• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 160 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was great but still need to work on the smaller thing 1. Buffet breakfast was offered on Saturday and Sunday. Monday (Columbus Day) the buffet breakfast was not served. The reason given was the hotel was not filled beyond 50% so management decided to cancel the buffet breakfast. You could tell this was a last minute change due to the fact most of the staff was unaware of the change. 2. The bathroom faucet leaked in the bathroom. Told the front desk. 3. The AC made a screeching sound every time it turned off. The AC kept us awake most of the night. You could not change the settings to only have the fan to run. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by family staff made us feel welcome as if a part of their family. October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review Very acceptable. The staff was extremely pleasant. Cost was a little more than expected. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We stayed their on a business trip to the area. Everything was fine. The only suggestions I have are to lower the rates a bit - this was a pretty expensive Holiday Inn - and open the breakfast area up a little earlier. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business and Pleasure I stayed at this hotel while searching for a facility to hold a reunion in 2015. This hotel was located in a place that I could reach other hotels easily by car and be in a place that was quiet and surrounded by all the places that I may need such as grocery stores, gasoline, restaurants and shopping. It was also a candidate for the reunion. After meeting with representatives of several other hotels in Charleston, we met with Cheryl Tobias, Senior Group Sales Manager of this hotel. After a full and convincing presentation, we decided that this hotel far exceeded the others we researched for best value and amenities for our group. Job well done by the staff of Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant! September 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by house hunting Not happy with the overall stay. The front desk was unattended often. Had to wait around for someone to show up to help. We were disturbed every morning by housekeeping in the room next to us. A poor effort was made to move us to another room. The room had a foul odor, so we did not move. The room we were in also wasn't the most pleasant either. September 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible bar The bar service was awful, the rooms were alright smelled like an old smoking hotel. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Stay was great. Pillows need to be firmer. Wonderful service as always. Close to everything and our favorite place to stay in Charleston. September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel - Dining Room Blah The front desk and room was very nice. I made the mistake of eating in the dining room, and it took 30 minutes just to get a drink. It was brought to me and told that they weren't really sure how to make it - b/c they had never heard of it before. I pointed out that I ordered it from the menu. I had a free coupon for the drink - and the waitress said she would have given me the drink for free - but I already got it for free... Pretty ridiculous if you ask me. Check-out was a breeze, and the hotel was really close to the Carnival docks - so that was a plus. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gary Great location. Easy access to Charleston and surrounding area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good parking. Good restaurant/bar. Overall experience was very good. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room, but Great staff, comfortable room. But the air conditioner unit was incredibly noisy - just one of those things I guess, but woke me up every time it cycled on and off. September 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable bed This property appears to be in the stages of a changover. The staff are very engaging and attempt to correct any issues that arise. I believe that in another month or so when repairs are finished this will be an OK place to stay. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Get Away Fast check in, great service in the bar, great meal in the morning. Staff was on the ball on all things to make it a very pleasurable stay. We ask for the same room for our stay in October and they made it happen. We were very pleased with the entire stay and we met several new people that shared our views. September 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Heading south for vacation Was planning a side trip to Charleston on the way to the beach. Drove straight thru to Charleston from DC. Tired and cranky till we got to the hotel. Staff greeted us warmly and made us feel at home. Set a great tone for our short stay there. Room/bed was very comfy. Breakfast was great and we got some great recommendations for how to spend our day. I will definitely come back to this hotel on our next trip to Charleston !! September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Enjoyed our stay, very clean room and comfortable beds. However, it was very annoying to have the fan & light switch connected on one switch in the bathroom. Even with the fan running constantly, the mirror was still steamed up! This was the first Holiday Inn that did not acknowledge & give us something, like vouchers for breakfast, a goody bag, for being in the Rewards Club. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good value and experience Value for money and good service as compared to the hotels in the area August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for a cruise and stay package Nice location across the bridge. Easy check in and check out. Friendly staff August 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bill discrepancy I was not billed the rate that I was qouted when the reservation was made. I left a message for manger to call me who was not available when I checked out and never heard back from anyone August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visiting Mt. Pleasant - Great value This is a very friendly hotel...The rooms are clean and well kept...The staff is very accommodating...With the cost of breakfast included, the cost of the room is a real value...It might be added that the breakfast buffet was served in the restaurant with waiters and waitresses...Both desk clerks I talked to at night and in the morning were friendly, yet extremely professional... August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Please update This hotel was very drab. Why hasn't this hotel been updated yet??!!! To be so close to downtown Charleston this hotel was depressing. I stayed here for a reunion and couldn't believe this was the hotel chosen- the worst. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I really enjoyed my stay here, the room was clean and comfortable. The staff are the best I have encountered. The food service was excellent. The only negative I encountered was the availability of WiFi in the room. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn- Mount Pleasant SC Good! This is my second stay. Hotel is bit older but fine. Both of my stays were short (few nights only). Staff is friendly and would stay here again. August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just an ok stay The room was not ready even though we checked in 4 hours after check in time. One day we returned after sightseeing at 4 and the room had not been cleaned. The bar was out of most alcohol that we tried to order. I was not impressed with the hotel. it's only saving grace was that the central location to everything. I would only stay again if nothing else was available. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay We enjoyed our stay at the Mt. Pleasant Holiday Inn. It was pleasant from our first encounter with the front desk support, the bar staff. The hotel was clean and very modern and the hotel has a great location close to downtown Charleston and several beaches. We will come back and stay at the Mt. Pleasant Holiday Inn. It was truly a great experience. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service The overall service of the hotel was great! The catered food for our event was really good! August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff! A big thanks to Tommy @ the front desk he was awesome and to the girl bartending friday August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tremendous staff Staff and Management went out of their way to ensure our honeymoon was wonderful. They gave us a tremendous room, and were very polite. I recommend this hotel based on their efforts, only concern was there was so maintenance work going on above us that was occurring early in the morning but anytime a place that accommodates as well as this place did makes me very thankful. Very good hotel, very friendly staff, and tremendous management. You can see that trickle down over and again. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most enjoyable stay We needed a one night stay in a hotel as my daughter was moving to Mount Pleasant and we arrived a day before the moving truck. We Were able to stay 3 in the room with a sofa bed. My husband arrived first and was able to eat dinner in the restaurant which he stated was a large portion of food and it was very good...he said 9 out of 10 rating. My daughter and I arrived too late for dinner= but we had his leftovers and it was good as he stated. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. There was a little fridge and microwave. We had very adequate space for the three of us. I had read reviews and was not sure what to expect but I was very pleased. I have stayed in plush and basic...this falls on the plus side of the middle. There was some carpeting replacement happening on our floor. I think they are trying very hard to make this a higher end hotel. They are going to a no pet policy and already state that with reservations. The one negative I would say is that people smoke outside of the lobby.... I am not sure where they would go other wise, but that does give a first impression if you are a non smoker. I hope the hotel can figure this one out because it was a nice property with plenty of parking and pleasant, clean, comfortable rooms August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioning not able to adjust temp thus making room uncomfortably cool August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ANOTHER WONDERFUL STAY Extremely satisfied, once again, with another visit to the Holiday Inn, Mt. Pleasant. Definitely our hotel of choice whenever we are in the area for either business or leisure. Always, a very positive experience. Shall return July 31, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading