• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 322 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Furniture and carpet Couch and carpet could have been cleaner. Great staff. Bathrooms were extremely clean. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable beds and great service I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Pleasant several times. I have always received great treatment from the staff and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. "Love the choice of soft or firm pillows." They also serve a nice continental breakfast. I would highly recommend. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dana and Sydney make very positive difference The HIE in Mount Pleasant is a notch above the vast majority of HIE's for three main reasons. Dana and Sydnet at the desk are a face and action of the perfect HIE Ambassador pair. Anyone passing the desk is greeted with a very warm welcome and made to feel right at home. The food ihas more variety and is fresher than most. The hotel is a relatively new and reasonably priced property. The general manager aught to give Dana any Sydney a raise for their main part in being the difference in making the guest want to return. They are far better than most. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always stay here I have stayed here 5 times since Sept 2013 and every time the experience is good. Only have 2 issues 1. Rooms always smell musty to me when I first arrive. 2. Last visit I was on 3rd floor an had a heavy walker that moved around way past 2am. Noted this to front desk they did their best to correct it. Note to self request 4th floor. Overall it is a great place to stay. It is always clean and staff is very inviting. January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful & Convenient Always enjoy this hotel! The staff is always friendly, the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. This location is convenient to down town and shopping in the area is great. This is my first choice when coming to the Charleston area. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good New Year's Eve We really appreciated the management reminding the quests to keep their New Years Eve merriment down. A previous year we have had a problem with our sleep being disturbed by returning celebrants. This year we had a good rest so we were alert as we continued on the road on New Years Day. January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff The front desk clerk (Mallory) was extremely friendly and helpful. I appreciate all she did to make our stay comfortable. She is a very knowledgeable and efficient employee, a very good representative for this hotel chain. Thank you, Mallory! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! The room was oversized (suite with couch and kitchenette) and very clean. The staff was friendly and check in was speedy! Nice breakfast, great location... would recommend :) January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Sydney was wonderful and very helpful during our stay 11/25 - 27/2013. I made a mistake in booking the room and she rectify the issue immediately. She is very personable and understanding. Can we clone her? Pretty Please. Regan is also a great choice for a manager. Holiday Inn, Mount Pleasant, NC, you are so lucky to have these ladies on staff. Happy New Year. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location! Good experience, clean, great location with easy access to downtown Charleston. Only issue was with the thermostat. After setting the room temperature for heat, it felt like the air conditioning would come on to bring the temperature down instead of just not running the heat. It was hard to get it adjusted comfortably. Otherwise, great stay! Staff very friendly at the front desk. Loved the hot breakfast! January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel and comvenient location Hotel has simple facilities which is ok for a one night stay. The front office could be more knowledgeable of the attractions and dining highlights in Mount Pleasant. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor room service Overall one of the best HI Express properties we have ever stayed in. However, when we out for the day and came back our room was not cleaned. Yes, we did leave the Do Not Disturbed sign on the door in the morning but we did not leave it on the door when we left at 11:00 am. Staff tried to minimize the situation by offering to bring clean towels and remove the trash. This is not acceptable service from a property such as this one. We asked for the room to comped and it was not. There is no excuse for poor room service for such a nice property as this. December 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room Made this reservation to be near my daughter for Christmas...I had two room suites actually, but somewhere during the night the people above us sounded like a freight train over and over again up until we left at 12:00...I did call the front desk about 3 hours before me left and they said they would check into it... December 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The Hotel was comfortable, clean, and convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Mallory at the front desk. The breakfast was adequate with several choices. Our stay was Dec. 23, 24, 25, we were their to see and enjoy Charleston which was only a 5 minute drive from hotel, but learned not to much open on Christmas, our poor planning. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and do recommend it. Someone posted Mt. Pleasant wasn't so Pleasant, we found it to be pleasant with some fine restaurants. December 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Pets allowed We moved to Holiday Inn Express from Holiday Inn because the latter allows pets in all rooms. We do not stay in hotels that have un-restricted pet friendly rooms. Holiday Inn Expres Mt Pleasant is very clean,comfortable and affordable. We were VERY PLEASED with our stay. Thank You. We love pets just not in our bed! December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Arrived at this hotel late at night and was greeted by an awesome staff member. The hotel was awesome, clean and very comfortable. The place was very nicely decorated for Christmas, and this brought the feel of home with me on this trip although I was a few hundred miles from home. The staff was very hospitable, as I was checking out my UPS Package had not yet arrived, however the front desk staff took my information and called me once it did arrive! Great Customer Service!!!! December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and friendly Staff Great place to stay. staff was friendly and even told us some local places to eat which were Great. Looked after my mom while I was having some medical treatment done at night and made sure she was comfortable and even came down to the room to show her how to work the TV and brought her extra blankets. one of the best Holiday inn express I have ever stayed at. Thanks to everyone their. Seakrett December 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Presidential Suite We stayed in the 2 room presidential suite and the room definitely showed it needed to be updated.. Main TV in the Living area was about shot.. very little color... none of the phones worked.. stains in carpet.. December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy The room was very clean and bed was comfortable however I got next to no sleep because I could hear snoring coming from rooms on either side of me the walls are very thin. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels I have stayed in. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Mt. Pleasant/Charleston area. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away From Home I selected this hotel because of location. I traveled alone to see my grandson and found the hotel clean, comfortable and safe. Mallory worked at the front desk and was very personable and helpful. I will stay there again. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by most enjoyable visit an excellent facility. comfort,cleanliness,most cordial staff,delicious continental breakfast.just a beautiful facility. they helped make a wonderful weekend even more pleasant. we plan another visit there in April. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express. our stay-22-24 November 2013 December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Carpet The carpet in this room needs cleaning. I walked around in the room without shoes for comfort and my feet were dirty. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel We chose this Holiday Inn Express based on the favorable reviews I had seen online and we were not disappointed. It lived up to its reputation--and then some. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very very clean and well kept. The hotel was easy to access from Hwy 17. Our king room was very comfortable and even though there was a team (or two) of teenaged soccer players also staying, we were not disturbed by any excess noise. The breakfast had many wonderful items including cinnamon rolls (delicious!), sausage, gravy, cereal, and much more. We would definitely recommend this hotel as a GREAT place to stay. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, Great location. The best Holiday inn express i have stayed in. Bed was amazing. I like the universal switch at the door and the water saver toliets. Nice to see hotels taking little steps to conserve power and water. Will deff. stay again. breakfast area was huge. Plenty of sitting. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place and great location First time staying at this location and I will be back good location and great staff. Very friendly. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We stayed at this location a couple of years ago and enjoyed it, so when we came back to the area, we choose this hotel. We again found it a great place to stay. Great location, friendly staff and a very well maintained hotel. I have stayed at a number of Holiday Inn locations and I believe this one is probably the best maintained Holiday Inn that I have stayed at. The only minor item I thought could be improved on is the breakfast menu selection, it was adequate but a couple other Holiday Inn locations do seem to have a better breakfast selection. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Many room options We were in the Mt. Pleasant Holiday Inn Express for a wedding. The junior, king and presidential suites suited the needs of our diverse group. The suites are spacious with a seating area that contains comfortable sofas and chairs. The rooms were well maintained with very comfortable beds. Other members of our party were well satisfied with standard rooms. The lobby was spacious enough for the breakfast crowd. It was always clean and well-maintained. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. November 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location Awesome hotel. No complaints whatsoever. Breakfast is more than adequate! Everything seemed clean and well cared for from the grounds to the lobby to the room. Holiday Inn has certainly impressed me with their huge comeback to the industry. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Nice people, professional staff, great room at a great price. November 12, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading