• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 235 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great food It is very nice experience for staying in this hotel and no doubt, I will come back in future. Only one thing I think maybe they could improve - the area space for breakfast is a little bit smaller. October 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice in Charleston! My husband and I stayed for a night before catching a cruise out of Charleston. We were very pleased with everything during our stay there. Rooms were very clean with comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff, and a good continental breakfast offered in the morning. This hotel can help arrange transportation service to the cruise terminal and our drop off and pick up both went smoothly with very little wait times. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As Expected Charleston is expensive, but the Holiday Inn Express in West Ashley does provide a good value. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express the night before we left for our cruise. Easy access to hotel and just a 10/15 minute drive to the port. Hotel was clean and beds were very comfortable. I would stay here again. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to get in and out and friendly staff This hotel is nicely placed and has easy access and a traffic light to the highway. Clean rooms and friendly staff. We had a most pleasant stay. September 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Musty rooms We have stayed at HIEs across the USA. This hotel, by far, was the poorest. The first room was so musty that we could not stay in it. We were given another room which was a tad better. Breakfast was horrible. They ran out of coffee and food even after we brought it to their attention. It was obvious the attendant did not want to be there. Guests were lined up and she was not concerned. We do not recommend this hotel at all. We will not stay there ever again. September 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by IHG member We did not receive a complimentary snack bag or water upon checking in.. nor were we even acknowledged as members.. I did not notice anyone receiving check in snack bags.. is this something that has been stopped? Although, upon check in the front desk person was not the most friendly person.. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and Comfortable beds Great property. Breakfast was outstanding with many choices compared to competitor's properties. Beds were very comfortable. Room and bathroom were very clean. Highly recommended as a reasonably priced property located withing a short drive of downtown Charleston. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greatplace to stay The whole stay was most comfortable. Excellent staff relations. Good location for Charleston sights. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Charleston Hotel The location is great. Not far from several plantations and only 15 minutes to the aquarium and the historic district. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Would stay here again next time I am in Charleston. The breakfast area was clean and the staff constantly watched the area and re-stocked food and other items as needed. September 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Hotel, Decent Rates Our three night stay prior to a cruise out of Port of Charleston started off well enough. This is a good location with easy access to the highway and a short 10-15 minute drive to the downtown area. There is a good selection of restaurants in the area. The hotel itself is nice and seems to be well maintained with one major exception, cockroaches. On two separate days we found cockroaches crawling around the coffee area in the lobby. Although the hotel itself seems very clean, an exterminator is needed to rid this area of the vermin. On our second day, we had the do not disturb sign on our door until we left for the day at approximately 8:30 am when the DND sign was removed and placed on the ironing board hook where we found it. When we returned at 7:30 pm, we found that the housekeeping staff skipped our room. When I inquired at the front desk I was told that our room was identified as "Do Not Disturb" so housekeeping didn't attend to it. When we left at 8:30am, housekeeping carts were in the hallway by our door and other doors propped open on both sides of our room and across the hall. The staff may have noticed our DND sign at first but never looked at our door again and just skipped us entirely. Housekeeping should come back and check before calling it quits for the day but they didn't. A monetary tip for housekeeping was left the first and second day, but since they didn't come on the second day, the tip went back into my pocket and none was left the third day. The front desk clerk gave us clean towels and offered to come empty the trash cans. This is why I gave room cleanliness only one star. If it wasn't for the lack of service on our second day, I would have given it all five stars as the rooms are very clean. The breakfast is typical of HIX and has a decent variety. The pancake machine was marked "Out of Order" during our stay. We didn't use the pool but it looked very clean and well maintained, nor did we use the fitness facility. One computer with a printer in the business center enabled us to print boarding passes for our cruise. Manually remove cookies and temporary internet files so you remove any of your traces of use as the computer requires no logon and does not reset (or freeze if you will) after each guest uses it. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff always greeted us upon entering and leaving. Front desk was very accommodating with our several date changes, arrived a day early and left 2 days early due to rain every day. The only bad thing I really have to say is that the bed was too high. I practically had to do a running jump to get into it, but once there, it was very comfortable and I slept well. It was also in a great location. Close to everything we wanted to do, without the high prices closer to downtown and the beaches. Overall...a fantastic stay!!!! Thanks HIE! September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for business stay Good value, decent location, very convenient to highway, nice and clean. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome beds This room was very well appointed with ample outlets. The bathroom was nice and the beds and pillows were awesome. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in Charleston We made last minute reservations at this location. We have stayed several places before but this will be home base in the future. We were impressed from the time we drove up. Great staff, friendly helpful. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were clean and neat. We enjoyed a quiet evening and a great breakfast in the morning. The location was close to the city but in a quiet area. This was a last minute getaway and we wished we could have stayed longer. We will be back September 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cruise, stay and Sail The hotel and location was great. The breakfast is what you would expect, nothing fancy. Most of the staff were great, but I thought I had booked the package deal where I could have left my car at the hotel when I went on my cruise. But the lady at the front desk was very stern in the fact that I did not and she wanted no part in discussing it either. September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service before going on cruise My husband and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon before going on our cruise the next day. The staff was very nice and helpful with any questions we had about leaving our car on the property during our cruise. They assured me that nothing would happen to my car (I was worried because one of my windows had come off track and had started to slide down randomly) and it would be where I left it. They have a computer and printer you can use which was wonderful because I needed to re-print our boarding passes. Their shuttle service to and from the hotel and port was nice and the drivers were very friendly. The rooms were clean and there were so many breakfast options (pancakes, muffins, bagels, cereal, bacon and sausage, eggs, etc)! I would definitely stay here again if we are in Charleston! September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I think excellent service is a hallmark of an outstanding hotel, and this one not only has a great Manager, but she has very good staff as well. I thank them for their much needed expertise on the local area, and also for setting up a tour of Charleston that picked me up right at the door of the hotel! Best wishes to all of you at this hotel in Charleston! September 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and accomodating The staff at this property are friendly, accommodating and efficient. I arrived late and hungry and all the area restaurants were closed. The front desk staff gave me a menu to a restaurant which delivered food to my room at 1:00 am. I also had a sudden change of plan which involved a mid-week move to another HI property upstate. This was handled quickly and efficiently and my request for a ground floor room when I returned was granted. This is a good property to stay at. September 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Reliability I travel a lot for business and leisure. I always look for a HIE because they are extremely reliable. Clean, quiet, convenient, a good value, and a good breakfast. This property was slightly above average. Which is high praise. Because all of the HIEs I have stayed in have been great. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good IHG experience/ Seating in breakfast is insufficient. Had to stand for 10 - 15 minutes before being able to sit down. Otherwise my experience was good. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Virginia Gal Great accommodations and staff. Friendly staff and attentive to your needs. The hotel is centrally located where you can get to everything easy. September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Research Room was small, water pressure was just enough it need help.. Elevator was super slow, we used the stairs except when we needed the cart. Location was ok September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was very good and hotel staff were courteous and customer service oriented. September 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast but not much else Booked this 3 night stay thru their call center but wasn't informed that the price is subject to change depending on the day of the week/weekend. No government or military discount rate so the nightly rate is a bit high for the area. Maid service was fair at best...my bed was made only 1 of the 3 nights I stayed. Low water pressure in bathroom sink. If you don't mind the pack of cats roaming the parking lot 24/7...you might enjoy your stay. If you perfer your wild life in a zoo, check out the accommodations further down the street. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great For Cruise Passengers (Cruise Package) We stayed here to get away from downtown and the great cruise package they offered which is a bargain compared to leaving your car at the port area! The front desk staff were very friendly and answered all our questions regarding the cruise package, It includes parking your car anywhere on the parking lot while you go on your cruise and transportation to and from the port. The transportation people were on time and very nice to explain on our way different tourist attractions etc. When we got off the ship the van was waiting on us and 15 minutes later were back at the hotel. The breakfast was very good and the front desk made sure we knew about fresh baked cookies at 6:00P.M. the night before. The beds were excellent and the room & bathroom were very clean. No cons here about service! I highly recommend this hotel especially for the cruise package. September 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attention to detail They were a little off on many topics, getting a C rather than an A. A little extra effort would make all the difference. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room We had a great experience with this hotel. It was clean, maintained and staff was great. Would definately return September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service the staff were very helpful. Useful tips on where / what to do during our stay. the breakfast was good - lots of choices and fresh and nutritious, September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and convenient A really great experience with comfortable beds, clean room and bathroom and all the amenities you would expect (the internet was really slow on the first day but faster on the sceond). The only negative was the presence of a baby or small child next door who screeched constantly (although it did occasionally sleep late at night). Obviously this was not the hotels fault and we did not mention it so I don't know what thier response to this issue would have been. This did not hugely detract from a very conveient hotel. August 31, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading