Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 300 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay We have stayed a few times at the Express Inn Chester and as usual we found all the Staff first class as was everything else. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than normal Holiday Inn Express Great position in Chester for town centre. Staff very helpful and accommodating, Free Broadband as well August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Everything about this hotel was good but failed reach the excellent grade due to no air conditioning found out on last day (of 4) there had been limited number of fans available August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money On arriving we were checked in promptly and courteously. Our room was clean and spacious with a great view of the race course which I had requested. We had a drink in the bar which was extra cold (A real plus for us) and the staff were very helpful and informative. We didn't eat in the hotel at night but had a drink when we got back in which was still open even though it was quite late. The beds were very comfortable and there was no noise so we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was adequate, which as it is included in the price we wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. Overall it was an excellent value for money hotel which is close to the centre with all the comforts you expect from Holiday Inn. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and fab service This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, although rooms are smaller than others I have stayed in. The staff were superb, very friendly and helpful and efficient. The breakfast was typical HI express, no frills but adequate and efficiently topped up. The hotel is very conveniently located within easy walk to the city and nice to be on the edge of the racecourse within easy access to the wall and restaurants to walk to. The rooms were boiling hot!!! This was my big complaint and everyone else's, even the staff. I would not stay in this hotel again in the Summer. We had rooms on the side of a busy main road so having the window open also made it quite noisy. The staff provided a fan although this was small and with no electrical socket near the bed it was fairly ineffective. By the last night i had the ironing board set up next to the bed with the fan on top so it wa closer to the bed. I hardly slept for 5 nights. This hotel needs to invest in air con in the bedrooms and the staircase area which is like a greenhouse as it is 3 floors of glass. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Stayed two nights 25/26 July Good location on the racecourse and easy walk into the town centre Comfortable room with tea and coffee making facilities There were some adverse comments about the breakfast on some of the web sites but there was plenty of choice on the continental Breakfast and sausage egg and beans if you wanted something hot The staff were exceptionally helpfull and polite I would definitely stay at this hotel again August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Summer Heat Wave This review is not going to be as good as the hotel was, simply due to the heat. The hotel was built with a large glass front entrance area, which must add needed warmth in winter time, but during the recent heat wave in the UK acted more like a sauna or greenhouse. None of the rooms were built with AC, and the staff doesn't have enough fans for each room. Couple of items I would have thought a hotelier would offer in light of the difficult environment would be: 1. Have someone from the staff offer to procure more fans to ensure more guests were safe. 2. Add bottles of water in rooms to make sure guests were hydrated while sleeping at night. (I know bottled water is not a standard Holiday Inn Express amenity and not saying it would be long term, however this thought would have gone a long way with guests, all of whom were complaining about the heat. 3. Put a little fresh lemonade (US type# in a pitcher at the counter for guests to partake of #stole this idea from Holiday Inn Express Swiss Cottage later in the week) and cool day. Just a little something to say "we know it is hot and we are doing all we can". I slept most nights on top of the bed and only after preparing for bed with a cold shower and cold cloth to keep near the bed. Okay, having said that, the ladies at the front desk and breakfast room were very accommodation and helpful. Each morning, knowing loads of us would come down with comments, they were smiling and projecting the hospitality that you would expect at a much finer hotel. Their recommendation of the White Horse, over at the Race Course, was a great one and we loved the restaurant. These ladies made a memorable vacation for my family. I thank them for that. Again, this visit the property isn't rated as high as I would like, but I could see the team is very capable of offering an excellent stay and I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again should I be in the area. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean, quiet and lovely staff. Myself and my husband stayed here for a night to celebrate his birthday in Chester. I managed to get it at a very reasonable price which included breakfast and (most importantly) - free parking. Perfect location for the city centre and although right on the main road was surprisingly quiet. Staff were brilliant on arrival and check out, room was lovely and clean and the overall hotel appearance was lovely and clean. Only 2 downsides were that the room was ridiculously hot (it was on one of the hottest days, but there was no-way to cool it down so had a pretty disturbed and sweaty sleep), also the breakfast wasn't brilliant especially for the 'normal' price charged. But other than that it was great. Would definitely recommend to stay there. July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No air conditioning I've stayed at this hotel before so was happy to book it again, however, with this very hot spell were experiencing the lack of air conditioning made sleeping difficult, also the staircase with it being a huge glass wall was like a greenhouse. On the positive side, the staff were extremely helpful. When I realised that the room was a twin instead of a double I was moved to another room without any fuss. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, Clean and comfortable Good hotel for visiting Chester. Clean and tidy. Very friendly staff.Rooms on road side a little noisey. No air conditioning for summer months. July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by no happy this time The stay here on this visit was bad , and we use holiday inn's very often as we gold priority members. We took along friends for a special occasion and was very disappointed as the rooms had no air con and were small in size to usual . The room was over looked by a railway line which were were not informed of. The cost was way to over priced for the stay The staff were not at all helpful when making a inquiry about a few things just advised to wait till the morning and speak to the manager, not helpful at all. we have never had to make a complaint at all on all the stays we have had with you brand but this has upset myself and my wfe and spoilt the whole stay, we did send in a complaint on the night via email but had no response as to date ? July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Experience with Holiday Inn Express Chester UK I stayed in Holiday inn express Chester UK for one night. The room is very hot after a whole day's sunshine. No air conditioning in room. Hotel provide 2 very small fan but it does not really cool down the room. The window cannot be widely opened to cool down the room. I really cannot sleep well the whole night. Even more strange is , despite the heat inside the hotel. Heater is still on in lift lobby. I will never never use this hotel anymore July 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No air conditioning My stay at the Holiday Inn Express didn't get off to a great start. Having booked and requested months in advance for a quiet room I was given a room at the front where the traffic was really bad. Thankfully there was a room available at the back which was a bit quieter. A very helpful member of staff assisted me in moving my things over. The main thing that ruined it was the lack of air-conditioning in the bedroom and throughout most of the hotel. My room was airless and unbearable to sleep in or spend any length of time in. Other guests that I spoke to said the same thing. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would stay at the hotel again but not during the summer. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by over night stay great value for money. comfortable room and enjoyable breakfast. all staff friendly and helpful. perfect location town centre few minutes walk away. would recommend. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff This hotel has a good location with ample parking which is a bonus in Chester. The staff were excellent friendly and helpful. My purse was returned to me by a member of staff after I left it on a chair and she refused a reward saying it was her job. I was so grateful to her. For us the bed is too firm and the room was far too hot, however it was a particularly hot spell weather wise.. All in all I would recommend this hotel. July 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotell but quite warm Good location, friendly staff and nice breakfast. We stayed here in July and because there was no AC the room got very warm. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location We booked this hotel at very short notice and found it to be in a perfect location to town centre. Room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful would highly recommend inif on short stay as we were July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well worth a trip Good position for visiting Chester. The on site parking swung it for me. All round, it has everything you need for a restfull stay. Only let down, no Bran amongst the breakfast cereals, but the fact I left my phone behind and it was immediately posted off to my home, compensated for that small criticism. July 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Taking advantage on race day! - I found the price expensive for what we got. The price of a room had doubled just because it was race day. - The sofa bed was hard - teh room was dirty - the same (one) memebr of staff was behind the bar from the time we came in (1pm on the Saturday afternoon) until we left at 11am (Sunday) she looked tired and was unhelpful - the que for the breakfast was very long and when we did get to the hot buffet, a member of your staff took away the beans and egg tray (ever though there was enough for at least 3 people) - the croissants were too hard to eat and by the time half of our party had finished queing the rest of the pary had finished eating breakfast! I understand that you are busy on race day - but this should make you have a better system at breakfast when you are extra busy. July 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 10th Anniversay We've used this Express before many times and everything has always be fine. However on this visit which was for my husbands birthday things were not as good as would usually be. We arrived early and let reception know, not to expect to check in but just so they were aware. Obviously rooms were not ready as it was a little early - 1pm. When we returned in the evening at 7pm to complete our check in we were a little surprised to be told 'sorry there's only 2 rooms left, 1 at the top of the corridor or at the bottom'. We plumped for the top as it's noisey next to the railway - made that mistake before. However we were opposite the entrance to the hall, not good because the doors bang. We unpacked, my husband had a shower and I turned on the TV. Thats where things went a bit array. There were no channels on the TV at all. try as I might I couldn't get a thing. Phone to reception - no phone not working. After investigating discovered phone not plugged in. The lady on reception came straight up and couldn't have been more helpful. We eventually managed to pick up 7 channels, 1 of which was in welsh!! Not a nice relaxing as we had planned, disappointing in fact as we were then told 'sorry we have no BBC channels tonight we're waiting on a part'. The next morning I felt this should be highlighted on the 'how did we do' card, only to find the one in our room had been part used and not replaced!! Surely the above 3 matters, no matter how trivial should be checked by housekeeping? There's not really a great deal of equipment to check in the rooms. I also think that to celebrate the 10th anniversary it's time the beds were renewed. Sorry, but on this occasions you didn't do as well as usual :( July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Stayed two nights good location ,short walk to centre of Chester.Hotel was quiet ,clean and staff friendly. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not room 222 hotel was excellent and in great locale, unfortunately the bed in the room was like a collapsible piece of foam rubber i also banged my foot on the radiator getting into bed as its almost touching on one side. June 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by D n L all the staff were helpful and the room was clean and very comfortable we weould certainly stay there again June 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for races One of the only hotels with free parking. Ideal for race goers. Not luxurious but if all you want is somewhere to sleep the it is ideal. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay superb front desk service We stayed one night over a bank holiday weekend and would return anytime. A few niggly problems such as room card keys not working upon trying to enter room quickly sorted Front desk staff very helpful in trying to find a room elsewhere for a member of our party who had not booked and found hotel fully booked. A good selection of items for buffet breakfast the fruit salad was first class All in all very satisfied with quality of rooms and level of service throughout my stay and very good value for money if booked in advance June 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay Room very clean and tidy and the hotel was an excellent local for our event at the racecourse. We found the bed to be too soft and therefore had a disruptive nights sleep. One thing which was disappointing was we were unable to get a drink from the bar both members of staff appeared to be doing nothing and when we asked the bill could be charged to our room it was a no! As residents in the hotel we could not understand. Why as other hotels offer this. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff but laundry service poor We booked at this hotel for 2 nights, the staff were friendly and helpful, giving us advice about getting about and local restaurants/bars. Our room was very clean, well decorated and also looked out onto the racecourse which was a great view. Unfortunately on the first day my partners jeans were soiled by a friendly seagull flying past us. We asked for the item of clothing to be laundered and were advised that this could be done even though our stay was short. On the morning of our departure the reception staff could not intiially find the said jeans but then found them tucked away unlaundered stating they could not have guaranteed their return as laundry was completed inhouse. This was a sad end to our visit. You must visit the pub within the racecourse and ask at reception to be picked up, its great fun!!!!! June 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food poor This is a good hotel clean and in a good position to the city centre. The only downside was the food poor selection plus some items were missing. Some food trays were empty. June 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What great value Excellent value in a great location - we weren't expecting a good cooked breakfast for that price - a real bonus! June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and clean surroundings We had 2 very relaxing days in Chester. Before we booked at The Holiday Inn I read some of the reviews, and although one or two reviews had a criticism, this did not affect our wish to book. After our stay, we can honestly say we don't know what the criticisms were about! The breakfast arrangements were very adequate indeed, the staff happy and couteous and the rooms and hotel clean and bright. I think some people just like to pick fault as a pass time! We had to accept two single beds instead of a double, but that was due to the conditions of the booking as was pointed out to us. We would easily book again. June 5, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>