• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed, Service pets accepted

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:70
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:66
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:31
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:66
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high
View More
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 269 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Good clean hotel with free breakfast and easy on off access to I-79 June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall -- Exceptional...but Our stay was - as always - very good. Because of it's location, you're close to the Civic Center and mall. However, I called several weeks prior to get a roll away bed, since the day I made my reservation there were no 2 double beds available, and was told not to worry since I would get one. When I checked in at 3:30 pm, there were no roll away beds available. So one of our guest had to sleep on the floor; had I known this when I made my reservation plus after calling the hotel, I definitely would have stayed some where's else. Disappointed Club Member. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Stay We stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night of our vacation. We would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. Bath towels were the best of any hotel we stayed at for our entire vacation - counting this hotel chain and others. Breakfast was excellent - the variety of choices surely can meet everyone's taste! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great except.. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay except for 1 instance. I enterd the fitness center at 430 am without noticing the sign for hours of operation. The gentleman who reprimanded me, who I assume was the night janitor, was rather rude in telling me I was not allowed in there before 6am. I made a mistake, for which I apologized, Still , I thik he could have a little more tact than acting like I had set the center on fire or something, June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff Our Special Olympics team had a fantastic stay at Holiday Inn Express. Staff was attentive to all our needs. Rooms were clean. June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NOT a 5-star hotel In my opinion, this is not a 5-star hotel for the reasons I mentioned in the survey -- hair and debris on bathroom floor -- debris on telephone and remote control -- empty tissue box, inadequate washclothes -- no deodorant soap for bathing -- bed too soft -- poor lighting in bedroom area, etc. However, furniture, carpeting and drapes were in good condition and modern in appearance. Liked the black counter in the bathroom with a shelf underneath for hand and bath towels. Desk clerks were friendly and seemed anxious to please. Breakfast cinnamon rolls were delicious. I would stay here again, however, because I felt safe.. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location. Hotel was an overall good experience. I have stayed there before, and will again in the future. Clean room. Good location to Civic Center and Mall. Good food. Attentive staff. Fast internet. Good tv programs. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort, cleanliness & guest services The staff was EXCELLANT , the room was very clean, & pretty. A unplesant experence was rectified & had nothing to do with the quality of this hotel . I highly reccomend this Holiday Inn Express! June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great place to stay. Close to civic center and mall. Clean and comfortable beds. Front desk staff very friendly and professional. Breakfast good value. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Need an attitude check Two staffs at the front desk at night and in the morning were totally different. The manager/staff at night time gave me a look of not-welcoming. Although he found out that I had a platinum status, he still didn't welcome me but kept asking Credit Card without any explanation or preference checking. I had a bad feeling that he would change the rate so I asked him about the rate. Surprisingly, he increased the rate from my online reservation! I asked him why it was different from the email confirmation, then he said "whoever made an online reservation (obviously ME) was confused, and the rate was not correct." I had to go through my emails to show him a proof, then he couldn't say a word. I wish he apologized me at least. Even after this incident, I had to literally go over all of benefits with him in order to make sure that he would provide. The manager/staff in the morning was totally different. She was very kind and professional. Every hotel needs to be very careful about who can be at the front desk, which is the face of that hotel and brand name. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected pleasure as soon as we entered lobby Great stay, wish there was a pool though. Staff was wonderful, rooms were very nice, loved the free internet, breakfast had a good selection of items. 1st time we stayed here and we would stay again in the future. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very nice hotel This property is so much better than Huntington WV. May 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Never Before The HVAC unit sounded like a train when it came on. I reported it to the desk clerk who said no one was available. This was on day 1. It got no better on day 2. The TV only had half the channels working. When I reported this I was told no one else had this problem, and nothing was wrong. Funny, in 2 minutes they all appeared. I've stayed here numerous times and it has been great. I certainly hope they get their problems fixed before the next time or there will not be a third time. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent service Room was clean and comfortable. Fitness center had free weights in addition to typical hotel cardio equipment which was a bonus. What I will remember the most, however, was the attentiveness of all the staff. They all went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Occasionally, you will have one or two staff which are customer service oriented but here EVERYONE was super. Everyone was so friendly. I hope you don't lose that because that is what will keep me coming back! Thanks. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Friendly Staff The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful!! Every staff member I passed asked me how I was doing and if I needed anything with a smile. May 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible While the look on the inside of the hotel may appear to seem that upgrades were done, these are cosmetic only. There was a distinct musty odor in the room, the carpet was stained and not cleaned and I was apprehensive of sleeping under the covers. The hotel staff was not accommodating and overall I was disappointed in the experience. I would not stay in this hotel again May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Friendly Personnel Everything was What we wanted and expected from a Holiday Inn. All personnel - especially at the front desk - were just great. We had lots of fun and they were accommodating to our every wish. Even begged us to stay if ever back in the area. Raises for all of them!!! Thanks! Also, we LOVED the mattress on the king bed. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay and Value Great Holiday Inn location and facility. Easy access from the interstate and centrally located. The facility was up-to-date. They served a large variety of food and the breakfast area had plenty of seating and television. I wish I could have stayed longer. All-in-all, great location. May 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK I would classify this facility as just ok. it would be fine for just over night. I would not recommend it for an extended stay. It is very convenient to the Civic Center. The parking is tight during the civic center events at the hotel which makes it somewhat of a problem. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay in downtown Charleston We wanted a place to stay in downtown Charleston to attend a graduation ceremony at the nearby auditorium. Our pre-graduation dinner was at a restaurant in/nearby the city center mall. The Holiday Inn was the perfect location and at a decent price per night for a downtown hotel. That staff was VERY pleasant. The stay was terrific. May 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and central location The bed was comfortable - would've preferred a queen but. Room was comfortable but could've used an additional light or a brighter light in the room. Nice central location. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. It was our first stay but we would go back. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff - good location We stopped at this hotel on our way from MIchigan to Pinehurst. Good location with easy on/off access to expressway. Very nice breakfast; nice variety of choices including warm cinnamon rolls. Front desk staff was very helpful in recommending a restaurant for dinner within walking distance. Only negative was that our bathroom floor needed a real GOOD cleaning. Otherwise, room was fine, clean, bed comfortable and quiet. May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My third stay at this property No one dislikes travel interruptions more than I, and when my flight was delayed due to storms and an airport being closed I had no choice but delay a day. It was a great relief to know that there was a room available for me to get some much needed rest. I appreciate that they had a shuttle service to and from the airport. And it was a good feeling to be greeted by a big smile as I arrived and departed! The staff was so kind to give me a late checkout since my flight time the following day was not until 4:45pm. I would rate this property excellent in every way! This will definitely be my place to rest anytime I am ever in Charleston, WV! May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Great hotel. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Location was close and convenient to downtown and Convention Center. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room with 2 queen beds Attentive front desk staff Delicious breakfast with several choices of different foods Bath tub/ shower had adequate grip bars for handicapped person Easy access to major freeways May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and beyond service I stayed in the Holiday Inn express and I have to note that the friendliness of the employees went beyond being paid to do a job, it showed in the smile, greeting, and mannerisms from the time I walked they were there to help me. And help they did, they accomodated my chech out time, helped with directions, suggestions for dinning, and the continental breakfast was a full breakfast spread. My thanks and gratitude to the hard working staff and the way they work together to make this a real team to provide a service. Thank you all. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! Great location, right across from the Civic Center, mall, and Municipal Auditorium and w/i walking distance to several other great downtown restaurants. You can't beat the value, clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and probably the best selection I've seen for a hotel breakfast bar. The gentleman working the breakfast area was so friendly May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tired MOM and weary traveler Staff was excellent and friendly. Morning breakfast and staff was very good. Nice place to relax. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Property Excellent and friendly staff. Very accommodating people. Nice little bar to relax in. Unfortunately did not get to experience the restaurant. Property is currently under renovation and it is very, very nice. Easy access. Highly recommended. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay! This Holiday Inn Express is a wonderful choice while in Charleston, WV. It is in walking distance to the mall, the civic center, shops, and restaurants. It was clean with a large dining area, 24 hour snacks if needed and business capabilities. The room was large, clean, modern and very comfortable. Being so close to other things we did not experience noise that would bother you while you sleep and I'm a light sleeper. The bathroom was large with double sinks. We had breakfast in the morning with an ample amount of food of various types for all tastes and plenty of tables. We will definitely stay again when in the area. May 4, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading