• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Wife 81 (Birthday) after heart valve replacement on 5/13/2014.We will return. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay truely wonderful experience, the restuarant/bar staff very helpful with directions and attractions in the local area, food was great and room was nice September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation 2014 My husband chose this Holiday Inn in Charleston because it was different than any others we had stayed at before. The view was great and the view from the restaurant was so relaxing. Food and service great. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! It was only for one night but the staff was great and thought the property was in great shape! Would stay here again! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of the harbor Hotel was in an excellent location to downtown Charleston. Price was best for us since it is so costly in this city. Mary Beth at the front desk was very friendly and offered a fantastic taxi cab driver for a very small fee. Overall experience was great. August 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Basic There was nothing special about my stay that differentiated this hotel from any other lower priced hotel. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thank you to my charleston family Thank you so much for helping me through a very difficult process. Your thoughtfulness will never be forgotten August 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Apparently finding bugs is not a big deal Staff were not concerned when we mentioned there were palmetto bugs found in our room and in my luggage on our second night. After persisting that the service was unacceptable we were refunded our night's stay. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by service and cleanliness Even though I wound up with a bug the first night and was not well, the staff was very friendly and offered any help they could give. The cleaning staff was extremely friendly and did a great job of cleaning the room with fresh bedclothes and towels. Our stay was extremely pleasant as far as the staff and the lodging. Will probably stay in larger Holiday Inn next time but can not complain about the accommodations. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible Staff We were at the hotel during a horrible storm which flooded much of Charleston and the power was out in the hotel- 90 degrees outside. The staff at the hotel (specifically Amanda) handled everything so wonderfully. Guests were all still greeted with a smile, cared for and generally reassured that all would be ok. She kept that smile on even with angry or irrational customers. ALL staff stepped up to help with everyone from the cleaning crew to the managers assisting guests in walking up dark stair wells to get to their rooms or offering cold drinks to uncomfortable customers. I was extremely impressed and would not hesitate to stay again. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great AC, Beautiful view, Nice pillows Nice hotel with great view. Good location but a little hard to get into. Going out was not a problem but getting in was a little tricky. Bar on 14th floor was great & friendly staff. Drinks were good. We didn't eat. View was great of the Ashley River & water. AC was cold & great since it was 101 the days we were there. Time to replace sheets on beds. They were comfortable & pillows nice & plump but sheets needed to be replaced. It was clean. Front desk staff was nice & helpful. Shuttle service to downtown was nice. Would definitely stay here again. August 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Review Title Great staff, room full had a strange smell and some bugs. August 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing View and great service I was pleasantly surprised at the convenience of the hotel to the Historic District and at such an affordable price. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The view from the lounge area was amazing! The shuttle runs every 2 hours to the Historic District and was always on time. However I wish they did it hourly instead. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom could use a separate light as you have to turn on the vanity area light to get the one in the bathroom to come on which is inconvenient if someone is sleeping. We did not eat in the restaurant as we chose to eat downtown instead. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pre cruise accomodations We spent one night and we were able to see quite a bit of Charleston thanks to the location, free shuttle and helpful staff.The breakfast was the typical hotel buffet but the service was good and the view phenomenal!! We felt comfortable leaving our car in the parking lot while we cruised. Too bad the balcony doors were bolted but I'd return for another short stay. August 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Location Everything was excellent! My only two issues were the bright exterior lights shine into the room at night, and the rates increased a good deal between booking and check in. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The view! This hotel has one heck of a great view. Especially if you go to the lounge at night or breakfast in the morning. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A surprising retreat with a great view We had a great one-night stay at the hotel and will consider it for future trips to Charleston as well. The free shuttle service was excellent August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and always clean We have been staying at the Riverview many nights during the last three years. Due mainly to medical appointments, but the staff always makes us feel welcome and tries to fulfill our needs. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Special thanks to Josh for helping us along the way!!!! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Coming to Charleston Get value for your money. Close to all attractions, rooms have nice views and staff is friendly August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice! The room was very clean, had a fresh odor and well stocked with the necessary amenities. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating to our questions and needs.The interior areas and outdoor grounds were clean and well maintained. If in the area again, would more than likely stay at the H.I.-Riverview. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms and Great Service Absolutely love this hotel! will stay here again next time i visit charleston!!! August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Downtown Charleston I felt as though for the price paid for the hotel room we should've received a free breakfast. The prices in the restaurant were quite pricey. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Guest Accomodations, Professional Staff When we first arrived at the hotel at approximately 9p.m. there was a young adult event that had apparently just ended. Some of them were loitering in the lobby and just outside the front door entrance. As we entered the lobby, I overheard management taking control of the situation by verifying with other staff as to why the group was loitering and then alerting staff to move the people along in consideration for paying guest. I greatly appreciated his professionalism in meeting the needs the event attendees and hotel guest. There was nothing I felt could have been improved on in comparision to other comparable hotel accomodations at comparable rates. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by i love it. Spacious room, service employees are nice. Easy access to shops and town. Everything was very nice and above average. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better Than Expected Having read some of the reviews, our family was not expecting the quality of hotel we encountered. While the hotel may be an older facility, it was difficult to detect that. The rooms were nice and clean. The facility was very nice. I would stay there again. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great View Great value for the location and amenities. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I would skip the breakfast buffet though. I would definitely stay here again. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful staff and excellent location. Every conversation with the staff was met with friendly and helpful responses. The location of the hotel is also an excellent place to get to all the downtown locations. August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was In Charleston for Business The Holiday in river-view was in a fairly useful area, due to traffic getting out of the parking lot could be quite nightmarish at times. Accommodations were scant and like most things in Charleston unreasonably priced. The Holiday inn was pretty much just a place for a bed I could sleep in to be kept, and it served that purpose admirably. I will more than likely be looking for another hotel, when I return for Charleston because there was nothing really to bring me back to this Hotel sadly. Also Breakfast was $10. $10? $10?! This is America, I think free breakfast is sort of a prerequisite for any and all Hotels. If you feel differently, please adjust your standard. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean, great location close to hospital We had to stay at the hotel for several days due to appointments at MUSC. We received a discount and the front desk clerks were very helpful with information about directions, transportation, etc. The room was clean, very nice and the restaurant on the top floor was amazing. The only complaints I have are the hotel shuttle. It was late leaving the hotel and it was an hour late picking us up. There was also a horrible odor in the hall and an industrial fan ran all night. I believe it was there to dispel the odor. Other than that, the staff was friendly, the rooms were nicely decorated and clean, and the ammenities were nice as well. We will stay there again. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay but front staff needs to be nicer We booked our room a month in advance and asked for a room with a view. We get there and was got a room without a view when we asked the front person say we could for a higher price. So we asked to speak to the manager and tgen the front person snickered and said really and we said yes. The front person was very rude and cocky. The manager on duty came out and as I was starting to explain the situtation he informs me he heard about 1/2 of the story already. So after all the comotion we finally got our room with the view. I almost left due to being embarrassed. After we were settled we took advantage of Happy Hour in the lounge. The staff in the lounge were Amazingly Sweet . This was our 2nd visit to this location and was almost our last. August 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading