• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn Express has a "no pet" policy, however, kennels are located nearby. Please contact the hotel for kennel telephone numbers to make advance arrangements. Guide dogs are permitted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston Historic District
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Folly Beach Pier
Distance From Hotel:12.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Tea Plantation
Distance From Hotel:21.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site parking adjacent to the hotel. Large, flat lot appropriate for buses, trucks & RV's. Guests may leave their cars parked for extended period if going on cruises. They must inform the Front Desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area
View More
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.
View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terriffic location. We offer easy access to historic plantations, beaches, downtown Charleston. Convenient off street parking is plentiful.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express In Charleston This was a great location for an Inn when you have a dog. It's location near the Park was perfect for morning and evening walks. The location on the first floor was exellent because we didn't have to ride the elevator to take our puppy out. The room was very clean except for a spot on the rug that was probably left by another dog. They should have had the carpet cleaned. The best part was the staff. I am a people and employee person coming from an industry that thrives on it's employees. This was the friendliest staff I have EVER found in a hotel situation. I would come back just because of the people. They were SPENDID. I can't say enough about the helpfulness of the emaployees. I don't know where you got them but you better pay them well or they will be hired away from you in a heartbeat. BRAVO!!!!!!! October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We did enjoy our stay at this property. One thing, the wallpaper on our room looked as if somebody's soda had exploded and it was never wiped up. Staff was friendly and accommodating; loved that it was doggie friendly so that we got our doggie fix. Breakfast seemed to be a bit hectic but staff worked very hard to make certain that food was replenished as it ran out. Cinnamon rolls were delightful. Conveniently located by the free trolley to go into downtown Charleston October 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Lacking We stayed 5 nights at this location. We had 3 different maintenance calls during that short time. The room was falling apart! I definitely would not recommend this property to anyone. It is probably one of the worst places that we have ever stayed. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Everything was almost great. The location worked for us. My biggest complaint was the bathroom. The lighting was terrible. No way could I see to put on my makeup. The bathroom fan was noisy but seemed to do nothing. Other than those things and the pillows were balls of fluff and the eggs seemed powdered, the value compared to what other hotels we could find in the area..just fine. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for honeymoon Our stay was wonderful couldnt ask for a better place customer service amazing and staff was great especially anthony at the front desk...thanks for all the insites on the city and stuff todo October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Attended a wedding in Charleston and stayed at this Holiday Inn on Spring street Enjoyed my stay, especially the service staff. Real southern hospitality. Would stay again whenever I return to your city. THANKS! October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My HI stay I am a woman who travels alone a great deal for business. This HI was clean, quiet and I felt very safe. Thank you! October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location Excellent front desk attention, very glad people. The location is perfect not only for business but also for entertainment. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Stay We only stayed for one night but were very happy with our stay and the convenience to Charleston. We were also pulling a trailer and really appreciated that we could park along side of the hotel in a safe and secure area. The hotel staff was more than helpful. The breakfast was very crowded and there was a long line, so we decided to go outside the hotel and fine something to eat. That was the only drawback and I can't imagine at peak season how long the line would have been. Nice hotel, updated rooms, clean and very respective staff. Overall great stay. October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff We were there for a wedding. We got to check in early but got a room where the windows were too high to see out and the bathroom was full of hairs all over the floor and tub. They sent someone up to clean but not very well. Also, looked like there was some blood on the wall by the toilet paper. The rest of the room was clean and bed was very comfy. Staff was extremely friendly. Delicious breakfast. October 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Comfortable, but very high beds. Room was nice, but no A/C in the hallways. Convenient location to trolley stop but we drove to town. East access to the plantations. Great breakfast staff and very friendly. Also, Alfonso was very nice. He made a point stop us to say he was encouraged that he always saw us smiling when around the hotel. It is disappointing that there were no Bibles in our room. I've never stayed in a hotel that didn't offer a Bible. Love Charleston!!! I would stay here again. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, great service Good location with a short, easy drive to downtown. Great staff, very friendly & helpful. Clean and comfortable. Could use more parking availability. Will stay there again next time we're in Charleston. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience We were there for a large family wedding and the staff was extremely helpful,the rooms were comfortable,and the breakfast bar had a great variety to choose from. If we are ever in Charleston again,we will stay at the Downtown-Ashley River Hoilday Inn Express! October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding weekend We were in town for our sons wedding. A lot of friends and family were staying at this hotel. The staff was great. The people working at the front desk were very helpful, giving recommendations and directions when asked. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, always with a smile and a greeting. The main breakfast area was nice, but a little small for the size of the hotel. However, there was an overflow area, which solved the problem. The rooms and bathroom are a little small, but when you are in Charleston you don't spend much time in your room. Good location, easy to get downtown. There is a free shuttle that comes by the hotel. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Two Day Stop Over We stayed for 2 days our room was good and comfortable. I would like to make a general comment on all Holiday Inn Express Hotels: Breakfast are generally good for main stream but there is a growing need for Gluten Free options in particular cereals and bread. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise I was not happy with the location of the Charleston Downtown-Ashley River HI when I first arrived. But, come to find out, it is very walkable to all of downtown. I love to walk around a town and get to know it more intimately. The room was great, breakfast was great. But, most of all, Harrison was a gentleman at all times when I was working my way through my 'not happy' at first attitude. Thank you Harrison and thank you Rebecca. Very professional. I will be back. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, Parking issues... This is an 8 story property, if you come back in the evening, finding a parking spot difficult, not impossible. Staff, especially Anthony at front desk very friendly and helpful. Breakfast hours could be a little later than 9:30am, because of the large number of people at the property during our stay. Other than those minor inconveniences, room clean and quiet, beds comfortable. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Things to know before you arrive Very nice front desk staff. We got a king room, but it was so small we couldn't move around comfortably. The view was awful. My husband was ready to leave the hotel altogether, so I asked the front desk staff if they had another room. They put us on the Ashley River side in a larger room with two queen beds. He was much happier and our vacation was saved! Try to have breakfast before 8 or after 9:15 to avoid the crowds. Delicious breakfast. The grounds aren't pretty but we ignored that. The other guests were courteous to each other and that helped. I'd go back again. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a great stay First, the location of this Holiday Inn Express is fantastic - easy access to all areas of Charleston. The hotel itself has just been redone. The common areas have plenty of room to eat the breakfast provided (for an old Southerner - biscuits and gravy with sausage and/or bacon - HEAVEN - for others who watch their weight - good choices including yogurt, fruit, etc.). We never had a long wait for the elevator. There were plenty of carts available for carrying luggage. ALL of the staff made us feel comfortable and appreciated. The room was very comfortable with plenty of clean linens available and kept clean daily. There are only a couple of negatives I noticed and they were probably due to my own physical problems: the height of the bed - had to jump up (I'm short, needed a step stool) and the distance of the parking (had to walk farther than I wanted to). I will definitely stay here again any time I'm in the area and will recommend it to everyone I know. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a wonderful experience Our stay was top notch from early check in to very convenient check out...will be staying here again, no doubt :-) Special thank you to Harrison at check in..You Rock! September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room I found the room very nice. Breakfast for two of the mornings we stayed was a total disaster. There was just not enough being replenished in a timely manner. The pool was very nice and clean. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean room and comfortable bed!!! Very clean room, comfortable bed...the staff was very courteous and helpful... No complaints at all!!! September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very very quiet We enjoyed our stay. Very clean and confortable. We loved being able to take the trolley downtown. The only suggestion have is please place your sign up higher. I did have a problem finding you. There were other people I talked to that had the same problem. Otherwise we loved it. Thanks, NANCYI September 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Our only slight problem with our breakfast was that they ran out of certain items and when the staff replaced the items there was a bit if a rush to replenish our plates. We also felt the service area for the hot breakfast items was slightly too small September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sept 2013 Charleston sta What a great hotel and staff!!!!! I have already mentioned what a wonderful stay we had to everyone whom I have discussed the trip. Chris, at the front desk, was so helpful and went over and above to make our stay the best. Every staff member was helpful, polite and so friendly. This was the first trip for my friend and again, enough can not be said for the experience. Location was also a positive. Thank you for making this s terrific trip. I will not forget this experience. September 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice The location, while not in the "heart" of Charleston is still convenient to the downtown area without having to deal with the congestion and pedestrian traffic. There was plenty of parking which is rare in the Charleston area. The room was nicely decorated with modern styling. The bed was firm but comfortable. The room was well air-conditioned. Although I stayed with my two daughters for only one night, I would return to this hotel for future visits with my daughter who is a student at College of Charleston. September 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value This is our second stay. The staff was nice and friendly and our room was good. I think this hotel is a good value and haven't really had any major problems that would prevent me from staying here again. With that said, here's a couple of minor problems. There's something about the doors. We had an issue the first time we stayed here and the door this time didn't seem to work properly either. When we brought it to their attention during the first visit, they fixed it right away. Also during this visit, they didn't recognize me as a platinum member but, after I brought it to their attention, they were more than willing to accommodate me. As long as they are willing to fix any problem that arises, that works for me. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay here for sure Charleston is charming and the staff reflected the city. I have no complaints and would stay here again without hesitation. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful last minute hotel! I thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at this location! I had been on a road trip for a week and a half and had to book this hotel at the last minute and I am so glad I found it! We had a balcony with a beautiful view and the beds were very comfortable and the room was nice and clean. The staff were very delightful and even offered to send out a post card for me after I asked where the nearest post office was. I was extremely happy with the whole experience. I would definitely stay here again if ever given the chance! September 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy air conditioning unit Not very clean in elevator. Cob web in the corner next to air conditioning unit.The air conditioning units in the hotel's room are so noisy that it's impossible to sleep with them on. Moreover, we were in a room with a communicating door to another room. We could hear everything said in the other room and, unfortunately, the people in the other room were very loud, TV on until 2:00 am... For all those reasons, I would not recommend this hotel. September 9, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance Holiday Inn Express Charleston Southern Charm Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby Nearby Folly Beach 12 miles Historic Charleston and Rainbow Row Holiday Inn Express Charleston Hotel Front Entrance Magnolia Plantation and Gardens Middleton Place Plantation and Gardens Historic Charleston and The Battery Carriage Tours of Historic Charleston The Links at Stono Ferry 18th Hole Holiday Inn Express Charleston Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Desk and Guest Registration Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby and Guest Sitting Area
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading