close to both the city and area attractions. Price was a fair one. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent HI Express Professional staff, great location close to Charleston. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by February weekend Stayed here while visiting my son at The Citadel. Very convenient location, spacious and comfortable room. Will stay here again on future visits February 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Highly recommend this hotel. The staff was great, especially Mallory and Sharon. The rooms were clean and the location is very convenient. Would not hesitate to stay here again. February 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel and room Our stay at your hotel was wonderful. Very clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the room. Kept very lovely and clean. Please continue to keep your rooms so clean and updated. Such a pleasant stay. Thank you. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Great place for the money. Comfortable bed. Clean. Well decorated. Friendly staff. Had frig and microwave. Did lack safe. Free hot breakfast was a nice touch. Fitness center had treadmills and bike, no weights. February 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Non-smoking means non-smoking!!! So often when you request a non-smoking room, you walk into a room that smells like deodorizer and old smoke. NOT at the Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Pleasant. We were so happy to check in and be able to breathe in our non-smoking room. Thank you, Holiday Inn Express, for making sure your rooms smell fresh and clean and NOT like old cigarettes!!! January 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mallory is an asset to the facility The desk clerk Mallory was so happy and helpful - she made our stay comfortable. We will stay there again. January 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hard to be beat... I have to come to Charleston 3x per year for graduate school and have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mt. Pleasant every visit. (5 visits now, each on 3+ nights) The hotel is very clean and the staff is accomodating. I have requested late checkouts most visits and my most recent trip asked for an early check-in as well -- with no problems. The room service (cleaning) staff have always been courteous as well (that means a lot especially during the times that my family - wife & 3 kids - accompany me). The breakfast bar each morning is more than sufficient (bagels, biscuits, muffins and more). During the warmer seasons, the pool area is nice to enjoy as well. The location is great for going back over to Charleston or accessing the restaurants, etc in Mt Pleasant. The ONLY negative I could mention is that there has been a great amount of road construction on the highway in front of the hotel (one stay during the summer there was night construction, noise, etc) but I view that as temporary and out of the control of the hotel. I could find hotels cheaper -- but for the quality of stay and overall accomodations, it is dollar-for-dollar hard to beat. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Beds and Lovely Breakfast We enjoyed our stay and will stay again when we travel to the Charleston Area. Very clean, new, welcoming, and great breakfast. Warm cinnamon rolls make it extra memorable. January 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smooth Stay, great proximity to Charleston and MT Pleasant added nice surprise We will definitely use this location again. Love the location into the city, but also to the beach, fort etc. Mt Pleasant also has some fabulous restaurants of their own, so don't always overlook them to going back downtown in the evening. A little hard to maneuver to off the highway, but once you've done it, very easy. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable room We were in Charleston for New Years Eve at the Yorktown. The hotel was in the perfect location. The shuttle ran from the hotel to the event and back. The room was very comfortable and the facilities were very nice. The workout room would be the only complaint. It needs a little better equipment and some was out of order. But otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Very convenient to Charleston and places of interest. The staff and accommodations were excellent. Will stay here in the future. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total Experience at this location was excellent The check-in process was rapid. The employees that we interacted with seemed genuinely friendly. The rooms as well as the entire facility were clean and well maintained. The breakfast choices were very good. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and up to date I had a very nice stay. Rooms are clean and up to date. Service was excellent. Location is perfect. Will return. Thank you. January 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First time in a suite The check in staff was very friendly. I had reserved a junior suite to keep my party together and let everyone have his own bed. I was surprised the pull out couch was not made up, and contacted the deck, where I learned that the linens were in the closet and it was up to me to make that bed! I made the bed, but was surprised that that I was the one responsible to do so! Breakfast was good as usual for a holiday inn, but the staff was very slow to replace items such as the pancake batter (even after being advised it was out). As a matter of fact, I waited 10 minutes and realized they did not plan to replenish the batter even though there was another hour to go before breakfast ended. Just a little disapointing. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location Clean, comfortable, relaxing. Breakfast is great. The staff is very helpful. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay Our third annual trip to see the Christmas Lights at the State Park- the hotel could not be better. Convenient, clean, friendly and comfortable. Thank you all!! Already looking forward to our next stay. January 2, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading