Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 339 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly rated wonderful stay We had a lovely stay here. The room was clean and very comfortable with a really nice ensuite with excellent shower. We overlooked the racecourse so it was quiet. All the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and had a relaxed atmosphere. It is only a five to ten minute walk to the centre of Chester depending on pace and we liked the fact that we could park at the hotel. There is also free wifi in your room as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We would have no hesitation about staying there again and in fact plan to do so in a month or so. If you want a nice relaxing comfortable informal and friendly place to stay with a competative price, then this is the one for you. We will now make this our destination hotel everytime we visit chester. October 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were very nice, rooms were looking tired and housekeeping was poor The staff and atmosphere was great, however, housekeeping let them down and the room décor is looking a little tired. My specific concern was the dust on the fan in my room and at the breakfast room looking out of the window there was 2 large spider webs which looked like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks. October 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location Our room was next to a very busy road. Even with the window closed the noise from the traffic still kept us awake. We also had an inter-connecting door between our room and the room next door which meant the room was very noisy. We heard every word of their conversations. The location of the hotel was fantastic and I would definitely stay here again but would ask for the racecourse side next time as im sure this is quieter. October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location We stayed for one night and found the hotel fairly decent.The staff were friendly and the location is great for Chester center.We were on the first floor above the bar which i wasn't to happy about but we heard nothing from the bar and hardly anything from the road.The rooms and were a bit worn but clean and the bathroom was ok breakfast was decent.I would definitely stay again. October 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great communal space - beds need replacing Great staff - great downstairs areas and great location . Bedrooms in need of a refresh and the beds need replacing - ir was like sleeping in a camp bed and the sheets were ripped. Perfect for the racecourse - fab service at the white horse pub on site - October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short Stay Great stop off location, good service, clean hotel. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exceeded expectations All the staff from car park attendant to manager provided an excellent, friendly service at a first class hotel in an excellent location, thoroughly recommend it. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service Fabulous location for seeing Chester without having to move your car out of the car park. For a budget hotel the value for money is very good. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by close to town centre, comfortable and good value This hotel is close to town centre, just outside city walls. Secure, free parking on site. Rooms are comfortable with good facilities including hair dryer and kettle. There is also free tea and coffee in the bar area - self service with lovely mugs of coffee all day. The beds were comfortable, we had a first floor room with a view of the race course ( you just have to look past the storage yard outside the window!). We had our windows open at night and it was very quiet and peaceful. On and off early morning there was a distant sound of a generator in the storage yard, but this would not have been heard if the windows were closed. They supply a fan to keep room cool. This hotel is so convenient for the town centre and is such great value with everything that is included, we would definitely stay here again. September 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy road Stayed a few times. Road is pretty busy at night and a bit noisy. This time my room had no climate control but couldn't sleep with window open because of the road noise. Strongly recommend room on racecourse side of hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great location to walk to shops. Great car parking. September 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, payment issues let it down... The hotel couldn't be more conveniently located for walking into Chester and visiting all the local sites. The big plus was the free parking and inclusive breakfast, which was of a good standard and with a choice of various different sausages, cereals and pastries, would probably cater for most people. The room wasn't as big as in other hotels of a similar type, and it was very hot even with the fan. We tried to open the window to let a bit of "fresh" air in, but there was a generator (or something similar) outside the window, which meant that combined with the noise from the railway line behind the hotel, it wasn't feasible to keep the window open all of the time. We bought reduced price fast track tickets to Chester Zoo from reception (£16.50 per adult rather than £20-£22 on the Zoo website, so quite a good saving). Generally everything else was OK and the only issue came when we checked out. We paid our bill on leaving, but having then checked our bank account we discovered that it appeared 2 payments had been taken. When we returned to the hotel to query this, the receptionist rather ubruptly informed us that as had signed up to be "members", that the "pre-authorisation" payment had been taken the night before our stay, to avoid having to provide a card at check in. This would be refunded within 3-4 days (!!!), but as far as we were concerned we had basically paid twice! The receptionist said she would cancel the payment there and then and made a call, but 2 days later the money had still not been returned to our account. It may say that this will happen in the small print on the website, but it is not obvious that this is the case, and is not explained at check in (surely they should be clear and transparent to their guests?). My advice, double check what you're being charged for, as you don't usually budget on having to pay for something twice (no matter how quickly the refund)! Unfortunately this has left rather a bitter taste about staying with Holiday in Express, so it is unlikely we'll stay with this chain again. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn chester (amazing) Great hotel from arrival to departure, staff on reception were very helpful and friendly and our room was spotless clean and very comfy, it was like home from home. Never stayed in a holiday inn b4 but will definitely use again. Thanks September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a good reliable hotel I have stayed at this hotel several times and I have found it most convenient for my work and for my wife to explore Chester. It really has almost everything I need. Just one small point - there was no air conditioning in the room which was not a great concern since it was not that hot during my stay. September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay after a day at the races I have stayed here previously. Great location for the racecourse and for getting around the city. Greeted at the door on arrival, staff were all very helpful and pleasant. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We stayed her mainly due to the fact that it was at the racecourse which we were visiting. The ease for parking and being able to go straight to our rooms ( even though we were early) was great as we could settle in straight away. Again at the end of the night out in Chester it was ideal to head back and have a drink at the bar. September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good but noisy Mostly good but room was above front entrance where smokers gather and kept us awake and woke us up in early hours. Also a delivery arrived early on Saturday and woke us up. Would be nice to have a bath and not just a shower. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great experience Great location and extremely convenient for visiting the city and car parking. The biggest drawback was the size of our room. The family room was tiny. When the sofa bed was extended there was no room for our suitcases or to move around. We ended up sending our teenager to stay with a relative who thankfully lived nearby. The bathroom was well designed for a small space but let down by broken floor tile and the black mildew on the shower fittings and wall tiles. It was a very hot week and the room was cooled by a thoughtfully provided fan, but this was quite noisy. The corridors were boiling hot. Perhaps the staff were suffering from the heat too because they seemed to be rather wan and lacking in enthusiasm. Sadly I have to rate this as our worst Holiday Inn stay. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by holiday would recommend hotel. easy access to Chester and free parking August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 good budget hotel excellent position friendly staff good complimentary breakfast functional rooms overall nice hotel good value for money August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by soumynnona We booked this hotel for a family Wedding Reception we had a really good weekend Hotel staff very friendly and helpful beds comfy would definitely stay here again. Although other reviews stated breakfast was basic it was actually very good and not waiting around staff were constantly filling up bread juice pastries etc. Well Done August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice cheap hotel in chester Nice hotel and very close to city center. Room very warm but a fan was provided. Will stay again all going well in april August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chester Visit Had a really enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn Chester Racecourse. The check in staff could not have been more helpful (Emma) and were way ahead of the normal assistance you receive in a hotel. The rooms were really good value for money and a great location for Chester/ Aquarium and Zoo. A hotel we would definitely stay in again. August 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay Hotel only for a short stay Easy to find (ish) and walking distance to Chester Wall. Try and park close to hotel entrance. Staff were pleasant on arrival and checking out. Room - hmm. Very clean and thought the en-suite one of the best I have used as even though compact, found everything to hand and very bright. Even the quirky idea of the bathroom door then acting as the toilet door, worked well. What let the room down was the cramped space and poor beds. We booked for 2 adults and 1 child. The hotel had shoe horned what I imagine was some kind of futon next to the double bed, which meant you could not sit at the table and you had to stand on a mattress to close the curtains. We dare not open a window as we were on the busy road side. The beds were terrible. The main double was very bouncy, almost like a waterbed as it swayed that much when you moved. The second bed was rock solid and it had 2 distinct creases in it which lead me to believe it was a futon. Only go to the bar for a nightcap. There are plenty of restaurants out there including the The White Horse. The hotel advertise 3 in close proximity, however this one is right in the middle of Chester Racecourse and we received a 10% off voucher from Reception and additionally received a complimentary golf buggy ride from the hotel to the restaurant where food and service come well recommended. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by business Pleasant location, reception and breakfast area have been renewed. Handed for the town only a short walk for a drink or food. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Perfect location for Racecourse and short walk to town center. Room a little bit warm as no air con, but the supplied room fan helped. Bed and room condition was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style, and very good quality. Only issue is the WiFi packed up mid evening, and being on a business trip, was one of the reasons I chose this hotel, still not working by checkout on the next morning. This did not spoil the overall quality of the stay. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience Staff particularly were superb, very attentive and so pleased all the ones we came into contact with were British . It was very refreshing. The hotel is central and it was lovely waking up each morning and looking out over the racecourse. A memorable stay and will return, loved Chester. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid a Race Weekend I picked the hotel for the brand - I had no idea there was race in Chester this weekend... I wasn't recognized as a Platinum member when I arrived, actually I was basically just checked in and nothing was ready for me. This is something I notice as a person that spend 185-200 nights in a hotel a year. Then the internet was down Thursday afternoon and most of the evening. The counter staff -same two the checked me in- acted as if I was unique in my problem. Normally this wouldn't be a issue for me, but being a traveler to a city that I had never been I was hostage to WiFi. So I made another request to the staff, I went for dinner and a walk and returned to the same issue. But this time the Staff -a new staff member who was very helpful my whole stay- called in a service man, who made certain the WiFi was working that evening. My room was stuffy and damp, and on the noisy street side, so opening the window for sleep was impossible. I used the $5 fan that was on the desk, and it blocked out much of the street level noise, but the hall noise - another issue all together... Breakfast choices were amazing - as well as the helpful morning staff. Friday evening my WiFi went down again - but I just ignored it, took a sleep aid and the hall noise faded away... Saturday you are required to be out of the room by 10am due to the race - NO IDEA WHAT THAT HAS TO DO W/ MY STAY! The young lady behind the counter called me a taxi to get to the train station - and I checked out for my return to the States... Overall - it is a nice property, and the location is great to see the city and walk the wall. But the lack of AC and the street level noise #including the bar) was not what I expected from the IHG brand. I would use the location again, just not the street side of the building, and not on the far end of the hall away from the WiFi router. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location and service Everything we wanted for our family and at a good price. Great breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Reasonable price in good location Booked hotel for location and free parking. Reasonable price with breakfast included. Five minutes easy walk in Chester town centre. Had downstairs room at back so no road noise. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good for the price, self service with choice of fruit salad, cereal, yogurt, toast,pastries, egg, sausage and beans. Free wi if if you take my own laptop/ tablet. Only negative comments was check out time on Saturday as it was a race day was 10am. As hotel was booked to attend wedding we wanted a leisurely morning and to ensure alcohol was out of our system. If we were informed at the time of booking online that check out was early due to race day, we would not have booked. I asked to check out at 11 and was told we could but then received notice saying check out was 10. I also heard cleaners knocking people up at 9.30 who hadn't checked out saying check out was 10 and they would come back in 20 mins. Appreciate race days are busy but should ensure guests are notified as earlier check out on race days. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Perfect We found the room to be spotlessly clean , comfortable & decor was in good condition., 3 nights there & slept like a baby or a log depending on your local sayings. The hotel location is very close to the town centre , so not too far to walk back after an evening meal & a few beers in town (approx 4-5 minutes). Breakfast was actually ok , I say this because I have read reviews that say it is awful. The breakfasts are maybe limited & consist of cereals , danish, pastries , toast or from the hot buffet there are sausages, scrambled eggs, beans & well that's it , oh & the usual Yogurt, hot drinks ,fruit juices & for us the selection was fine. Timing for breakfast is the only thing to be careful of as we arrived it was at times "BUSY" , now even this is ok, but due to some guests not knowing how to be patient & shall I say lacking in manners it did become rather frustrating one morning. The staff , well all I can say there was nothing to complain about, they all seemed to give 110% if that's possible. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had stayed a 4 Star Hotel at Manchester the night before we arrived at the Holiday Inn. All I can say is the Holiday Inn staff have the same commitment as the 4 star Hotel staff, so thank you all at the Holiday Inn you are actually all 5 star people in my book. We will be back. Regards to all Ken August 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>