• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 254 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New travels Not the first visit to Charleston, but first visit to Holiday Inn Riverfront. Found it to be very well located, close in to all downtown with many other routes easily accessible. Restaurant on top level is beautiful and most enjoyable. Rooms are nice and price is quite reasonable. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of Charleston! The lobby is nicely done. The staff is very helpful and polite. The location is good especially since you get the view. It might be time for the rooms to get renovated! But they are clean and comfortable. The restaurant has amazing views but the food could use a refresher! We would stay here again and have recommended it to friends already! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great! My husband and I have stayed here many times. It is always clean and the staff is always friendly. Kelli was so helpful when I was setting up our reservations. I was using rewards points and a free night. She set it up to where we didn't have to change rooms and we had a great view of all the fireworks. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks to Kelli, the front desk staff and the cleaning staff yall all did a great job and made our vacation stay better. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Charelston All around a wonderful stay. The views on the 12th floor were amazing! A short drive to downtown was not a problem at all. They do have a shuttle but we were staying in town later than it ran, so we chose to drive. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay The hotel was very clean and in a great, very central location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and ready early. Beautiful views from the windows. Balcony's are permanently locked so you can't go out on them. July 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Antiquated Building The building itself really does the staff an injustice in receiving good overall ratings. This building is in need of some serious renovations; especially for the price per night. There were paint flakes coming off the ceiling etc. Upon entering the hotel there was a busted light fixture in the stairs. This hotel has about 14 floors with only 2 public elevators. The wait time for an elevator was horrible. During check in and check out times the lobby area and elevators were extremely congested. My room had a wet carpet smell in it. I also could look at the toilet and tell where it had been cleaned as if the rag was too wet; there were dry water streaks on the toilet. Extremely disappointed, so much I didn't bother to utilize any of it's amenities. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Guest Services We were staying for a wedding, and the staff was super helpful with every single detail. They were friendly and over the top accommodating! July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service My family and I had a great time at your hotel. We were in town for a wedding and your property was close to the venue. The staff was EXCELLENT and gave GREAT customer service. The only issue we had was the cleanliness of the room. Upon arrival, the floor needed vacuuming, the shower and sink/vanity had hair in/on it. The closet cabinet smelled like urine and the top of it was full of dust. With all that being said, the hotel staff (2 front desk agents and the HK Supervisor) came and thoroughly cleaned my room while I was out. I really appreciated the concern and quick response. I had 2 other rooms and they were great. Liz and Charisse were Awesome, as well as the evening agents. I would definitely stay at this property again, despite any of the issues I had with my room. I highly recommend this property for anyone that reads this review. You will be given EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE... July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor electric outlets and slow elevators Attended a friend's wedding. Iron, blow dryer, and steamer would not work. Had to go to another person's room to do these things. Only two elevators in 15 floor hotel so they were VERY slow. Rooms were outdated. Room service was slow and inaccurate. However, overall the staff was very nice and accomodating. When we needed something they were very responsive. Cleaning service was very friendly. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Charleston View We were thrilled with the wonderful view from the top of the hotel. It was exhilarating! Tamara was attentive at the bar and Josh was so helpful with the shuttle to downtown. The hostess at the rooftop restaurant was dull and listless by comparison, and left us with a bad impression. I don't think she wanted to be there and it showed. That aside, everything about the hotel was wonderful. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, dirty carpet. Nice staff. If they clean the carpet then the room was fine.The bed was comfortable. The view was nice. The hotel restaurant was awful. No fresh food. Frozen then cooked poorly. Cheap wine choices and at the time they were getting rid of some of the wine on the menu and the waitress could only say "we may have a glass left of that one or yes we have some glasses left of the other". The one we chose that she told me they had available was old and vinegary so we ordered a different wine that we made sure was from a freshly opened bottle. Go to downtown for dinner and breakfast. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great location and staff We were very pleased with the location and view. Great staff. Expect a little older property but still a very nice staff overall. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great view The best part of our stay was the view from the dinning room and the food. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable and comfortable My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. It's a nice, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. The tour companies pick up here. They say the round Holiday Inn. If you are looking for a stay in a historical hotel, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a hotel outside the expensive historical district, this is a good bet. Close to the historical district, angel tree, Folly Island. Easy to get to. Restaurant was ok. View was great. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel - horrible Restaurant The view is amazing, and it's convenient for Holiday Inn guests....but the food???? I'm pretty sure they are using the same food service as a diner I frequent back in Jersey. Let's start with the rolls - diamond shaped rolls which are supposed to be warmed. When warmed properly - the slightly sweet glaze on top adds flavor. These were barely warmed - leaving an ugly sticky pasty bumpy half glaze. Those rolls I've seen at my local diner in Jersey too. Exactly the same. I ordered the Salmon with Teriyaki ginger sauce. Comes with salad so I opted for Caesar. Caesar salad - about on par with an average caesar salad at any chain. Not great but not bad. The salmon - grilled - but overcooked and dried out. But hey - a teriyaki sauce might help re-moisten it. Nope, not a chance. No teriyaki sauce was gonna help this. The teriyaki sauce was in a little cup on the side -not even over it at all. And - it was a salty teriyaki - very little sweet or ginger - and THIN. Like water thin. A nice thick glaze with some sweet would have helped a little. Nope, not a chance. The veggies with the salmon? A carrot/broccoli/cauliflower mix. Overcooked too - broc was dark olive green - not bright green, carrots were mushy, and I don't like cauliflower. Get some fresh broc and steam and drizzle a little garlic butter glaze folks - it would have been a big improvement. This seemed like it would have been from a frozen bag and overdone. Mashed potatoes. Parts hot, parts cold, I don't think they were freshly made but I could be wrong. Service - was just fine. Greeter, server - courteous and pleasant and helpful. Folks - if you're staying at the Holiday Inn - don't bother. Go have a drink in the lounge to soak in the view. For dinner - you could do better elsewhere. You see these other reviews? That are bad? Please believe them. It's not good. Which is really a shame, because honestly - if it was GOOD - they'd attract way more than hotel guests and have a nice little gem here. June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor location This hotel is between the lanes of a busy highway. You have to enter and exit using the left lanes with traffic moving in excess of 60 mph. Because of the location, you can't even go for a walk. The fitness center sign said it opened at 5:30 which was incorrect. It opened later not allowing time for a morning workout if you had to be somewhere in the morning. The location is unfortunate because the rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a nice view of the water from our room. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF Due to attending a wedding, we needed a early checkin and the staff did a super job at arranging a room for us allowing us to make the wedding without any problems. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest services Everything went well. Good staff, good food, good shuttle service. No problems. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I would stay again Staff at front desk were friendly and helpful in checking us in to the hotel. The shuttle to downtown Charleston was convenient and safe. The room was somewhat small, but probably do to the fun round shape of the hotel! Pool area was clean and my daughter enjoyed swimming that evening. The view from hotel restaurant was really nice and we even caught a few dolphins giving us a little show! Overall, I would stay again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent Stay We have stayed at this hotel several times. If they keep up the good work we will return every year. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expected for value in comparison to other Charleston Hotels Given what I paid, the hotel met my expectations, in relation to other hotel prices in the area. Furniture and decor seemed outdated/cheap. The bar does not have an outdoor smoking area to relax at, however the view is magnificent.. There seemed to be a lot of elderly and sick people staying at the hotel. Maureen and the breakfast staff were incredibly attentive. Great experience at breakfast. June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Over the past few years I have traveled to many cities across the country and almost always find an IHG brand hotel to stay at. I consider myself a loyal customer as my Platinum status would show and always enjoy my experience at IHG hotels. In fact the Charleston Riverview hotel is one I have recommended to people in the past based on proximity to downtown and a fair price. I have stayed here only once before and my experience was ok but really spent no time at the hotel itself. This time around I decided to book the Riverview hotel for my family as we had to attend a wedding in Charleston. After two nights I realized it was a mistake. Now before I go into detail I want to note that I rarely complain about any hotel stay. I understand that certain things just can't be changed or fixed and also understand the hard work that goes into keeping a hotel clean. Even if my stay somewhere is sub-par, I am not going to go out of my way to make a big deal of something and cause any added stress to the hotel employees. However after my stay this weekend I had to say something. Starting with the room, it seemed clean from first glance and was like any other Holiday Inn hotel room. After a quick inspection I found that the sink was not working properly (only a slight drip when turned on) and that the toilet wouldn't flush properly. I attempted to fix myself at first but decided to inform the front desk. I told the staff while on my way out for the afternoon and they said they would fix it right away. When I returned 4 hours later the problem still hadn't been addressed and I had to call and have someone from the maintenance staff fix it that night. Now on to the second issue, which I must say is an absolute first for me. I noticed on the floor near the bathroom a fungus/mushroom growing out of the carpet. I really have never encountered this and attached are images as proof. I don't think I need to explain anymore about this. I don't want this to be some nagging, long-winded email so I will attempt to wrap everything up in this final paragraph. The last two issues I want to discuss are regarding the staff. My mother politely asked for towels from a maid before we were getting ready for the wedding as she noticed we had no towels period after our room had already been cleaned. The maid responded to her request in a rude way and said, "I can't get you any towels right now as the hotel is still cleaning them. Do you really have to shower right now?" Two things wrong here, I have never known a hotel to be on a towel shortage and why would you even ask that question? Even if there are no towels withing 50 miles of the hotel how about politely saying we will get fresh towels as soon as we can? Baffling to me. On my final note we must address the dining area. The smell in there is quite nauseating as it is a mix of BO and what seems like foot sweat. It made the eating conditions unbearable and seemed unsanitary. I 100% understand that some people just can't help it with their hygiene but this was just unacceptable. It really bothers me that I had to write this review. I love Holiday Inns and I love coming to Charleston but this really left me with a bad taste in my mouth. I hope all of this can be addressed properly because I want to continue staying at IHG brand hotels as well as recommend your hotels to others. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1 Night Stay We had been on one of the South Carolina islands for the day and was looking for a hotel for one night for ourselves and 2 grandchildren. While searching I noticed I had enough points for a free night at the Riverview (the round hotel). We booked it thinking it's free and we will survive. We actually enjoyed our stay and especially the meal at the roof top restaurant . Check in and check out was a breeze. We will probably make this our first call when looking for a Charleston hotel in the future. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable, clean and great location Except for the room being on the small side, it was a very good experience staying at this property. Staff was very friendly and helpful. June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor food service The counter clerks were very friendly and full of incorrect information. The restaurant on the roof was closed when we wanted to eat. There was nothing close by to walk to. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view & comfy Wonderful hotel to relax & recharge. Beautiful view & very comfy. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Review Over the Holiday Inn We enjoyed our time at this hotel. This was the first hotel that we have been to that actually had room service, which was a good experience. The price for the room was quite reasonable, and was well worth it. Overall, I am glad to give it a 5/5. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff and very clean rooms I would recommend this hotel. We had a wonderful girls night here at the hotel. They offer a free shuttle to the downtown area. The rooms were very clean. You did not hear any outside noise. Housekeeping did not knock on our door bright and earlier. :) June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by poor front office staff service Already addressed these issues concerning getting our luggage in and out of the hotel and to/from our room. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Service Great Location of Hotel and wonderful staff. Amanda and De'mente were very friendly, professional and helpful. It was our first trip to the Charleston area and we'll come again and stay at the hotel. June 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading