• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
(e.g. Oct-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

MUST BOOK A PET FRIENDLY ROOM TYPE. ROOM TYPE NAME MUST SAY PET FRIENDLY 2 pets max per room. 25 dollars per day with max of 150 dollars per stay. Pets must be crated or leashed and not left alone in rooms. Dogs and cats only. Breed restrictions.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Citadel Johnson Hagood Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Joseph P. Riley Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Charleston Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:108
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on site parking. Parking is limited to one vehicle per room. RVand truck parking not permitted. Parking permit will be issued upon checked. No overnight parking for unregistered guests. Motorcoach/tour bus parking available - restrictions apply.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:153
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:88
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:153
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. The Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.

View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terrific location. Being along the Charleston DASH Trolley route, getting to Historic Charleston is a breeze. And if you're here visiting the Medical University of South Carolina, we are within just a few blocks.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 325 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient We were attending a wedding on one side of the river with the reception on the other side so this was very convenient. It was a bit scary trying to get out and in the parking lot. Very comfortable and clean. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointing Our recent stay was not very good. Even though the staff is friendly, the hotel room was substandard. The toilet barely flushed, which was alarming, the balcony door was busted and allowed noise and marsh smell into the room, and the air conditioning unit sounded like a freight train. The location of the hotel is also not optimal, especially if one does not have a car! It is located on a small island surrounded by highways. October 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old building Very old building, not a nice hotel to stay, everything looks dirty, carpet, bathroom etc. They charge you for breakfast. The only good thing is that is close to the water. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Our military veterans group stayed here for 4 nights. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. They always greeted us with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The rooms were comfortable. One has to remember that this hotel is an older hotel (it was here when I left Charleston in 1986). It has been remodeled somewhat but does lack some of the more modern amenities you might find at a new hotel. That said, the hotel was VERY WELL maintained. 32" flat screen TVs, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Free shuttles to the historic district. The restaurant served excellent food. The breakfast buffet was good and on par with the majority of other breakfast buffets. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in Charleston and want a moderate priced hotel close to the historic area. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You Thank you for making me feel at home, during a time when my travel plans were delayed. A special thank you to Marybeth for helping me thru it all. Jayda you were a great server, the food was excellent. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay We had an awesome stay in Charleston. The facility was clean, the staff was most accommodating. The bar staff great. The only mediocre experience at the hotel was the morning restaurant staff. I visited and ordered to go and also we had the buffet one morning. On both times, the staff seemed a little indifferent to my/our needs. Other than that, I would def recommend. The guys who drove the shuttles were informative and professional and had a sense of humor. Greatly enjoyed our experience.. September 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by closed in Have stayed here in the past and great views of Ashley River. However, they have now locked the balcony doors. Felt closed in. Will not be going back. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean room We stayed 5 days while visiting family in Charleston. There were no perks. No refridgerator or microwave, which would have been nice for a longer stay. No free breakfast. Not even a simple continental type. Also I realize the staff is busy but after watching us come and go for 5 days you would think we would be greeted or at least acknowledged. We felt almost invisible. We also watched guests that were checking in receive gift packs and coupons for discounts at the hotel restaurant. We were never offered any of these items. All in all the experience was a little disappointing. We will try another hotel next time we travel. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girl on front desk EXCELLENT Enjoyed the whole thing - only thing missing was a fridge in room September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Courtious service. Friendly and exceptional assistance. Good location and beautiful view. Van service into town a great service, especially for someone without a car. Although the hotel was very busy we were not disturbed by noise. There could be some improvement in the meals. Breakfast buffet was sometimes cold and not much variety. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I recently stayed 5 nights. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the TV was a new Samsung flat screen. I called about 4 days before my reservation to confirm. I asked for a room away from the ice machine and elevator and that's exactly what I got. The only drawback (and why I didn't give 5 stars for everything) was the traffic noise, even up on the 9th floor. The hotel can't do anything about that & after the 2nd night I got used to it. I highly recommend this hotel. September 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by BATHROOM I think the shower could have been a little more cleaner especially the pink invested shower head September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value We stayed up on the 11th floor. The room was pretty tired and noisy as the sliding doors didn't close 100%. However, it was comfortable and clean. The hotel is cheaper than others in the area and therefore I would say it was good value. The location is a little out of town, but the shuttle bus makes up for this. The pool and fitness facilities were pretty good and the front desk staff were excellent! September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay! We stayed here 4 nights over the labor day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, the rooms comfortable and the staff go out of their way to be accommodating. The restaurant on top has breathtaking views of the river and Charleston . The food is great and the service is excellent. Great breakfast buffet! Very relaxing stay! This is definitely my "go to" hotel in Charleston. Looking forward to my next visit in November. September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Came to Charleston to visit family, did not use many amenities. Hotel clean, had room with 2 beds, pretty small. Bathroom nice, but built a little cramped. The bed was very comfortable, the price was not bad. The best part was the view from the restaurant on the top floor. You could see the whole city at night. Not sure if I would stay there again but my experience was a pleasant one. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent!! We absolutely loved our stay with you guys over Labor Day! The staff was fantastic, the rooms were good, the view was amazing and the location was great (especially that waffle house was right behind the hotel, very convenient after a long night out)! Marybetth at the front desk was amazing and so were so many other staff members that I don't remember the names of, Sorry!! The shuttle was so convenient and the drivers gave great suggestions on the local spots. Definitely coming back! September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service. Wonderful view of Charleston It was our first time in the Charleston area. While it wasn't the best hotel we've ever stayed at, it was fine for a long weekend....and for the price it was pretty darn good. Try to make your reservations for the east side of the hotel on an upper floor (9+). The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable (housekeeping and the entire staff were very accomadating). I would recommend This hotel. We're glad we didn't stay in downtown Charleston on a busy Labor Day weekend. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room Loved everything about our stay except the wait time for elevator. Will certainly stay there again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Stay The hotel was convenient to downtown and to the beaches. However, the location of the hotel between the roads resulted in traffic noise at night. The rooms were not very sound proof. We could hear doors slamming and every once in a while we could hear the television from the room next door. Our room was located near the elevators, so we could hear people as they waited for the elevators. Once we turned on some white noise, the outside noises were not audible. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charisse S. and Elizabeth S. These staff members made our stand enjoyable. We hope to see these ladies on our nex visit. If we had questions, they were very informative and answer them. We would like to thank these ladies again. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place great value! We found this to be a nice hotel and a great value. The staff took excellent care of us. Great views of the harbor and Charleston! September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Are you a pet-friendly hotel, or no? I copy verbatim the pet policy posted in http://www.ihg.com/holidayinn/hotels/us/en/charleston/chsrv/hoteldetail: "The Holiday Inn does not accept pets, please accept our apologies. Kennels are located nearby. Contact us for telephone numbers and contact kennels to make advance arrangements." While the pet policy does state clearly that pets are not allowed (at least at this location), an exception is made for service animals--and I can totally understand that. Having said this, if only seeing-eye dogs are permitted, then how did a guest who apparently had no visual impairment get away with bringing her dog into the building? Not only that: the dog wasn't outfitted like a seeing-eye dog. Pet policy in need of updating? September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. It's main attraction is the staff. The front desk staff remembers you and shows it. The views from any room are awesome. If Jay is at the desk you will get a smile and any information you may need. Enjoy yourself, I know I do! August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great time with the family!!!! The beds are great and the service was great. we had nice service and all the workers were great. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room Service I was very DISAPPOINTENTED IN ROOM SERVICE It was evident that the room was not cleaned or bed changed. The mirror was not clean, bathroom floor not mopped. It appeared that the house keepers were either tired or not good housekeepers. I reported this situation to the front desk and was compensated with $25.00 taken off my bill, which wasn't enough considering what we paid for the entire week and expected great service without worrying about cleanliness. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Even though I did not get time to spend time in the room (meetings all day) when I did return I found everything in order. It was nice to use a computer it was right on time for what I had to do. Thanks to everyone when I had to make copies, use your staple machine and staple remover Again thanks for everyone service with a smile is important. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Stay, Breakfast and Cruise Parking Package My group wanted to stay in Charleston overnight, see the sights, and eat at the wonderful restaurants. We thought we'd save money with the shuttle service and free parking while on our cruise. Unfortunately, we were unable to get on the 10 person shuttles on two occasions and had to call a cab at $20 each way rather than waste time waiting for the shuttle to return and then take us. The schedule leaving the hotel at two hour intervals was also unacceptable.....but I should have asked about it before booking....my mistake. The schedule to the cruise port was much too early when you have carryons to then lug around the city. We were finally able to coax the staff to give us a 12:30 pm shuttle to the port. In summary, the rooms were okay but we ended up paying $100 over the typical room rate for the parking, limited shuttle service and marginal breakfast buffet. Next time, I will park at the port. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and good view The headquarters for my class reunion and very accommodating. Comfortable beds and nice view of the river. Very pleasant staff. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Front Desk Staff The front desk was very helpful and courteous to our unique situation!! August 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Upon checking into the hotel I was greeted by a friendly receptionist, which was nice, but there was another staff member in the lobby near the spot where they serve coffee (only in the morning till 09:30) that did not have a friendly disposition. It seemed like there was always someone in the lobby looking mean like a bouncer. I'm not sure if it is to keep trouble makers out, but it wasn't the most welcoming site whenever we entered the lobby. My suggestion would be to have that guy who stands in the lobby by the coffee section make coffee all day for guest to enjoy like other less reputable hotels offer. The room was sufficient, but it was lacking one crucial item, a refrigerator. What kind of hotel doesn't have a mini fridge nowadays? I had to purchase a cooler and fill it with ice to keep kids snacks and drinks cold. Of course the ice machine on my floor was not operational, so it was even less convenient to keep snacks cool. Additionally, they do not have a water fountain in the facility, so getting a cold drink in the middle of the night was an adventure. Eventually, I found water in the fitness room, but the water cooler was broken, so i was a little frustrated with the hydration issue. The restaurant offers a buffet style breakfast along with menu items, and the buffet had a decent selection, but the quality of food was sub par compared to other hotel breakfasts even with a dedicated restaurant. Finally, the daily cleaners were unable to supply me with clean towels, and said if I wanted them, I must contact the front desk. I have never had to do that at any other hotel ever. The front desk sent someone up an hour later with towels. Overall I was very dissappointed with the stay at Riverview Holiday Inn, and won't be going back. August 9, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area
Select to close.
Charleston Downtown Lobby Sitting Area Charleston Downtown hotel near MUSC Downtown Charleston affordable hotel Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown View of Ashley River Charleston Downtown Welcome Desk Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Outdoor Pool Charleston Dash Free Downtown transportation -pickup next to Hotel Rainbow Row Downtown Charleston Charleston Riverdogs Minor League Baseball - Blocks from Hotel Waterfront Park Downtown Charleston
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading