• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:14.1
Attraction:
Fort Sumter Tours
Distance From Hotel:2.2
Attraction:
Isle of Palms Beach and County Park
Distance From Hotel:14.0
Attraction:
Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:2.2

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 245 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very acmodating I do wish the shuttle bus schedule was more acmodating . The breakfast buffet was fair. All other thing were great. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Second Time Stayed twice. First time Oct. 2012 and again May 2013. Love the location and the view from the top floor bar/restaurant. Great value with very comfortable bed. Flat screen TV and separate sink/vanity from the shower area which is great. Wish they had a breakfast included in the price but it is only 5 minutes into Charleston and we had tons of fun sampling restaurants. Will be back again! May 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good pre cruise stay We reserved 2 rooms with a view prior to our cruise. Our rooms on the 10th floor had a great views of the historic downtown. We took the hotel shuttle to downtown. We did have a long wait for the shuttle to take us back to the hotel due to the large number of people of waiting and not enough seats on the shuttle. We had to wait for the shuttle to make 3 trips back and forth before getting a seat to go back. Great view from the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was good and the serving staff went above and beyond good service. The front desk staff was very helpful in helping us get a taxi to the port the morning of our cruise. Not a fancy, new hotel but the price for the experience was just right. May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The Charleston-Riverview is a comfortable, clean and very accessible hotel in Charleston, but what sets it apart for me is their wonderful service. Jay in the front desk that not only greets me by name, but remembers that my son attends a local college and how the years go by. I highly recommend this property. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by View Wonderful view at breakfast! What a great way to start the day. May 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisiest room ever The room was 11 floors above the expressway yet the 30 year old door wall made it sound like the traffic was 5 feet outside my window. Apparently the building wall amplified the sound. Could not sleep all night. The electronic key had to be reactivated each time I went to use it. Premise appeared to be out of control May 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice View, Convenience Great Staff Check in staff very nice, easy to get to and around Charleston area, The views are great, elevators are pretty quick. The restaurant on top of the hotel has great views, pretty decent menu and cost is not so bad, service can be a little slow but again view makes up for that time waiting for your food to arrive. So now for the downsides of the hotel, the rooms are cramped but to be expected for being a round hotel, rooms are not that quiet but again not to bad, tv has very limited stations, rooms are out dated as well, very few wall outlets to charge computer, phone, etc. Price for rooms are within line of the area They did give me a $5 gift card to use at the restaurant and some bottled water for being a Platium Member. I have stayed here before and will in future if travel to Charleston is in future. May 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed This Holiday Inn is a very old hotel. Although, they have kept it up very well, the rooms are very small and the amenities are few. You can't turn on a light in just the bathroom area without lighting up most of the room. For what this hotel has to offer, I wouldn't pay more than $50. a night. The hotel was clean. But, the rooms had a slight odor (like they were smoking rooms in the past). The food in the restaurant was very good, but, the service was poor. The location was very good. The front desk staff was very friendly. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice view and room We enjoyed our stay, was even able to check in early before 4, and room with view was awesome. Staff very nice. Was disappointed that the resturant did not honor the happy hour with $2 glasses of wine when in fact the brochure advertised it in the room. Simply told by bartender it was discontinued last week and the new manager wasn't going to have a happy hour which is really too bad because there is a wonderful view from the lounge and resturant and a nice happy hr would be appreciated by the guests, it was their loss because they didn't honor the brochure we decided to eat elsewhere. I do believe the resturant and hotel are under different managers, so again the hotel was great!!! May 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Neat and clean Clean room without the strong chemical smell. A little noisy. May 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, convenient location We were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable beds and slept well. The location is convenient to downtown Charleston as well as Folly Beach. Although we didn't make use of it, the hotel did offer shuttle service to the downtown area. The view from the restaurant is wonderful and we had a delicious breakfast/buffet before we left. We had issues with the room itself, it was small, particularly the bathroom. One light switch activated both the vanity area and the separate tub/toilet area. If one wanted to use the bathroom during the night, the whole room lit up thereby waking any others sharing the room. There was no fan in the tub area. We were not able to make use of the pool or weight room on this visit. We found the staff very friendly and polite from the front desk to the housekeeping. May 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel experience We stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverview for a wedding on Folly Beach the first weekend in May 2013. The special wedding rate made the price fairly reasonable. The location was good. The room was nice, obviously had been renovated fairly recently. The front desk staff were wonderful - friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The food (brunch buffet) and service in the restaurant at the top were terrible. The view was so good from the top of the building that it was shocking that the food was so bad. With a view of Charleston like that, the hotel could have a gold mine of a restaurant if they had really good food. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice This hotel was very nice and clean. Some other reviews said it was dirty. I didn't see any dirt and our room had everything we needed. Any questions they were able to answer. You were able to access the internet free and access your information and print it out without charge. The food was good and the view from the restaurant was wonderful! You could see the whole river. Not far from different sites too. We just got back from our cruise...first one. We had an excellent price for the hotel and our car being there for the week. No problems and our car was safe in the parking lot. When we got back, no need to check in...just loaded our luggage and drive. May 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent stay This Holiday Inn is one we can't resist whenever we visit Charleston. Not only is the bedroom both a clean and comfortable stay, but the view from the window is wonderful as well, as is the bar to have a drink at and the restaurant to eat at- both of which where you can look down at long and beautiful views of the water, the bridge, and the city while you relax and enjoy whatever you have chosen. We don't stay anywhere else when we travel to Charleston! May 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Think about it ... This was a nice hotel with nothing fancy but quite good. I found the food only of medium quality which was rather disappointing. I like our room and the help as i met them and their friendliness. I found the elevator service very slow and sometimes the wait for three or four minutes or seemed so. However, that item that both scared me and motivated me to write the title is the hotel's physical placement. It is exactly in-between two main arteries into and out of town and there is literally no place to walk other then the parking lot. And the danger of getting into and out of the traffic, particularly at high traffic times, is great. Personally i would not stay there again just because of that danger - still, it was a nice place and i give it a two and a half star rating. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent choice. First time.Will be back.Really enjoyed it.Staff Went out of way to assist me on check in.breakfast buffet was very good.Normally eggs on steam table dry and crumbly.Not here! May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Restaurant with View, little traffic, comfy beds! perfect...place to be convenient to everything but not in middle of traffic May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great views! The staff were lovely . Big shout out to the shuttle drivers, they were great. The food in the restaurant was not great, needs a little work there. Loved the view from the restaurant, had fun creature spotting. May 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Location and view Close to downtown without the high cost and great view. Buffet needs improvement. May 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed.Food poor.Bar second rate. Hotel has gone downhill since we last stayed.A shame.Too many coach parties to the detriment of other guests who were treated as second class.Service charge added of 18% when 5% would have been more appropriate for the level given. Could not find terms and conditions to properly confirm acceptance. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bus service to downtown Not only is the hotel easy to find (a real help), but the jitney service to and from downtown was great! All employees were extremely nice - made or a good stay - hope to return April 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely location, shuttle sevice from airport. This property is conveniently located for access to downtown Charleston and the city marina. It provides no transportation from Charleston airport to the Inn. There is regular shuttle service from the Inn to downtown, but it is erratic. April 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not good To far from everything including the airport. Sliding glass doors wired not to open. Room was stuffy. I had to tell them I was a Priority club member even though the hard copy of my Rez had my number on it. The Breakfast Buff was lacking to say the least. April 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation and comfort Original registration was made 2 weeks in advance for two adults, king bed, non-smoking. Error made in number of guests was corrected within a day. Twin double beds assigned at check-in with comment that king was not specified and unavailable. After being shown the printout of the original registration it took two staff people almost half-hour to correct the error which they did courteously. Bed pillows were too small (not king size) and much too firm. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Room was clean and comfortable. Was some noise from US17 traffic that surrounds the hotel but not too distracting. Was interesting getting onto 17 going into the city..short lane that other traffic would like to share...need a little more care getting out. Fine coming in. Thought the fee for breakfast was steep for what you got. Had a good stay. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful week-end We had a wonderful week-end in Charleston staying at the Holiday Inn Riverview. The front desk staff were very helpful. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The shuttle bus service to historic Charleston was very convenient. The upstairs restaurant offered a beautiful view. We definitely recommend this hotel! April 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, nice room, nice people The one thing that kept this from being an "excellent" was room service. Maybe nobody ever uses room service there, but we did, and it was not very good. They didn't follow the room service menu at all, either for the dish we wanted, or the pricing. And it was very disorganized - they had to call back 3 times to get our order even close to what we wanted. The rest of the stay was wonderful. Great view. Good experience in the restaurant on the top floor. Nice room. Nice people. And the shuttle service into Charleston was GREAT. We definitely took advantage of that. April 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by beds were worn out/rooms had misty odor rooms not very clean. rooms need to smell clean. carpet had a bad smell. April 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid this hotel Upon arrival our room had a large fan in the center of the room. We were told the carpets were recently "freshened," and the fan was there to dry them...maintenance did remove the fan promptly, but the carpets were still very wet. We were told there were no other rooms available. We had to ask for our Priority Club recognition #others in our party received theirs upon arrival...we did not#. Ate only once in the restaurant...breakfast was terrible! Food on the buffet was cold, the toaster didn't work, they were understaffed, and one staff member was very rude. The only positive experience was the visit to the bar in the evenings. Our waitress #Josephine# was a delight both evenings we were there. Our group of 9 had four rooms, and each had issues of some kind with either the facilities or the service. April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to downtown without the higher price Overall nice experience. This hotel was built over 30 years ago but has been remodeled. The round shape makes for awkward-shaped rooms but with adequate space. City and harbor views were very nice from our room and even better from the restaurant on the top floor. Since the hotel sits essentially between the 6 lanes of a major bridge into the city, the traffic noise is pretty steady and a little difficult for entering traffic upon exiting the hotel. The free shuttle that runs every two hours from 0730AM to 0930PM was a superb value-added perk and saves either cab fares or the hassle of trying to find and pay for your own parking downtown. We notified the front desk of a plumbing problem and it was fixed when we returned to our room later. Good response. April 17, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading