• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The Holiday Inn Express has a "no pet" policy, however, kennels are located nearby. Please contact the hotel for kennel telephone numbers to make advance arrangements. Guide dogs are permitted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charles Towne Landing
Distance From Hotel:3.6MI
Attraction:
Charleston Historic District
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Historic Charleston City Market
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
The Charleston Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary on-site parking adjacent to the hotel. Large, flat lot appropriate for buses, trucks & RV's. Guests may leave their cars parked for extended period if going on cruises. They must inform the Front Desk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area
View More
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.
View Less
Features
We surpass other Charleston, SC hotels thanks to our terriffic location. We offer easy access to historic plantations, beaches, downtown Charleston. Convenient off street parking is plentiful.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Restaurant with View, little traffic, comfy beds! perfect...place to be convenient to everything but not in middle of traffic May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great views! The staff were lovely . Big shout out to the shuttle drivers, they were great. The food in the restaurant was not great, needs a little work there. Loved the view from the restaurant, had fun creature spotting. May 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Location and view Close to downtown without the high cost and great view. Buffet needs improvement. May 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed.Food poor.Bar second rate. Hotel has gone downhill since we last stayed.A shame.Too many coach parties to the detriment of other guests who were treated as second class.Service charge added of 18% when 5% would have been more appropriate for the level given. Could not find terms and conditions to properly confirm acceptance. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bus service to downtown Not only is the hotel easy to find (a real help), but the jitney service to and from downtown was great! All employees were extremely nice - made or a good stay - hope to return April 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely location, shuttle sevice from airport. This property is conveniently located for access to downtown Charleston and the city marina. It provides no transportation from Charleston airport to the Inn. There is regular shuttle service from the Inn to downtown, but it is erratic. April 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not good To far from everything including the airport. Sliding glass doors wired not to open. Room was stuffy. I had to tell them I was a Priority club member even though the hard copy of my Rez had my number on it. The Breakfast Buff was lacking to say the least. April 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation and comfort Original registration was made 2 weeks in advance for two adults, king bed, non-smoking. Error made in number of guests was corrected within a day. Twin double beds assigned at check-in with comment that king was not specified and unavailable. After being shown the printout of the original registration it took two staff people almost half-hour to correct the error which they did courteously. Bed pillows were too small (not king size) and much too firm. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Room was clean and comfortable. Was some noise from US17 traffic that surrounds the hotel but not too distracting. Was interesting getting onto 17 going into the city..short lane that other traffic would like to share...need a little more care getting out. Fine coming in. Thought the fee for breakfast was steep for what you got. Had a good stay. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful week-end We had a wonderful week-end in Charleston staying at the Holiday Inn Riverview. The front desk staff were very helpful. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The shuttle bus service to historic Charleston was very convenient. The upstairs restaurant offered a beautiful view. We definitely recommend this hotel! April 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, nice room, nice people The one thing that kept this from being an "excellent" was room service. Maybe nobody ever uses room service there, but we did, and it was not very good. They didn't follow the room service menu at all, either for the dish we wanted, or the pricing. And it was very disorganized - they had to call back 3 times to get our order even close to what we wanted. The rest of the stay was wonderful. Great view. Good experience in the restaurant on the top floor. Nice room. Nice people. And the shuttle service into Charleston was GREAT. We definitely took advantage of that. April 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by beds were worn out/rooms had misty odor rooms not very clean. rooms need to smell clean. carpet had a bad smell. April 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid this hotel Upon arrival our room had a large fan in the center of the room. We were told the carpets were recently "freshened," and the fan was there to dry them...maintenance did remove the fan promptly, but the carpets were still very wet. We were told there were no other rooms available. We had to ask for our Priority Club recognition #others in our party received theirs upon arrival...we did not#. Ate only once in the restaurant...breakfast was terrible! Food on the buffet was cold, the toaster didn't work, they were understaffed, and one staff member was very rude. The only positive experience was the visit to the bar in the evenings. Our waitress #Josephine# was a delight both evenings we were there. Our group of 9 had four rooms, and each had issues of some kind with either the facilities or the service. April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to downtown without the higher price Overall nice experience. This hotel was built over 30 years ago but has been remodeled. The round shape makes for awkward-shaped rooms but with adequate space. City and harbor views were very nice from our room and even better from the restaurant on the top floor. Since the hotel sits essentially between the 6 lanes of a major bridge into the city, the traffic noise is pretty steady and a little difficult for entering traffic upon exiting the hotel. The free shuttle that runs every two hours from 0730AM to 0930PM was a superb value-added perk and saves either cab fares or the hassle of trying to find and pay for your own parking downtown. We notified the front desk of a plumbing problem and it was fixed when we returned to our room later. Good response. April 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated property Front desk staff emphasized how great breakfast was in the restaurant. Not only was it not included like every other hotel I stayed this trip, but it was seriously not worth $10. Should have gone to Waffle House. Leather seating uncomfortable and bathroom reeked of cigarette smoke. The hotel needs to update their vintage windows. Overall I give this property a C. April 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend in Charleston The location of the hotel is very good. (about 5-10 min and you're in downtown) I thought that the shuttle would have been a great reason to stay here, however, it was full of people whenever we wanted a lift. My advice is to get to the shuttle very early or just drive into town and chance finding a parking spot. We moved out of our first room because it was not fully clean. We did have an early check-in so I think it just may have been a bit rushed to get us in quickly. My biggest complaint about the room is the thin walls and slamming doors at all hours of the night. If someone is leaving their room on your floor, you know it! Also, the outside doors/windows in the room do not open at all. The circulation in our room was very poor and made us feel a little claustrophobic to be in there. The restaurant was something to be desired. Great view but poor food. Obviously, it's an older hotel and some things can't be changed but the staff at the front desk was willing to do whatever is in their power to make you're stay more enjoyable. To summarize: I highly doubt that you will find another hotel that close to downtown Charleston for the rates they offer. Just realize that you also get what you pay for. So, if you're on a budget and do not plan on spending a lot of time in the room, it's perfect! April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice place to rest your head with a good view. A nice hotel with a decent location. Good views of the city and the water. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Parking was ample. My only complaint is there is a maintenance problem there. 1 of 2 elevators was out for my entire stay. Another guest told me the elevator was out of service for the whole week. The lobby ladies room was also closed and flooded. Something they need to work on. Otherwise, I would stay again at the right price April 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No elevator, no hot water, no internet What a disappointment. Only one elevator working, no hot water or water pressure. Internet was worse than dial up. Hotel rooms need update on electrical, etc. April 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, room needs updating I was checked into this hotel by my company. On arrival the check in was effortless and the staff were friendly and courteous. I had called ahead to say a delivery was being made for me and it was ready as I checked in. The room was ok thou a bit dated in decor. Things that didn't impress me much- I was on the 12th floor and had to run the bath tap for about 10 minutes to draw hot water up! And the window/ sliding door wasn't well fitting in its rails! If you are going to lock the sliding doors then at least make sure they are wind proof, I could watch the net curtains blowing inside my room and had it not been for the fact I always travel with ear plugs I doubt I'd've had a decent nights sleep. The view was ok, even if I did have to look at an angle! I did try to move to a room overlooking the river and marinas but all rooms were fully booked. Walls are a bit thin, I really didn't want to hear what the room next door were doing at 7 in the morning! On a final note, while I was there a lift broke down and it was a pain waiting for 10-15 minutes for the one lift to go up and down the 14 floors! And it got very crowded. The lift stopped working on the Thursday and was still broken on the Saturday when I left. Overall you get what you pay for, this is a mid range hotel at mid range prices, I didn't expect 5 star accommodation and didn't get it. Once again I can't compliment the check in staff enough April 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view and comfortable bed I really enjoy my stay. Eventhough is a non smoking hotel, our room smell like cigarette, they came up, when we called and try to get the smell out, but it was a bit strong. Other than that, everything was worth the money. I did which they had a indoor swimming pool. And the fitness center very small for amounts of room. A microwave in each floor, would be great, close to the vending machine and Ice. The only microwave was in front, at the lobby, and look, like it was never cleaned. April 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A hidden gem The staff could not make you feel any more welcome and they are pleased that you are there. From the front desk to room service to the restaurant everyone was helpful and friendly. April 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Broken down old hotel Front desk staff was abrupt and short with us on check in. Broken elevator leaving only one to serve a filled up 14 story hotel. We reserved a suite and got no dresser or closet, only a poor excuse for hanging locker space. No bed linens for the pull out sofa for our daughter. Housekeeping didn't service our room but the front desk sent up clean towels....remember we were in a suite! All and all a poor experience and we will not be returning any time in the near future. Side bar note, the Hostess in the resturant was fantastic a warm wonderful Southern lady named Brenda. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value and Great Staff We recently visited Charleston, SC for the first time with some west coast visitors and decided to stay at the Riverside Holiday Inn. The staff was great; very friendly and helpful and the shuttle in and out of the city was great - it was one of the main reasons that we chose this location. While the food in the restaurant was only so-so, the views were wonderful. The bar was a great place to see the city lights late at night. We'll be coming back for another visit later in the year. April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, Charleston, SC Riverview We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is always clean and comfortable. (The reason we go back each time we are in Charleston). The restaurant is so nice, located at the top of this building. What a gorgeous view. I cannot say anything but good about our stay here. We will return next time we are in Charleston. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for Historic Charleston Good location for Historic Charleston. Free shuttle a bonus. Very clean. Very quiet. Main complaint - the light for the water closet is connected to the light for the sink area. Therefore, if you get up during the night to use the toilet and you need a light, it creates quite a bright glow into the sleeping area where someone else most likely is trying to sleep. Also, no fan in the shower area. Pillows were also kinda lumpy. Obviously, complaints are not really complaints... just comments. I would and will stay here again! March 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy When I called to ask questions about the hotel services I was put on hold and was on for at least 5 minutes and had to call back. One of the 2 shuttle drivers was not too happy. He did not respond well to questions or any conversations. The breakfast buffer was not so good. I could not separate the pancakes. They were all stuck together and the eggs were hard. Lastly, we had to leave early to get an early flight out and there was no hot water for showering. March 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Probably great in it's prime 20 years ago, this hotel was probably awesome, but other than adding a flat panel television to the room, I don't think much has been done to update this place. Pros: Great river view if you're on the right side. The included breakfast buffet is pretty good, too. Cons: Hotel is dated, bathroom is small, overpriced. In summary, for the price, you're really only paying for the view so if you stay here, make sure you at least get a river view side room. March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Location-great! Very courteous and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms and clean! Only negative would be traffic noise but will be back! March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Making and keeping food We really injoyed our stay but missed a fridge and microwave. I don't know about other guests but we travel with a cooler with small snacks and pop that need to be kept cold. A fridge would be nice to kept them cold insted of using ice. We also would like to be able to reheat things and make popcorn in a microwave. That would be nice for longer stays. March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, staff, drinks, poor quality in food The hotel is now non-smoking now, which I was not disclosed when making reservations. The hotel was very clean, staff helpful with exceptional service, the restaurant (Donny) and lounge staff (Tamara) were exceptional. Although, the quality of the food was not what I had experienced in the past. Food quality seemed to be of a lower grade and the temperature of the buffet was not hot, only warm. Overall a good experience but I will not be eating all my meals there as I have on past visits. March 19, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Entrance Holiday Inn Express Charleston Southern Charm Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby Nearby Folly Beach 12 miles Historic Charleston and Rainbow Row Holiday Inn Express Charleston Hotel Front Entrance Magnolia Plantation and Gardens Middleton Place Plantation and Gardens Historic Charleston and The Battery Carriage Tours of Historic Charleston The Links at Stono Ferry 18th Hole Holiday Inn Express Charleston Holiday Inn Express Charleston Front Desk and Guest Registration Holiday Inn Express Charleston Lobby and Guest Sitting Area
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading