• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and cats are allowed only in Pet Friendly Rooms. 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. 5 pet rooms available. 1 King PF and 4 2 Queen PF. Pets must be crated or leashed in public areas. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Messy room on wedding night I've stayed at this hotel before and haven't had a problem. BUT.....I got married last Saturday and had booked a room online stating that it would be our wedding night. We arrived at the hotel around 11:30pm to find a used blanket on the bench, water still in the bathtub, used forks and spoons next to the bed and old food still in the fridge. Since the hotel was completely full, the nice man at the front desk cleaned the room for us, but it was still a bit unsettling. It was a bit frustrating to have to deal with this when we'd just gotten married and were exhausted. But.....maybe it was just a fluke. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service/Cleanliness/Food HIE's are usually our first choice during travel and we've never had an experience so poor that I have completed a review. However, on this trip we stayed in a suite since our trip was an extended one and was very disappointed. The room was not thoroughly cleaned daily, only the towels were replaced and the bed was made - one night we came in and it was only partially made and the coverlet was laying on the side table. The cups were never restocked - we had to ask for them and was then told by the front desk there was no one to bring us any. The liner in the ice bucket was not changed for 3 days - I threw it away and set the empty bucket on the edge of the counter and it was there when we returned that evening. Really? The bathroom floor was not swept or mopped as evident by the hair laying on the floor by the tub when we arrived. After 4 days, I threw all the dirty towels on the spot anticipating the hair would be picked up with the towels. The kitchenette countertop was never cleaned, although it was obvious we were using it. The toilet was obviously not cleaned daily. We asked the front desk to arrange a taxi for us one morning, only to find out later that the fare we paid was almost double what residents normally pay - why wouldn't they have an arrangement with a lower cost service for their guests? The breakfast was consistently undercooked - we only tried it twice. The breakfast at the other properties we've stayed at was always delicious, well cooked and a selling point for choosing HIE. We would not return or recommend this property. Very disappointing overall. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Add weight training machine to the Fitness Center. Friendly staff. A/C in Business Center not working; extremely small room, unbearble to work in there more than a couple of minutes in this heat. Staff said they are aware it is broken; just haven't bothered to fix. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best in Mt Pleasant We go to Mt Pleasant frequently & have stayed at several hotels in the past few years. So far this one is the best. The front desk had the absolutely fastest & most efficient check-in procedure ever. The room was cool where we arrived - something I could get used to! It was also clean & had everything we needed (coffee maker, micro, refrigerator, etc.) The room was quiet & the beds were comfortable. We were able to enjoy the nice outdoor pool also. The pool and deck were clean. Breakfast was more than most hotels. It had some hot items, and also cereal, yogurt, etc. There's something for everyone. The breakfast area was spacious - another advantage over other hotels. Overall, this is a good value. It's price is competitive. It is slightly higher than a few other (comparable, but not as nice) hotels, but it is definitely worth it. We are actually planning another stay here within the next 2 weeks! August 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs are us!!!! This hotel offer breakfast with your stay, which was a great added bonus but who would want to eat there. The juice fountain was covered with bugs and when I said something to the staff, I got dismissed. The staffs answer was.... " well that's how it is here in Charleston." I'm from Charleston and I know this is not true, especially not in any hotel I've been in or worked at in Charleston. This hotel set a bad example for me for any future stays in this hotel chain. I'm disappointed and the Wedding group I brought with me all feel the same. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant stay in mt. pleasant Very nice hotel, well worth the money. Staff was very friendly and the beds were very comfortable. Room stayed nice and cold. Had a great time August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints The hotel is a nice place to stay. I think the breakfast could have used a bit more of the fresh fruit options, maybe some oatmeal. For the non egg-eater there was mostly sugary options - pancakes and syrup, cinnamon rolls, and so on. Also, I would prefer the real deal cereals as opposed to the knock offs. I tried them and they don't taste very good. Otherwise, the room itself was clean and comfortable. The business center was out of commission but the staff let me use one of their office computers to download and print my boarding passes. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Several stays This was my 4th stay at this property. I look at other properties to stay at just to try something different, but I always end up booking this property. The rooms are clean and spacious. I even brought two additional people to stay this last time. Keep on doing what you do. Also, really close to Charleston. Takes us only 10 minutes to drive to, or less. August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean and comfortable hotel. The hotel was very nice. The pancake machine at breakfast did not produce a good pancake compared to pancakes at a Texas HI EX recently. They were tough and thin, not fluffy. August 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lee65 After driving a full day my family and I looked forward to arriving at this location for 5 days of vacation, sight seeing, rest and relaxation. We couldn't have been more disappointed. The staff present when we arrived was rude. The hotel was noisey. The young people in the room next door came in late each night making so much noise they woke us every night between midnight and 1:00 a.m. With the exception of one day breakfasts had no variety. We are a family of seven and asked for connecting rooms when the reservation was made but were not accomodated even though the reservations were made two months prior to our stay. The hotel is beautiful but the issues encountered here proved that a hotel has to provide more than asthetics to be appreciated. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great R & R Wow! What a great location and stay we had at Mt Pleasant, location was great to visit Isle of Palms and Charleston proper. Staff was GREAT as well as room. Will return to this location again. Thanks to Regan (front desk) and Steve (GM) both for an excellent stay. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service We totally enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Pleasant, SC. It was very clean and very quite. The service was excellent. The front desk was friendly at all times. Good parking area. We would definitely stay here again. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super staff We experienced your great and very helpful Staff. We were greeted each time we went out and came in. They were always helpful when we had questions. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Cleanliness! Our stay at this hotel the first of August was exceptional. The room was VERY CLEAN (as was everything) and the service was impeccable. Check-in and out was the fastest and easiest than anywhere I have ever been. The FREE breakfast was amazing, (with both hot and cold choices.........the bacon & cheese omelet really hit the spot). You cannot beat the location (convenient to everything and across the street from Whole Foods). And you are not charged for parking. The beds were very comfortable. The pool was extremely nice and we loved the shaded patio area which is lit at night. The guest laundry was also a welcomed and appreciated amenity (only costs $1.25). Will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in town. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed The bed was very comfortable. However, my daughter stayed on the pullout sofa which was quite the opposite. We liked the hot breakfast which was included. Overall it was a pleasant stay. But next time I would choose a room on the pool side. The street side was a little too noisy. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home My job takes me 1hr in a half from home. I stay at Holiday Inn Express Mon-Thurs...great rooms and enjoy my great breakfast on my way to work. ....Thanks to all that make this hitel a joy to stay at.... August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE The staff was great when we checked in welcomed as and gave us a welcome bag. we stayed at for IHGs on our trip and at all when the cook the eggs in the morning they seem to be very wet and not that good is there a way IHG can make their eggs more pleasing. Thanks RICK August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, well kept and overall value Excellent Stayed in the Presidential Suite at a rate I would expect to pay for a normal room rate. Great value and AWESOME location.. The Location was central to Isle of Palms Beach, Shopping and restaurants, 24 hour Grocery Store, Starbucks, Patriots Point and easy in/out of Charleston's historic district. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean, convenient property We stayed here for four nights on a family vacation with our kids and found the hotel to be very nice and our room was always very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and always greeted us when we passed the front desk. The breakfast area was well maintained and had a good variety of food. The pool was nice. The hotel is located convenient to downtown Charleston as well as local restaurants and beaches and it is only a few minutes from Patriots Point. The parking was free and convenient and we felt safe walking outside here. If we come back to Charleston we will stay here again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice staff. Second stay at this location in past year,close to what we wanted downtown,beach,easy access to highway. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room I booked this hotel to be close to the Medical University of SC. My husband was having surgery and the location of the hospital to the hotel was of extreme importance. Although I had booked the room for 4 nights, the hospital told us that he should be released on the 3rd night. Since there was no guarantee of this schedule, I spoke with a hotel rep. who advised me to check out. In the event that I would need the room for another day (and this is what occurred), the hotel would allow me to take that room at the promised rate. In this stressful situation, the hotel was extremely accommodating which made my stay more relaxed. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home way from home! An outstanding staff, just about the best we have ever seen. The rooms are very well appointed, every need anticipated and met. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Place to stay if your going to the Beach this hotel is new and we were there on a reward night and a free night the desk was able to get me a suite and combine our nights so i did not have to change rooms. nice pool and garden area to hang out.. this location is great for going to Downtown Charleston or the Beach at Ise of palms. I will stay here again.. July 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tale of 2 experiences This hotel was good from a location perspective and room cleaniness. The reception staff were really good and helpful. The major con was the breakfast....everything ran out at the same time and the staff did not understand customer service...in fact were rude! The breakfast cue went through seating area; so people waiting for food looked at you whilst eating. This was reported to the staff upon leaving but no feedback was given at the time or since. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and enough space since we needed a handicap accessible room. Every employee was very courteous at the hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Charleston. The only problem we had is enough room to transfer my husband to toilet since he cannot stand or walk on his own, but we have to do this at home as well. Food was good. Room was clean. Would love to go back! July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Sevice, Excellent Stay! We so ENJOYED our stay here! The bed was the most comfortable King size bed of any accomidation we have ever had. The staff was very helpful and pleasent and went out of there way to speak to us during our stay. The pool is smaller, but was never over crowded! Very easy 10-12min drive to isle of palms beach and 7-8 min drive to downtown. WE WILL NEVER STAY ANYWHERE ELSE WHEN VISITING CHARLESTON! July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mattress was not so good I love the place. Was a little hard to find,but was greatly surprised when we did. Good clean room. Ever employee we met was so nice. Then when we went to go to bed,I could not believe the mattress was so bad. We were on our 47th anniversary. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay, thank you We had an excellent stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will come again. Thank you. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and comfort This hotel provided a great location - close to Charleston and the beaches on Sullivan's Island. The rooms were spacious and clean. We upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite and had so much room at a great price. Breakfasts were ample, although I would prefer more fresh fruit. Definitely return to this property. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SE Family Vacation This hotel is conveniently located from the Charleston area. It was easy to get into Charleston as well as the beaches and other attractions we went to. The staff was friendly and very helpful! July 14, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading