• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Korean
  5. Serbian
  6. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet's are not permitted on property. Only Service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue.
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Building
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Navy Pier
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Millennium Park
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking $49 overnight with in and out privileges. Garage has a maximum height restriction of 6'6" on all vehicles.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 44.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 49.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:174
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:130
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:174
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:16
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel.

Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions.

Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to
View More

Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel.

Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions.

Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive.

Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from.

The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

View Less
Features
Historic, completely renovated Chicago hotel with a hip design, emphasizing contemporary styling in downtown Chicago, provides free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 427 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would be 4 stars if it weren't next to the hospital... Great location, other than being right next to the hospital. It is so loud with the ambulances--we were woken up MANY times throughout the night. April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay Great location for Michigan Blvd shopping! Hotel needs some updating but all in all a great value for the cost. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Devil in the details First up, I've come to expect when staying at a mid-line hotel like a Holiday Inn or HIE, the sheets are changed occasionally during an extended night stay. However, for upper level brands like Crowne or Intercontinenal I feel the room should be FULLY serviced daily. Second, I realize HVAC is tough to master but the room literally swung hot and cold. When the heater was on, it sounded like a jet on take off roll. When I adjusted the temperature to avoid the blast furnace , it would get cold enough I'd need to wrap the blanket around me working at the desk. Now, for the latter, granted it was COLD outside and the rooms offer great amount of windows but had the thermostat worked properly, the comfort zone of the room would have been realistic. Most annoying, and it's petty to some is the hotel stopped doing room service from the on property "Elephant and Castle" restaurant in the lobby. So, I used Grub Hub, a popular delivery service on a few occasions. The hotel would not allow the delivery person to the room, despite having called me from the front desk and verifying that I had indeed ordered food, was waiting for it and my requesting they be sent up. I can understand for security purposes you can't have people wandering halls of the hotel #ironically however, you can simply walk in from the street straight to the elevators, so if the delivery guys hadn't checked in with the desk, they could have simply come up to the room# but here's a clue. If I wanted to get out of my sweats, put on shoes and go down to the lobby, I could have gone OUT to eat. The purpose of ordering food for the room is to avoid going out. Chicago has fabulous places to eat past the front doors of the hotel, so it should be plain that when I've ordered something to be delivered. As I said, petty but annoying enough to me. If the goal is security, send an escort with the guy. April 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Room is good, but the calmness is not good. Reception Staff were very friendly. Guest Room is good for us. But noise from the outside of the room was experienced. One is from the repair work at the next private space in the late afternoon. Another is from the outside due to the emergency mobiles such as ambulance, police. Sometimes we were stopped sleeping in the late night. April 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, with spacious rooms and comfortable beds A very good choice, if you are looking for excellent location and very good value for money. Breakfast better eaten around the corner at Cornery Bakery (did not open in time and service was slow in adjacent hotel pub)) April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed besides great bed, bathroom and guest room clean and roomy. Great water pressure in shower and nice towels. Was on 25th floor, nice view of city All staff very friendly April 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was comfortable but the washroom was under construction We understand that hotels need to be updated, however lets not book a room that is not finished its a very poor reflection on the Crown Plaza. April 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room & Parking Our room was very small. We constantly had to move a chair away from the desk in order to get to the other side of the room. This property charges $60 parking a day (no option for self-park, all valet). We had to wait 40 minutes to get our car from the valet. For the parking fee charged, we expected a much better service. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Staff will greatly enhance your stay Good location, good value, great staff, great on-site pub and within walking distance to everything you would need to do. The only negative is the $60/day parking, but that's Downtown Chicago for you. On the positive side, you had unlimited in and out priveleges which is a big plus if using this as a central location for visiting! April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevators are Limited One of the three elevators down. The two working are very small. Wait time was long. April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Very comfy and located in the heart of downtown. Only downside was the elevator situation. We waited 20 minutes just to get to our room on the 28th floor, and were crunched for time because we had show tickets. I'd recommend requesting a room on the 13th and lower because those elevators were much faster. At one point we took the elevator to the 13th floor and stairs the rest of the way because it was so incredibly slow. Otherwise an excellent stay. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Many restaurants and stores within walking distance. Very clean. Traffic and sirens very loud even on the 24th floor. March 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average experience Room was nice and clean, and beds were comfy. However, the lights in the bathroom flickered on and off and only one outlet in the bathroom worked. Which off a woman trying to style her hair can be a task. Additionally the heat did not work, and at 2am when the room was freezing we had to call down for someone to fix it. The positive was that the maintenance guy was pleasant and even brought up a space heater to warm up the room. March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We stayed at this property for 3 nights during a Trade Show at a nearby hotel. The staff is very friendly and the rooms were surprisingly large for an older property. I was worried about being near a hospital, but the room was quiet at night. Great location! Shopping and attractions are within walking distance as are great restaurants. Parking is pricey, but cheaper parking is only a few blocks away. March 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 No heat , no amenities . however , great location and comfy beds We had no heat until 10 at night when 2 maintenance men had to come in our room and rip apart our heater. This heat issue caused the windows to be completely fogged up which hindered our view for the entire stay. Even after wiping constantly with towels it just would not stay clear. We had to call for coffee cups and then realized there were no bathroom cups either nor any bathroom amenities. The room was clearly not stock properly after previous guest. Parking was disgustingly expensive and only choice was valet which caused a lot of delays while having to wait for our vehicle . The good ; excellent location and our king bed was phenomenal. The view would have been fantastic if we could have seen it through the foggy cold windows. March 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great room , great location but had issues. The king room was beautiful and the location was amazing. The bed was comfy and the view Im assuming was spectacular but i couldn't see it due to the the broken heater. our room was freezing like you could see you breath .. the heater was pumping out cold air and this made the windows and the view pointless. Even after wiping with towels it just fogged right back up . after calling to complain it was fixed within minutes but the windows never became clear. also, there were no coffee cups for the coffee maker only lids and when we called for cups they were brought up but the lids did not fit. also there wasn't the normal bathroom cups and amenities like shampoo ECT so I'm thinking that after the last guest stayed there the house keeping dropped the ball and didn't do their job. The parking was way too expensive for one night and didn't like how we had to have valet. We prefer to park and drive our own brand new vehicle. And having to wait 15-20 minutes to go somewhere because you needed to wait for the valet to get your car really held up our plans. March 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to the Crown Plaza standard I was stunned to find that a Crown Plaza near the Mag Mile in Chicago did not offer room service! When I asked why, they told me they had to close the restaurant because they were in the process of re-branding to another hotel chain. That makes sense and explains why the staff was not helpful and the buillding was so run down. Definitely not a "Crown Plaza" experience, but I guess thats why they are bailing out of this property. Avoid until it re-opens under a new name. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Value In town for a college visit with two of our children, this stay met all of our needs and allowed us to accomplish our goals while enjoying a great Chicago experience. The location is fantastic. The staff was quite helpful and knowledgeable. I don't usually take the time to write reviews but there is so much bad service out there, I felt it was important to sing praises where they are due. March 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Be aware that the Valet parking for this hotel is $60.00 but what they dont tell you is there is no other parking and even if you park your own car at this hotel you are still billed the $60.00 March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely comfortable We have stayed here several times. Part of it is convenience to where we need to go, but it is also very comfortable. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Three Greats- Great Staff, Great Rooms, and Great Location This hotel is right in the middle of everything. While my family were down there, we were visiting Northwestern Memorial Hospital. But if this had been for leisure- We were right off Michigan Avenue and within walking distance of great stores, restaurants, etc. If this were for business, you are a short cab ride(in summer you could walk further around the town but if timing is important, take a cab!) to the financial districts. This is a great location for bringing clients back to entertain after hours also. Overall- I would highly recommend this hotel if your ever visiting Chicago. Parking is expensive at ALL hotels, leave the car at home if possible! Best way to see Chicago is by walking around and going to our great museums! But you can find cheaper parking within a block or two. Just drop off the luggage and family THEN park the car. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best experience among all hotel chains so far. Try this hotel yourself! It's a great hotel experience for business travel. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago dental show I attend every year the Chicago dental show, and every year I stay at the crown plaza magnificent mile. The location is excellent, the price is fair and the staff is the best I've seen in a long time at any hotel chain. Keep it up, Luis from Boca raton, Florida March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location What A great place. Stayed here before and came back due to location. Love the views toward the lake best. Staff courteous. Only thing is the location by a hospital, with ambulances, but stayed at other hotels on the Miracle Mile and it is the same with sirens. Will come back again! By the way Thank You Chris for the upgrade for my wife's birthday!! March 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but not great Good location, comfortable room but small bathroom. Street noise could be heard through closed windows. February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Friendly and helpful staff. Horrible pillows- I woke up with neck and back pain everyday. Horrible plumbing.... the shower doesn't drain well so you are in standing water while you shower. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Heat not working properly This was for a party of three rooms. One of the rooms- 2012--was cold when the my mother and sister entered in the evening.. They turned up the heat and thought it would be just a matter of time before it warmed up. They woke up about 6:00 AM and room was very cold. They called the front desk and a gentleman came immediately to the room to fix the heating problem...He "fiddled" with the heater- It worked for about 2 hours and then wasn't working again. We didn't report it at that time as we were checking out. The staff were all very friendly..Hotel was in excellent location. Only problem was with the heat in one room..In all fairness we certainly could have phoned the desk sooner--as staff was responsive when we called. We will return. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I've tried others but always come back here I travel to Chicago on a regular basis and have tried many hotels. I always come back to this one as the bench mark. The staff make the stay enjoyable and relaxing. They have always made every attempt to make my stay pleasant including upgrading my room when possible. It's nice to not have to ask. The beds are great. I wish I wasn't on business when I visit and could enjoy the room more. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to hospital and friendly We were here because of major medical issues with family. The staff was very thoughtful and you cannot beat the location. We were extremely pleased with the service and staff. February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! The staff at this hotel were excellent! They made sure our party had rooms on the same floor. They also made sure we had everything we needed. The only complaint I have is that car valet cost almost as much as the room. Crazy to charge that much. February 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass - Mag Mile Front Desk Holiday Inn Express Lobby Lounge Fire Place Hotel Cass Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass - Mag Mile Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass - Mag Mile Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass - Mag Mile Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior Entrance Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass - Mag Mile Front Desk Holiday Inn Express Chicago Magnificent Mile Exterior Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass - Mag Mile Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading