Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 341 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Reasonable price in good location Booked hotel for location and free parking. Reasonable price with breakfast included. Five minutes easy walk in Chester town centre. Had downstairs room at back so no road noise. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good for the price, self service with choice of fruit salad, cereal, yogurt, toast,pastries, egg, sausage and beans. Free wi if if you take my own laptop/ tablet. Only negative comments was check out time on Saturday as it was a race day was 10am. As hotel was booked to attend wedding we wanted a leisurely morning and to ensure alcohol was out of our system. If we were informed at the time of booking online that check out was early due to race day, we would not have booked. I asked to check out at 11 and was told we could but then received notice saying check out was 10. I also heard cleaners knocking people up at 9.30 who hadn't checked out saying check out was 10 and they would come back in 20 mins. Appreciate race days are busy but should ensure guests are notified as earlier check out on race days. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Perfect We found the room to be spotlessly clean , comfortable & decor was in good condition., 3 nights there & slept like a baby or a log depending on your local sayings. The hotel location is very close to the town centre , so not too far to walk back after an evening meal & a few beers in town (approx 4-5 minutes). Breakfast was actually ok , I say this because I have read reviews that say it is awful. The breakfasts are maybe limited & consist of cereals , danish, pastries , toast or from the hot buffet there are sausages, scrambled eggs, beans & well that's it , oh & the usual Yogurt, hot drinks ,fruit juices & for us the selection was fine. Timing for breakfast is the only thing to be careful of as we arrived it was at times "BUSY" , now even this is ok, but due to some guests not knowing how to be patient & shall I say lacking in manners it did become rather frustrating one morning. The staff , well all I can say there was nothing to complain about, they all seemed to give 110% if that's possible. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had stayed a 4 Star Hotel at Manchester the night before we arrived at the Holiday Inn. All I can say is the Holiday Inn staff have the same commitment as the 4 star Hotel staff, so thank you all at the Holiday Inn you are actually all 5 star people in my book. We will be back. Regards to all Ken August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good position and convenient Generally a good place to stay; very central and easy to park (although suspect as it is next to racecourse, race days are probably problematic!) Only real dissatisfaction was having a room overlooking a noisy generator which marred an otherwise good stay. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel close to city centre Usual good quality Holiday Inn Express hotel close to Chester City Centre with the added advantage of free car parking. Easy walk into city centre and sights of Chester. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for visiting Chester 5 minute walk into Chester. Good choice on buffet breakfast. Good size room with a sofa. Liked having a walk in shower rather than a bath. Shower was very powerful as well which is good. Some road noise but didn't bother us. There is a railway next to hotel but we never heard any trains during the night. Did find the bed a little firm for us, but we are used to sleeping on memory foam rather than a sprung mattress. Free parking is really good, especially as hotel is so close to Chester. Was a good base for visiting Chester & the surrounding area. Reallt good value for money as we got a 4 nights for 3 deal August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable bed nice hotel very close to town centre and very clean. But bed was very uncomfortable and lumpy, room was hot with a noisey fan and when window was opened there was traffic noise. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by noisy neighbours Negatives The people in the room next door were shouting from 5 a.m. till they went for breakfast, t.v. blaring till very late, walls must be very thin. Doors slamming! Road noise bed had to keep window shut despite hot room.. Our room was not cleaned when we arrived back one day although it was dealt with nobody thought to tell us when it had been completed. No apology. Beds and sofa were like sitting and sleeping on a board. Although breakfast was cooked and was fine the choice was very limited. Location was fine. Unlimited tea and coffee. August 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. Room?? The room we had was VERY small, and having just come from another Holiday Inn in comparison was not quite what l expected. There was no air conditioning, a small fan was place in the room which only circulated more warm air. The heat was so uncomfortable, and we didnt sleep well and we couldnt stay for a second night which we had already booked. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Excellent location and a delicious freshly cooked breakfast every morning.Staff very friendly and efficient. Would stay here again and will recommend to friends. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top of the Class in Chester Perfect location for the tourist. No need to use your car to access superb historic sites, walk the Walls, shop in The Rows, visit quaint local pubs, bars and restaurants. This is a little-known gem of a location. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel, ideal for races Really nice hotel Staff really pleasant and helpful Excellent stay Will definitely stay again and recommend August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service From booking by phone to paying on departure the staff were really friendly and efficient..top marks Read reviews prior to booking the main gripe seemed to be the quality of the breakfast our party found it to be perfectly adequate with enough choice..no problem Location and free parking excellent Accommodation of a very good quality...we will use this hotel again August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely staff Reception staff were very helpful, smiley,Happy people! They sorted out a room away from road noise and moved our belongings into it. Thank you. We will come again when in Chester. P.S the breakfast fruit salad is scrummy!! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by gorgeous location Lovely, clean hotel where the staff were very helpful. Hot and cold drinks are available all day which I thought was a excellent touch. The location is beautiful and the restaurant on the race course is lovely. It has a park too. Very child friendly. I will definitely be back August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to the city Good location for a Holiday Inn Express with close by restaurant facilities in a picturesque location within the racecourse grounds! July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great day at Chester hotel is perfectly situated , close enough for the nightlife, but not too noisey. being so close gives you chance to change or freshen up after the races July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast lets down an otherwise very good visit We visited for the races so were expecting it to be a bit manic - and it was! But the staff on reception, bar, and entrance were all very helpful and friendly, as were the cleaners. Unfortunately there was nothing anyone could do about the noise levels overnight as various very drunk racegoers returned to their (or other peoples!) rooms. We were right by the corridor entrance so had everybody clattering past our room all night. Also the room was unbearably hot (they did supply a fan but it didn't help much and obviously added to the noise levels), even with the window left open all night. Air con would have been nice! None of this mattered over much, but the real disappointment was the truly awful breakfast. Buffets don't have to be this bad. Choice of items for cooked breakfast was sausage, beans, scrambled egg. Nothing else. No bacon, no mushrooms, no hash browns, no black pudding, no tomato. Dry, congealed, and unappetising. Two rotary toasters that both had two settings: hardly working at all, or burn bread so quickyl that staff come running over to switch it off so the alarms don't go off. Terrible, and a real negative point to an otherwise lovely stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Stayed in June on Business. Excellent location next to the race course and just a short walk to the centre of Chester, Would definitely recommend and the car parking next to the hotel was very convenient. Staff were excellent July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a real gem of a hotel It is always a delight to stay at this hotel is situated on and sharing facilities with the Chester racecourse. The staff, from the general manager downwards, are all exceptionally friendly and helpful.It has a lot of features which one would only expect in a higher rated facility. Thoroughly recommended. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs p smith We had a very good night at hotel good place in Chester would stop their again June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by can get better for similar price there are better hotels for a similar price. we had a small room not at all like the pictures on the web site. breakfast not the best. Ideal location for race course and centre but that's the best I can say about this over priced hotel June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top end of HI Express standard Staff friendly and attentive. Good parking. Outside impression of the somewhat dated look of the hotel is not an indication of its much better than average overall experience. Have stopped there before and will do so again. June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy,despite asking for a quiet room........ Disappointing,with hardly any sleep due to a range of outside factors. Noisy neighbours in adjacent room, outside compressor running all night, trains until early hours and then a wake up call from contractors cutting trees!! A noisy Saturday morning in warm weather, requiring the window shut, June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is right next to the racecourse and an easy walk straight into the City centre. Although there is no restaurant as such in the hotel, there is a huge range of local restaurants to suit every pocket The parking is free of charge and actually on site so very convenient. From the outside, the hotel looks very functional but lounge/lobby is comfortable with TV and bar facilities. The breakfast buffet has an adequate selection of continental style provisions but the hot options consists only of sausage, baked beans and scrambled egg. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, good value This hotel is ideally placed for sightseeing in Chester: the centre is a few minutes' walk away, but there is ample free parking. The rooms are comfortable - it's not a suite at the Ritz, but the beds are comfortable, the shower's good, Wifi works, it's all perfectly clean. Breakfast was much better than the usual budget hotel "continental" offering: sausages, scrambled egg, fresh (not tinned) fruit salad, plenty of other choices. Only criticism was that the room was too hot, but I have hardly ever been in a hotel room that wasn't, for me! Well worth a visit. June 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Large bedroom, ridiculously small bathroom and small double bed. Badly designed room. With all the space of the large room a king size bed could have been installed. My partner is 6'4" and very well built. I was unable to sleep in the bed with him and had to try and get some sleep on an unmade settee/pull out bed, covered by an impressively large bath towel. The bathroom was so small it was necessary to dry off in the bedroom, quite impossible in the bathroom space. A very disappointing overnight stay. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressed Spent 2 days at this hotel and was really impressed. The location is great just a short walk into the Centre. The location of the hotel was great made it so different to any hotels in the city. The outside seating area was very welcome for a wee seat in the sun after breakfast and having a coffee after we returned from the town. The tea and coffee is free for guests all day. Very clean modern hotel everything was immaculate and the towels and bed were of 5 star quality. The breakfast was very good and the area was kept clean and tidy at all times by the staff. I have been at buffet breakfast dining rooms that have left a lot to be desired by the time some of the guests have helped themselves. The bar area was sociable for evening drinks and it was very busy but all very agreeable. The staff both in the hotel and on the Racecourse were all so friendly. In fact one of the guys showed us around the Restaurants on a golf buggy, just added to the holiday. It was noticeable in the hotel that all the staff we saw were working as a team, they just done what ever was needing done whether that was their main position or not and it worked like Clockwork. This hotel Manager should be very proud of all his staff. Both Restaurants we used 1539 and The White Horse were excellent and so good to have them on your doorstep. There is a 10% discount on the total bill for hotel guests. We had booked our break without realising it was Chester Rocks weekend and thought about cancelling as we are in our 60's. However all the activity just added to our experience. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great position Good value for money hotel. Have used it before, Great location with good parking. Friendly staff. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good location Nice budget hotel don't ask for room 123 this is noisy first thing in morning.Breakfast could be better with some more choice i.e. Bacon Grilled Toms June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by For the price, excellent We stayed in a family room and therefore there were effectively two double beds which makes the room rather small. Otherwise the hotel, staff and facilities are excellent. The breakfast is basic but adequate. For the price a very good experience and the free parking a bonus is Chester. June 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>