Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 370 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good base for visiting Chester Comfortable room, & good location to be able to walk into Chester centre. Very easy to find hotel & parking on arrival in Chester. Would have been good to have a few more hot breakfast items & unlimited hot drinks! November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent for leisure and famalies comfortable fold down bed for extra guests. Staff were excellent, helpful and freindly. They booked our zoo tickets for us with discount. We found the hotel hard to find in the dark with no sat nav but once we havigated our way there it was easy to find again. Ideal base for exploring Chester and surtrounding area, great free breakfast service. November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Staying in the area while attending a wedding and booked here as it is close to the city. We were not disappointed with either the hotel or it's location. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stop over after zoo visit half term Usually use a budget hotel competitor but all fully booked so gave Holiday Inn Express a go. Slight issue on arrival as sofa bed not made up and when staff went to do it they found bed was broken. They phoned, as we had gone out, to check that they could move our stuff to another room which we had no problems with. Reception staff dealt with this slight hitch really well, they were friendly and efficient so it didn't feel like a problem for us. Bit noisy as on front of hotel near road but that didn't affect all the family just one light sleeper! Breakfast really good, good choice and quality. All in all, happy. Good value, clean hotel with efficient and helpful staff. Would use again. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by high standard Very good breakfast.... keep up the high standard. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, comforatble bed, staff and service, great. Had a great stay, Chester is a great place with lots of interesting things to do and see and plenty of places to wine and dine, the Racecourse New Crane Street is in the best place for everything, we enjoyed it that much we have already booked for next year and we are doing the Chester races on are next visit. Hotel was clean and the room was very comfy and the staff great. November 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldn't stay again Booked this hotel after looking on the internet. Other hotels in Chester mentioned that road noise may be heard from some rooms, so chose holiday inn express as there was good reviews and their website didn't highlight any possible noise. Had taken a rare day off from work to have a long weekend and some rest. The room was nice and clean, Unfortunately we did not get any sleep as the hotel is next to a train line and we were woken at 5.30 a.m by high speed trains hurtling past every 15 minutes. I contacted holiday inn express who said that this is out of their control. However I think they should mention on the website that train noise may be heard in some rooms , as I would never have booked . November 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel but had 1 complaint I spent 2 nights here with my mother and daughter. fantastic location and everything great until the morning we were to check out - got a call from reception at 6 am to say our taxi had arrived and my mother took the call half asleep as we were not due to leave till 6pm!! we all woke with the noise of the telephone and I was not 1 bit happy. I phoned the taxi company to complain and they apologised saying that they had no call booked for us that day!! they said they would contact the taxi driver and let him know. in the meantime my mother was trying to contact reception on the phone but they didn't answer. next thing we get another call from reception to say that our taxi was still waiting and my mother told them that he was not supposed to be there till evening - the man on reception was quite rude to my mother and said that we should have rang them immediately!! my poor mother is not 1 to complain and we didn't bring it further. but I feel that this is not the way to treat the clients in the hotel. this put us in bad form and we could not go back to sleep. not very professional November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express - Chester Nothing at all to complain about. Nice location overlooking the race course, clean, nice bar, nice breakfast. Would definitely go back. November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by whole experience The hotel was comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful October 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does what it says on the tin A Holiday Inn Express. Budget hotel, no frills, clean and fairly well organised. October 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good Unfortunately we found the room to be unclean, especially in the bathroom. The room was very hot and became very noisy when the window was opened as the train line runs very close to the hotel. The sofa bed for my son was extremely uncomfortable. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but needs updating! I've been using this hotel for about 7 years as a regular leisure trip with my wife to Chester. The location is great as its in walking distance of the city centre however the rooms are in need of an update, they look quite tired now. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service / Poor Matress Good location only a short walk into the shops and bars and free parking on site is a bonus.Vending machines and an ice machine in the lobby very handy, the room was a little dated in some areas but the main problem was the matress it was so worn it dipped in the middle making it uncomfortable.On a possitive the staff were very good and friendy October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION Love staying here best HIEX we have stayed in staff very efficient and friendly nothing is too much trouble especially on the front desk, delicious breakfast freshly cooked and frequently replenished , right on the racecourse with 2 great restaurants attached and located within minutes of Chester City Centre....spoiled for choice October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money Hotel. Happy to recommend this hotel, and would stay again. Good facilities with excellent staff. Some noise noticable from the third floor which may have been roof sited motors of some kind. Some in our party found it worse than others, but overall an enjoyable stay. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to look a little tired Have used this Hotel a couple of times but this time the room was showing signs of age. The WC seat was chipped, there was wallpaper hanging from the wall, the Shower Head would not fit into it's holder making showering an interesting experience, and the general decor needs a bit of TLC. Despite this overall it is a pleasant Hotel and would use it again. October 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location The location, staff and breakfast provided help make this a good value place to stay whilst you are visiting Chester. The only problem we found is that the mattress was very poor and in need of a change. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location,location Super, super location for staying in Chester as you can park your car for free and it literally is only minutes into town. There is complimentary tea & coffee downstairs in the hotel. It is an express hotel so therefore very small. We were told the bar was open for residents until 2. Am. Wow. Rooms were fine, everything you need. Television great, bathroom great, good comfy bed. Breakfast was good, sausages, beans & scrambled eggs, no bacon. Fresh fruit & yoghurts, croissants, toast & jam, oh and cereals, so not bad Ey, considering it's in with the price, and as much coffee as you can drink. My room had a fantastic view of the racecourse, races were not on that day but bet it's fab when they are. There are cheaper hotels around but once you've paid your car parking & breakfast it's probably the same. Would definitely stay here again without a doubt, as long as they keep their prices good. October 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice room to improve breakfast with more variety and it was only just warm ready to eat October 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good night's sleep - guaranteed!! My wife and I stayed at the Hotel for 2 nights last week, and we were glad to go home, before we were crippled for life by the most basic and uncomfortable bed it has been our misfortune to sleep in for many a long year. Apart from the springs poking through, it was necessary to hang on to the sides to avoid rolling down the slope into the middle! On this experience, I can only recommend the competition - that is, if you want a good night's sleep - guaranteed. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good breakfast. Have previously stayed at this hotel. Great location for Chester town centre. Free parking and good breakfast make it a good choice. Only negative was the fact the mattress was very soft and in need of replacement. October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to Chester Racecourse Hotel This hotel is fine for a short stay. The only down fall for us was the continental breakfast. Plenty of eating places in Chester if you would like a traditional English breakfast. We will visit the racecourse hotel again. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than adequate for my particular needs Over-all I was very happy with the room. This year I was able to have a room overlooking the racecourse which was infinitely better than being above the road. Staff were pleasant and the food (breakfast) was adequate and substantial (slightly over cooked sausages). October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Chester racecourse Nice clean hotel, good value and location. Breakfast was a little disappointing though. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great clean comfortable hotel very close to city centre October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel with great location Hotel is very central in Chester, with friendly staff and modern appearance. Wi Fi was also good and allowed me to work from room and bar area. Would stay here again. October 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Road noise , unable to sleep A very disappointing stay, we were unable to sleep as the noise from the adjacent road could be heard all night long. As we had been told the hotel was full we didn't complain until the next morning only to be told we should have said something to the night receptionist. Very dissatisfied with the manager's response to our complaint. October 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lower Standards Disappointed as standards seem to have slipped at Chester. We often stay at Holiday Inns Express, but this is the first time that I have not been entirely satisfied.My complaints may seem trivial but they add up. For example, the room had not been cleaned too well, water did not drain properly from the sink,Wi-fi did not work in the bedroom although it did work in the lounge, the heating hardly worked. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room overlooking the racecourse. I enjoyed 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Express Chester and would most certainly go back again. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, very friendlly staff and all round an ideal spot for visiting Chester.Breakfasts were good although I would have liked some bacon instead of sausage but there was plenty of other choices. October 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>