• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 304 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and friendly staff We enjoyed our stay in Charleston and found the Charleston Riverview Inn to meet most of our expectations. Part of the reason we chose this hotel was the for the balcony! Upon arriving we learned that the balcony doors have been permanently shut. Very disappointing that we could not step outside to enjoy the beautiful views of Charleston that the balcony would have afforded. If I had known this, I would not have made a reservation and that will keep me from staying in this hotel again in the future. Our water was shut off one night when we were trying to get ready to go downtown. The manager on duty told me it would be back on in fifteen minutes, I don't know if she was lying to me or honestly thought it would be back on in fifteen minutes, but it was off for the better part of an hour. The vending machine on the 12th floor stole my money twice, so watch out for that. Most of the staff was friendly and the food and drinks in the rooftop restaurant were pretty good considering it was hotel fare. The beds were extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the large rooms making it easy to unpack and move around. The complimentary shuttle downtown was a huge plus for people like us who did not want to fool with parking downtown. Not sure I would stay here again, but perfect for a one or two night trip. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nicerstay good location. Kept kids to own floor well behaved kids October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nicerstay Enjoyed hotel and Charleston Hotel great location check into carriage ride. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall excellent hotel The staff in both the hotel and restaurant provided excellent service. The food was well prepared. I would particularly recommend the shrimp & grits. The room though a bit small was very adequate and clean. The bed was a bit soft for my taste. We stayed for 9 days and the only criticism was inability to indicate that we would reuse all linens, towels, etc. We were able to catch the housekeeping staff sometimes to indicate such but not often. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for us and friends Charleston is a great place to visit and see. This hotel adds to that . October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time We stayed here in Oct. 2013 for a military reunion. Had a great time. The hotel was wonderful. Excellent location. Views from the bar/restaurant were spectacular. Staff went the extra mile for us. The room was fine and the bed was very comfortable. Again, the view from our room was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, convenient place to stay in Charleston I was wondering if staying at this hotel and not directly in downtown would be a problem. The end result - great choice! Free, convenient shuttle busses helped a lot to spend easy time in downtown, plus location was very close to major speed roads in the area to visit other locations. We forgot 1 important item in the room. Housekeeping did an outstanding job on shipping quickly back to me at extremely low rate - $5.34. Overall we had great experience at this hotel. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVE THE HARBOR VIEW THAT HARBOR VIEW IS GREAT AND MY GRANDSON LIKED IT AS WELL, WATCHING THE BOATS. IF THE WEATHER HAD BEEN BETTER, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IDEAL EVEN THOUGH I WAS THERE FOR A VISIT TO MUSC October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff friendly,helpful and service in restaurant was great.room was great. came to Charleston with reservations already made.no problems checking in. hotel was clean and neat. staff was really nice. easy to get to elevators. hotel is round, so you can't get lost. room was very clean, furniture was nice, beds were comfy. I like that the vanity was outside of the room where the toilet and tub were. breakfast buffet was really good. swimming pool on top of a 3 story building was just plain fun. i will go there again. o and lets not forget the view and the round restaurant on the top floor and it's view. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient We were attending a wedding on one side of the river with the reception on the other side so this was very convenient. It was a bit scary trying to get out and in the parking lot. Very comfortable and clean. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointing Our recent stay was not very good. Even though the staff is friendly, the hotel room was substandard. The toilet barely flushed, which was alarming, the balcony door was busted and allowed noise and marsh smell into the room, and the air conditioning unit sounded like a freight train. The location of the hotel is also not optimal, especially if one does not have a car! It is located on a small island surrounded by highways. October 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old building Very old building, not a nice hotel to stay, everything looks dirty, carpet, bathroom etc. They charge you for breakfast. The only good thing is that is close to the water. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Our military veterans group stayed here for 4 nights. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. They always greeted us with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The rooms were comfortable. One has to remember that this hotel is an older hotel (it was here when I left Charleston in 1986). It has been remodeled somewhat but does lack some of the more modern amenities you might find at a new hotel. That said, the hotel was VERY WELL maintained. 32" flat screen TVs, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Free shuttles to the historic district. The restaurant served excellent food. The breakfast buffet was good and on par with the majority of other breakfast buffets. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Charleston and want a moderate priced hotel close to the historic area. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You Thank you for making me feel at home, during a time when my travel plans were delayed. A special thank you to Marybeth for helping me thru it all. Jayda you were a great server, the food was excellent. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay We had an awesome stay in Charleston. The facility was clean, the staff was most accommodating. The bar staff great. The only mediocre experience at the hotel was the morning restaurant staff. I visited and ordered to go and also we had the buffet one morning. On both times, the staff seemed a little indifferent to my/our needs. Other than that, I would def recommend. The guys who drove the shuttles were informative and professional and had a sense of humor. Greatly enjoyed our experience.. September 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by closed in Have stayed here in the past and great views of Ashley River. However, they have now locked the balcony doors. Felt closed in. Will not be going back. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean room We stayed 5 days while visiting family in Charleston. There were no perks. No refridgerator or microwave, which would have been nice for a longer stay. No free breakfast. Not even a simple continental type. Also I realize the staff is busy but after watching us come and go for 5 days you would think we would be greeted or at least acknowledged. We felt almost invisible. We also watched guests that were checking in receive gift packs and coupons for discounts at the hotel restaurant. We were never offered any of these items. All in all the experience was a little disappointing. We will try another hotel next time we travel. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girl on front desk EXCELLENT Enjoyed the whole thing - only thing missing was a fridge in room September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Courtious service. Friendly and exceptional assistance. Good location and beautiful view. Van service into town a great service, especially for someone without a car. Although the hotel was very busy we were not disturbed by noise. There could be some improvement in the meals. Breakfast buffet was sometimes cold and not much variety. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I recently stayed 5 nights. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the TV was a new Samsung flat screen. I called about 4 days before my reservation to confirm. I asked for a room away from the ice machine and elevator and that's exactly what I got. The only drawback (and why I didn't give 5 stars for everything) was the traffic noise, even up on the 9th floor. The hotel can't do anything about that & after the 2nd night I got used to it. I highly recommend this hotel. September 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by BATHROOM I think the shower could have been a little more cleaner especially the pink invested shower head September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value We stayed up on the 11th floor. The room was pretty tired and noisy as the sliding doors didn't close 100%. However, it was comfortable and clean. The hotel is cheaper than others in the area and therefore I would say it was good value. The location is a little out of town, but the shuttle bus makes up for this. The pool and fitness facilities were pretty good and the front desk staff were excellent! September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay! We stayed here 4 nights over the labor day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, the rooms comfortable and the staff go out of their way to be accommodating. The restaurant on top has breathtaking views of the river and Charleston . The food is great and the service is excellent. Great breakfast buffet! Very relaxing stay! This is definitely my "go to" hotel in Charleston. Looking forward to my next visit in November. September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Came to Charleston to visit family, did not use many amenities. Hotel clean, had room with 2 beds, pretty small. Bathroom nice, but built a little cramped. The bed was very comfortable, the price was not bad. The best part was the view from the restaurant on the top floor. You could see the whole city at night. Not sure if I would stay there again but my experience was a pleasant one. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent!! We absolutely loved our stay with you guys over Labor Day! The staff was fantastic, the rooms were good, the view was amazing and the location was great (especially that waffle house was right behind the hotel, very convenient after a long night out)! Marybetth at the front desk was amazing and so were so many other staff members that I don't remember the names of, Sorry!! The shuttle was so convenient and the drivers gave great suggestions on the local spots. Definitely coming back! September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service. Wonderful view of Charleston It was our first time in the Charleston area. While it wasn't the best hotel we've ever stayed at, it was fine for a long weekend....and for the price it was pretty darn good. Try to make your reservations for the east side of the hotel on an upper floor (9+). The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable (housekeeping and the entire staff were very accomadating). I would recommend This hotel. We're glad we didn't stay in downtown Charleston on a busy Labor Day weekend. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room Loved everything about our stay except the wait time for elevator. Will certainly stay there again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay The hotel was convenient to downtown and to the beaches. However, the location of the hotel between the roads resulted in traffic noise at night. The rooms were not very sound proof. We could hear doors slamming and every once in a while we could hear the television from the room next door. Our room was located near the elevators, so we could hear people as they waited for the elevators. Once we turned on some white noise, the outside noises were not audible. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charisse S. and Elizabeth S. These staff members made our stand enjoyable. We hope to see these ladies on our nex visit. If we had questions, they were very informative and answer them. We would like to thank these ladies again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place great value! We found this to be a nice hotel and a great value. The staff took excellent care of us. Great views of the harbor and Charleston! September 5, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading