• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and cats are allowed only in Pet Friendly Rooms. 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. 5 pet rooms available. 1 King PF and 4 2 Queen PF. Pets must be crated or leashed in public areas. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 243 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. It's main attraction is the staff. The front desk staff remembers you and shows it. The views from any room are awesome. If Jay is at the desk you will get a smile and any information you may need. Enjoy yourself, I know I do! August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great time with the family!!!! The beds are great and the service was great. we had nice service and all the workers were great. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room Service I was very DISAPPOINTENTED IN ROOM SERVICE It was evident that the room was not cleaned or bed changed. The mirror was not clean, bathroom floor not mopped. It appeared that the house keepers were either tired or not good housekeepers. I reported this situation to the front desk and was compensated with $25.00 taken off my bill, which wasn't enough considering what we paid for the entire week and expected great service without worrying about cleanliness. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Even though I did not get time to spend time in the room (meetings all day) when I did return I found everything in order. It was nice to use a computer it was right on time for what I had to do. Thanks to everyone when I had to make copies, use your staple machine and staple remover Again thanks for everyone service with a smile is important. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Stay, Breakfast and Cruise Parking Package My group wanted to stay in Charleston overnight, see the sights, and eat at the wonderful restaurants. We thought we'd save money with the shuttle service and free parking while on our cruise. Unfortunately, we were unable to get on the 10 person shuttles on two occasions and had to call a cab at $20 each way rather than waste time waiting for the shuttle to return and then take us. The schedule leaving the hotel at two hour intervals was also unacceptable.....but I should have asked about it before booking....my mistake. The schedule to the cruise port was much too early when you have carryons to then lug around the city. We were finally able to coax the staff to give us a 12:30 pm shuttle to the port. In summary, the rooms were okay but we ended up paying $100 over the typical room rate for the parking, limited shuttle service and marginal breakfast buffet. Next time, I will park at the port. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and good view The headquarters for my class reunion and very accommodating. Comfortable beds and nice view of the river. Very pleasant staff. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Front Desk Staff The front desk was very helpful and courteous to our unique situation!! August 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Upon checking into the hotel I was greeted by a friendly receptionist, which was nice, but there was another staff member in the lobby near the spot where they serve coffee (only in the morning till 09:30) that did not have a friendly disposition. It seemed like there was always someone in the lobby looking mean like a bouncer. I'm not sure if it is to keep trouble makers out, but it wasn't the most welcoming site whenever we entered the lobby. My suggestion would be to have that guy who stands in the lobby by the coffee section make coffee all day for guest to enjoy like other less reputable hotels offer. The room was sufficient, but it was lacking one crucial item, a refrigerator. What kind of hotel doesn't have a mini fridge nowadays? I had to purchase a cooler and fill it with ice to keep kids snacks and drinks cold. Of course the ice machine on my floor was not operational, so it was even less convenient to keep snacks cool. Additionally, they do not have a water fountain in the facility, so getting a cold drink in the middle of the night was an adventure. Eventually, I found water in the fitness room, but the water cooler was broken, so i was a little frustrated with the hydration issue. The restaurant offers a buffet style breakfast along with menu items, and the buffet had a decent selection, but the quality of food was sub par compared to other hotel breakfasts even with a dedicated restaurant. Finally, the daily cleaners were unable to supply me with clean towels, and said if I wanted them, I must contact the front desk. I have never had to do that at any other hotel ever. The front desk sent someone up an hour later with towels. Overall I was very dissappointed with the stay at Riverview Holiday Inn, and won't be going back. August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair This is a very nice hotel with a nice location. The only problem we had was the a/c was very loud in our room, also for a Holiday Inn we expected at lease a fridge or microwave in our room cause that is standard at most.Other than that it's a really nice place, staff was friendly and service was nice. August 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Better stay Pool area closing at 9 PM should be reviewed. By the time a customer checks in, do a little shopping/viewing the area and return to their room, the pool is closing. Ensure all ice machines are in working order on each floor. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and comfortable stay When we travel to Charleston we love to stay at the Riverview for several reasons. It makes travel convenient to Charleston and the Beaches. It is very comfortable and clean and great views from the room. The only problem I have is noise from the other guests in their rooms and in the hallways, but I guess you will have that every where you go. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view Beautiful views from lounge and restaurant. Very friendly staff and very comfortable room. Most definitely will stay there again. You have my info why do I have to enter it all again? August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and affordable A great place to stay if planning a visit to Charleston, SC. Located just 8 minutes from Downtown, the hotel features a Shuttle service to and from the city. The restaurant on top of the building was superb, with a great view and great food. Highly recommended. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice bed and large room Clean and enjoyed stay...a little more expensive than I like to pay...got the exec.king suite. Location central to everything. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beds were comfortable and staff was extremely helpful. Only complaint was I thought the restaurant was a little pricey. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about how to get around the city. Pool was clean and always had clean towels right inside the gym area for you to use. We would stay here again. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dont miss out! Although, I didn’t really eat at the restaurant due to family reunion functions, the bar and wait staffs were very friendly and attentive. The view overlooking the Charleston Harbor was amazing and really enhanced my first visit to Charleston, SC. The location is close to downtown and very convenient when traveling to the other attractions within the area. I will definitely stay here again! Corinne New England Area July 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Would have preferred double room suite The suite was very spacious with a great view. Our problem with the suite was, it was all one large room. We were expecting a double room suite that would let one party rest in the bedroom area and the other do whatever in the "living room" area. We were profoundly disappointed this was not the case. For us, a double room suite is essential for comfort and relaxation. In the next Holiday Express Suite we stayed at, the North Ashland Holiday Express north of Richmond, VA, the suite was composed of two rooms in the manner described above. Why the difference? I might mention our next stop after North Ashland was the Holiday Express in Hagerstown. Unfortunately. the suite at this latter location was one room. A double room suite is of prime importance to us. We will no longer be reserving a one room suite if we can avoid it. The latter arrangement provides no extra comfort and relaxation, quite the contrary. July 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Booked rooms at one price, but was charged a higher price when checked out. I had no problem with the hotel, except that I was quoted one price when I booked the rooms, but was charged a significantly higher price at checkout. If I use this hotel again (it is close to my children's homes), I will be sure to confirm what fee I will be charged when I make reservations. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and quiet We enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast buffet. Clean room and excellent front desk people. July 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay while visiting Charleston! Great hotel with great views! We arrived early and the front desk staff was very accommodating and checked us in early...around 1pm. The room was very clean and updated. We checked out the pool and it was very nice also...with great views of the area. This hotel is very convenient to downtown Charleston...only took 10 minutes from hotel to parking near the Market. Also, very convenient to Folly Beach! Had the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant...great views here too. Staff was friendly and helpful. Love it here and will stay again! PS - We stayed here on our Honeymoon...28 years ago! July 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Items not fixed The bath's drain did not work. So I could not take a bath just a shower.i had be looking forward to a nice hot bath because we had been camping before we arrived at your property. Also the phone did not work. Would not dial. We told the front desk about the problems and we were told it would be fixed. After going to old Charleston all day when we returned the problem was still not fixed. We told them again and went to dinner. When we returned there was a note on the door key to "call" the front desk! Our phone didn't work so we could not call. The staff was very nice just didn't fix our problem. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable,convenient and excellent breakfast Only stayed for a couple of nights. Comfortable room, excellent buffet breakfast with a brilliant view. Ideal location, just what we wanted. Thank you. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay Loved the view. The shuttle was a nice convenience and the staff were helpful and friendly. Liked that the parking lot was large and the pool was located in an area where you could view the nearby waterways. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Pleasant Stay My stay at the Holiday Inn Riverview was a very comfortable and pleasant one. The room was well-appointed and the breakfast buffet was delicious and a good value. The shuttle service to historic Charleston was very convenient. In addition, I would particularly like to mention the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. The front desk staff, the shuttle drivers and the dining room staff were all wonderful. June 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway We have stayed here a few years ago but was disappointed with stay. The hotel needs serious renovations. The room sprinkler had spider webs and the ceilings had spider webs all over it. The water pressure in the room was terrible. To have a view and not be able to open the door to feel the breeze was disappointing. Having a view and experiencing the breeze was the whole point of paying extra. We will not return to this property. June 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Eat at the Restaurant The room was nice, but our dinner experience in the restaurant was terrible. Don't waste your money when there are so many nicer places in Charleston to eat. June 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small Rooms and Bad Food The rooms were way to small for any family. The food at the holiday Inn was very bad, three of us orded the same thing. Two meals came and everything was cold and look like it was cooked 30 mins before the third meal but the third was hot and like someone else made it. The manger said all three meals were made by the same cook, we had two bites from the two plates but they only offered 20% off of the bill and wouldn't take it off the bill. This was a $19.95 each meal. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location/Great Service From first contact with staff they were highly professional and friendly. The facility was impeccable. One of the best Inns I have ever spent time at. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to any one visiting this area. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very acmodating I do wish the shuttle bus schedule was more acmodating . The breakfast buffet was fair. All other thing were great. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Second Time Stayed twice. First time Oct. 2012 and again May 2013. Love the location and the view from the top floor bar/restaurant. Great value with very comfortable bed. Flat screen TV and separate sink/vanity from the shower area which is great. Wish they had a breakfast included in the price but it is only 5 minutes into Charleston and we had tons of fun sampling restaurants. Will be back again! May 26, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading