• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only assistance animals allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chester Racecourse
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Oulton Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Chester Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Chester Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:600
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel car park is adjacent to the hotel. The car park is free to guests for the duration of their stay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:71
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:66
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:97
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.

Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite
View More

Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.

Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.

Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.

View Less
Features
See local sights for less when you stay at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. Book one of our good-value packages in advance to enjoy discounted family entry to Chester Zoo, and coveted tickets to the County Stand at Chester Racecourse.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large family room, good pool and restuarant My wife and I, along with our two children aged 8 and 1 stayed here for two nights. Family room in exec floor was spacious, clean and comfortable although a little dark. Location was excellent for strolling around Chester city centre- less than 2 min walk to town hall. Pool area clean, well maintained and great fun for the children- shallow pool very nice indeed. Restaurant was good for breakfast. We had one dinner here which was good but made better as the children ate free! Exec lounge was well stocked, open 5-8 pm but children not allowed. However, we were given the same perks in Silk's bar- which was a nice option. Minor downsides- car parking, although widely advertised is expensive at 7.50 per day and the wifi at 10 per smart phone per day even more so. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying and would do so again. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mid week getaway Lovely to get such a good size king size bed!! Food all good, don't know why the room rates vary so much each time you looked on line never knew when you did get the best price! All hotels now put a card in the bathroom about doing their thing to save the environment with the washing of towels etc and although we did hang ours up to re-use and didn't leave them on the floor we got clean towels. Also a new bar of soap each day for both shower and sink, that did seem a huge waste, other than that couldn't fault it and it was lovely to be back in Chester. Would use again. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service This is our first family visit and we were thoroughly impressed. The service was fantastic, the room was perfect for our family requirements. We could not fault the hotel at all. All the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly. Easy walking distance to the shops. Thank you so much for making our visit so special. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 40th Anniversary We stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Chester, for our 40th anniversary, including a performance of Othello in the open air at Grosvenor Park.. The hotel provided everything one might expect of a CP & the help we received from reception staff was exemplary in every way. Daniel in particular was a star. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by what more do you need? Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza, Chester. From the moment we entered the hotel until the moment that we left the staff made us feel most welcome. The room has all that we needed to ensure that our short visit was as comfortable and relaxed that we could wish for, with the king size bed making for a great nights sleep. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning in the near future. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Class as Always When you arrive at this Hotel thr welcome you get at reception is so good that you are at ease immediately. The Rooms are good and the food is the best we have had at a Crown Plaza.The Hotel is situated in a perfect place for shopping in Chester and we look forward to our next visit in October. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stylish hotel Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 2 nights. Close to town centre. Breakfast good. Nice spa/pool facilities. Room decent size and very comfortable. A very pleasant weekend. Hair dryer in room. No safe in room though, although can leave valuables in safety deposit boxes in reception. August 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty room, dirty executive lounge and no reply from email to manager. I am writing today to complain of the poor standard of cleanliness which I received from company. I visited for one night and stayed in room 408 on the executive floor. On entrance to the room the room had looked like it was of a good standard of cleanliness as the bed was made and the room had been cleaned. However, on closer inspection there was a couple of things which hadn’t been cleaned properly for example, there was a little bit of faeces still in the toilet. However i just flushed it and it went away, this did not bother me. I was then picking up an item of clothing of the floor in which I seen that there was still some stuff underneath the arm chair in the corner of the room. I then left it and went to the executive lounge which on first impression was a really clean and nice environment to be in. However, we experienced some things here as well. For example, there was a fly (in which i do understand it is hard to stop this) which kept landing on the food which was supplied. After about 30 minutes off us being in there a member of staff entered to clean and replenish the refreshments however there was a really awful smell which I believe may have been coming from the dish washer which made the environment hard to stay around. We then left to go out into Chester instead. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic experience Loved the hotel the minute I stepped foot in there, very friendly staff and everything you needed as there, lovely weekend was enjoyed and would thoroughly recommend it August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time. A well earned night away with friends. All the staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Great value for money. Right near the centre of town too - easily accessible. Would certainly recommend, a very pleasant stay indeed! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Mum and daughter weekend Stayed here last weekend and had a fabulous time, staff were fantastic, we were upgraded to executive king room which was great, we used the facilities before we went for treatments at the spa which were excellent staff lovely, breakfast was delicious, all in all a fantastic break for myself and daughter thank you all very much Debbie July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECTION! FROM THE MOMENT WE ARRIVED TO THE MOMENT WE LEFT WE HAD A PERFECT STAY AT THE CROWNE PLAZA CHESTER. ITS IN A SUPERB LOCATION, AND THE STAFF CANT DO ENOUGH TO HELP YOU SETTLE IN AND FEEL WELCOME. WOULD DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN! July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic nights stay for Chester races Room was excellent and breakfast very good. Staff very friendly and we were looked after well and will be staying again same time next year! July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 great location; needs revamp We stayed in 'deluxe' room!! In eaves of roof. The whole hotel is in need of revamp!! Dining room etc very outdated decor an furniture. Just look at ceiling in dining room to judge time since repaint!!! You can clearly see 'marks' of supporting joists staining through paint. Rooms are 'old fashioned' dec and furnished Menu in restaurant is 'standard' pub fair. There are some great eateries in Chester so why eat in a pub style hotel. Staff, as usual with these type of establishments, worked well - no complaints. Staff uniform was something else. Worth a visit just to see it! Bloody awful Loved Chester; loved location of hotel, but...... spend some money on revamp please If you need help and advise......... July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay The Crowne Plaza, was a very clean well run Hotel, staff polite and friendly, and was willing to help in anyway. We only booked a light continental breakfast but was adequate and all we needed. I really can't say any negatives about the hotel, as there are none, so give them a try and enjoy your stay as much as we did June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chester races Excelent hotel, Staff and service brilliant. Food very nice (bit pricey though) ideal city centre location. Will definately stay again. June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facilities, really friendly staff. From the outside the hotel looked very ordinary, but once inside it is beautiful. Excellent facilities, a large armchair relaxation area, large bar and nice dining room. The views out over the Welsh hills was beautiful. The pool area is lovely, bright, clean, with 10metre pool and wooden steamer chairs around the side for relaxation. We were there for 4 nights and the dining menu and bar menu such good value and such nicely prepared food that we ended up eating in every evening (also children under 12 eat for free from the children's menu!) The staff were, without exception, really friendly. We were in a Suite which was very spacious, possibly beginning to get a little tired, but was extremely clean and well equipped. I shall definitely be recommending this hotel to friends. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location had a great stay with friends, reception were very welcoming, very comfortable bed, nice clean room, good hearty breakfast, fab location, parking was easy always a plus for me, also enjoyed a swim and a steam, we will be staying there again. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by How a hotel should be! Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Chester as part of a celebratory anniversary weekend. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and upgraded us to an executive suite when they heard t was our anniversary. We felt wonderfully looked after from arrival to check out. The room was gorgeous, and the facilities were exceptional. I would definitely stay here again and would be more than happy to recommend it to friends. My only gripe, and it's a very minor one, was that walking from the station, the entrance was a little hard to find, but that's a minor quibble in what was otherwise an excellent stay June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room in general Service from the all staff we dealt with was friendly and of a high standard. Room was comfortable and they had noted my comments on booking and made sure it was appropriate. However having paid for an executive room was astounded to find that there was no Internet connection! I phoned down to say I had a problem and was told I would have to go the club Lounge or lobby to get online, unless of corse I was willing to pay for it! For goodness sake, I can get wifi when I travel on a Stagecoach bus!! So why I cannot get it within the room rate at a Crown Plaza is absolutely beyond me.... Disappointing... June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rosie 64 we stayed at the crowne plaza for my daughters 21st from arrival to leaving the staff and hotel was wonderful. She enjoyed spa treatments and the food was delicious, i can not fault the hotel at all nor any of the staff, thank you for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Huge Bed Stayed for the second time at the Crowne Plaza Chester. From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and efficient. We parked the car, left our luggage and went into Chester. On our return we checked in, check in was quick. On this occassion we booked a standard double room with a king sized bed. The room was large and very clean, the bed was absolutely huge, it was also very very comfortable. We had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was lovely, there was lots of choice, tea and coffee was served at the table. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very calm and relaxed. June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay All in all a great stay, from check in to check out the staff make you feel very welcome. The Chef obviously knows what he is doing, the only downside is the age of the hotel, needs a little TLC but the staff make up for it! May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great get away break On arrival we were greeted by the friendly receptionist who was very informative .The room was very clean lovely soft towels and every thing we needed for our two night stay . Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with a wide choice of different fruit ,cereals ,yoghurt pastries and full English . Silks restaurant was excellent and also the bar meals were delicious and the staff very friendly . I would recommend this hotel as it is also a perfect location to shop in chester . We have stayed here before and can't wait to return again. Well done crowne plaza chester. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly hotel Very comfortable room. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent. May 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Downgraded Favourite I have stayed at this hotel before and been very satisfied with it. In the past, when it has been busy (as it was again as my stay was during the Chester May festival), they had an attendant on the car park ramp. This allowed them to monitor the available spaces and allow people in on a one out/one in basis. On this occasion they do not do this. The barrier remained down refusing further admittance. A quick run up the ramp, however, revealed that there were about 10 empty parking spaces, 4 of which had cones marking them off as if to suggest they were VIP reserved. When I queried this with reception, I was told the car park was full. On assuring them that this was not the case, the check in lady reddened but did not offer any explanation. When I pressed the matter with another apparently more senior member of the staff, I received just a shrug of the shoulders in response. How can this be? Also, the bar had only one type of brandy (a cheap one at that) and even worse, only one brandy glass! The Bar Manager was very gracious and polite when we complained about this. I actually felt sorry for him as he had clearly been taking a lot of stick as there were aparently other glaring shortages as well. I have to say, the whole experience fell sadly short of 4 star!! May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First visit to Chester We had a very comfortable stay - the room was large and spacious and the bed comfortable (duvet too hot, but never mind). The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the meals were delicious. We enjoyed our visit to Chester and hope to be back sometime. May 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 great race day location This hotel is just a short walk from Chester Race Course. With traffic being very busy on race day it is much easier to walk than catch a cab. Although the rooms were well decorated I think they should up-grade some rooms so that there are rooms with walk - in power showers. Not many people have a bath these days yet all the rooms at this hotel , and to be fair most other hotels, have showers over baths. This is a pet hate of mine as I never feel safe climbing into and out of a bath to have a shower and I HATE shower curtains! Reception staff were the only staff we dealt with and they were excellent. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay - lovely staff Spent a very relaxing weekend at the Chester Crowne Plaza. All staff we encountered were exceptionally pleasant right from checking in to checking out. Room was very spacious with a huuuuge comfortable bed. Although the pillows were a little too 'full' for our own personal taste, the housekeeper swapped them for us with no fuss or bother. The buffet breakfast was by far the best we have ever encountered. From cereals to fruit, full English to croissants and even food cooked to order. It was plentiful, fresh and delicious. The restaurant staff were extremely attentive and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return. Thank you. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not quite executive enough! We stayed for 3 nights in an ‘executive’ room at the Crowne plaza in Chester. Good points: Excellent, attentive & helpful staff. Good location. Nice Spa Excecutive lounge was nice, but could be bigger Bad Points Executive room was not quiet due to adjoining door. Executive room appeared no different from standard room Expensive parking, when you can see it cheaper from the room window. Wi-Fi not complimentary (and expensive) No attempt for glass recycling in executive lounge Black-out curtains did not. Aspects of room dusty Loo roll was the cheapest available. May 12, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading