• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 281 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would recommend to anyone! A great location to visit downtown or the islands. Friendly staff. Beautiful views. Good food. Comfortable rooms. What else can we say?! June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff unfriendly STAFF AT FRONT DESK WISHED YOU WOULD GO AWAY AND NOT BOTHER THEM. STAFF AT BREAKFAST IN RESTAURANT WAS WORST THAN FRONT DESK., AFTER TWO MORNINGS WE GAVE UP. OTHER THAN STAFF ALL WAS GOOD June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful view Great view from resturant/bar. Staff great. Demere on front desk stands out, he is great June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston-Riverview Hotel is great but in a awkward location off highway. Ensure to take the correct exit. If you do not, it will be a task to get back around to the exit. Location of check in was not customer friendly when there are a lot of guests which is what happened to me. Bartender was great. Very friendly making my experience top notch. If anything go to the hotel to visit roof top bar/restaurant. Entire staff there make the stay worth while. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel! We stayed here for one night before we went on our cruise from Charleston. The staff was wonderful and friendly and they have a stay and park option for cruisers. This made our trip so much easier and more relaxing. I would definitely stay here again! June 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed We had never been to Charleston before and chose this location, as it appeared to be central for visiting the historic district. The room was a disappointment, the bathroom door did not close, no TV guide and could get very few channels because "low signal", no WiFi. The water pressure in the bathroom was horrible, difficult to shower. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired did not vaccum with obvious debris on the floor in our room and hallway, did not replenish the coffee service until asked. Dinner service was fair but breakfast service was very poor, especially if you ordered from the menu. Did not know until we checked in that the dining room would be closed 2 nights we were there. We will not return to this property. Because of the daily rate, we thought this place would be top notch. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Review of Charleston Holiday Inn The hotel is very convenient to downtown and offers an excellent shuttle service. The staff were exceptionally helpful and nice and the restaurant had excellent service and a wonderful view. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wifi Wifi didn't work. Probably needs to make become automatic when entering hotel instead of using pass code June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Minor Issue Great service. Ended up getting charged for the day that we weren't there due to online reservation. Had to leave early due to family emergency and still got charged for that day even with 24 hour notice. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent reunion We held a ship's reunion at the hotel and got excellent service from everyone the hotel staff both in arranging the reunion and while we were there. Clean rooms, great food at the buffet banquet we had. Excellent service from the hotel shuttle. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Review View from the restaurant of the hotel was fabulous. Staff was courteous and helpful. May 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Front desk staff On morning of departure front desk staff were rude, glib and unaccommodating, when asked if I could speak to a manager I was glibly told she was in a meeting and no other senior management staff person was offered. One clerk rolled his eyes at me and the other 'blew me off'. The bathroom in the room was small and the tub had a large chunk of the fiberglass removed as well as a small one. Overall very disappointing for a Holiday Inn. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needed a little more attention to detail in regards to cleaning the room The toilet was dirty, ring around the bowl. The carpet had a plastic tag tie from a new piece of clothing laying on the floor and I purposely left it there to see if it got vacuumed up. My stay was 3 days, it never did. The rest of the stay was great, food was good, hotel was accommodating. But I would prefer it to be cleaner. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very, very nice place to stay. We live only 60 miles away but had never experienced staying at the Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn. We were there for the weekend to attend a wedding. The wedding rehearsal party was held in the restaurant on the top floor of the Riverview and it was wonderful! Our room on the 12th floor had the most amazing view of the Charleston harbor and all of the staff members we came in contact with were pleasant and helpful. We also took advantage of the hotel shuttle to go downtown instead of driving and trying to find a parking place. Overall, a wonderful weekend and a beautiful place to stay! May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No make-up and towels for second night Unfortunately when we got back to the room that late afternoon our room hadn't been cleaned and towels replenished. I called the front office and asked. She asked me if we had the do not disturb sign on the door but we didn't. She brought towels later. The stay was very nice and we felt it is a great hotel. We were just disappointed that our room had not been cleaned for the second night. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Things lacking Wish there had been a microwave and small refrigerator. May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location-Room needed to be cleaned again before using We had to have the sheets changed as my wife found several hairs in the bed when we turned it down. We lacked towels a couple of days. The buffet breakfast and lunch was beyond what was expected. Food was good. Needs updating. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable We stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverview for our daughter's wedding. It was a central location close to everything. The rooms were very quiet and the beds quite comfortable. The view from the restaurant is amazing. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.I would definitely stay here again. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff was great. My mom was on vacation and staying at the Holiday Inn Charleston. While she was in the city she fell and broke her hip. She was admitted to an area hospital. Amanda was very helpful and assisted the family with extending our stay. Liz was very caring. Thank you for your hospitality. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people and super location We stayed at the Riverview for a couple of nights prior to a cruise out of Charleston. From the moment we entered the building until the moment we left, the staff was attentive and helpful. The view from the restaurant/bar is something to see. The she crab soup is as good as it gets anywhere and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Visit the bar and meet Tamara, a great bartender and helpful tour guide. Be sure to ask her to prepare the bread for your meal at the bar. Butter and powdered sugar make this worth asking for. Order a drink and watch the quite energetic Jo set the standard for table servers. Traffic noise during the rush could be an issue for those who prefer to sleep in. As early risers, it was not an issue for us but the noise level definitely increases during the commute. If you're visiting Charleston, this is a hotel to consider. We would definitely return. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable I stayed at the Riverview a good bit for work a couple years back. Since then there has been noticeable remodeling that has made it feel cleaner and more comfortable. I stayed during a gruaduation weekend, so I understand the upcharge on the rooms, but for they price we pay, a better breakfast would make anyone's stay over the top. Even low budget hotels offer a free continental breakfast. But here, waffles are $10 and they aren't all that great. Besides the food, the stay and service is very nice. And the location is ideal. May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and spectacular view from the restaurant The hotel is just a short drive to down town and cheaper than staying in the historic area. We love the free shuttle service to downtown and save some gas and parking fee. The restaurant has a spectacular view of downtown charleston!!!!! We highly recommend this hotel. April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfortable room The staff on our day of check in were the epitome of "southern hospitality".They gave us great tips on things to see and do.The view from the restaurant was beautiful and the food was good(I loved the shrimp&grits).There were 4 adults in our room and we didn't feel cramped.Loved the free shuttle! April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn inCharleton The location is great but parking a lot needs work. April 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old and Tired Not me, the hotel! This hotel has lots of potential that is being wasted mostly by a staff that doesn't care. We reported an issue with a running toilet 3 different times and it was never corrected. Continental breakfast was coffee only and it ran out every day. They let you go up and get coffee from the restaurant, but that was on the top floor and we were on the 10th. Rode the elevator down every morning to get coffee to find they were out then back up to the top to get it from the restaurant, which was apparently how the staff was getting it. Idea: make two pots so that you have a backup in place! The running toilet and the coffee runs ruined a reasonably nice facility. Location was also problematic as getting in and out of parking lot in the midst of high speed, high volume traffic was interesting to say the least. There may have been somebody who cared about guests, but we didn't find them in the four nights we were there. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff We were in town for a bachelorette weekend, and the whole experience was awesome! Everything was made so simple from making reservations to changing them to adding rooms. The staff was so friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. I would definitely stay again and recommend to my friends. Also, the view was awesome! April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room We were in town for my appointment at MUSC and the room we had was very comfortable and quiet for what I needed. We stay at this hotel at least five times a year for my visits to MUSC. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean and great service. The room was great and the rooftop restaurant had wonderful food and service. I would definitely stay there again. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent This is the fourth time I have stayed at this specific Holiday Inn. Everyone is helpful and friendly. I have recommended it several others. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made our top 3 list for a comfortable sleep! Thanks for the shuttle service to the downtown core. Great drivers and on time. March 31, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading