• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful We have stayed at this location a number of times. Every time has been a pleasant experience. The staff is friendly and helpful. The valet parking is great, and I have never had to wait on my car. I love the modern design of the rooms, and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. What we like the most is the location to the wonderful things that Charleston has to offer. Food, shopping, and entertainment are all within walking distance. September 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good room and staff; poor location Not a great place for dinner or drinks and it's not really in the historic district, but the room was adequate and the staff friendly. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Only slight disappointment was the room temperature and thermostat September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room great service Staff was very helpful and informed. All areas were clean and neat. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Boutique hotel in great location Outstanding service at this brand new hotel was the highlight of our short stay. Planning to come back very soon! August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel - Friendly Staff Staff was outstanding. Very helpful with suggestions where to eat and what to do and see. Great, comfortable rooms. Hotel was very clean. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City My wife and I were thrilled to be back in Charleston and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Great location, friendly staff, and a very comfortable room. We will definitely be staying there again and hopefully soon! August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chef Jonathan Made My Stay While there were issues with guest room cleanliness, the Night Auditor responded with clean sheets immediately. Best pillows in any hotel room, ever. The restaurant and bar made the stay, especially the incredibly talented Executive Chef Jonathan, and the gregarious bartender Lauren. MUST try Chef Jonathan's hummus. POS terminals were down during stay, so everything purchased in restaurant and bar must be cash or charged to room. Hotel's proximity to downtown Charleston is close enough for 15-20 minute walk to most attractions, or better yet, inexpensive Charleston Rickshaw "pedicab" tricycle taxi service. Be sure to eat at Hominy Grill, and wait in line if necessary for Jestine's. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good Location. Great Breakfast. Outstanding Staff Great Hotel - we would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again if we are back in Charleston. The Staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful...specifically Ryan at the Front Desk. He provided a great overview of the City, some suggestions on places / attractions to visit, and provided a good overview to the Free Trolley System (that picks up across the street from the Hotel). Spacious Rooms, good bed, nice bathroom, fridge, and good high speed internet. Outdoor Pool was great - especially after putting on 5 miles of walking during the day. Breakfast Buffet (which included made-to-order omelets, waffles, or pancakes from the kitchen) was great and the service that went along with it was fantastic. The Valet Crew ($16 / day for Valet Parking) were also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Holiday Inn! Good Value, Great Service, and Good Location. Thanks all! August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and relax. Severices and staff were outstanding Best Holifday Inn I have ever stayed in, Will change the way you think of Holiday Inns! August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Good Restaurant Great hotel; everything is new; very clean and modern. Location is just 'OK' - not really close to the heart of things but would still recommend. Price was right for the type of establishment. Couldn't eat dinner in the restaurant because their computer system wasn't working; they said they couldn't transmit the orders to the kitchen so they gave us a mini menu that had only a few things on it; we walked out and spent $80 in a nearby eatery. Guess they haven't heard about writing an order on a piece of paper and giving it to the cook. Ate breakfast there the next day; just the buffet; quite pricey though; they also wouldn't let us order off of a menu. Other than that, would still recommend; kudos to the bell staff; they were most accommodating. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston Historic Downtown Very up to date rooms! Beds comfortable! Close to beaches and other things to do in Charleston! August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 1st time and the LAST TIME to many reasons dirty pool, no room service food quality awful room not what i was told August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service outstanding location Great place to stay while enjoying downtown Charleston. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well Worth It This was a fine choice. From the first conversation with the car Valet to our check-out where they held our bags and car for several additional hours while we wandered about Charleston, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. This was a great find for us. There are many excellent food and shopping choices a short walk away from the contemporarily styled lodging in an historic place. We walked all over town or took the free trolley - there's a stop close by - and let the car stay tucked away for our entire visit. They have a library on the second floor, among other amenities, and cool water at the ready in the lobby. We toured the College of Charleston, the museum, and had lunch on the waterfront. Charleston is lovely with a fascinating history. But, it's nice to stay in a bright and modern hotel after taking in the old town charms. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Charleston Holiday Inn was a pleasure to stay inn. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were very clean. Good location if you like to walk for exercise. About 3/4 of a mile from downtown. Visitors Center is about 1/4 of a mile. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLANT SERVICES We travel a lot but the first time at Holiday INN in many years . But I must say it was a wonderful stay.. We will be staying with them as long as the service remains at the high level that it is. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel and convenient to everything The hotel was very clean, fresh and modern. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms spacious and the a/c worked great -- which is hugely important in Charleston! Highly recommend this hotel! Will definitely stay again! August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bartender Very friendly and helpful... makes a wonderful drink. I overall enjoyed my stay even though I will probably be staying at the river view hotel in the future. I would love to try one of thier suites in the future as my only complaint with this hotel is the small rooms. Will be interested to see how they compare. August 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sad Experience at Charleston Historic Downtown First night we went walking to King Street. The streets were dark and a little scary. Neighborhood wasn't the best and service at the hotel needs to be improved. Some front desk personnel were no help whatsoever. Had breakfast at the hotel and kids free meals were fantastic but for two adults for a regular breakfast it was $30.00 and the food wasn't great. It took forever for us to get our food plus after asking for our check the waiter forgot and had to ask a second time for our check. Wasn't impressed with the service. Pool was wonderful but no towels when you got out of the pool, which was very awkward. For the price you would have thought the location would have been a 10. Not so much. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Charleston Experience Love the suites at this property. Much like being in a small condo. It's a great location and near lots of cool spots to eat and bar hop. Super clean and attentive staff. Only regret was having to move from my suite on my second night when using my ICHG rewards night due to it being booked. A great choice for upper King St. area. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girls Weekend Getaway This hotel was great for a weekend getaway for a girls weekend. Upon check-in the front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in helping us decide where to go over the weekend. They had great advice! There were only a few downsides to our stay during this trip. Our room had a door to the adjoining room and you could clearly hear conversations from the other room which was odd. One of the other items to comment on was the hotel taxi service. We wanted to visit one of the plantations and asked for a taxi to be called and the hotel called a black car for us instead. When researching, we knew that a cab ride to the plantation would run about $25-30, but the black car ended up charging us $45 for the ride, plus a mandatory tip. We decided to forego this service for the trip back and got an actual taxi to the hotel. The ride plus tip ended up being $25. We felt like we had no choice but to take the black car out since it was called for us and then got overcharged for it - it would have been helpful to have the option of taking a cab to begin with. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by general Pleased with stay overall. Will stay again. Good location, attractive hotel lobby and rooms. Breakfast buffet can use some improvements in terms of food quality. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't judge the Book by its Cover The building is new, but the location looks like a sad part of town on the outskirts. HOWEVER, it's close to great shopping, restaurants, and the highway. I would recommend using the valet parking inside the garage. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightful This is right in Charleston, right up the street from King Street, which is the non-waterfront section for food and shopping. The hotel is fresh, clean and the staff (and even other guests) are friendly and professional. I was very pleased. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GOOD EXPERIENCE Very friendly and professional staff. Very accommadating and food and drinks were great. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel The hotel is modern and comfortable. The mattresses are firm and you get soft and firm pillows. The hotel staff is very friendly and extremely accommodating. I had trouble with the dead bolt lock on my door and it was fixed right away. Over the years, I have stayed in a number of hotels, and I can say this was my best experience. I highly recommend this hotel. P.S. The restaurant serves the best she crab soup. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay Wonderful hotel to start your vacation in Charleston! July 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad balcony view The additional cost for what was to be a balcony view was a joke. The view was horrible. Also, when we had breakfast the next morning before checkout, the restaurant's debit card system was down. As a result, we were told that we could add the meals to our bill and pay at checkout. We did. However, when we got to checkout, the bill for the food was $3.50 more than the original cost that was told to us by the waiter. What happened? The waiter added his own tip in on our bill without our approval. We don't want to get the kid fired, but the manager needs to speak with him and train him that this type behavior is inappropriate. Customers will tip based on service received, We were not opposed to giving him a tip because he did a great job, but the equipment was not working at the time for us to add it to the bill. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay While not in the city's historic district, it was only a five minute drive away. Also, this hotel was near many fantastic restaurants on King St. The hotel was fairly new and very clean with a great staff. July 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading