• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 300 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No better stay on our traveling vacation No disappointments here. Each member of this team is "game-on". This was one of our many stops but definitely the best. Its proximity to Charleston is a quick entry at the base of Charleston's Bridge and the return is the same. Some of the best restaurants are within 5 miles of the hotel and the shaded pool/ patio area is very comfortable. The ability to park around the motel and use side entrances is handy. This hotel retains the charm of Charleston while providing quick access to all points up and down the coast. I will drive the extra distance to stay here even if my immediate destination is not here. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Everything we were looking for we found in this hotel - friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, very convenient location, very reasonable price and great breakfast. If we ever come back to the area, we will stay here. It was perfect - so much so, my husband considered just staying extra time there he liked it so much June 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor front desk manager The reservation person booked us one night not three! We were told there was a hot tub in the Presidential suite, but it was a jacuzzi bathtub! The front desk manager did not care when she came in the next morning and I asked for a discount based on the hot tub error. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value/excellent service We stayed three nights in June and were very satisfied with our experience. Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Free breakfast bar offered lots of choices. Location was great for sightseeing in Charleston, 10 minutes away from the visitor's center. No restaurant on sight, but with so many wonderful food choices all within a 1-10 minute drive of the hotel, who cares? Great value for the price! June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Paid a little extra to get larger king room, which was nice. Very clean and quiet. Air conditioner had the option to run the fan continuously. Only complaint would be the bed which was very, very FIRM. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Minutes from down town Charleston Great place to stay. Clean and secure. A little pricey but a good value for the area. Will be staying there again in the near future. May 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by would not recommend for the price was told incorrect of the cost which for Mt. Pleasant was high, said we would have a suite and when arrived was told not sure why they told you that on the phone. Bedding was terrible, duvet not anything thicker than a bad mattress pad, had to ask for another one Maid who cleaned room smelled so bad we had to spray anything we had to get the smell out. Good locations but would not stay again. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed! The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The pillows were soft and lovely. Nice pool. Breakfast was so-so: liked the cinnamon buns, hated the eggs! Good experience, I'd go back. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good breakfasts We found this hotel ideal for our visits to Shem Creek, Sullivan's Island, Mount Pleasant,and of course, Downtown Charleston itself. Wonderful places for dinner at Shem Creek and ideal for dolphin and pelican watching! Always sad to leave. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Experience Whenever we travel anywhere around the country, we almost always stay at Holiday Inn Express chains because of the easy and predictable quality it has. We are always pleased about the atmosphere, service, and general cleanliness/upkeep. The location was ideal for going to the beach and downtown Charleston, both within 15/20 minutes or less. One other big plus is that the entire hotel is smoke-free and pet-free, which helps keep allergies and noises down for us - very important when traveling pregnant and with small children! May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smokey We found the entry way and breakfast area to be very smoky from the smoke that was coming in from outside where people were standing the ventilation there was extremely poor. The breakfast staff was extremely unfriendly front desk was very friendly pool was very nice and clean! May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location and comfortable beds Hotel located less than 5 minutes from downtown Charleston. Found it a bit hard to find as we do not have GPS and you actually have to get off tthe main street to find it. Check.in was quick and all the girls were very friendly and helpful. There is a tour of the historic district that picks you up at the hotel and drops back approx 2 hours later. If you take the early tour you can stay in town and catch the later bus back. Breakfast had lots of choice and the room is beautiful. Lots of great places to eat in Mt. Pleasant, no need to go into Charleston, just ask the front desk for recommendations. It was graduation time so no upgrade available for Platinum member and only hotel on the trip that did not offer a welcome gift!! Overall a nice hotel with a fantastic location and a reasonable price. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place We stayed 3 nights on our vacation, location was very important to us. Hotel was super clean and very comfortable. I also really liked the touch screen located near the pool area to help with things to do, we did use it as well to buy and print tickets to places we were interested in visiting! Would stay here again if ever back in the area, loved this hotel!!! May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for the price It is expensive to stay in historic Charleston. This hotel is a short drive away and is very reasonably priced, especially considering the amenities included. Also, it is close to Waterfront Park, a great place for a walk down the pier. Very interesting to see the Ravenel Bridge from underneath. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service & Comfortable The service was awesome. The room was very clean & spacious!!! I do wish the front desk carried aspirin. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable I stayed two nights. The rooms were very clean and quiet. I slept great without hearing noise from any rooms or the hallway. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here in the future. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location Awesome location with anything you need around it, and a very short trip to downtown without paying downtown prices. Very safe and quiet also, unlike downtown could be. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One little thing... My overall experience was more than satisfactory. The young woman who checked me and was not exactly professional. My concern is small but still felt that I should report it. When I first arrived she greeted me and told me that my room was not yet ready. I explained that I had my grand son with me who is only a few months old and I was hoping to get into the room early because he needed to be changed. She reminded me that I was still too early to check in. When I returned at the appropriate time she seemed put off by me. She was showing me where I needed to initial on the contract for the room and then accused me of grabbing the pen out of her hand in order to sign it. I apologized as I didn't have my glasses on and thought she was handing me the pen. A small discourtesy but I felt it. I travel to Mount Pleasant to visit with my new grandson and this is my third stay at your hotel. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay when visiting Charleston My wife and I were looking for a place to celebrate our 25th anniversary and we chose Charleston. This hotel is very conveniently located just across the river in Mt. Pleasant ~ only a 5 minute drive from downtown Charleston. It is also very convenient to the visitor center, park, and plenty of restaurants. We will return! May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful facility! Our first visit to Charleston: This location in Mt Pleasant was a good choice, for going back and forth into Charleston. We had four rooms, and our family members remarked on the very nice rooms, and the good breakfasts! April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Suite We had a suite which was very nice with lots of room. Only had 1 issue. The water in the sink in the bathroom drained very slow. Everything else was great. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location to downtown Charleston and Nice Rooms! We were in town for the Cooper River Bridge Run and this hotel was in the perfect location! We were able to walk to the start of the race and not have to deal with traffic. It was also close to the beaches, nice restaurants, and downtown Charleston. We will for sure be staying here again next year! April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shower Tub did not drain well while showering. Computer room not air conditioned. April 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast and stay could have been better. For the second year in a row, our room was not cleaned one day. We were out of the room before 10:00 each morning. There were no clean towels, so I had to call again to get some for the next day. With breakfast, two mornings of our stay they were taking it down at around 9:30. People were still coming down to eat. It is supposed to be served until 10:00. We have stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row, but it will be our last. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay Spent three nights while attending Family Circle Cup. Will be back next year! Great staff, clean comfy rooms,very nice breakfast! Great location to the venue. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience!! This was our first time at this hotel. So happy we chose to stay here!! Very clean. Great location. It was so relaxing in our room, it was difficult to leave! We will be returning next year. Thank you to everyone at the hotel who made our visit so nice. :) April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience The mattress and pillows were so comfortable! The staff was pleasant and responsive to our needs. The room was clean and the staff were prompt in cleaning our room every day. We absolutely loved the location, near Patriots Point, Ravenel Bridge, downtown Charleston (take the water taxi to downtown!), great shopping and restaurants. Our only disappointment was the breakfast offerings, rather tasteless. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We had a wonderful time visiting the Mt. Pleasant/Charleston area during our spring break. The location of the Holiday Inn Express was perfect! We had a very spacious "Presidential Suite" for our six night stay at a great rate. It was our first time visiting this area and staying at this hotel allowed us to be in historical downtown Charleston in approximately 5 to 6 minutes. We were very close to Patriot's Point and the Boone Plantation in Mt. Pleasant as well. We would recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting the Charleston area. March 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant room Room was pleasant but temperature control annoying nearly always blowing. Soap was next to impossible to open. Breakfast was very limited mainly simple carbs and fats. Bananas were frequently old. Coffee was good. March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sorry to say Disappointed The room was very nice and Clean. It is also close to lots of places to eat and close to downtown. Our TV did not work well. Very poor color and the picture did not fit the screen. When we reported it, we were informed that is was a problem with the Cable technology not matching with the TV. This property was a bit too noisy for me. You can hear everyone's foot steps, not only above you.and out in the hall, but even by those in your room. (like foot steps running, boom, boom) Very un-restful night. The staff was very nice and polite. The room was waaaaay to expensive to not have a properly working TV and not to sleep. We expect many future trips to Charleston, and I hate to say, we will not stay here. March 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading