Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best The staff at this hotel makes it stand out as one of the best that I stay in. I travel with work and spend at least 3 weeks out of every month in a hotel so I know a good one when I see it. Thanks to the staff for making this a memorable experience. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Wonderful people. Your people are the reason that Holiday Inn Express is the only hotel i use while I am on the road for work. Great value. July 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfied for a Holiday Inn Room was damp, the floor was dirty. Elevators are not clean. The breakfast area very dirty. The floor in the breakfast area was not clean my shoes were sticking to the floor. Every time I went to the front desk no one was attending the desk. My expectation for Holiday Inn Hotel was not met. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express As usual, the room and the rest of the hotel were kept very clean and presentable. What sets this hotel apart is the staff. They went out of there way to help me find my way around town and to print some files that I needed for work (their business center was down at the time). Thanks for everything especially to the manager. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly maintained room This is the poorest maintained Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in . The commode leaked onto the floor every time it was flushed. Every time the a/c came on, it was so loud it woke us up. We did not have a restful nite. It was not a good stay for the money I paid for it. July 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average The only reason I could not rate it higher because the rooms could add some upgrades: full size sleeper sofa than the twin size, comfortable mattresses, bathtub and comfortable blankets. Also, I disliked that there were no pancake mix to make pancakes at breakfast. I also suggest a waffle maker. Overall, the room and hotel was clean and all the staff was courteous and helpful. I also requested a first floor hotel after I read the reviews about the cigarette smoke. I received a first floor room with no problem and I was able to receive late check out without any problem. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, forgetable hotel After 4 Holiday Inn, nothing special. The staff was boring and handles us as numbers. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Service Issues The two major problems resulted in a lower rating because these were major issues: Long wait to get in room 25-30 minutes at check-in No hot water to shower in on Sunday morning July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like I was at home, everything was very comfortable This was my second time staying at the Holiday Inn in less than 8 months. We were there for the IKE Homecoming. The beds were very comfortable. We not able to hear noise outside the room. The showers were very relaxing. Which made it good after the long day that we had at the pier. Waiting for my son's ship to come in. The staff was very friendly. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home away from home I travel a lot and when im in Virginia working I will only stay at this holiday inn. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They will go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Its like being home away from home. I always recommend this holiday inn to my family, friends, and co-workers I appreciate everything they do for me when I stay with them and look forward to the next time i'll be in Virginia. Thank you holiday inn express staff in Chesapeake, va off of gum road. They are one of the best. July 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed... I spend 80+ nights a year in Holiday Inn's and Holiday Inn Expresses. Rarely have I written a review because I was profoundly disappointed. The room we were giving wreaked of "wet dog". We found the cause being that the rug was recently washed and was still wet. The equipment they used must have been very dirty as the edges of the bed sheets were Black with dirt. (including hand prints on the bed. You'd think they could have changed the sheets after cleaning and dried the place out. I asked for a new room and was told the hotel was full. (even though the parking lot was not full at 11 pm and there were no buses). No apologies. No offer to find a room in another holiday inn.. Nothing. Additionally, the tub didn't work, the toilet seat was broken and the sink didn't drain.... I didn't know you could upload pictures or I would have taken more. I took this one just for laughs.... Again, I travel for a living and have only once or twice written negative reviews. It's not in my nature, but this place was so bad that I would never go back again nor would I suggest anybody else does. July 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but poor customer service I had multiple issues with my stay to include having to change rooms, issues with the incorrect rate, and poor treatment from one of the managers. The rate change required multiple follow up calls after my stay, and yet again, I received poor customer service by the same individual. The general manager finally contacted me to fix the issue, said she would put points in my account for my trouble, and she didn't follow through. I would not recommend this hotel. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff & Service First time at this location & the staff made it seem like I had been there many times with their assistance-from spare cell phone chargers to locations of restaurants & other local establishments. Special KUDOS to Monica & Christy. May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff. We had a great time and the staff were wonderful. We had our children and grandson with us. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I keep coming back I normally search for IHG hotels based on location, but it can be difficult to judge the hotel in advance, as there is some variation in quality even within each brand. The Chesapeake HIE is one of the nicest HIE hotels I have stayed at, and I have returned for week-long stays several times. This is despite the fact that the customer that brings me to the area is in fact more than an hour's drive away, and there are plenty of other hotels along the route. When I have tried others to reduce the commute, I end up cancelling after a night and booking into Chesapeake HIE again. My trips have been spaced out enough that I don't think I get special treatment, but it seems as if everyone is welcomed and treat as if they are special. Certainly the treatment of Priority Club members is excellent. The collection of shopping malls near the hotel are great, and good access to the motorways means shorter travel times. Everything just seems to be right. A tip for long-term stayers is the guest laundry. I often end up working in the room on the last day, and use the opportunity to wash and dry all my clothes in the guest laundry so that I return home without a load of dirty clothes. It's cheap and I suspect that clean clothes weigh less than dirty ones so helping avoid excess baggage charges. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience Beating your brains out really requires a place to unwind. The location is reasonably close to downtown NORFOLK and really good for my work on the waterfront. The setting is in the trees away from traffic, but close enough to various resturants, Sears and Walmart, along with a nice mall. I have returned three times this year, 2013. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hot water problem fixed After talking with the GM and being assured the problems were fixed with the hot water and her promise to add points as offered, I used this hotel for my next stay in Chesapeake. Everything was as it should be......Nice clean room, friendly staff and excellent choices at the breakfast bar. Will be staying there again next week. April 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Hot Water As HIE rooms go room 302 was nice and very clean on the surface. My poor review is based on one issue that was not handled to my satisfaction. On my first morning I took a shower with barely warm water......it wouldn't even steam up the mirror. On departing for the day I told the attendant at the front desk about the problem to which she responded that she would take care of it. The next morning same deal, rushed through a cold shower...shame on me for not checking it the night before. Again I complained at the front desk when checking out. This time the lady identified herself as the asst. GM and assurred me that it would be taken care of and a plumber called if needed. She offered to add points to my priority club for my inconvenience. I just checked my account....no extra points added so who knows if the hot water was fixed. If everyone had done what they said they would do I would not have written this and given a good review. If the manager had just apolgized and given the points she promised, I would not have written this. DO WHAT YOU SAY YOUR GOING TO DO. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and friendly staff. Friendly staff always at this H.I.E. Stayed twice within a month and received excellent service. Would recommend it to others. February 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms. We reserved this location not realizing how far it was from the airport (There are 2 closer) and the Va Beach/Norfolk traffic can be a bit problematic getting here but that's the only downside. Otherwise, this Holiday Inn Express delivers on the consistent level we've come to expect from this brand - clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. January 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Excellent room with a huge siting area and plenty of space. Great value. January 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms Quiet Location We had two families and asked at reservations for two adjoining rooms. When we arrived at the property, we were told that this could not be accommodated. While working with the front desk, Peaches, was able to review the rooms and secured two rooms together. It made our stay very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast is a great deal and decent food. Appreciate the fruits and cereals. As a side note, I had to identify myself as a Priority Club member which surprised me since I booked the rooms through the Priority Rewards website. We had an issue where something was left in the room by my young son. We realized it after check-out, called the hotel's front desk and they retrieved the item and held it for us. That was spectacular to have that service and attention to detail to our items. January 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Service Through all of my travels, this hotel makes me feel comfortable. It is very easy for me to settle in. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The beds are always great, I think I sleep better here than in my own bed, and that's saying something! I am not a fan of the breakfast, but that's usual for me. For a hot continental type of meal, it is good and there are always things to choose from. December 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, accessible and quiet We were travelling for holidays and enjoyed our stay at the Chesapeake Holiday Inn Express. We may have stayed longer but it was hotel policy to not reduce the room rate when the online rates for the same room were lower. We would have had to check out and check back in ( a nuisance). October 27, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Comfortable Stay We were treated very well by a warm and friendly staff. I have stayed at this hotel before and have always been happy. October 27, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible customer service Front desk customer service (night) needs to be retrained. Bad attitude. October 15, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad customer service One front desk receptionist was very rude. Talked over customer, won't let customer finish his sentences. Snatched the keys from customer's hand. Horrible attitude. October 15, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what we expected We normally stay at the Springhill on Gumm Rd 3 or 4 times a year- that not being there any longer we decided to try Holiday Inn. We were excited to stay there because every other one we have stayed in has been new & redcorated. The first night our room was very disapointing; the air conditioner was so loud we had to turn it off, sink was dirty, my husbands white socks were very dirty after walking on the carpet. I called the front desk at 10 p.m. and complained- I was told the manager could put us in a new room the next morning. They did and it was better, somewhat. The air unit was too cold to let run all night, so we were hot, waking up in the middle of the night. The staff was very friendly and were willing to help; on the morning we checked out a manager helped me carry something to our car. This was not their fault its just an old property. October 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5