• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 260 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room. Great place for a party! Attended a company party here. Room was very clean. comfortable bed. Great view. Very good breakfast buffet. Good value. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bed great location to run into Charleston Proper....exiting onto highway is a little hazardous! December 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible room / Good service We recently visited Charleston which is where I am from and frequent often. Normally I stay downtown but wanted to try the Holiday in with a view. The staff was very friendly and dinning upstairs was pleasant but the room was less than desirable! The shower curtain was falling and when I tried to close it the curtain would fall to the middle and water would get everywhere. The windows around the sliding door were not sealed well and we felt a cold draft which was not very peaceful. The room was also not the cleanest I have ever stayed in. I will probably not be returning to stay here which is sad because we did like the view and the staff. December 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Thanksgiving stay Lovely view, absolutely terrible food and not very good service. December 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid the "Stay and Cruise" package We were very disappointed. The hotel is older, but well maintained and the rooms are fine...however, we chose it for the "stay and cruise" feature and recommended restaurant and those were regrettable decisions....when we called and asked, we were told we could get a 10:30 shuttle to the cruise ship the morning after our stay--but upon arrival, we were told that we'd have to wait until the early afternoon shuttle, that we should have signed up earlier. Nobody told us!! When we wanted to go up for dinner at the restaurant they brag about on the website, they had a sign up that it was closed for a private party--again, nobody had told us!! so we piled in our car, went out for dinner, and when we got back--no parking spaces anywhere!!...we were told "just park on the grass, we wont tow you." Finally, when we went down for our breakfast included in our package the next morning, we had to wait 30 minutes for a table---the restaurant manager lady seemed mad that so many people had showed up and they were wholly unprepared....it looks like a good deal on line, but the hotel does a poor job of execution. This hotel would be OK for just a room to stay in on a regular trip to Charleston, but you need to pass on the "stay and cruise." December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, cold restaurant Overall the service and staff at this hotel were very good, the shuttle bus excellent, as was our room. However the restaurant was very cold and when we remarked on this was told the heating had broken down and we were given a 10% discount to our meal. The temperature outside was under 40 so not amused at having to eat in a good hotel with coats on! We never even attempted to breakfast there on our 2 night stay nor have dinner on our second night. The service was very slow and the food not even on hot plates, all in a very lukewarm experience! Come on Holiday Inn - you can do better - fan heaters? November 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Review Plumbing was not fixed. breakfast not included in room price. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a few quibbles Some service issues in the restaurant...staff inattentive and unprofessional. Housekeeping didn't empty the trashcans or replace the soap/shampoo one day, and didn't leave fresh bath towels the next day. However, bed was made, and things were cleaned up. Front desk staff were consistently good, however. Friendly, etc. The room was good...beds comfortable, room was clean, etc. The walls seem thin...could hear TV or conversation one night. Shuttle was pretty good and consistent. Was kind of late to pick up from downtown one night, but only by about 15 minutes or so. November 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff and Service What made this a good location was the shuttle service to downtown Charleston. We did not have to drive our car. Drivers were very informative and helpful in answering questions. Had the breakfast buffet twice and was disappointed both times. The food that was to be hot was only warm. Enjoyed the wonderful view from the dining room/bar. Did go to bar one night and enjoyed the atmosphere. November 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room was fine Food and service needs considerable improvment. selection and display need real upgrades November 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected While the staff were very helpful, professional and friendly, the room left a litle to be desired. The toilet did not flush properly and it took about 20 minutes for the water to get hot in the shower. The tub had cracks in it and was in serios need of updating. I'm not sure I would recommend this property to anyone. The bar was outstanding and had a great view. November 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service The shuttle was the only good thing about this hotel. We had a pizza delivery man banging endlessly on our door at 3:30 am for a pizza we did not order. He had the wrong room. When we tried to complain, we got tired of endlessly repeating our story. The manager was always too busy. We were told that the manager would call us, and that they would call the manager at home. Only the manager they called was not the manager on duty the next day. I generally like Holiday Inn, but the service at this site was terrible. I was told be a person at reception that since I had prepaid the room I was out of luck. Terrible service, and the parking lot is very difficult to get in and out of. Really puts a negative to the IHG chain. November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great area/location. Close to all sites and attractions!!! The hotel and it's staff are top notch. A #1 in my book. From check in to check out the staff was always smiling. They informed us of events upstairs in the lounge/bar area. I went to two, Sunday's and Thursday's nites events. I enjoyed both nites. The food served is excellent quality and of a good representation of the local flavors. I really enjoyed dining and the views from the rooftop at sunset were amazing. After long days working in the downtown area coming back to the hotel was like coming home. Very comfortable and relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to all. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel experience This was my second stay at this hotel and I enjoyed it. The location is just right for my interests and the staff was very welcoming. However, the noise bothered me--slamming doors, unidentifiable noises, etc. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Comfortable bed, clean facilities, great service. Convient to Charleston Historic District and great views October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room and friendly service Our room was clean and comfortable. The A/C & heat unit was quiet too. The location is away from downtown, but the free shuttle service runs every 2 hours and is convenient if you want to avoid traffic hassles. The shuttle however always runs late and standing around waiting for it to return was a real drag. Take your car and use a parking garage. It's not that expensive! The roof top restaurant was nice but the food was very average. The staff is professional and friendly. This hotel is a good value for the price, especially comparing rates to the downtown hotels. Parking in the hotel lot is free and adequate spaces are available. October 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and friendly staff We enjoyed our stay in Charleston and found the Charleston Riverview Inn to meet most of our expectations. Part of the reason we chose this hotel was the for the balcony! Upon arriving we learned that the balcony doors have been permanently shut. Very disappointing that we could not step outside to enjoy the beautiful views of Charleston that the balcony would have afforded. If I had known this, I would not have made a reservation and that will keep me from staying in this hotel again in the future. Our water was shut off one night when we were trying to get ready to go downtown. The manager on duty told me it would be back on in fifteen minutes, I don't know if she was lying to me or honestly thought it would be back on in fifteen minutes, but it was off for the better part of an hour. The vending machine on the 12th floor stole my money twice, so watch out for that. Most of the staff was friendly and the food and drinks in the rooftop restaurant were pretty good considering it was hotel fare. The beds were extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the large rooms making it easy to unpack and move around. The complimentary shuttle downtown was a huge plus for people like us who did not want to fool with parking downtown. Not sure I would stay here again, but perfect for a one or two night trip. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nicerstay good location. Kept kids to own floor well behaved kids October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nicerstay Enjoyed hotel and Charleston Hotel great location check into carriage ride. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall excellent hotel The staff in both the hotel and restaurant provided excellent service. The food was well prepared. I would particularly recommend the shrimp & grits. The room though a bit small was very adequate and clean. The bed was a bit soft for my taste. We stayed for 9 days and the only criticism was inability to indicate that we would reuse all linens, towels, etc. We were able to catch the housekeeping staff sometimes to indicate such but not often. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for us and friends Charleston is a great place to visit and see. This hotel adds to that . October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time We stayed here in Oct. 2013 for a military reunion. Had a great time. The hotel was wonderful. Excellent location. Views from the bar/restaurant were spectacular. Staff went the extra mile for us. The room was fine and the bed was very comfortable. Again, the view from our room was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, convenient place to stay in Charleston I was wondering if staying at this hotel and not directly in downtown would be a problem. The end result - great choice! Free, convenient shuttle busses helped a lot to spend easy time in downtown, plus location was very close to major speed roads in the area to visit other locations. We forgot 1 important item in the room. Housekeeping did an outstanding job on shipping quickly back to me at extremely low rate - $5.34. Overall we had great experience at this hotel. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVE THE HARBOR VIEW THAT HARBOR VIEW IS GREAT AND MY GRANDSON LIKED IT AS WELL, WATCHING THE BOATS. IF THE WEATHER HAD BEEN BETTER, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IDEAL EVEN THOUGH I WAS THERE FOR A VISIT TO MUSC October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff friendly,helpful and service in restaurant was great.room was great. came to Charleston with reservations already made.no problems checking in. hotel was clean and neat. staff was really nice. easy to get to elevators. hotel is round, so you can't get lost. room was very clean, furniture was nice, beds were comfy. I like that the vanity was outside of the room where the toilet and tub were. breakfast buffet was really good. swimming pool on top of a 3 story building was just plain fun. i will go there again. o and lets not forget the view and the round restaurant on the top floor and it's view. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient We were attending a wedding on one side of the river with the reception on the other side so this was very convenient. It was a bit scary trying to get out and in the parking lot. Very comfortable and clean. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointing Our recent stay was not very good. Even though the staff is friendly, the hotel room was substandard. The toilet barely flushed, which was alarming, the balcony door was busted and allowed noise and marsh smell into the room, and the air conditioning unit sounded like a freight train. The location of the hotel is also not optimal, especially if one does not have a car! It is located on a small island surrounded by highways. October 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old building Very old building, not a nice hotel to stay, everything looks dirty, carpet, bathroom etc. They charge you for breakfast. The only good thing is that is close to the water. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Our military veterans group stayed here for 4 nights. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. They always greeted us with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The rooms were comfortable. One has to remember that this hotel is an older hotel (it was here when I left Charleston in 1986). It has been remodeled somewhat but does lack some of the more modern amenities you might find at a new hotel. That said, the hotel was VERY WELL maintained. 32" flat screen TVs, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Free shuttles to the historic district. The restaurant served excellent food. The breakfast buffet was good and on par with the majority of other breakfast buffets. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Charleston and want a moderate priced hotel close to the historic area. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You Thank you for making me feel at home, during a time when my travel plans were delayed. A special thank you to Marybeth for helping me thru it all. Jayda you were a great server, the food was excellent. October 6, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading