Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 218 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The location was fantastic, over looked the Racecourse and a 5 minute walk up into the town. Plenty to eat at Breakfast, but lacking Bacon! Rooms are very nice and spacious, but the bed was a little soft, but pillows brilliant. Great value for money and the location. Fantastic restaurant on the Race Course called 1539, and well worth the money. Only downside was the rooms say for bookings for the above restaurant please see reception, on speaking to them she did not seem to care or know, not sure which. January 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Great for a cold shower We stayed in the HIX as we were attending a wedding. We had a room with no hot water in the shower ,or any shower gel, a loo roll holder which kept falling off the wall, a duvet which was very thin, and a door which was hanging off it's hinges and had to force closed. The staff were good and the breakfast not bad but wouldn't recommend January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK FOR THE PRICE We stayed 1 night 27th December..The stay was ok but when we checked into the room it had a smell of stale smoke so I informed a member of staff and asked if we could have some air freshener...she wrote our room number on her hand but never came to the room....Also the room was quite cold and the heater wasn't very good.... On the plus side the hotel is well placed, only a 2 minute walk into the heart of Chester...Large car park (Free Parking) Breakfast was fine with plenty to choose from... January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent deal Nice breakfast with sufficient choices. Clean and reasonably furnished room. No negatives, excellent value for money. Convenient for the shops in Chester. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ticks all the boxes Great location being within the Chester Racecourse grounds – very large car park and good to see ‘free’ parking. Five mins walk to main shopping area in the town. The Hotel is an impressive modern building. Nice touch with photos of race horses on the walls of reception. Staff were very friendly. Room was fine with view over the racecourse, great location if races are on but suspect room price does increase somewhat !! The room itself was clean and fit for purpose. Comfy bed and pillows. The only possible complaint would be to be allocated a room at the far end of the hotel as this backs onto a busy railway line. The track is on bridge arches so rooms on the second floor are at train height. Also there is a busy road on one side. Ask for a room overlooking the race course as these will be quieter. Breakfast was fine in the large reception / bar area. Hotel has nice open areas with lots of natural light, which creates a very relaxed atmosphere. I would stay here again. December 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK for one night We were just staying for one night and got the room at a reduced rate. It was ok for the price we paid but would have been disappointed if we'd paid full price. The room was small, but ok for 1 night. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast wasn't great, poor selection of hot food - only sausage, beans and scrambled eggs. Free parking was a bonus in Chester. December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room Lovely clean hotel, we stayed with our 7 yr old daughter for the Chester Winter wonderland, got a really good deal. Ideal location, good parking, lovely breakfast. Cannot fault. 10/10 December 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and room for good price. The room was clean and had everything we required for a night away. The only fault we could find with the room was the radiator didn't seem to be efficient - we were quite cold in the room with the windows shut and the radiator set to its highest temperature - it was only a mild winters day. The bar is lovely and the staff friendly, although some of the prices for wine was quite steep, especially as there was only a limited selection of house wines. The lack of bacon as an option at breakfast was slightly disappointing. As a Gluten Free customer, I was limited to a pot of Natural Yoghurt (which isn't to everyone's taste - mine included), a small selection of fruit and the scramble egg. I had to check with the chef if the scrambled eggs were Gluten Free as the breakfast assistant didn't have a clue. Sadly, in my small portion of scrambled eggs, I must have got the whole egg shell. For the price we paid, especially during the Christmas period, we got exactly what we paid for, cheap and cheerful. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, modern and great value This hotel was perfect for our needs. A comfortable room, excellent bathroom and very helpful staff and a good breakfast to start the new day. Even the coffee was good! December 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location. Good location for city center reasonable price. Adequate room friendly staff. Buffet breakfast no other meals available. December 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Best Stayed at the hotel on the 06th December 2013 I think the room was 325 but it may have been 327 I wasn’t going to complain as it’s not normally my style but been as you have asked me to review the hotel I thought it would be rude not to….. We booked 10 rooms altogether but on two separate booking reference numbers. I was the main booking name along with 9 other guests. The week before we arrived my booking was confirmed by a lady called Lisa which she advised that the names of our guests had been allocated to a room each and my room was left in my name. Before we arrived on the day I did have to cancel one room as a guest was unable to attend leaving 9 rooms on the booking. Upon on arrival I was told by a rather embarrassed lady behind reception that my name had not been allocated to a room and you were fully booked. After a wait in reception you managed to find me a room which I have commented on below I will start with the bathroom; there was hair within the shower cubicle, on the bathroom floor and around the toilet and no they were not mine, there was a funny smell coming from the sink and the toilet holder was broke. The room in its self was ok bar dirty skirting boards but and this is the best one……I did the bed test. I pulled the covers back and there were black hairs in there too so obviously I had to sleep on top of the covers that night. On a plus note I would like to say that all the other guests did not have a complaint and maybe it was just a case of my bad luck on the night starting with my name not been allocated to a room. The staff were very polite although I would say that whilst waiting in reception when you were trying to rectify the room allocation issue it would have been nice to be offered a drink. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room in perfect location! All spot on. All I wanted was a nice clean warm room to crash out after our Xmas do! Room great size, all spotless, tea & coffee in room. Friendly staff & 1 minute from the racecourse. Perfect would stay again! December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, nice room but shame about the Breskfast experience Nice friendly staff throughout. Rooms are a bit small but are clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything you need for a city stay. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast experience. We got to the dining room at 8.55 am, waited in a queue for 35mins for hot food only to get a couple of sausages to go with our beans and scrammbled egg. Along with approx 25 other very dissapointed people. Shame really, but would recommend to friends & use again . December 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed but nice staff Very uncomfortable nights sleep because the bed was awful, which was made worse by drunk girls slamming doors from 1 till 5 am. Also even though booked months in advance and was at check in early they gave us twin beds but did not tell us this at reception so when eventually went to the room hours later we're told it was too late up change. This was for a birthday weekend away got myself and my husband. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by does the job, bed and breakfast great hotel , stayed for one night ,room small but everything you need , nice and clean, breakfast was lovely, would defo stay again, fantastic location and free parking was an added bonus November 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and friendly staff We stayed for the one night just as a bit of a get away for us and our 5yr old daughter. We came by train and although the hotel is the other side of chester we had no problem jumping on a bus to the city centre from where it is just a 5 min walk. The reception staff organised a taxi for us to get back to the station. The room was comfortable but basic as you would expect for the price. However a couple of little niggles were that it was a bit chilly in the room even with the heater on full and also the wifi was painfully slow and we couldn't get it at all in the room as advertised. As far as budget hotels go we all had an enjoyable stay with a good FREE breakfast the following morning. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay but no restaurant We really thought the hotel was great, clean and well presented and it was most probably my fault for not reading the description of the hotel but I was so surprised when asking to book a table for dinner to be told there was no restaurant . The staff were really helpful and recommended a very pleasant restaurant So all was well in the end, but I was a little disappointed . November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2 night trip to Chester.. "Stayed here for a 2 night visit to Chester.. Hotel was easy to find & locate free car parking next to Chester Race-course,Check-in was excellent & we were given the room type & location I requested when booking our 2 rooms. Rooms were good & clean & everything you would want from an Express Hotel... Free breakfast was included & everything was provided as described on Holiday Inn website & we all enjoyed it in a relaxed & friendly atmosphere.. Check out was spot on.. Their were 4 in our group & we were all pleased with the hotel location to town center (5 minute walk) all the staff were friendly & helpful,also the drivers of the golf buggies that provided free evening transport to the "White Horse" restaurant situated on the Race-course & a 2 minute ride away..& well worth a visit as we went both evenings..We cannot fault this hotel & will return again,well done to all staff ..!! :-)" read less November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very kind staff and great service made the place feel like home. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel This is the second time I have stayed at the Holiday Inn at Chester and once again everything about our recent stay was brilliant. It is located so conveniently so as to be able to easily walk into the city centre. The room was very clean and comfortable. All the staff we dealt with were very polite and helpful - we noticed that the young lady on duty during breakfast was very calm and helpful even though the dining room was very busy. We had a super weekend and will confidently recommend the hotel to friends. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Had not stayed in a holiday inn express before so we were unsure what to expect. We had booked 3 rooms and asked for specific floor and view rooms, all of which we were allocated. Breakfasts were good, more choice than i had expected . Staff werre lovely and helpful and everywhere was clean. As appears in most of the Holiday Inn Hotels the rooms themselves and furnishings are becoming quite dated, but public areas very nice. Convenient to city centre. November 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick visit to Chester This hotel was ideal for a quick visit to Chester. We had a small issue in that we booked the room for 3 adults, when we arrived the guest bed was not made up, but the chap on reception quickly sorted it out for us. The bar was very welcoming and we enjoyed our evening. The towels are the best in any hotel I have ever been in, and I have been in a lot!! Fluffy and huge a real bonus!! Disappointed there was no bacon at breakfast, but the sausages were nice. There was quite a variety but I missed my bacon. Overall satisfied with our stay :) November 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Best Stayed 1 night. Some staff need customer service skills. Small rooms, worst bed ever slept in. Breakfast tables not cleaned. Would never go back to this place again. As the staff did not even ask on departure if I enjoyed the stay we reminded them of the issues we had. Without question we were offered a part refund but stated we wanted a full refund and without question got it. This makes me think the hotel are used to problems. November 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay 25th October Although the hotel was okay and the staff were on the whole helpful I do not accept that a room advertised with a TV should not have full TV services. I would expect to be able to watch BBC at 10.30. Although the staff did come to my room, I was asked to complain since this 'happens a lot'. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by central to everything loved the hotel, right on the racecourse, stayed midweek so not overcrowded at breakfast either, lovely breakfast to, even tho they dont do bacon! 5 minute walk to the town centre, 10 minute drive to the zoo or aquarium, which was brilliant as we took our 8 year old, 10 minutes away from the fab cheshire oaks shopping outlet and the collisseum , highly reccommended, will definatly stay there again. staff were friendly even after a 12 hour shift, and the white horse pub just 1 minute walk away on the racecourse is also a place to go. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value & Staff visit every month avoid room on gable end or road side for noise lack of air con in summer staff superb value for money room always clean October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chester day away. This hotel was chosen for its position which is ideal. Literally a two minute walk and your inside the city walls. Free parking at the hotel meant we could leave the car and enjoy a night in town without worrying about drinking and driving. The room and the hotel in general were spotlessly clean and fresh. The staff were extremely helpful on our early arrival providing coffee whilst the room was serviced. Excellent nights sleep in a quiet room overlooking the racecourse. The only problem we could see was the breakfast. There was never all the items for a cooked breakfast available at the same time and you had to clear the tables yourself like a cafe . With nobody wiping the tables down they gradually got very messy as the breakfast period went on. But it was a free breakfast after all. I would happily stay here again anytime. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, good hotel We stayed one night in the hotel on the way home to Scotland from a holiday in the Cotswold's, so we could have a look at Chester. The hotel is ideally situated for the city, very reasonably priced and the public areas are very spacious. The room was neat, tidy and catered well for our needs. The only gripe I had (all though it is the same gripe I have with many hotels) is that the room is very warm to sleep in, and the windows barely open to allow for fresh air. Signs for the car park could also be a little clearer, as it appears you are going into the racecourse, and this is a little confusing. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location very good location 2 minutes walk from crowne plaza and another 3 minutes walk you will be either in the city centre or on the chester wall October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Nice clean friendly hotel. Excellent location for Chester less than 10 minutes walk into center. Free parking so no need to park and pay in town no stress. Great views of the race course. October 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>