• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 339 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay here again. Our check in was quick, and the staff was very nice. When we got to our room, there was no soap or shampoos in the bathroom. The chair sitting at the desk had bits of cookie and crumbs all over the chair. The dust cover on the bed was not clean. I just felt like the room was not clean. We are IHG platinum members and Holiday Inn Vacation Club owners. Upon check in we were not recognized as being members. Other Holiday Inn recognize this and give you at least a water upon checking in. I would not stay at this location again. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girls weekend Had a blast. Hotel was clean & neat. Not to far from town. A little too pricey. July 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Priority Club Member shocked at the noisey AC unit We arrived late afternoon on 7/21/2014. We went shortly after arrival to dinner. We were on the forth floor and they booked a group of teenage sport team players on our floor. Well 11:30 PM till 12:30 AM the banging on doors started with foul language. Called the front desk and they came up and talked to the youth. But started again once off the floor. The couch was no where to be found to supervise the team he was in room 420 right down from our room. On top of that we had to turn the room AC up to stop the noise, we did not realize how loud it was on arrival. It sounded like a 747 power fan when it came on. It was an old in the wall unit with the fan hard wired to high speed and a wall mounted thermostat to say the least a BAD NIGHT SLEEP. Between the un supervised youth and the AC unit O what a night. Due to bad weather in the forecast we decided to spend 1 night rather then 2 as reserved. The next morning I told the desk I was not happy with the stay and as a Priority Member since 1986 the worst stay ever. Never had experienced a stay in the 28 years as a member staying at hundreds of rooms over my business career. Now too put icing on the cake I left my Phillips electric tooth brush in the room I called three times and left a message for house keeping manager with no call back with did the house keeper cleaning the room turn it in to lost and found from the bathroom sink. Granted my fault and not of the hotel however, a call back would have been nice. The desk manager just passed the problem to house keeping and she only had the key for lost and found. I find that hard to believe the hotel manager did not have a key? Not happy and will look at other alternatives for future stays. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our room There is absolutely no counter space to all in the bathroom. We could have relaxed more if there had been a comfortable chair to set in. Not just the chairs at the table. The staff was so friendly. Room was clean. Easy access to the Charleston Riverdogs stadium. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating Area was easy to get around. Todays apps made it easy to find anything. We had no trouble finding parking for the fine dining in the area, IMO much to do and discover. Wouldn't walk especially Spring Street. We enjoyed the many historic offerings in the area. Hotel, at least our room needs grouting in bath. Staff, seemed helpful. No answers for anything but were polite. I asked for two new towels from a service lady, she walked away telling me I wasn't her room person. I went to her cart 10 feet from my door and took two new towels. Internet wasnt secure even tho I was given a five digit pin code. Manager suggested I do what I needed to do downstairs. Don't think my clients would appreciate guests viewing their accounts. Breakfast two mornings were a nightmare, little order. Guests especially the young adults were me first people. Kitchen ran out of the food guests were in need of. A young adult cut in line in front of my wife took TWO plates of scrambled eggs, 4 muffins, dropped a bagel on the floor. One gentleman named Mike was very helpful in dining room, always cleaning tables doing his best to help. Would not stay there again, best of luck July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service and friendly staff. The only problem we had was when we first got to Charleston we finally could see the hotel, but couldn't get to it because of the street directions and one way deals. Also the parking was a little far away. When told there was a balcony on the phone we thought that meant with table and chairs. We think it should be make clearer that it is just a step out on balcony. Loved the shower. There weren't enough walk to restaurants around it. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Famiky vacation Pool was nice, check in well. One elevator not working....had to wait long time sometimes. Beds very comfortable as we're showers. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good if you are not looking for much Just needed a place for 2 of my buddies and I to have a place to sleep and change while visiting downtown Charleston, so I had limited needs. The hotel met them. Nothing really BAD I can say about the stay, but it was about average. Nothing really above average or exception either. I was disappointed that the front desk agent did not tell us important information while we were checking in. Things like free breakfast, checking out options, what to do if we need anything, pool/gym other common stuff hours. No one I interacted with seemed like profession hotel workers which is not a knock necessarily, but sometimes you expect them to tell you everything you need to know upon checking in. July 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by july 4th 2014 Average stay here, clean, quick breakfast and what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express. As it is everywhere, stays at hotels around July 4th are not value priced. July 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisey Air conditioner was very loud. So loud that it had to be turned off in order to sleep. When I asked the front desk if there were another room that was quieter they said no. All the air conditioners were the same. The room was very small compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels that I've been to. July 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The staff during the day were great. The food lovely and fresh. Your night staff need a good talking to- they need to know why they are there and whom they are to look after. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Visit Good stay for a good price. The room was comfortable and the staff were friendly. July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not downtown This is an older property with smaller rooms. It has been updated but it was not a complete make over. This is not downtown and the trolly is not realistic during rain. Parking is crowded. Staff is friendly and the lobby is a great place to have a cool one with family July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff The entire staff made the stay even more enjoyable. The food in morning was very good and there was plenty of seating availalble. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone that I talk to. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location very hard to get around that area of Charleston--especially if you are not familiar with the area--Dining not close by--McDonalds is not dining--- Breakfast was pretty good--met my requirements as a customer- July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Clean This provided us a clean and convenient place to stay while visiting the Charleston area. The breakfast was great each morning and had the best cinnamon roles. One night of our visit there were some noisy neighbors but once the front desk was notified the noise stopped. Parking is a bit crowded if you arrive late and people parked in the grass. There is extra parking a little further out. We never had a problem. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice suite When we arrived at the hotel it was about 11:50 PM so my first impression was morphed by the darkness, but once in the lobby I could immediately see the quality I have come to expect from the brand. The 2 bed suite had a large living area and separate bedroom with 2 double beds. The bathroom was a Jack and Jill style with one opening leading from the living room and the other from the bedroom area. Since I was traveling with the family, the 3 kids took the bedroom and my spouse and I slept on the pullout couch. I enjoyed the size of the room and the cleanliness of the facility and the out door pool was on the south side of the building which is key since it was an outdoor pool. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We attended a wedding at the Historic Rice Mill very close to the hotel.It was not only convenient to the wedding but also to free transportation downtown to allow us to tour during our free time. There are not a lot of choices to eat nearby But lots of restaurants downtown and Market Square. Be sure to check bus times for return. The staff were very helpful in registering and supplying information to view the city. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First holiday in Charleston Great place to visit.. The free Trolly service is a great idea and very tourist friendly. Shame it stopped so early - circa 8.30 - 9 pm dependant on your stop. Location of hotel a bit out of the way from the main areas Pool needed some attention I only used it once during my stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the usual Holiday Inn Express A very disappointing experience : No IHG welcome on arrival. No internet service No cable tv Front desk did not answer phone when I called 3 times Sink in bathroom did not drain Air conditioner very noisy did not seem to cool the room July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service Need a microwave downstairs because the food was cold. The staff was very knowlegable and helpful and booked our tours for us. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was more than friendly and willing to help with anything. The breakfast was one of the best we have had traveling. A little far from all the shops and river, but managable. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Very nice facility for a Holiday Inn, Bathroom needs some work not as clean as expected. Service was on par with world class hotels I have stayed in. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Close to Charleston River Dogs (Yankee affiliation) Stadium, Citadel's stadiums, Medical UNiversity of South Carolina, free trolley to historic district. Actually got to see the river dogs play the Kannapolis Intimidators and family got in for free! Marina acroos the street on the Ashley River. Good area for a 4 mile jog in the mornings. Great location, great stay! July 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed service is good the bed is so good pillow is soft and nice service is good people at front dask is frendly July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ASHLEY RIVER, S.C. HolidayInn was very beautiful, clean, comfortable bed, excellent service, rooms were basically soundproof, pool was clean, and breakfast nice to start your day. The free trolley was a short walk outside of the hotel and perfect to get to Downtown Historic Charleston. I would stay here again. July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall value Absolutely the worst value per dollar I have ever experienced at a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is in a terrible part of town, with nothing at all, nearby. I had a king room which was without doubt the smallest room I have ever stayed in. For the money I paid , I could have stayed a lot closer to civilization. The breakfast area was overcrowded and the food left a lot to be desired. Thank goodness for your cinnamon rolls. If I have any more experiences like this, I will reconsider the benefits of being a Priority Club member July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unfortunately, I was disappointed I stayed in two rooms during my three night stay. One room ( King bed) had a very loud and inefficient air conditioner. The vents in the unit were such that cold air blew directly on the person in lying closest to the unit. Additionally, the lighting in the bathroom was dim. The second room (Two Queen beds) was larger and more comfortable until I noticed a pile of toenail clippings on the rug by the sliding glass door. From that point on, I questioned how clean the room was and did not feel at ease. I do not think I will return and I would not give this hotel the 3 star rating that I saw online. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and clean, but poor breakfast The hotel is comfortable and relatively new, although I am not a big fun of green carpets and curtains. Unfortunately at 9am there was no food left for breakfast and empty trays were not replaced at all. So I ended up having to get breakfast from a bakery in town....! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place. This was a very nice place. Comfortable beds nice rooms. Trolley was convenient never had to drive anywhere . The staff was so friendly and helpful, always a smile. The breakfast was very good and the cinnamon rolls were to die for! Would definitely stay again. July 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading