• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn Express has a "no pet" policy, however, kennels are located nearby. Please contact the hotel for kennel telephone numbers to make advance arrangements. Guide dogs are permitted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston Historic District
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Folly Beach Pier
Distance From Hotel:12.5MI
Attraction:
South Carolina Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Charleston Tea Plantation
Distance From Hotel:21.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site parking adjacent to the hotel. Large, flat lot appropriate for buses, trucks & RV's. Guests may leave their cars parked for extended period if going on cruises. They must inform the Front Desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area
View More
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.
View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terriffic location. We offer easy access to historic plantations, beaches, downtown Charleston. Convenient off street parking is plentiful.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 253 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The very best I stay at this hotel when I visit my son (he attends college in Charleston). The staff at this hotel is the most helpful and friendly I have ever encountered. Particularly, Jay at the front desk. He remembers me by name, he remembers my son attends college in Charleston and asks me about him, his health, his classes. I always try to stay at this hotel. It is a clean and comfortable hotel with beautiful views of the city. Above all, as corny as it may sound, it is the very best of a home away from home. February 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Great customer service from Josh, Amanda and Charisse February 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable staff and nice room Good location, easy to get to town. Dinner was good. February 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Southern Hospitality With Southern Class KUDOS I absolutely adore this hotel and its location. The front desk staff is absolutely awesome Jay & Clarisse made our stay seem like we were just a part of the Holiday Inn Riverview family as well as the restaurant staff. If you have never had southern style, food I would suggest visiting the Riverview restaurant not only do you have a dynamic view but you also get great service. KUDOS look forward to seeing you again! (I’m a local who stayed with them for a week and they taught me things about my hometown that I didn't know that’s just how good they are.) February 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Delighted with facilities, staff and location. Shuttle bus is a great bonus. January 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway We didn't bother to make reservations for this weekend but weren't treated like we were intruding either; a pleasant surprise. We'd stopped at another hotel nearby to inquire, but after the clerk wrote the room rate on a card and slipped it across the counter to us, we were sure we could do better and found the rate here to be $50 less the other hotel's "special deal" on their last room. Everything's clean and pleasantly warm with a view of the river. We didn't eat in-house but at great eateries nearby. Would definitely recommend HI to anyone. January 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Checked in with a walk-in rate. I'm a Platinum PC member. I mentioned when I showed the front desk the walk-in rate. Manager was nice and willing to except. Front desk girl, not so. I didn't have my PC card but number, she questioned the color of my PC card like I didn't have one. (Not that I received anything except a $5.00 voucher for restaurant.) It was the only room left and we ended up in a smoking room.(Not their fault, but if you don't smoke-it was awful) We got the shuttle to downtown, which is the best way to go. He was great and we took it both ways. Our room had a sliding glass door that wouldn't shut all the way, so it was really cold all night in the room. In am I went down to get coffee in lobby & there wasn't any regular, I waited 15 minutes and still none. So I gave up, (i did ask at desk & she said someone went to get some) I mentioned at check-out about the door and he said he'd contact maintenance. Over all the hotel was in a great location & ok but we can't say we'd stay there again. January 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed review I spent this past weekend at the Charleston-Riverview using reward points. The reception was very pleasant, allowing me to check-in prior to 4pm, as stated by policy. The room was your average room, nothing too exciting. The shuttle service downtown is ideal with a 2 hour window for drop offs and returns throughout the day. So far I was pleased with the service and accommodations. The first issue I had was my ordering of room service. I called down around 9:30 PM and specifically asked if it was too late for ordering, I was told "no". I ordered and was told it would be 25-30 minutes. Needless to say, the order never made it to my room. It would't bother me if the meal took longer than then I was told, but not to show up at all is insulting. My second issue, not one for taking cold showers as a normal part of my daily routine, I had the misfortune of one the morning of my departure. I turned the shower on and waited for the water to warm with no luck. I would like to say it was very refreshing, but can't bring myself to do that. Overall, the hotel was what it was, a place to stay while enjoying Charleston. January 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best staff and service I have never felt so well received and taken care of. This property is very well run with friendly, helpful staff. I took advantage of the shuttle into Charleston and found it very convenient. The drivers had great recommendations as well. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. January 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Park & Cruise Success We selected the hotel because of its Park & Cruise offer. We were pleased by the overall quality of the facility and the friendly staff. The hotels location was close to pier (only a few minutes away) and was in what seemed to be a safe location. Though they did not advertise a shuttle service to the cruise ship, it turns out they did offer it at a reasonable cost (at least for this week). You may want to call them for more details. Parked the car in their regular lot so felt good about it being intermingled in with the other guests cars. Overall great experience. January 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not As Expected A river view turned out to be only a "sliver of a river view" while we looked out over the hotel dumpsters.....which was a total "wake up" call early on Saturday. We came to rest and relax. Loud voices from next door in addition to dumpsters being emptied were not what we called a relaxing "sleep in" morning. Room was way to small and we were only 2 people. Cramped room with 2 double beds, no microwave for popcorn nor a frig.....we are used to having these amenities wherever we stay. Were locked out of our room after maids cleaned......why I do not know .....we had left to roam around downtown, came back to rest a little and were locked out for some unknown reason, front desk could not tell us why. Breakfast was so-so, bacon cooked JUST RIGHT, grits lumpy, scraped 'bottom of the pan" for eggs. Good service from waiters and greeters in restaurant. Great view from restaurant......this is the view we were expecting when we requested a "river view" from our room, but we did not get it. Will not stay here again. Rate was good though. January 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the view! Good location and adequate facilities. The restaurant / bar at the top with an awesome view is worth it all!!!!!!!!!! January 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude staff Had an advertisement in the room that stated $2 draft bud light if you wear your team colors. When we got our bill the bartender didn't know anything about it and it was too late to change it since he already cashed us out, but the front desk would be able to refund our money. When we went to the front desk to have them take care of our bill from the bar the clerk there was rude and said "I can't do anything about this you paid cash" she called the bar to see what to do and said she could offer us free breakfast for the morning. We didn't want breakfast we wanted our money back, but took the breakfast anyways since she wasn't going to do anything else for us. We went to breakfast and it was horrible. The bacon was way too crispy, it was almost burned. When we left the hotel I accidentally left my phone charger plugged into the wall next to the bed. I called the hotel and was told I would have to wait until the next morning since the housekeeper manager already left and no one had a key to their room. I went back to the hotel to speak to a manager but was told there wasn't a manager there. I asked the front desk clerk if she would check the room to see if maybe the maid didn't see it and left it in the room so the girl coming on for the night went up there but she said there wasn't anything there. I called the housekeeping manager the next morning and she said nothing was turned in from our room. She was supposed to check the room and call me back I still haven't received a call back and it's been 2 weeks. For the price we paid for this hotel I would expect to be treated better than we were during our stay. We stayed at 5 Holiday Inn hotels within 8 days and this was the worst one we stayed at. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and location I enjoyed my stay at this hotel...The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice and comfortable. I had a great view of the river and the lounge/restaraunt was an added treat. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location, staff and city view we always stay here when we come to town and love it they are so sweet, never have to wait on cab and staff is so friendly January 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by On vacation Very helpful staff. Willing to suggest local places to eat and places to see. Shuttle service worked great and we were unaware of the service until staff told us during check in. Great views. Quiet. Would recommend it. Made for a great get away. January 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by In town for Kiawah Island Marathon; 2:00 am noise = bad race Our room was right below the top floor restaurant. Around 2:00 am, they started dragging furniture across the floor. The screeching noise, plus other thumping woke us up. A call to the front desk was met with an unsympathetic clerk, who in fact was kind of snotty to me. So the noise continued. I called the restaurant, no answer. I tried to go the restaurant, but the elevator was turned off to the top floor. Another call to the front desk was met with even more attitude. Eventually the noise stopped but it was hard to get back to sleep after an extremely stressful hour. We were in town for the Kiawah Island Marathon, which meant we had to be up at 4:30 am. As seasoned marathoners, this normally would not be a problem. However we had a very bad night of sleep and the trip/race was a bust. There was a party or two in the hotel, so we encountered a few drunks in and around the lobby and elevators. At 5:00 am, a drunk got on the elevator with us. He was polite, but I was concerned he was going to barf before the elevator reached the lobby. It was surprising thagt security didn't find him and the other partyers since there were many out and about. The location is convenient to the fun part of Charleston - it's a quick drive across the bridge. January 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would recommend to all I am a local who needed a place to study for nursing school finals. The staff was friendly. The room was exceptionally clean. My only complaint was that the balcony doors are sealed shut for safety reasons. I picked this hotel specifically because it had a balcony and was disappointed to realize that it wouldn't open. December 10, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle service helped out alot The rooms are average but the bathroom is small. We arrived at night so the night front counter girl was not at her best in checking us in. She rushed through the check in so quickly I couldn't understand what was offered and where everything was located. I had to ask the morning staff what did the hotel offer to their guest at no charge. Its okay if your staying on a short trip. The restaurant has a beautiful view and the bar staff were just awesome. I would stay here again if needed too since its so easy to get on/off the busy highway. December 8, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed this time This was probably our 8th time staying here. We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the room upon arrival, Also a request during booking had not been honored for some additional needs and it took over an hour and a half to resolve that issue. After sightseeing the next day and returning to grab a shower around 4pm and get ready for dinner we found our room serviced but no towels. Upon inquiry we were told they were being laundred and we would have some shortly. Overall experience this time was not up to the level we had experineced prevoiusly and that we expected. December 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view and comfotable beds. We stayed at the Charleston Riverview for two nights the weekend before Thanksgiving. The check-in staff was wonderful; smiling and very effiecient. The room (two double beds) was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The view from the room of the Ashley River was lovely, even in the rainy weather. We had great drinks in the bar area on the top floor and the view was spectacular; all of Charleston, especially the bridges, was on display. We will definitely stay here again when we visit our daughter and her fiance. November 28, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service The hotel was very nice. The shuttle service was very poor. We were dropped off at a regular stop and told that we would be picked up at the same spot at a certain time. We were at the spot early and we saw the shuttle go by, but he never came to get us. We made 2 calls to the hotel to find out where the shuttle was. Long story short, we were 1:45 getting back to the Hotel. Not a very nice way to treat Guests. November 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service! Our family usually chooses to stay in a Holiday Inn when we travel. We chose the Charleston-Riverview because it was close to the Port of Charleston and we were able to drive to the port quickly and with ease. The room we were given was nice but had a bad odor. The food was average. The staff was excellent from check in to check out. They went out of their way to help us when we discovered we could not print out our boarding passes to board our cruise ship. They were so caring. Thank you Charisse, Amanda, Jay, and Jeremy (General Manager) for your friendliness and eagerness to help! November 24, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed All hotel rooms should have refrigerators! Apparently the hotel does have a limited number of them that can be "rented" for additional $$, but when we requested one, there were none available. The bathroom was tiny. There was no free breakfast. We will not stay here again. November 24, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wet Parking Lot The room was small, but the view was great! Unfortunately, there were heavy rainstorms and the parking lot was flooded when we checked out. Something needs to be done about drainage. Other than that, we had a great experience and would definitely return. November 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I stayed at this location while attending a conference in charleston. With the group rate it was very affordable, clean, and comfortable. When the business center did not work the front desk let me use their computers and printers for as long as I needed. The only downside would be the fact that there were many other large groups at the hotel as well and if you happened to get back when they did, the elevators were extremely delayed (due to the high volume.) November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable Enjoyed our stay....staff was very friendly....rooms very clean and spacious. Loved the bathroom area.....lots of pillows..... November 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect room and service The Holiday Inn prices were very competitive compared to other Charleston hotels. We had a King Suite, a magnificent room and views for the 5 days we were there. Josh at the service desk was superb. I even saw him volunteer to ride the elevator with a nervous guest up to her room. The food we had was awesome. Absolutely the best Cheeseburger, fries, and Margaritas we have had anywhere. Scott, our waiter, made sure we were not lacking food or drink. The service was the best. The location was perfect for heading downtown, over the bridge to Mt. Pleasant or out to the islands. And get this…FREE PARKING Note: Our 14th floor balcony doors were locked shut. November 14, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Would have liked a refrig in room. More than generous dinners, but had to throw due to no refrig. While shuttle van was nice...it needed to run more than every 2 hours. Hotel was full entire 5 nites we were there. Van only held 9 people. So ended up always watching time to get back to pickup area. Nice view. October 29, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and clean room There for a Marine Reunion. Mix up with 2 handicap room reservations, but parties changed the next day. 1 1/2 hr wait for dinner the first night, but have to grant them it was a Tuesday and they weren't expecting a party of 24. Breakfast buffet was good. We would probably stay here again, rates much better than downtown. Hard location to pull out in traffic. October 21, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance Holiday Inn Express Charleston Southern Charm Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby Nearby Folly Beach 12 miles Historic Charleston and Rainbow Row Holiday Inn Express Charleston Hotel Front Entrance Magnolia Plantation and Gardens Middleton Place Plantation and Gardens Historic Charleston and The Battery Carriage Tours of Historic Charleston The Links at Stono Ferry 18th Hole Holiday Inn Express Charleston Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Desk and Guest Registration Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby and Guest Sitting Area
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading