Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 320 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by soumynnona We booked this hotel for a family Wedding Reception we had a really good weekend Hotel staff very friendly and helpful beds comfy would definitely stay here again. Although other reviews stated breakfast was basic it was actually very good and not waiting around staff were constantly filling up bread juice pastries etc. Well Done August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice cheap hotel in chester Nice hotel and very close to city center. Room very warm but a fan was provided. Will stay again all going well in april August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chester Visit Had a really enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn Chester Racecourse. The check in staff could not have been more helpful (Emma) and were way ahead of the normal assistance you receive in a hotel. The rooms were really good value for money and a great location for Chester/ Aquarium and Zoo. A hotel we would definitely stay in again. August 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay Hotel only for a short stay Easy to find (ish) and walking distance to Chester Wall. Try and park close to hotel entrance. Staff were pleasant on arrival and checking out. Room - hmm. Very clean and thought the en-suite one of the best I have used as even though compact, found everything to hand and very bright. Even the quirky idea of the bathroom door then acting as the toilet door, worked well. What let the room down was the cramped space and poor beds. We booked for 2 adults and 1 child. The hotel had shoe horned what I imagine was some kind of futon next to the double bed, which meant you could not sit at the table and you had to stand on a mattress to close the curtains. We dare not open a window as we were on the busy road side. The beds were terrible. The main double was very bouncy, almost like a waterbed as it swayed that much when you moved. The second bed was rock solid and it had 2 distinct creases in it which lead me to believe it was a futon. Only go to the bar for a nightcap. There are plenty of restaurants out there including the The White Horse. The hotel advertise 3 in close proximity, however this one is right in the middle of Chester Racecourse and we received a 10% off voucher from Reception and additionally received a complimentary golf buggy ride from the hotel to the restaurant where food and service come well recommended. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by business Pleasant location, reception and breakfast area have been renewed. Handed for the town only a short walk for a drink or food. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Perfect location for Racecourse and short walk to town center. Room a little bit warm as no air con, but the supplied room fan helped. Bed and room condition was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style, and very good quality. Only issue is the WiFi packed up mid evening, and being on a business trip, was one of the reasons I chose this hotel, still not working by checkout on the next morning. This did not spoil the overall quality of the stay. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience Staff particularly were superb, very attentive and so pleased all the ones we came into contact with were British . It was very refreshing. The hotel is central and it was lovely waking up each morning and looking out over the racecourse. A memorable stay and will return, loved Chester. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid a Race Weekend I picked the hotel for the brand - I had no idea there was race in Chester this weekend... I wasn't recognized as a Platinum member when I arrived, actually I was basically just checked in and nothing was ready for me. This is something I notice as a person that spend 185-200 nights in a hotel a year. Then the internet was down Thursday afternoon and most of the evening. The counter staff -same two the checked me in- acted as if I was unique in my problem. Normally this wouldn't be a issue for me, but being a traveler to a city that I had never been I was hostage to WiFi. So I made another request to the staff, I went for dinner and a walk and returned to the same issue. But this time the Staff -a new staff member who was very helpful my whole stay- called in a service man, who made certain the WiFi was working that evening. My room was stuffy and damp, and on the noisy street side, so opening the window for sleep was impossible. I used the $5 fan that was on the desk, and it blocked out much of the street level noise, but the hall noise - another issue all together... Breakfast choices were amazing - as well as the helpful morning staff. Friday evening my WiFi went down again - but I just ignored it, took a sleep aid and the hall noise faded away... Saturday you are required to be out of the room by 10am due to the race - NO IDEA WHAT THAT HAS TO DO W/ MY STAY! The young lady behind the counter called me a taxi to get to the train station - and I checked out for my return to the States... Overall - it is a nice property, and the location is great to see the city and walk the wall. But the lack of AC and the street level noise #including the bar) was not what I expected from the IHG brand. I would use the location again, just not the street side of the building, and not on the far end of the hall away from the WiFi router. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location and service Everything we wanted for our family and at a good price. Great breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Reasonable price in good location Booked hotel for location and free parking. Reasonable price with breakfast included. Five minutes easy walk in Chester town centre. Had downstairs room at back so no road noise. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good for the price, self service with choice of fruit salad, cereal, yogurt, toast,pastries, egg, sausage and beans. Free wi if if you take my own laptop/ tablet. Only negative comments was check out time on Saturday as it was a race day was 10am. As hotel was booked to attend wedding we wanted a leisurely morning and to ensure alcohol was out of our system. If we were informed at the time of booking online that check out was early due to race day, we would not have booked. I asked to check out at 11 and was told we could but then received notice saying check out was 10. I also heard cleaners knocking people up at 9.30 who hadn't checked out saying check out was 10 and they would come back in 20 mins. Appreciate race days are busy but should ensure guests are notified as earlier check out on race days. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Perfect We found the room to be spotlessly clean , comfortable & decor was in good condition., 3 nights there & slept like a baby or a log depending on your local sayings. The hotel location is very close to the town centre , so not too far to walk back after an evening meal & a few beers in town (approx 4-5 minutes). Breakfast was actually ok , I say this because I have read reviews that say it is awful. The breakfasts are maybe limited & consist of cereals , danish, pastries , toast or from the hot buffet there are sausages, scrambled eggs, beans & well that's it , oh & the usual Yogurt, hot drinks ,fruit juices & for us the selection was fine. Timing for breakfast is the only thing to be careful of as we arrived it was at times "BUSY" , now even this is ok, but due to some guests not knowing how to be patient & shall I say lacking in manners it did become rather frustrating one morning. The staff , well all I can say there was nothing to complain about, they all seemed to give 110% if that's possible. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had stayed a 4 Star Hotel at Manchester the night before we arrived at the Holiday Inn. All I can say is the Holiday Inn staff have the same commitment as the 4 star Hotel staff, so thank you all at the Holiday Inn you are actually all 5 star people in my book. We will be back. Regards to all Ken August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good position and convenient Generally a good place to stay; very central and easy to park (although suspect as it is next to racecourse, race days are probably problematic!) Only real dissatisfaction was having a room overlooking a noisy generator which marred an otherwise good stay. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel close to city centre Usual good quality Holiday Inn Express hotel close to Chester City Centre with the added advantage of free car parking. Easy walk into city centre and sights of Chester. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for visiting Chester 5 minute walk into Chester. Good choice on buffet breakfast. Good size room with a sofa. Liked having a walk in shower rather than a bath. Shower was very powerful as well which is good. Some road noise but didn't bother us. There is a railway next to hotel but we never heard any trains during the night. Did find the bed a little firm for us, but we are used to sleeping on memory foam rather than a sprung mattress. Free parking is really good, especially as hotel is so close to Chester. Was a good base for visiting Chester & the surrounding area. Reallt good value for money as we got a 4 nights for 3 deal August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable bed nice hotel very close to town centre and very clean. But bed was very uncomfortable and lumpy, room was hot with a noisey fan and when window was opened there was traffic noise. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by noisy neighbours Negatives The people in the room next door were shouting from 5 a.m. till they went for breakfast, t.v. blaring till very late, walls must be very thin. Doors slamming! Road noise bed had to keep window shut despite hot room.. Our room was not cleaned when we arrived back one day although it was dealt with nobody thought to tell us when it had been completed. No apology. Beds and sofa were like sitting and sleeping on a board. Although breakfast was cooked and was fine the choice was very limited. Location was fine. Unlimited tea and coffee. August 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. Room?? The room we had was VERY small, and having just come from another Holiday Inn in comparison was not quite what l expected. There was no air conditioning, a small fan was place in the room which only circulated more warm air. The heat was so uncomfortable, and we didnt sleep well and we couldnt stay for a second night which we had already booked. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Excellent location and a delicious freshly cooked breakfast every morning.Staff very friendly and efficient. Would stay here again and will recommend to friends. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top of the Class in Chester Perfect location for the tourist. No need to use your car to access superb historic sites, walk the Walls, shop in The Rows, visit quaint local pubs, bars and restaurants. This is a little-known gem of a location. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel, ideal for races Really nice hotel Staff really pleasant and helpful Excellent stay Will definitely stay again and recommend August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service From booking by phone to paying on departure the staff were really friendly and efficient..top marks Read reviews prior to booking the main gripe seemed to be the quality of the breakfast our party found it to be perfectly adequate with enough choice..no problem Location and free parking excellent Accommodation of a very good quality...we will use this hotel again August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely staff Reception staff were very helpful, smiley,Happy people! They sorted out a room away from road noise and moved our belongings into it. Thank you. We will come again when in Chester. P.S the breakfast fruit salad is scrummy!! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by gorgeous location Lovely, clean hotel where the staff were very helpful. Hot and cold drinks are available all day which I thought was a excellent touch. The location is beautiful and the restaurant on the race course is lovely. It has a park too. Very child friendly. I will definitely be back August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to the city Good location for a Holiday Inn Express with close by restaurant facilities in a picturesque location within the racecourse grounds! July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great day at Chester hotel is perfectly situated , close enough for the nightlife, but not too noisey. being so close gives you chance to change or freshen up after the races July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast lets down an otherwise very good visit We visited for the races so were expecting it to be a bit manic - and it was! But the staff on reception, bar, and entrance were all very helpful and friendly, as were the cleaners. Unfortunately there was nothing anyone could do about the noise levels overnight as various very drunk racegoers returned to their (or other peoples!) rooms. We were right by the corridor entrance so had everybody clattering past our room all night. Also the room was unbearably hot (they did supply a fan but it didn't help much and obviously added to the noise levels), even with the window left open all night. Air con would have been nice! None of this mattered over much, but the real disappointment was the truly awful breakfast. Buffets don't have to be this bad. Choice of items for cooked breakfast was sausage, beans, scrambled egg. Nothing else. No bacon, no mushrooms, no hash browns, no black pudding, no tomato. Dry, congealed, and unappetising. Two rotary toasters that both had two settings: hardly working at all, or burn bread so quickyl that staff come running over to switch it off so the alarms don't go off. Terrible, and a real negative point to an otherwise lovely stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Stayed in June on Business. Excellent location next to the race course and just a short walk to the centre of Chester, Would definitely recommend and the car parking next to the hotel was very convenient. Staff were excellent July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a real gem of a hotel It is always a delight to stay at this hotel is situated on and sharing facilities with the Chester racecourse. The staff, from the general manager downwards, are all exceptionally friendly and helpful.It has a lot of features which one would only expect in a higher rated facility. Thoroughly recommended. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs p smith We had a very good night at hotel good place in Chester would stop their again June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by can get better for similar price there are better hotels for a similar price. we had a small room not at all like the pictures on the web site. breakfast not the best. Ideal location for race course and centre but that's the best I can say about this over priced hotel June 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>