• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn Express has a "no pet" policy, however, kennels are located nearby. Please contact the hotel for kennel telephone numbers to make advance arrangements. Guide dogs are permitted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charles Towne Landing
Distance From Hotel:3.6MI
Attraction:
Charleston Historic District
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Historic Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
The Charleston Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site parking adjacent to the hotel. Large, flat lot appropriate for buses, trucks & RV's. Guests may leave their cars parked for extended period if going on cruises. They must inform the Front Desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area
View More
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.
View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terriffic location. We offer easy access to historic plantations, beaches, downtown Charleston. Convenient off street parking is plentiful.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Checked out with red eyes and hurting back I looked forward to staying here since (1) I thought it was a new hotel (not- has been rebranded and renovated), and (2) It seemed to have the easiest access to MUSC. I got a room on the 1st floor like I had requested, but noticed a "fresh paint" sign on a door just above mine. The room smelled stuffy, until I switched the fan to auto and turned on the AC. A few minutes after I arrived the receptionist called to ask if everything was o.k. She offered to swap rooms but I said it was too much of a bother. I should have bothered since the bed was as hard as a concrete slab, so much so that I couldn't stay asleep on my sides. The view from my room was horribly drab with nothing but cruddy building corners. About 2:30 am, I was awakened by loud conversation just outside my window. It went on for minutes. I couldn't determine where it was coming from (maybe a patio off a room next door). Needless to say, I awoke before my wake-up call (6am) with a sore back and red eyes. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable rooms The staff at this hotel was very friendly and the location was great! We had to change rooms when we got there because our room did not have a safe and the maintenance supervisor Alfonso quickly helped us carry our luggage to our new room. Nice breakfast too! August 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by OTHER HOLIDAY INN'S TO CHOOSE FROM... I HAVE SUCH NEGATIVE THINGS TO SAY ABOUT THIS HOTEL THAT I SAID I WOULDN'T WRITE A REVIEW, BUT I CAN'T HELP WANTING TO SAVE OTHERS FROM A BAD EXPERIENCE! JUST A QUICK OVERVIEW: CHECK-IN WAS AN ABNORMALLY LONG PROCESS, THE ELECTRICITY IN OUR ROOM WENT OUT TWICE (ONCE IN THE EVENING WHEN WE WERE GETTING READY FOR A PLAY @ 'THE BLACK FEDORA'#, THE WASHING MACHINE WAS BROKEN #EVEN THOUGH THIS IS A NEW HOTEL# AND WE WERE TOLD IT WOULD BE FIXED BY THE FOLLOWING MORNING...IT WASN'T THE WHOLE TRIP. WE HAD TO GO TO A LAUNDROMAT-FUN. WE HAD TO ASK FOR THEM TO CLEAN OUR ROOM, AND EVEN THEN THEY DIDN'T GIVE US MORE SHAMPOO WITH FOUR WOMEN IN THE ROOM! THIS WAS A VACATION AND THE BOTTOM LINE IS: IT WAS STRESSFUL. August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best, but not the worst I stayed at the hotel for two nights. I also had my two dogs with me. The hotel is not set up well for people who have pets. It is very difficult to get the pets outside and back in. In addition there is no specific place to walk your pets and no pet station for picking up after them. Therefore there is pet feces all over the place. The room was VERY small especially for two people and two dogs. The shower floor had some soap scum all over it BUT the shower sliding door was disgusting. The breakfast was average at best. The hotel staff was friendly. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and very comfy beds Your beds were really comfy and would like to know what brand/type they are so we can look for one! Good location with easy access to the free trolley and walking over to the pier on the river. The breakfast bar was really good and over-flow seating in separate room was very helpful during peak time. August 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed and floors were not vacumed Bed sunk in the middle and our room must not have been vacumed. There was a beer bottle cap under the desk, then a big bug which my husband had to crush. No banana's at the breakfast. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Easy check in and out Breakfast area had plenty of room, despite sizable crowd Overflow parking on weekend was in adjacent gravel lot Pool was in good shape--appeared to be salt-water instead of chlorine, so easy on the eyes Good proximity to riverside park for early-morning stroll Close enough to baseball park to walk; will definitely take in a game next time Not greeted as a Platinum member at check in. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable & relaxing Beds were great. Had everything I needed for a relaxing stay. August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and Service Went on a end of season trip to beach with family. Was very surprised. The location is great,One mile to downtown and 7 miles to beach.Hotel was modern,very clean and staff was wonderfully pleasant. Our room was clean and extremely efficient for a family ,everything we needed.Beds were a dream. We had a wonderful view of the river.The only thing that was a hindrance was the pool it's not child friendly,it only has drop in stairs to a 4 foot depth,not the normal descending one into the pool were small children can wade..But hey it was only a small draw back. Breakfast was very good,many choices and surprisingly tasty. We would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and will return. August 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average The only way to control the temperature in the room was to manually turn the a/c off or on. The too always had flies. The eggs were plans. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Customer Service Best Customer Service I have ever experienced in a Priority Club property. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Place to stay Close to MUSC This was a very good place to stay. It is only 5 minutes away from MUSC by car and 15 minutes away by walking. The beds were comfortable and clean. BREAKFAST SHOULD START AT 6:00 AM INSTEAD OF 6:30 ON WEEK DAYS. Most family members with patients at MUSC have to have patients there between 6:00 and 7:00 a.m. Overall good experience. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, comfortable and difinitely will stay again. My first stay since the Express opened but will stay again. We are in Charleston regularly and always need to stay at least one night. Close to hospital, feel safe, it was very comfortable, clean and everyone answered all our questions. Would recommend to others. Thanks Holiday Inn Express!! August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly The room was nice and clean and we had a view of the river. On check-in, they said I was given a free upgrade since I was an IHG member but have no idea what that was because the room was what I requested. Maybe the floor and view were considered the upgrade but the clerk didn't specify. My only suggestion is that you set up the breakfast area different. There is too much congestion. You should have the pancake and toaster in a different area because people have to stand there and wait and it holds up the line. You also need larger plates for eggs - 2 minutes after you put them out they are gone. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful This hotel was very accommodating for our needs. It was located next to the hospital we had to fly in at the last minute. The staff was very helpful. We had to extend our stay it was no problem. It made our situation that much easier to deal with under the circumstances. August 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed Have been to a number of Holiday Inn Express in the past. Have always been pleased. Couldn't get past the long hair on the bathroom floor and the unclean commode. Also, we were placed on the 8th floor, with a view (of the interstate) and the elevator was out for one of 2 days. Not a good experience. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Comfort The room was damp because the heating and air conditioning system is old and needs to be updated to eliminate humidity. Surely Holiday Inn has enough money to install a new heating and air conditioning system. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not as expected We have stayed at Holiday Inns and Expresses often and in many places, including all of the local Charleston Holiday Inns. We found our experience here quite disappointing. First of all, we came straight from the beach to check in at 4:00. Our room was not ready even though check in time at the hotel is at 3:00. During our check in process we waited patiently as the staff member answered several unrelated phone calls and kept talking to maintenance. Then we were asked to step to the side and wait for our room. It took almost 30 minutes. Finally another staff member told us our room was ready. Our room was nice, however, I had paid to upgrade our room to an Ashley River view. I did not realize there was a parking lot, 4-lane Lockwood Drive and another hotel between us and the river. The bathrooms are small with limited counter space. We will definitely choose another hotel next time. August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by So Many Other Much Better Choices I love Holiday Inn Express. This one not so much. the rooms are not to the standard of the rest of the HIE hotels. I decided not to spend the night here and stay at another downtown Hotel. (I lost my money but moving hotels was worth it) I recommend saving your dough and just book another hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best location ..... Not the greatest location in Charleston but if you like walking, the Battery is only 40 minutes away. Well maintained hotel. Braekfast was a zoo but the staff kept the food coming! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Trip Everything was great. Did not get to eat breakfast. Had to check out before breakfast was served. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WONDERFUL Our stay was wonderful! From the clean rooms to the friendly and helpful staff to the yummy breakfast it was wonderful. We will be back in the Fall. See you then. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location; great staff; very pleasant stay This is a very convenient location. Although the bldg is not new construction, the rooms and lobby have apparently had an extensive makeover and are very nice. The bathrooms are a little smaller than one usually finds in newer hotels, but plenty big enough. Rooms and beds very comfortable, hotel staff absolutely superb, and breakfast options were also superb. After driving around Charleston, I didn't see any place that I thought would have been better. This Holiday Inn will definitely be at the top of my list if I ever get back to Charleston, SC... and I hope I do! July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for a great value I stayed here for 7 days and was very pleased with my room and the service. I was not impressed with the breakfast choices but can't complain considering it was complementary! July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and friendly staff Every staff member I encountered during the four days I stayed there said hello and asked if everything was good. Beds were very comfortable and staff was knowledgeable about the area and seemed glad to help in any way they could. July 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by There is NO view at this hotel The view we had was a abandoned building and some rather shabby houses and businesses along the way, and the balcony that is "walk out" would be if they didn't have the doors sealed shut. Otherwise the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I marked my review as I would recommend this property. If you are a business traveler and aren't "hanging out" at the hotel it would be great. It also would not be fair to the staff to knock it like that. They definately made this hotel. July 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cramped Room and poor quality Holiday Inn leads you to believe that this is a New Property, but in fact it's a remodeled property. Rooms are tiny & cramped and outdated! I was given a gift bag upon checking in recognizing my IHG membership and once in the room checking the bag, the 2 pieces of candy they placed in the bag with the water were just 2 empty wrapers. Someone ate the treats and left the wrapers and they still gave it to me!. Worst Holiday Inn Property I've ever stayed in. July 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room with a view only 5 mins from Market St, Charleston We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. Our River View Room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The manager was extremely hospitable and went the extra mile to make sure our family had a great stay. One of the staff members recommended Fleet Landing for a great sea food experience and we enjoyed it very much. Also the hotel was conveniently located just 5 min. from the best of Charleston so it worked out perfectly for our short stay. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay. We stayed four nights while visiting our daughter and family. Very good service, and they obtained everything we needed such as a luggage rack and baby crib. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and the egg dishes with meat were varied as well. Great location to get downtown and over the connector to James Island and Folly Beach. The only thing that I had hoped for was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room to keep leftover food from dinners out. We were taking care of our granddaughter overnight, and I also needed some place to store her bottles of milk. There was an area in the lobby with a microwave and a freezer with small food items for purchase. The rooms were small but I was able to use the lobby eating area for a craft project. We like to eat outside, and it was nice to see picnic tables in the back and a table with umbrella out on the front porch. July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Because I had a pet I was placed in a handicap room by the desk clerk and I was not liking the the room. Had to speak to a manager to get out of the room and she was accommodating. The first morning breakfast had no meat at all, very disappointed. July 9, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance Holiday Inn Express Charleston Southern Charm Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby Nearby Folly Beach 12 miles Historic Charleston and Rainbow Row Holiday Inn Express Charleston Hotel Front Entrance Magnolia Plantation and Gardens Middleton Place Plantation and Gardens Historic Charleston and The Battery Carriage Tours of Historic Charleston The Links at Stono Ferry 18th Hole Holiday Inn Express Charleston Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Desk and Guest Registration Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby and Guest Sitting Area
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading