• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only assistance animals allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chester Racecourse
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Chester Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Chester Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Cheshire Oaks Retail Park
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:600
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel car park is adjacent to the hotel. The car park is free to guests for the duration of their stay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:71
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:66
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.

Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our all inclusive breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite
View More

Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.

Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our all inclusive breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.

Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.

View Less
Features
See local sights for less when you stay at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. Book one of our good-value packages in advance to enjoy discounted family entry to Chester Zoo, and coveted tickets to the County Stand at Chester Racecourse.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 299 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience was poor Good breakfast, ambiance of dining/bar very good. Poor room quality/uncomfortable beds, small pool, dirty carpets and poor sleep. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chester break good location, helpful & cheerful staff, good food, comfortable bed & very clean & well serviced room, absolutely no complaints. will recommend to friends. September 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service in the restaurant Disappointing for a Crowne Plaza. Restaurant service very poor. Don't go to the restaurant when they have a corporate event as you will be ignored. Manager doesn't care. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in central location Excellent quality hotel within easy walking distance of centre and race course. Lovely large rooms with all expected added extras. Buffet breakfast was very nice. Would definitely stay here again :-) September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay We stayed at the Crowne Plaza due to it being in the centre of Chester. The hotel was excellent, our room was very clean and the bed was huge! We ate at the hotel one evening and the food was very nice! The pool and other facilities were excellent, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Chester. The staff could not have been anymore helpful and friendly than what they were......Excellent hotel! September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice and comfortable room. My husband and i went thursday to saturday great position of hotel close to the centre of chester. Excellent inside and friendly room was very clean and tidy. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was the first time I've used this hotel, it was easy to find and plenty of places to park . Excellent atmosphere in the bar, great free bar snaks. Room was spacious and clean I had a lovely quiet nights sleep, Having just used it for business, I'm going to book it for pleasure it's so close to the Main Street in Chester with all it's bars and shops I'm sure of a great time. September 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good night's sleep Booked this hotel as it was conveniently close to the city centre. Unfortunately my car GPS set chose this day to refuse to work, and the directions in the confirmation email were hopelessly inadequate. It is impossible to read road names while driving, especially if, like Hoole Way, they are not to be seen. A map of the roads to the hotel would have been much more helpful. Reception was quick and efficient, though obviously the hotel car park is too small, as we had to use the next door municipal car park at a price. The room was good, and the huge bed was very comfortable. The room amenities were all that I expected, although I was unable to access the hotel information on the TV set. Breakfast was delicious and the choice was good, and the view from the breakfast restaurant was exceptional. A thoroughly enjoyable stay, once I found the hotel! August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel,in Chester Having stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the past week whilst competing in the World Town Crier Championships, my wife and I found the hotel extremely comfortable and welcoming, from the reception staff to the breakfast crew and the room staff nothing was to much trouble. The room was very comfortable and spacious, and they had even arranged for a bed extension to accommodate my 7ft 2ins frame!!! The breakfast was out of this world. We cannot comment on evening meals as our competition organisers had arranged evening meals elsewhere my wife is confined to a wheelchair and we have stayed in many hotels across the Country but this is the very first time that the reception staff explained in great detail the fire evacuation procedure and the duty porter even walked us to the fire refuge point. We are hoping to return to the Crowne Plaza for a short holiday very soon as we did not get much time to see the beautiful city August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Superb location near the centre of chester. Service was excellent. I would certainly recommend this hotel for people wishing to explore Chester. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dinner bed and breakfast We had a lovely evening at the Crown Plaza Chester. The food, service and bedroom was really good and excellent value. The breakfast was hot with an excellent choice of food including freshly made omelets. I would stay again. Close to city center for good shopping. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel - poor wifi nice hotel and leisure facilities but appalling wifi service. to be fair we didnt pay for it but, if we had , i would have wanted a refund August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel with easy access to Chester City shopping. We stayed one night on the dinner and breakfast package. The food was very good and well worth the money charged. The staff were exceptional and the hotel location ideal for the city shops. The room was warm and our bed comfortable. The room at the back of the hotel was very quiet. In every respect this was a good hotel experience. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Average Car park was full every time I tried to use it. Full of badly parked cars taking up multiple spaces. Checked into the room and the bath had not been cleaned properly, lots of hair! Huge crack in the washbasin, that leaked all over the floor. Apparently my room gave me access to the executive lounge, well I have to say that in over 10 years of travelling on business this is the saddest lounge I have ever encountered. IHG must be the only 'reward' scheme where platinum members do not get automatic access to the lounge. Paying extra for this was just an insult to be honest. I wont be rushing back to this hotel and I'm now looking for an alternative to stay in the Chester area. August 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Coomes hotel nice enough but room service got our food orders wrong both nights and even though I paid cash both nights I will still charged for one of them when checking out. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel! We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Chester for the night with friends even though we all live relatively close. We wanted to spend an evening in Chester. The hotel was a really good choice. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy and the bathrooms were of a very good standard. we had rooms 222 and 229. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. They were polite and recommended a lovely restaurant for the evening meal. From the hotel it was only a short walk into Chester city centre. Breakfast was buffet style and the staff again were more than helpful. Extra choices at breakfast were available. We would certainly use this hotel again, next time we would like to try out the spa facilities. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by If only the jacuzzi worked Grotty from outside but really nice inside. Staff extremely well trained and courteous. Close to City Centre so did not use the restaurant or bar which would have to match the centre of Chester for variety and price. Jacuzzi not working, with no warning when booking or at reception and no knowledge of when it would be fixed. Internet annoyingly inefficient compared to other hotels. I phone kept losing the connection and difficult then to reattach Would use hotel again tho, with my wife if they fix the jacuzzi August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Excellent Stayed with my sister for a 3 night break and was thrilled with every aspect of the hotel. All members of staff polite, friendly, helpful and very professional which made our stay very enjoyable and we fully intend to stay here again and recommend this hotel to family and friends should they be visiting the Chester area. First class. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A fabulous break with great service We've just had a great couple of days in Chester. The hotel staff were fantastic; so professional-yet friendly and exceptionally helpful.The food was brilliant and the service, especially at reception-including the concierge, was just perfect. Our room was quiet and so,so comfortable...and the club room with drinks etc was just right after long days on our feet. We also loved the pool and the gym...so we didn't feel too guilty about eating so much! Thank you everyone for a well needed beeak! August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff The frontage leaves a bit to be desired but don't be fooled this good quality hotel is very well located for visiting Chester and leaving the car in the car park. Very helpful staff and good food. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL, STAFF AND SERVICE I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Chester and would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are some of the friendliest I have ever dealt with when staying in a hotel. We arrived for the Chester Races for a business family day out that my work had organised and left our car and returned to the hotel in the evening. The staff were so helpful checking us in and letting us know where everything was in the hotel, as well as entertaining our baby boy whilst we went through the check in process. Our room was bright and airy and very clean and tidy. The travel cot provided for my baby boy looked new and also had a lovely safari quilt with it which he loved sitting on. At breakfast the staff cut up my sons fruit and toast and got us a high chair and a lovely large table before we had even sat down which was so kind. The food was lovely and the choice of so many different items at breakfast was such good value for money. We would defiantly stay here again when we next visit Chester as a family as the standard of service and care we received was excellent. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Hotel is idea for access to the town centre. The facilities in the hotel are good, good food, friendly atmosphere and staff August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast This was our second visit to this hotel, that in itself speaks volumes as i have very high standards and would not return if i had any problems on the first visit. The staff all very pleasant and attentive.Chester as always a great location for a short break or indeed retail therapy.the only thing that i would recommend is a car park refund to hotel guests. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay We stayed one night, the location was perfect for our shopping visit to Chester. Lovely comfortable clean room, swimming pool a decent size and warm! Staff were friendly and helpful, we will definitely be back. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing staff Having stayed for the first time in Chester, I found the staff friendly, polite and above all helpful. Jack in the restaurant is a charactor who is clearly passionate about his job. His attitude towards his staff and guests is amazing. This is continued towards his staff who he clearly motivates well and who always have a smile. I would seriously consider his advice when it comes to the menu, especially if he recommends a burger that he can negotiate with the chef to design himself. Overall the stay was very relaxing and the service within the hotel was something that has not been experienced before. Many thanks to all and I will certainly be returning... August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and good service Stayed at this hotel several times and have yet to be disappointed, clean modern family rooms with excellent service and polite staff. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great Location Had a great time at the hotel, good room, lovely hotel and great location. The only slight niggles were; there were only two little cartons of milk in the room, their was only 1 shampoo and body wash this was all in a room for two people. The bar prices were steep, but overall very good and would definitely go again. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2 adults 4 children So reasonable for what you get, fantastic for the children and worked well that a child eat free with each adult meal. Very clean and yummy food. Perfect to pop for a shop as in the middle of town. Very happy, with 4 children does not always work out but this was a perfect. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent family stay We loved it! Suited all the ages from 9 to 66! Very comfy, friendly staff providing efficient customer service. Ace food and plenty of it. We had a special offer with a special evening menu, but there were no compromises, the food was of excellent quality. Good pool, gym and facilities. The hotel is in a fab position, for the races, shops, everything. It was a lovely stay and we would definitely stay there again. I got a particularly good deal by being an IHG member and phoning them direct August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant Stay!! I took my husband away for a birthday celebration and to Chester Races for two night stay at The Crowne Plaza, I have to say it was the best hotel experience we have had and we enjoyed every moment. We booked an executive double (lovely room) which included the club lounge (drinks and canapés) which was brilliant. All the staff at the hotel were fantastic and definitely made our stay a very pleasant one, especially Amy and her staff who looked after us in the club lounge and at breakfast each morning. Would we stay again, absolutely!!!!! August 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading