• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and cats are allowed only in Pet Friendly Rooms. 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. 5 pet rooms available. 1 King PF and 4 2 Queen PF. Pets must be crated or leashed in public areas. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lock it up! A really bad experience last weekend. I had my jewelry stolen from our room while we were out exploring the town for a few hours. The person in charge who had me fill out a report would not give us any information about who entered our room even though they knew. They also would not give the information to the police officer that I called. My report was filed, and I still have NOT heard from the hotel even though they told me someone would contact me in a few days about my stolen property. It will be a week tomorrow. I am very disappointed in this hotel and their management in handling of this situation. So...if you decide to stay here, Lock up your jewelry in the car trunk or take it with you. The person who entered my room still works there. May 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Improvement Needed I stayed here with friends April 5 -7. We stayed at this hotel due to its close proximity to the start of the Bridge Run (approx 2 miles). The staff was not helpful - almost as if they were all new. There was an overpriced shuttle set up to take runners to the start of the run. It was not reasonable from a pricing perspective at all! We walked the two mile trek rather than pay it. Many others did as well. I am gold with Priority Club and registered as having 4 in my room, yet I was only given one breakfast coupon! On Sunday (the only day I could eat breakfast), two of us ate in the restaurant. Our server almost wanted to argue with me because I only had one coupon and there were two of us. I never even mentioned to her that I would not be paying for one! We also had dirty utensils and had to ask to replacements. On Sunday, the front desk could not even suggest where we might go to purchase a newspaper! I stay in many holels for both work and leisure. I will not stay or recommend this one in the future. April 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Groups, not for leisure The Holiday Inn Mount Pleasant was mediocre. The hotel was built for groups and had many nice spacious banquet rooms, but is not for personal stay visitors. We were placed on the same floor as campers, making it difficult to sleep at night and in the AM. We had to request the room be cleaned multiple days. At the time, many of hotel's amenities were out of service. There is a great shuttle service for business people. April 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated, Overpriced, and Low Quality I was very unsatisfied and displeased with my stay at the Charleston-Mount Pleasant Holiday Inn. I was in town for a wedding, and the Holiday Inn booked a(n incredibly noisy) youth soccer convention on the same floor as our wedding party. This was very disruptive to our sleep, as early as 6:30 AM and as late as 10:00 PM. Guest Services was unsympathetic and not accommodating at all to our complaints. The rooms were outdated, overcrowded, poorly ventilated, and generally uncomfortable. Highly overpriced for the lack of quality received. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location for Bridge Run This was my first time at the Holiday Inn in Mount Pleasant. I found the price and location perfect for the Bridge Run. The hotel room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was courteous too. The location is great. You have ample parking and it is about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Charleston. April 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service I was at the Holiday Inn Mt Plesant for 7 nights and on 3 of the nights after returning from work, my room ws not cleaned. Dirty towels were there and no fresh towels were provided. This was absolutely unacceptable! April 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor housekeeping The bath needed a deep clean. The vent was dirty. There was something splashed on the back of the bathroom door. It was generally not up to standards. Also, they did not resupply the soap, shampoo, coffee correctly. April 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay Our experience was just okay. The hotel itself was fine. The staff was okay. When we arrived at the hotel it was 2:30 pm. Check-in is at 3:00. I was the only person in the lobby besides the front desk person. She did not greet me nor even look at me. I told her we were ready to check-in. She said there were no rooms clean which was fine. I asked her if we could put our luggage somewhere in the meantime (1/2 hr). She said there was nowhere to store our luggage. She did nothing to help us, I've never had this happen at any hotel in my life. I asked her what I should do. She said the computer would say when there was a room available. In the meantime we sat in the lobby with our luggage. She never checked whether there were clean rooms. In the meantime, a huge line ensued and she must have gotten off her shift because a new girl came on and she walked out. There was no conversation between the two. The new lineup was in the same predicament except this woman helped them to get a room. In the meantime, I had to wait an extra 1/2 hour to stand in line behind everyone else. The woman checking everyone in was doing her best, but she said she normally doesn't work the front desk, and there was no one to help her. (Obviously, a management issue# They did not give us our coupon for breakfast #which we purchased). Service was very, very slow for both dinner and breakfast. People generally were nice but slow with exception of front desk lady who was just rude. Overall, it was okay. I would neither recommend nor not recommend. April 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs update and inc. staff Tried to eat in the restaurant for an evening meal and a bkfst, poor service, so so food. April 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by "Out of date" stay The room was smaller than usual and the room decor was from the 70's - brown and yellow. No refrigerator! We were given two comp. warm water bottles for being a Priority Club Member. That's all that would fit in the ice bucket that we had to keep re-filling, so I used the trash can as a larger ice bucket for the drinks we brought ourselves. I'm just used to having a refrigerator at a minimum. During our visit to the area we also stayed at a HI Express ( 4 hrs away and cheaper), which included a nice hot breakfast every morning. Breakfast at this HI was 10.95/pp and was not as nice. When we did attempt to sit and have breakfast, there were many guests, however I did not see one server or hostess for five minutes, so we got up and left and were much happier with a better and cheaper breakfast down the street. When we left our room in the morning and came back at 2:30 the beds had not been made. We freshened up and left again - kids left 3 shopping bags on a bed, so that when we came back at 8, only ONE bed had been made, I guess they didn't want to lift the shopping bags off the bed??? I've never had this experience at any hotel. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room. The first night was very uncomfortable because the air conditioning did not work and it was hot and muggy in the room. I was not able to sleep well at all. The next day I was moved to another room where the air conditioning worked and everything was comfortable and very pleasant. March 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but needs updated Beds were uncomfortable. TV cable service limited and no HD. March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, rates, and an awful food staff..... Overall we were pleased. I stay 50+ a year and usually choose a HI. They upgraded us to a suite which was very nice. Rooms were clean and the hotel is well maintained. It is in a great location for Charleston and nearby islands. They gave breakfast "comps" but this only included the cold items on the first half of the line. This is always sad when they do this. Give the person a complete breakfast if you are going to act like it is an "extra". Our only negative experience related to the food staff. I received three breakfast tickets for three nights with two guests. The lady rudely asked, "isn't she going to eat, then you need another ticket". It wasn't in a polite manner. I handed another ticket for a cold breakfast of low quality. The icing was when a white family with an adopted black child entered the restaraunt. The workers (both African-American) made rude comments and stared and snarled at the family. This treatment was so blatant that complete strangers were offended. This was the only negative or an overall relaxing and pleasant stay. Charleston was beautiful as always! March 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice The hotel was very clean, the staff was polite and courteous. Parking lot was well lit at night. The building is quiet and I slept very well, almost better than I sleep when home. No complaints at all. This is good place to stay and I will stay here again when I find myself in Charleston for business. March 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience First our room was not ready. Staff finally found us a room. Then, Phone in room did not work. No way to fill the tub. Only shower worked. Dust everywhere and drawers looked like leftover crackers were left in them. Took forever to get hot water. Not a good value! Only nice thing I can say is staff was nice after we told them how far we had driven. March 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay CLC member, great value. Managers reception was a nice bonus. I will use your property on my future travels to the area. Should be 25 + nights a year. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 30th Annual Lowcountry Oyster Festival Flew in from Texas to attend the 30th Annual Oyster Festival at Boone Hall and was not disappointed. Friendly staff greeted us upon arrival and we were not let down the entire 4 days. Locals were more than accomodating. A visit to Trader Joe's is a must for those who are not familiar. Fantastic place.....Oh, the She-Crab soup was also amazing and a must try. My favorite soup was at the Hyman Seafood restaurant. We will be back.... February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The rooms were clean and neat. Service was excellent Our room was clean and comfortable and the space was great. All the service we received was excellent. Will stay here again when we return to Charleston. The park and cruise was great and this service was excellent. You did a great job. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay We only stayed one night at this hotel but I would highly recommend it if you are looking in the Mount Pleasent Area. The hotel was clean and very beautiful arcitecture wise. The beds were comfy and the service was great! The only problem was the contruction going on at the time so it was difficult to find the entrance at first. December 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience After reading poor reviews, I was pleasantly suprised. The service was excellent - both food and front desk. The room was clean, fresh and comfortable. Good place to stay. December 4, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the buck Unfortunately, when we arrived in Charleston, there was a convention. As a result, we booked here. The room smelled like mildew and was really dirty. Out of a 28 day roadtrip, this was the only bad hotel experience and way overpriced for what we received. Let's put it this way, not a morning person, I was up at dawn, showered and ready to leave. My husband was shocked. I just didn't want to spend one minute longer than I had to... very disappointed. November 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Perfect location for visiting local colleges. The service and food in the restaurant was horrible, but there are many alternatives around town. The beds were not very comfortable, but the housekeeping dpt was spot on as was the front desk staff. We just needed a place to crash as we were out and about most of our stay. I would stay there again. November 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this centralized hotel Love the atmosphere of the hotel, the staff, the rooms and the location to the 1200 things we had on our to do list. This is where we stay when we come to Charleston and I highly recommend it. October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Staff My wife and I were guests at the Holiday In on Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina on 10/18/12. The hotal staff at the front desk went put of their way to ensure that our stay was comfortable and restful. One front desk employee, Jackie, was especially helpful and provided service which went above and beyond. Faced with the dilemma of how to get three bottles of wine back to Ohio without having to pack them in our suitcases, Jackie generously stepped in and arranged for shipping the wine via UPS. The wine arrived safely on 10/25/12 because Jackie took the time and made the effort to address and resolve the problem which my wife and I were dealing with. This young lady is a credit to the Holiday Inns as an emplyee who not only takes initiative but goes out of her way to provide assistance and help to the hotel guests. Her example reflects highly on the service and care extended to guests at the Holiday Inn Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina. As a frequent guest at Holiday Inns, Jackie's efforts impressed myself and my wife that she stands out as a representative of your hotels who truely cares about the guests. Her efforts are to be commended and used as an example for the type of care and assistance that have become the hallmark of Holiday Inns everywhere. October 26, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom did not like the fact that the bathroom fan is on all the time the light is on. Very annoying and loud. October 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice weekend Nice hotel and good location for getting into Charleston ... it was a very enjoyable weekend October 20, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ddubya We stayed at this hotel for my Vietnam Company reunion. We came a day early to see the area around Charleston. Our stay was very good and the service was good also. My only disappointment was not being able to get a platinum room upgrade as the hotel was booked solid for the weekend. The road construction around the hotel was an inconvenience but will be over eventually. October 20, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful area around Hotel We were there for the Co A 70th Engineer Battalion Reunion of those who served from 1965 thru 1969. It was a nice hotel with good, clean rooms. The only complaint was the traffic hold up due to construction. It made it more difficult to locate the correct hotel. When we made a call to the hotel, they were very accomidating and helpful to get us to our destination. October 19, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not return The hotel room was smelly and overpriced for what we got (even though we got a wedding block discounted rate). We did not have hot water and neither did our friends on other floors. We did not have pillows and had to ask for them. The air conditioner temperature was not able to be adjusted. There were loud people running up and down the halls screaming until 6am with no assistance from the hotel. We could not wait to get out of there. October 18, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Twining Reunion The reservation system for group rates did not function correctly. Our reunion coordinator had to intervene on behalf of more than half our guests to get the correct group rate. Based on this alone I would not recommend that any group use a Holiday Inn for a reunion. Very frustrating. One or two glitches are acceptable but when it happens 10 or more time - totally unacceptable. My personal experience: One day I spilled something on the sheet of one of the beds and it was made up as is. Another day we were gone the entire day and when we got back at 4 pm the room was not made up. Two days there were no washcloths. We tend to be very neat and it was evident that the housekeeping was not up to par. I expect the bath to be completely cleaned every day. It was not. The desk and maintenance staff were very friendly,responsive to our requests and courteous. The food was excellent. But based on the notes in the above paragraphs I would not recommend this hotel chain for a group stay. The hard, persistent work of the Twining reunion's coordinator made our stay memorable; the reservation system and housekeeping did not. October 18, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading